Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Installation Services Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Fence Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Lowe's Fence Installation. Columbus, Ohio Residents Beware of: **, Project Specialist. 1675 Georgesville Square Road. Columbus Ohio 43228.

8-11-17- ** (Project Specialist) came and measured for fence installation. He measured both fronts, the entire right neighbor fence and behind my wooden swing set. I watched him measure my existing privacy fence from my upper deck. 9-5-17- I gave ** my credit card number for fence installation. 9-11-17- $1727.12 was taken out of my checking account for fence installation. 9-25-17- Fence getting installed. 9-26-17- Fence installed completed according to REC Construction. Per drawing ** gave them. ** measured everything in front of and gave REC partial measurements.

9-26-17- I notified ** (Lowe's Store Manager) that my fence install was not completed and I was deceived my **. ** assured me that he would make it right. 9-26-17- I called the contractor, REC Construction to let them know that my fence installation was not completed. Per their drawing (I have never seen this drawing) he said the install was completed. His number is ** and he said was going to contact **.

9-29-17- I called ** at Lowe's to get the receipt for the product I paid for. Offered no remedy. 9-29-17- ** left message on my cell phone not saying anything about a remedy for my fence install. 10-2-17- I put in dispute with Ohio Atty General Office. 10-11-17-- No communication from Lowe's or REC Construction. 10-12-17-
Zack ** at Lowe's Headquarters called me and said he was going to refund my monies

Reason I disputed transaction was because no one was trying to help or remedy my situation. This fence installation has caused stress in my life, that was not needed. Yes I deserve a refund. 10-26-17- Zack ** calls me back and says I do not deserve a refund.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Purchase Carpet From Lowe's!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOOSE CREEK, SOUTH CAROLINA -- This complaint is primarily about the Lowe's Central Production Office (CPO), i.e. the Lowe's Central Installation Office. On January 16th, Lowe's contractor started a carpet install. They finished around noon on January 18th. Upon inspection, and before signing off on the job, I noticed large white stripes running across the carpet in every single room. I also noticed that the carpet pad sounded like bubble wrap. Turns out the installer had duct taped the pad, causing the popping noise.

I contacted the CPO, who told me they would need me to have the carpet steam cleaned so they could file a warranty claim with the manufacturer. I was expected to pay for the steam cleaning out of my own pocket. I asked what happens if the manufacturer denies the warranty claim, and the CPO told me: "we will cross that bridge when we come to it". I asked why I should fork out additional funds if there is no guarantee of resolution, and was told simply that I must have the carpet steam cleaned, there is nothing further they can do.

I put in a CC dispute with my bank, which took about a month to go through. In that time, I was put in contact with the Lowe's Executive Support personnel. The Executive support personnel merely repeated what the CPO had stated about having the carpet steam cleaned. I eventually started working with the store manager, who agreed to re-order the carpet and the pad, and have the defective carpet replaced. Kudos to the store manager for actually stepping up.

The carpet is in and is sitting at the installer's office, where it has been for the past 2 weeks. The Lowe's executive support person is refusing to proceed with the replacement until I drop the CC dispute. I would trust that a retailer the size of Lowe's would know that a customer cannot drop a CC dispute once the chargeback has been initiated. I have repeatedly explained that providing a full refund or replacing the carpet will make the dispute go away, yet no resolution has occurred.

I am sitting on two houses, unable to move until the carpet is installed in the new house, unable to sell my existing property, losing money every single day. Please do not make the same mistake that I did. If you are at a Lowe's which requires you to go through the "CPO" or "installed sales office", do not purchase. You will sorely regret it.

Replies
Washer/Dryer Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- My daughter recently moved to Nashville and purchased a washer and dryer at Lowe's. The day they were supposed to be delivered, Lowe's called and told her that they no longer sell that model. That was the first bad mark.

