Lowe's Installation Services

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
272 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lowe's And The Safety Gates
By -

In July of 2008 we purchased vinyl fencing and gates to surround and protect our in ground swimming pool. The gates failed within a few months (broke apart) and the installer returned and glued them back together. (See the video on youtube.com of the gates breaking.) Shortly thereafter the gates broke apart again. We contacted the local Lowe's (Latham, New York) in the spring of 2009 and they said the installer would return to repair the gates. After repeated telephone calls and trips to the Lowe's store the installer was schedule to repair the gates on July 9, 2009. He was a no show.

At the end of July of 2009 my wife was again in the local Lowe's and was approached by an installation person. "Are the repairs done" she asked. "No" replied my wife "the installer did not show." My wife than informed her that it did not matter now as it was too late to open the pool for this year and to just get the installer there when they could. The installer showed up in late September of 2009 to make the gate repairs. The backyard and swimming pool remained closed for the entire season of 2009 because of the broken gates.

The gates failed again shortly after the repair and in the spring of 2010 we again approached Lowe's requesting they fixed the faulty safety gates. They acted surprised that the gates were again broken. I informed them that I had checked the internet and others were having the same problems with the vinyl gates. They assured me that the problem would be taken care of immediately! A little upset I contacted the local building department and requested they look at the installation and the product they were selling to protect an in ground swimming pool.

The building inspector examined the product and installation and informed me to keep the backyard and pool covered and closed as the gates and fencing were: of questionable quality to be used as safety gates; gates opened in the wrong direction; the gates were not self-closing; latches did not meet code; and the fence was installed too high from the ground, all in direct violation of New York State Building Code and illegal!

Armed with this new information I confronted Lowe's installation staff when they again came to my home. The following question and answer transpired between LOWE'S employee **, the Installation Supervisor, and **. MR. **: “I'm going to ask you a question – how would you like having your kids living on this street with ** gates like this with an in ground pool? You would be scared ** wouldn't you.” **: “Yep”. MR. **: “I've been living like this for almost two years…” (Transcribed from tape recording of this conversation.)

They agreed to have the installer remove the defective product and reinstall the product correctly to meet building codes. This was finally accomplished in late May of 2010. I then requested that Lowe's reimburse us for the loss of our backyard and swimming pool for the year of 2009. Lowe's informed me that my wife told them in 2009 that she was not going to open the pool anyway (they had two witnesses to this statement) and I suffered no loss. They offered $500 dollars because I was a good customer after dictating to me the fine points of "contract law."

Note: They also informed me that I could not use the audiotapes of their admission of liability and shabby workmanship because they "did not give me permission to tape them." The tape recordings contain admissions that the product used was questionable, installed improperly, and in violation of State law. They also include the installer stating the gates were junk and breaking at most installations he had done and he was tired of fixing them. I can understand why they would not like to have anyone hear the tapes!

As an aside, my wife had paid a local pool company a $50.00 deposit to open the pool and clean the decking in May of 2009, a deposit we lost because the pool could not be opened. I refused the $500.00 and left the local Lowe's as I do not intend to allow a company to hide behind "contract law" after the "circus" that occurred at my home. I intend to seek legal relief and expose the “Lowe's Shuffle” for what it really is to would be customers.

Resolution Update 08/20/2010:


Lowe's Carpet Installation and Service
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- About a month ago we decided to go with Lowe's to buy and install new carpet for our bedrooms since they advertise a 72 hour turn around. Well, don't be mistaken, the 72 hours only kicks in AFTER they come out to measure your rooms and turn all their paperwork in, and then you get back in to the store to actually "order" the carpet that is already in stock. Anyhow, everything was going as planned with that small bump in the road. We chose an in stock carpet since we wanted it installed ASAP.

I specifically asked the girl who was handling our order if there was enough to do our 3 rooms and she looked at me like I was crazy and said, "yes, it's an in stock carpet." So, I felt a bit dumb for asking that silly question. We requested to have the furniture moved (before and after), old carpet haul away, and clean up afterward (all for an additional fee, of course). We paid and left with the promise we'd be getting a phone call the next morning to set up an installation time. According to our calendar, we would have new carpet before that Saturday, so that made us happy.

The next day, a Wednesday, I finally got a call mid-afternoon. The installer informed me that the ONLY time he had to do this job was the next day at 7am. We agreed to this time, and I began moving the small things out into our living room. The next morning at 7:05am I received a phone call from the installation manager informing me of a "minor" issue regarding my installation... there wasn't enough carpet for all 3 rooms, only 2 of them.

Remember my silly question about "is the carpet in stock"? Yea, I reminded him of that. He said that he could still send the installer out to do those two rooms then come back later with the rest to finish the job OR I could reschedule (for after the 72 hour promised time). I told him to go with option A and I would just deal with it. He said OK and that they would be right out. About an hour passes when the manager called me back to say that apparently the installer decided to go ahead with job B first and then will get to job A (my job) when he's done. I told him I was truly unhappy with the service yet so far - and he agreed that he wouldn't be happy either.

When I asked when that would be I got the run in circles talk. By this time I'll admit, I was pissed. I told him I wanted a TIME that he would be AT my house ready to do what I've paid them to do... he said 11am. At 10:45am a Lowe's truck pulled into my driveway. Wonderful. Just like he said. To my surprise, it was just a delivery man that was told to bring and drop off a roll of carpet. When I started asking questions (such as where will we put it - keeping in mind most of the stuff from the bedrooms was now in my living room blocking many walk ways), the delivery man called the manager.

He explained that I was "not happy" and then handed the phone to me. The manager asked me what it was that I wasn't happy about... nice. I reviewed the morning with him (even though he already knew) and asked him what exactly I had to be happy over. He told me that I needed to calm down because the installers still had a few minutes to show up, as promised. Like that was my only concern at that time. He said he'd even be so kind as to call them and find out how far away they are from my house and then let me know.

He called me back a few minutes later and said that it was taking them a bit longer than expected at job B, so it wouldn't be until later that afternoon before they could be there. Then he added they still had to stop back by his store to pick up my order (minus the carpet roll that was now blocking access to my front door). Allow me to point out that he KNEW this before he hung up with me the first time, but tried to assure me they'd be at my house in 5 minutes - without my materials.

Fully beyond disgust at this point I just sat, watched TV, counted my day as totally wasted, and tried to calm down. The installers finally showed at about 2:30pm. During the initial greetings and showing what rooms, etc I was informed that I was going to have to move certain furniture items if they were over xx weight, all they move are light dressers and beds. I didn't even say a word, I guess the look on my face said it all... they moved my furniture out of the bedrooms.

Now, I understand a certain amount of disruption to the norm when a big job is being done, but when you open someone's windows in the middle of a Florida summer with the A/C running full blast LET THEM KNOW! Instead of using the vacuum they brought with them to suck up the dirt that carpet leaves behind, they decided to sweep it all around sending that fine dust plume all over (so I had to literally wash my walls when they left). After they were done with the installation, they were so hurried with trying to "finish the job" that they almost took out my TV with my dresser.

I made a comment about how they must be in a hurry and one of them said yes that they were normally home well before now - like it was my fault they were running behind. Since my son's room was done first, I was helping him put his stuff back in order while the two men were supposed to be cleaning up and moving the rest of my furniture back. That was yet another mistake I made (leaving them to do what they were supposed to do without me telling them to do it). They stepped into the hall way to have me sign that they were done, I did, and they left.

When I went back into my living room there was still 4 pieces of furniture and all of the scrap carpet (new not the old stuff). There was the rolled up plastic wrap trash left in my bedroom AND the trash bag they put the dirt from the old carpet in along with more delivery plastic was at my front door (outside). The plastic was hanging on my plant hanger!! The amazing part is this. A totally different manager called me to check on the satisfaction of the service since I "wasn't having a very good day."

When I told him about what all took place he had the nerve to tell me that "maybe in a utopian world things would have gone like I wanted them, but this isn't a perfect world." I explained to him that I didn't expect Utopia, I only expected what I paid for and what they put in writing as a promise to me.

I read him the riot act, told him it'd be a cold day in hell before I stepped foot back in their store.. not because things were a little messed up, or because the installers left a mess, or because they took our money for services they didn't provide.. no, it was because they treated me, and talked down to me, as a little housewife that really doesn't know any better BUT to be screwed around by working men who will tell HER what is going to be done, and how, and she'll just have to deal with it.

I told him that the "I understand" and "I'd be mad too" comments did not smooth it over and make me feel better, and what really angered me is they (all the people I dealt with that day) never once asked how they could make it better. Instead all I ever heard was how they messed up, so what, and how the end result was reached so it was really no big deal. So, all in all, Lowe's customer service really bit the big one this time with us.. we won't ever use them for anything again - period! I just wanted to get that out since I haven't heard from the General Manager, as promised I would.

Installed Sales Are Very Poor Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOORESVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- After dealing with you for months now over multiple issues regarding a remodel project of a small beach condo I have never experienced such sad and sorry customer service. We waited 15 days for flooring to be installed from June 15th - July 1st thinking we would be able to occupy the unit after the flooring was in. Having the installer come on July 1st and refuse to install the floor. We then had to go back a different flooring product and install it ourselves having to wait until July 4th before we could occupy the condo.

So roughly 17 days numerous hotel charges paid out of pocket because this is a 2nd home away from our main house and we were having to pay to stay in hotels waiting on the project to be done. Had we know on June 15th you would not install the floor we would have then done the project ourselves (as we ended up doing) saving ourselves much out of pocket expense and stress.

After buying a complete kitchen with Lowe's Shenandoah Cabinets $9,244.54, Luna Eco By Cosentino Countertops $3,588.88, Bruce Hardwood Flooring $1,409.68, Stain Master Carpet $2,486.69, Whirlpool Dishwasher, microwave and Freg @ $1,747.17, Whirlpool washer and dryer $1,438.44, bathroom shower door @ $329, bathroom shower pan at $550, numerous boxes of bathroom and kitchen tile at more than a $1,000 and numerous trip to the Lowe's store to buy small items to get all this construction done and you offer me a $300 gift card for the stress and time the store at Hwy 17 bypass in Myrtle Beach has caused my family this summer.

Waiting days for no floor, weeks with no microwave, watching the delivery men drop a washing machine off the truck into the yard and they still want to bring it in the house with dents and scratches and you think $300 is a fair compensation. Multiple phone calls to ** and ** at the Lowe's Home Install Sales office in Mooresville, waiting days and weeks for them to return a phone call which they never do you have to call them and demand a conservation and now dealing with the Regional Production Manager ** who offers me a $300 gift card which I refuse.

If nothing else I hope my rants cause Lowe's to suffer $300 in lost sales from any of my family or friends who may be considering a trip to Lowe's or either a new home project. I for one will not shop with Lowe's again unit I am compensated $1,160.92 the cost of the wood floor which we laid. Does this sound like a lot of money after the dollars I have spent at your store in the past months not to mention all the projects we have done with Lowe's at our real house.

For the pain and stress it has caused my family this summer, the time and effort I have spent chasing people down (all Lowe's) to get the jobs done and the out of pocket expense for hotels waiting on work to be done that was never done. Before you start a home project with Lowe's please read this and think is this the kind of customer service I want or the type of stress you need in your life. Ask me would I do it again? No, not at Lowe's.

Never Ending Day Of Waiting For Carpet To Be Installed
By -

WEST SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- I paid the 45.00 for a Lowe's carpet person to come to the home to do a measurement of the rooms for which I needed done. Even though the sales lady did a wonderful job with just about everything she helped me with, once it went to the third party contractor everything went to hell. A person that I could hardly understand set an appointment for the measurements to be taken and of course he was late. He then advised the paperwork would be faxed to Lowe's that day (of course that did not happen).

When after speaking with the contractor three times and waited for the faxed to be sent to Lowe'€™s (while I was waiting at Lowe'€™s) it turned out that the contractor failed to do a measurement for both 12 and 15 foot rolls. My sales person called the contractor and within a few moments a new fax came in. I then chose to purchase the much higher custom order carpet that would take about ten days to be delivered to the contractor. I did receive a call from the contractor and an install date was made for yesterday 05-28-09 8-10AM, this was not the first date they had but the first date that I wanted.

On 05-27-09 around 6PM while getting the house ready for the install the following day I received a call asking if it would be OK if the time was changed to Noon-1, that the previous job was unable to be completed and the installer needed to return to complete that job before he could work on mine. I agreed. On 05-28-09 at 1:05PM with no call, no email, no text I called the contractor and asked why was the installer not here, he then replied, "the installer did not call you? He was to have called you 40 minutes ago" (well if he did I would not be calling to ask why the installer was not there).

9 minutes later I receive a call back and was told that the installer was out of town and could not be reach (cell phone issues in the area) but he would be there sometime now today for sure. I informed him that sometime today was not OK with me; I was then questioned as to why? If I needed to go some place or had something else to do. I informed the contractor that I did not have anything else to do except get the carpet installed in the house and then of course put the house back together (replacing all of the furniture etc) the contractor told me that they would help.

I then called and spoke to Lowe'€™s who actually seemed to be upset right along with me and told me that this was unacceptable, that they would call me right after they called the contractor. For which they did and of course Lowe'€™s said that the installer would be there in one hour, so I started my stop watch. I decided to leave and get lunch when less than two blocks from my house and less than one block from Lowe'€™s I receive another call from the contractor giving me a time of 3:30PM and of course that would be more like two hours not one. I told the contractor that was not OK and that I would handle it now on.

I drove the few hundred feet to Lowe' and spoke to the same person who was dealing with me before (this site does not want me to use there actual names bet that I have everyone'€™s name and dates and times I spoke with then written down) she too was even more upset and basically went off or at least as much as she could do officially.

Now the new deal was 3PM with one truck to deliver the carpet and then the installers would be there at 3PM. Any guesses on what happened at 3PM? That is correct nothing, except me waiting for a install crew, when I receive a call from Lowe's around 3:10PM asking if the crew was there that she just spoke to them and they gave a 5 minute eta. I then look outside to see a person setting in a car parked across the street and could tell that he had something to do with this.

Then a pick up truck with a trailer drove by and parked down the street after a few minutes parked in front of our location and then another truck came all totaled I do believe there were four people there. (For a few minutes) The installers quickly came up to the door and introduce them selfs and explained that they were called off from another job to complete mine and they had no idea what happen. I of course did not really care at this point but it was the most professional thing that has happened.

They started right away removing the carpet from the porch (where I put the carpet) and then went inside to see what they had to do since they did not know anything about my job. Once things started things moved fast they did a once over on the job to get an idea and to make a plan, they put the glue, padding and tape down fast and did a good job of it. Then all hell came down when the installers (at this point seem to be the only ones on point and doing a good job) "ran the numbers" measured the carpet and found out that they did not have enough to complete the front room correctly (with only one seam) let a lone complete the rest of the job.

That's when they stopped (as they would not get paid to install the carpet it the job was not complete and sense this was a custom order) the new carpet would have to be ripped up and replace do to the difference in the dye from one run to another at the factory. Mind you it was about 100 degrees I moved everything out of the house, cleaned, vacuumed and swept the house for them, so I can make sure the job was cleaned to my standards. And I had been waiting all day and been on the phone with the (what was now the) sub-contractor and Lowe'€™s. So I just wanted the front room to be done so I can move the furniture back in.

When I called Lowe's the amount that they cared about was much less and let's just say I could tell they did not want to deal with this matter anymore. Several calls more and just asking the installers to get the job done that I would pay them myself. They immediately said no that they would do the front room that they understood and they did the front room. I called Lowe'€™s one last time and spoke with the same female as always and she told me she should have been off an hour ago and would not be in tomorrow (Friday) and that someone else would call the mill to get another complete roll.

I then asked her who I could yell at Lowe'€™s when the job is done, she told me the manager on duty I informed her to make sure to tell them about me as I plan on yelling at someone just to make me feel better (let's face it at 6 something at night not much can be done but to reduce my stress by yelling at Lowe'€™s for hiring contractors that just hire another sub contractor that hires guys to do the work for Lowe's) she told me she would.

Later that night after I put the house back together, I went to Lowe'€™s and of course found three workers standing and talking together when one of them did the second worse thing one could have done. One of them asked me how I was doing? So I told them. I told them I would be doing a lot ** better if Lowe'€™s would hire someone to install my carpet right the first time and not hire someone who hires someone else who then hires someone else. I even asked if the lady that was talking to me was the manager on duty she said yes, I told her my name and asked if she knew of me. She did not, that is when everything went once again to hell.

It seems as though she feels that customers who have been screwed with the whole day should be nice and sweet and take the time to tell the story twice all while she did that head neck thing that I wanted just to pimp slap her. (But that would be illegal) She then told me that "€œyou can leave the store"€ while pointing I told her she calls the cops that'€™s when the male worker said to call 911. I told the manager to make sure to tell them my name, so they know it'€™s me. She then made another comment and by then I had 5 workers all up in my business more concerned over the fact that I stood up to the manager than anything else.

The manager even refused to give me the district manager's name she told me that was confidential information so while I was waiting for her to call the police (I guess dialing 911 is harder for her to do then most) I called the Lowe's toll free number and after asking twice for the same information I was given the name but no number that all they could do is forward a message. As I walk ever so slowly out the door I called another store and asked them how to reach the district manager and they gave me the name and number of the store that he works out of.

So while waiting for the police to arrive I was in my car with the a/c on calling the Lowe'€™s store that the GM worked out of and leaving a message for him. As of now what 2:10 AM Friday 03-29-09 I emailed Lowe'€™s via their website, and look on the internet to find if anyone else had issues with Lowe'€™s and that's how I found this site.

FYI: Based upon the information that I have Lowe'€™s hired general contractor "A", who then hired sub-contractor "€œB", who hired two guys as independent contractors working through the sub-contractors license but not as employees. The kicker is in California as you may know we have rules for rules upon rule for things like this. An independent contractor (a guy with not state license) can not be hired to work for a sub-contractor as a I/C and use the sub-contractor'€™s license. There needs to be an employer/employee relationship between the two with the proper insurance and tax liability being address.

So now my next step is to: contact the State Contractors License Board, contact the State Labor Commissioner, contact the State Workers Compensation Board, and contact my credit card company and dispute the thousands of dollars as product never received, damaged product. Maybe by then someone from Lowe'€™s corp would have contacted me.

Now I See Why Their Installation Is Guaranteed for Only 1 Year!
By -

LAUREL, MARYLAND -- In 2008 I had Lowe's install a Larson storm door. Two years later, it's hanging only by the 2 bent hydrolic pieces. Slowly, the screws holding the door to the door jamb have worked loose. Now all of them are out and you can see that they were screwed too close to the outside of the wood. Obviously, the door was too heavy for it to be screwed in less than 1 inch from the edge of a strip of wood. I DIDN'T let the door swing in the wind and took very good care of it. I called Lowe's to come put it back on and that's when I found out they only guarantee the work for a year. Oh well!

Some Insider Info From A Installed Sales Coordinator
By -

NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I work as an Installed Sales Coordinator for Lowe's. We do our absolute best to get you what you expect within the time frame that is in writing. Regarding the 72 hour installed carpet install: YES of course, the clock on that starts ticking ONLY AFTER YOU PAY. How else would we know you are serious? What are we supposed to do, pick out your carpet for you, bring it to your house and THEN you pay for it? Please be logical. Also, we can only do what makes sense. Some customers expect miracles. Lowe's is NOT allowed to rip up vinyl floor.

There are reasons for this. One reason being asbestos. Do you really expect that these guys want to risk their health because you have old floor that you want ripped up? If you want it ripped up, you will have to do it yourself. Please, no is no. If the installer tells you it is not practical to put carpet on your 3 season porch because it wouldn't last through the warranty, he isn't saying no just to aggravate you. Also, these guys are not miracle workers, if your subfloor is crap, you MUST expect that there will be a cost to making it solid.

I am on a rant because I have seen all of this customer behavior first hand. Do you think you are the installers ONLY job that week? If you pay for storm door install on a Monday night, do you really expect the install to be complete by the end of that same week? Our installers work out of SEVERAL stores. They are not waiting by the fax machine for your order. They are at someone's house banging nails and getting dirty while you stew in the fact that it might have been a whole 6 hours since you left Lowe's.

We have no control over what the labor costs. It's your house, you know how rotted your window sills are. Would YOU call it a basic install if YOU were the installer? BASIC means just that BASIC. No one pays basic. That is base price. You know there will be extra charges, you live there, you, better than anyone else knows the variables of your own home. You know you have heavy furniture in the way, do you think it's easy to move it? It should be free? No, you wouldn't do it for free would you now?

We do our very best to make sure you get all the calls you want and need but you also have to understand that there is only one of me and there are 20 of you every week that generate 20 jobs that go through my office. I have to look at every square foot of carpet, every door jamb depth, every color of carpet, every type of padding, every color door knob, every style of window, every color of grout, every dump fee charge, every single detail of every install the happens in my store. This means checking, checking, double checking.

If this requires a call to the installer to check a dimension, I won't necessarily get him on the phone that day. He is already at someone's house, maybe yours. Do you want to see your installer stopping your job to take a phone call? No, you want your job done quickly. We do the best we can. We do what we can to limit costs but you get what you pay for. If you choose to get cheap and pass on stuff you need, it is ultimately you that has to live with your choices.

Kitchen Install Disaster Kraftmaid Cabinets Bad From The Factory
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HAMILTON, OHIO -- I ordered kitchen cabinets in June 2013. Installers showed up to put cabinets in and what a mess. Beta Construction measured before install but forgot to account for a three in filler piece before installing first cabinet next to back door leading to garage. So when you open cabinet draw it hits back door handle. After running the whole bottom row sink side. They had to tear all out and start over. After finally installing bottom row they start on top cabinet.

At the end of that row they realize the bottom is three inches longer than top row. Duh, so now I need a 27 in cabinet on to to cover the final 3 inches. It took from July 18 until Nov 7 to get cabinet installed. Crown molding on top of cabinets was cut wrong. Construction crew forgot the thickness of their blade and cut it short. No extra crown on site to cut another piece so that also not fixed till Nov 7. I paid 14000.00 for cabinets, granite counter tops, install price and tax. I placed 4000.00 appliance order for four pieces of all LG products. Order placed in June 2013.

LG couldn't get me the stove I wanted so instead of calling the store or me to get another model. They just cancel the order without telling Lowe's. After reordering two weeks later I was told appliance would be here August 28 2013. My wife said no way. I pulled the order from Lowe's. Called HH Gregg from Lowe's counter and they had everything in stock and could deliver tomorrow. Amazing. Not including 151 pieces of tile I bought there Grote backer board under tile 14 sheets of drywall and electric wire to rewire kitchen. I probably spent 16000.00 total. Never again will I go through that. I have no reason to tell someone to shop for kitchen at Lowe's.

Oh forgot one thing. I have 6 miscut cabinet doors still not fixed as of 10/7/13. Kraftmaid Cabinet Rep is coming to view doors on 10/17/13 who know how long after that it will take to get replacement doors let alone install them. Please save yourself the trouble. Go somewhere else. And if you do use them. Make them X out in their contract you have to use arbitrator to settle your dispute. And write in contract any damage to your clean painted walls they fix not you. I got stuck with that also.

Dangerous Dryer Installation
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NORTH EAST, MARYLAND -- I built a brand new duplex. My tenant purchased a washer and dryer from Lowe's with delivery and installation. They told them it was a brand new place and told them to include whatever it needed. They sold them a aluminum foil dryer, dryer vent hose and a 4 wire plug cord. The tenant called me and told me the installers did not have the pipe to go to the vent, nor did they have the clamps. I picked up a 4" aluminum pipe and clamps. I had to unhook the washer, pull both appliances back out to hook up the dryer.

Also I noticed that the installers ran the dryer wire into the dryer without a romex clamp. It would only be a matter of time that the vibration of the dryer would cut into the wire and cause a dead short or possibly a fire. I went to the Lowe's store and was told the installers don't have the clamps for the dryer vent, pipe, nor wire clamps on their truck. I would like to know how this is called installation. Delivery yes - install, I don't think so. I had to unhook the wires, put in the romex clamp, hook the wires back up and put both appliances back in place. Don't pay Lowe's (or any other company for that matter) for installation if this is what they are going to do.

Installation means ready to use. Dryer vent pipe, clamps and wire clamps (romex connectors) doesn't take much room on a truck, and I am sure the customer would not hesitate to pay the little added cost if required. I am sure the installers make a pretty good living and should not take dangerous shortcuts.

Poor Follow Up on Installation
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE -- We contracted with Lowe's to install our wooden fence. The install went OK, until they got to the back of our yard where it was supposed to be a welded wire fence to leave us a view of the woods. The installer put one of his men on it, he did a pitiful job and I called to let then know it had to be fixed. He sent out another crewman who later told me he had never installed this type of fence. The job he did proved him correct. This time I called the install manager of the store, Lowe's Home Improvement on Gunbarrel Rd in Chattanooga. He came out and immediately recognized that the salesman had sold us the wrong type of fence for the job.

To his credit, he had the installer remove the wrong wire fence and replace it with the correct one. Fast forward just about a year. I find that the stringers where my gates are attached are disconnected from the posts. Apparently, the installer had only put one nail in each stringer and the boards were popping off. I called the install manager again. He agreed to send out the installer. It took several weeks and a couple phone calls, but finally the installer called to say he would be out to fix it. He never showed up. Make no mistake, I said NEVER. I called the install manager again, at least twice. He told me he would make it happen. It never did. Did I say never again? Yep, NEVER.

Not only did the install manager at Lowe's fail to follow through on making his subcontractor return to fix the error, he NEVER called me back nor did he call another subcontractor to fix the work. I finally decided to fix it myself. Oh yeah, and to NEVER buy from Lowe's again.

Visible Carpet Seams
By -

PEORIA, ILLINOIS -- First, I want to start this by giving you a bit of information (which, in the long, has no bearing on whether carpet seams should be visible or not, but it will further explain my situation). In 2004, I was thrilled to be able to purchase my own home. It was a bank repo and needed many repairs so I got it relatively cheaper than market value, which is the only way I was able to purchase a home in a nice area. (I am a single parent who receives no child support, is not on welfare, and works very hard to support my family.) It took me three months to fix the house up enough so that we could actually move in, and it was a wonderful feeling.

The people who had moved out tried to fix the place up and actually laid carpet before they left. However, they just threw it down. It was not stretched or tacked, and the seams were held together with duct tape. I ripped most of it out, but because, at that point, I was even lower on funds than normal, I had to leave the piece in the living room and part of the hallway (I laid vinyl tile in the other areas). The carpet in the hallway looked horrible, but since I live from paycheck to paycheck, it would have to do until I could come up with the money somehow.

Back in March 2007, my great-aunt, who was like a mother to me, passed away, and in September, I received a small inheritance. It wasn't much, but it was enough to get carpet. At the beginning of October, I went to Lowe's. I paid the $25 or $30 to have their installers come out to measure. They were late in calling me to set up the appointment, and I had to call Lowe's to make them aware that no one had called me yet. When the installer called, we set up the appointment for a Wednesday because I get off early that day to take my son to therapy. However, they called to postpone the installation until the following Saturday at 10 am.

However, at 10:30 am, the installers called me to let me know they were running late and would be at my house soon; it was almost noon before they showed up to measure. A friend of mine was going to lay laminate in the dining room (which meets the living room) for me so the laminate was lying on the floor for the recommended amount of hours. The installer commented on the laminate, and I told him it was to be laid in the dining room (so the carpet would meet the laminate). I also told him I wanted the carpet to go over the laminate for one foot. He measured, then left.

After a few more days of waiting for a call, I called Lowe's to get a price on the carpet I had picked out. No one was able to help me because the installer hadn't submitted the information yet. A couple days later, I went to the store, and one of the guys in the flooring department worked up the estimate for me while I waited. I went back the next day to pay and sign papers. I was told the carpet would take two weeks to be delivered to the store, and I was surprised when Lowe's called within a few days to say the carpet was there already. (Looking back I have a feeling they give a longer ETA for the carpet in an attempt to make themselves look better when it arrives early.)

At the time, I was excited that the carpet would be installed a bit earlier than anticipated. However, when the installers called to schedule the appointment, I realized I would have to wait over two weeks - November 5. I moved everything out of the living room myself, and when the installer got here the morning of the 5th, he said he didn't realize that was what I was laying in the dining room and that the carpet couldn't go over the laminate like I wanted (even though it was right in front of his face when he originally came to measure).

He also said that he did not have the transition piece he needed to join the carpet and laminate so, even though I should have been heading to work, I ran over to Lowe's and bought 3 four piece transitions that cost about $28 a piece and ran them back to the house for him. He said he would have to take them home and cut them because he did not have the tools with him to do it there (then why did I have to run over to Lowe's to get them right then?). He said he would finish the carpet and come back later that night or the next morning. He didn't do either.

On the night of the 6th, I called the installer and his wife (I'm guessing) said he was busy because someone didn't show up (too busy for customer that he left hanging?). He came back over a couple days later to lay the transition piece. However, he only used two of the three transition pieces that I bought and didn't leave the other one so I could return to Lowe's. After the installation, I noticed four very visible seams in the new carpet. I thought that maybe after a few weeks they would blend in and be less visible. I was wrong.

On November 29th, I called Lowe's and told them about the seams. I was told that the manager of installation would contact me, but on December 4th, I had to call the store back to find out what was going on. I talked to the store manager, and she had the manager of installation call me back. We set up a time for him and the installer to look at the carpet. They were supposed to be at my house at 6pm, but at 6:30 pm, the installer's wife called to say that because there was potential snow in the forecast, and because he was a few miles away at another job (when he was supposed to be at my house), they were going to have to reschedule for a couple days later.

When the installer and the installation manager finally made it to my house on December 13th, I also informed the installation manager that there were nails sticking out of the transition piece, and we catch our heels on them when walking to and from the dining room, and that the installer measured a foot into the dining room, but he didn't leave me the carpet he didn't use. (The installer claimed that he almost didn't have enough carpet for the job, and that's why there were no straps left. However, when he originally submitted the paperwork, I thought he inflated the sq. footage and ordered too much.)

The installation manager, first, tried to convince me that seams being visible were not uncommon depending on the type of carpet, especially Berber. I told him I understood that, but this carpet is not Berber; it is plush. The seams actually didn't look as bad as they normally did because it was dark outside, and they look worse in natural light. (I can stand in the living room and look down the hallway and plainly see three seams. It is horrible.)

And, nothing was even said about the nails sticking out of the transition piece. They both acted like it wasn't a big deal, and I got the feeling that they were acting like I was making a big deal out of nothing merely because I am a silly ole girl and didn't know any better. They said that I have a year's warranty on the carpet and if the seams start to peel away (which is my fear because that's what my old carpet did) they would come back out (they would come back out, they didn't say they would fix it). The installer did something, I don't even know that, to the carpet seams and left after he told me he would find out what happened to the other transition piece.

It is now December 26th, and I still have not heard anything from the installer on where my other transition piece is, and I still have four, very visible seams in my carpet. I am sick to my stomach every time I think of all that money I spent on this carpet, and how I was treated like a stupid woman. (Maybe I'm wrong, maybe they just treat everyone like they are stupid.) I called back over to Lowe's today and spoke with the store manager. All he did was transfer back to the installation manager who said he would contact the installer and schedule a time to come out and look at the carpet again. Why do they need to look at it again? It hasn't changed.

I've had carpet installed in two other houses years ago, and I have NEVER seen the seams, and one of those times, Lowe's installed it. I am SO frustrated and furious that I spent money at Lowe's for carpet, and it looks absolutely awful. I should have just left the old carpet there and spent the money on something else because this carpet makes me sick to my stomach.

Top of Page | Next Page >