They apparently found a washer and dryer and scheduled the delivery a day later. My daughter purchased new water lines, drip pan and dryer hose. Well the installers told her that the drip pan could not be installed because they do not cut out the hole for the runoff, so they used the old bent drip pan that was there. The dryer hose was too short and used the old one. Thank goodness they used the water lines. What kind of outfit are they running? I hope she didn't tip them!!!

Replies
Installer Very UNprofessional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARROLLTON, GEORGIA -- After a month of waiting, it failed. The salesperson in the store seemed to know what he was talking about. We had an odd-sized door, with 33 1/2 in width door (standard sizes are 32 or 36 inches). The salesperson suggested to get the 32 inches door and modify the opening. He listed up the materials needed. I paid for it.

They have one contracted installer. He came for a measurement in a few days. But the earliest available day for installation was a month later. On the day of the installation, he came late. He was going to come first thing in the morning, but he came mid-afternoon. Then he said the door size was wrong. He said he needs to get a 36-inches-wide door at the store. He said he will be back with the larger door. We waited. We already had to cancel the plans we had for that afternoon. He did not come back. I called the store, and was told that he never came back to the store! It was 3 hours after he left!

There are two big problems here: first, he lied about going to the store and bring back the bigger door. Second, the bigger 36-in door would not have fit to the 33 1/2-in opening. What would he have done? What did he think of the other materials that were for filling the opening? After calling the customer service a few times, we were told to reschedule it. No way. Sure, I wanted a new door as soon as possible, to replace an old drafty door. I waited for a whole month. But I don't want any business with this dishonest and clueless installer. So I asked for refund and cancellation of everything.

The refund process took a whole week, since the installer did not bring the original materials for a whole week. This installer had a nerve to call me to reschedule the installation. Hasn't he heard from the store that he made his customer very angry, and the refund was already approved? This is the one and only door installer to this particular Lowe's location. I have located another door installation company, which specializes doors, and I have had a much better interaction.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Front Door Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- We had purchased the door and installation through Lowe's and the installer (NorthWest Remodel Guys of Kent, WA) had been difficult to work with (our installation was rescheduled on a very short notice - as in night before the morning installation twice, and therefore delayed by at least 2 weeks).

In addition, the job had been done very poorly. The door paint was scratched off in the process, the door seemed to have been measured incorrectly since there is a 2-3 mm gap on a left side (which is normal), but about half of an inch gap on the right hand side, and the door does not align with the trim (trim now sticks out for about 1/3 of an inch). The large gap on the right was then filled with silicone caulk that had come down and spilled out onto the patio a few hours after installation. I had text messaged the gentleman who installed the door, included the photos, and was told the gap will be filled with something and caulking will be re-applied.

We are very disappointed by how the door was manufactured due to improper measurements, unevenly installed, and how the contractor was trying to cover up the large gap by pouring in at least a tube or two of the silicone which had nothing to hold on to due to large hollow space between the door and the wall.

We tried contacting Lowe's 3 times and are still waiting for satisfactory resolution of this issue. They don't reply to e-mails and seem to support the installer's idea of just putting more silicone in to cover up the bad job done. We had also purchased a door security latch and installation (in the upper right corner) and it was not installed and no one seem to had heard of it. We went with Lowe's over other independent contractor hoping to save $400, but instead got a poorly installed door and lots of headache.

Replies
Using Unqualified People
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SENECA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Purchased a new kitchen faucet at Lowe's and also their install service. Lowe's person arrived on time, removed disposal and under sink plumbing. Looked at the existing faucet and asked if I had special tools to remove the faucet. Told him that it was installed 16 years ago, so I did not have any tools for it. He went outside and came back about 10 minutes later and told me he talked to his supervisor and he could not remove the existing faucet as it was a weird type of installation.

He replaced the disposal and plumbing and told me to get a refund for the charges from the local store. I called a local plumber who arrived the following day, looked at the existing faucet, said it was a simple job and removed the old one and installed the new faucet in about an hour, without removing the disposal or under sink plumbing. He did a great job except it cost me about 50% more than the Lowe's install price. Why does Lowe's hire unqualified people for this type of work?

Replies
Backsplash Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIAN LAND, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Contracted to have backsplash installed in kitchen. Measurement went fine which took a couple weeks to have done. Another two weeks and the guys showed up to take off old backsplash and add new. He brought his son along to translate as he couldn't speak English. Didn't finish first day as first told us. Second day I left at noon and they were finishing the grouting. There was one whole box of tiles (~$110) and a box with 3 sheets. They left the 3 and Lowe's has refused to reimburse me for the whole box.

I got home and found the GFCI was tripped and the outlets non-functioning, set in crooked, and broken. Light bulbs from under the cupboards were broken. Tiles were protruding at several locations and grout missing in some areas. I called Lowe's and they got with the installers - two weeks before they could return. They show up and fix the wiring that was causing the GFCI fault. Tell me they would need to return.

I had to schedule another return date - 2 weeks again! One week before they were to arrive my brother passed and I called to see if they could come a couple days earlier - nope! - reschedule - 2 weeks again. I purchased this tile and contracted 7/28/2017 and the job "finished" 10/25/2017. Three months! DO NOT use this service!!! Read the reviews!!! Lowe's sanctions this group!

Replies
Don't Buy Lowe's Installation Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- Because of the facilitated financing offers, I have given Lowe's multiple projects to do around my house: A complete fence and electric gate, which went relatively well and I even required Lowe's to credit my account for the material that was left over (many hundreds of dollars) thanks to the store deputy manager. I give 3.5 stars for the quality of work, 3 stars for the price as it was not cheap, 5 stars for the financing and for refunding me for the surplus. I give Lowe's 2 stars for the bill of material which was excessive.

A complete roof replacement, which went as well relatively fine, except that when I gave back the redundant material to the sales guy/project specialist, he never refunded me any $$. The credit would have been around $100 so I did not follow-up on it.

A partial gutter installation of 46 LF and two downspouts, which took time to see the installation crew come to install it and they did not have all the material, so they did the work they could and they left the downspouts half done. I have been calling the sales guy, the Lowe's installation folk multiple times and I was promised it will be taken care of every time. But then nothing happens. The order was placed on 3/13/2017. Can you imagine what customer service they have? I don't know if I should take Lowe's to court for this. I can be reached on **.

Replies
Advertisement
Bathroom Remodel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST PEORIA, ILLINOIS -- We bought a complete bathroom remodel from Lowe's. Took the room down to the studs to start over. It was a nightmare from the time the products started to arrive. The vanity top was ordered the wrong size. Lowe's suggested we reroute our HVAC so they could move the vanity closer to the wall. The custom shower was ordered the wrong size so the panel had to be cut to fit the shower space. The wrong wall cabinet was ordered and when I told them about they told me the cabinet I ordered was no longer made. I was looking at it online and could get it in two days.

It took 6 weeks for the cabinet to come in and it was damaged. A job that was supposed to be done in February got done in July. We were supposed to get a visit from Lowe's regional office to "make things right". After not getting any response to my calls for a couple of months we called our contractor to be informed the person we were supposed to see no longer worked for Lowe's and he doesn't know if the new person will honor his "make it right" offer.

Replies
Exterior Remodel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOWES, PENNSYLVANIA -- Siding gone bad. They gave the job to a guy who was supposed to be qualified to do siding but has not done it for a while. The J-channel is crooked, side flashing was bent as to not allow gutters to sit flush on fascia. I gave him the opportunity to correct and he patched it with covering it up and not correcting the gutter issue. They broke a window screen, scuffed freshly painted shutters, and did not tell me. Cigarette butts and nails not picked up.

Lowe's did not have another contractor to come and correct the issues. They wanted to give me 250 dollars. No one would even touch it after they found out Lowe's did it. Corporate did not call back half the time. I called last week and still did not hear from them. Stay away from Lowe's. I canceled my card and will never shop there again. I know where this is headed. Stay away from Lowe's.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Installation Services Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
300 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies