Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Installation Services Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Fence Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Lowe's Fence Installation. Columbus, Ohio Residents Beware of: **, Project Specialist. 1675 Georgesville Square Road. Columbus Ohio 43228.

8-11-17- ** (Project Specialist) came and measured for fence installation. He measured both fronts, the entire right neighbor fence and behind my wooden swing set. I watched him measure my existing privacy fence from my upper deck. 9-5-17- I gave ** my credit card number for fence installation. 9-11-17- $1727.12 was taken out of my checking account for fence installation. 9-25-17- Fence getting installed. 9-26-17- Fence installed completed according to REC Construction. Per drawing ** gave them. ** measured everything in front of and gave REC partial measurements.

9-26-17- I notified ** (Lowe's Store Manager) that my fence install was not completed and I was deceived my **. ** assured me that he would make it right. 9-26-17- I called the contractor, REC Construction to let them know that my fence installation was not completed. Per their drawing (I have never seen this drawing) he said the install was completed. His number is ** and he said was going to contact **.

9-29-17- I called ** at Lowe's to get the receipt for the product I paid for. Offered no remedy. 9-29-17- ** left message on my cell phone not saying anything about a remedy for my fence install. 10-2-17- I put in dispute with Ohio Atty General Office. 10-11-17-- No communication from Lowe's or REC Construction. 10-12-17-
Zack ** at Lowe's Headquarters called me and said he was going to refund my monies

Reason I disputed transaction was because no one was trying to help or remedy my situation. This fence installation has caused stress in my life, that was not needed. Yes I deserve a refund. 10-26-17- Zack ** calls me back and says I do not deserve a refund.

Replies
Advertisement
Bathroom Remodel Disaster
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST ELLIJAY, GEORGIA -- I contracted with Lowe's in February 2017 to remove my tub, toilet, and vinyl floor and install a tile shower, glass shower door, new toilet, and tile floor. I had to pay $7766 at the time I signed the contract (the only way they do business). Their contractor did the demo a couple of weeks later. The next day I noticed the floor was all wet and discovered the toilet supply valve was leaking. Although they promised to come and fix it, it was 9 days until a new valve was installed. My wife and I had to empty a metal pan daily. There were always excuses why they couldn't come to work, e.g., "my truck doesn't run", "my employee is injured", etc.

The job wasn't "completed" for 6 weeks. After they reported the job "finished", there was no hot water. The sliding shower door was installed backwards. The shower didn't drain properly. The shower bench had a sharp, jagged edge. Safety grab bars were missing screws. Tiles were uneven and some were oriented incorrectly (vertical instead of horizontal). Grout had holes, was uneven, and sloppy. Walls were damaged, and the shower pan (floor) was the wrong size causing a large gap in the wall. They did a very poor job, so bad in fact that most of it has to be redone.

Replies
Solid Surface HiMacs Kitchen Counter Top With Double Sink
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

AKRON, OHIO -- My contractor and I went to Lowe's. I picked out the pattern for the counter top and the sink design which was a double sink with one of the sinks a little smaller than the large one. You need to understand that this was a solid stone sink. In other words the sink was actually a part of the counter. The smaller sink had a curved design as it connected to where the faucets would be but it was still of usable size.

When the sink-counter was finally delivered both the contractor and I said - "But that's not the sink we ordered" and the men said, "They don't make that sink anymore." The contractor and I were both shocked - no one had called to tell us that the sinks I wanted were no longer made. They just walk in with this huge countertop with sinks, as well as a counter for the other side of cabinets, and say, "This is it - do you want it?" At the time, my son was in a nursing home where I was going every day for 4 1/2 months, after which time he died.

I had been dealing with a sink that was partially torn apart because of glue used at the time of installation and your men walk in with someone's idea of what I want and say, "Do you want it?" I simply finally said, "OK - I just wanted my kitchen back to functioning normally, on top of which I had enough to deal with."

Since then I have had time to realize that there is no earthly logical function for a 9 1/2" wide sink. And, it is where the garbage disposal is located. I mean, even a dinner plate is awkward to scrape off in a sink of that size. I know it has been several months since all this happened but I am just getting around to 'normal' feelings, and the more I use or try to use this sink the more aggravated I become.

I should say that your men did do an excellent installation but I still resent that I wasn't notified or even asked previous to the sink being made if it was OK. This solid stone sink and counter top cost a lot of money and I resent that I'm now being made to use something that really really does not work. I think I should either have the chance of a new sink-counter or the garbage disposal should be moved to the larger sink at no expense to me.

Replies
Do Not Use Lowe's for Fence Installation!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

REDDING, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased materials for a fence and contracted through Lowe's for installation. HUGE MISTAKE!!! Estimator came out ON 10/11/2016 and was very professional. Installer called a week or so later to schedule. Was supposed to be here on 12/5 between 10 am and noon - so of course we schedule our day around him and finally after calling Lowe's at 4 pm to find out where he is, the guy shows up at 5 pm - when it is dark! Said he's late due to a water leak on a job he is on. Ever heard of calling the customer to let them know???

Says he can't start until he knows where PGE and water lines are located and blames that on the estimator. He calls PGE and when PGE came out to mark the location of lines, they said they called him twice and when they asked for him by name, he said no one here by that name and hung up. Who is this guy hiding from??? Yes, they did have the correct number. We have made no less than 10 calls to Lowe's over the past 10 days about this guy. Apparently he will only talk to one person in the Installed Sales department and won't answer his phone or hangs up on anyone else.

He called yesterday at 4:45 to get the address (he was already out there once and has the plans with the address on it!!). My husband told him not to bother showing up. So disgusted with Lowe's at this point. They did refund us 10% or $110 of the cost of materials, but installation charges are another $2,000. Now it is 10 days past our original installation date. We have no fence and told Lowe's to pick up the materials. It would be nice if these big box stores got some references and background on these guys they contract with. I will NEVER do business with Lowe's again!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Front Door Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- We had purchased the door and installation through Lowe's and the installer (NorthWest Remodel Guys of Kent, WA) had been difficult to work with (our installation was rescheduled on a very short notice - as in night before the morning installation twice, and therefore delayed by at least 2 weeks).

In addition, the job had been done very poorly. The door paint was scratched off in the process, the door seemed to have been measured incorrectly since there is a 2-3 mm gap on a left side (which is normal), but about half of an inch gap on the right hand side, and the door does not align with the trim (trim now sticks out for about 1/3 of an inch). The large gap on the right was then filled with silicone caulk that had come down and spilled out onto the patio a few hours after installation. I had text messaged the gentleman who installed the door, included the photos, and was told the gap will be filled with something and caulking will be re-applied.

We are very disappointed by how the door was manufactured due to improper measurements, unevenly installed, and how the contractor was trying to cover up the large gap by pouring in at least a tube or two of the silicone which had nothing to hold on to due to large hollow space between the door and the wall.

We tried contacting Lowe's 3 times and are still waiting for satisfactory resolution of this issue. They don't reply to e-mails and seem to support the installer's idea of just putting more silicone in to cover up the bad job done. We had also purchased a door security latch and installation (in the upper right corner) and it was not installed and no one seem to had heard of it. We went with Lowe's over other independent contractor hoping to save $400, but instead got a poorly installed door and lots of headache.

Replies
Backsplash Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIAN LAND, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Contracted to have backsplash installed in kitchen. Measurement went fine which took a couple weeks to have done. Another two weeks and the guys showed up to take off old backsplash and add new. He brought his son along to translate as he couldn't speak English. Didn't finish first day as first told us. Second day I left at noon and they were finishing the grouting. There was one whole box of tiles (~$110) and a box with 3 sheets. They left the 3 and Lowe's has refused to reimburse me for the whole box.

I got home and found the GFCI was tripped and the outlets non-functioning, set in crooked, and broken. Light bulbs from under the cupboards were broken. Tiles were protruding at several locations and grout missing in some areas. I called Lowe's and they got with the installers - two weeks before they could return. They show up and fix the wiring that was causing the GFCI fault. Tell me they would need to return.

I had to schedule another return date - 2 weeks again! One week before they were to arrive my brother passed and I called to see if they could come a couple days earlier - nope! - reschedule - 2 weeks again. I purchased this tile and contracted 7/28/2017 and the job "finished" 10/25/2017. Three months! DO NOT use this service!!! Read the reviews!!! Lowe's sanctions this group!

Replies
Don't Buy Lowe's Installation Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- Because of the facilitated financing offers, I have given Lowe's multiple projects to do around my house: A complete fence and electric gate, which went relatively well and I even required Lowe's to credit my account for the material that was left over (many hundreds of dollars) thanks to the store deputy manager. I give 3.5 stars for the quality of work, 3 stars for the price as it was not cheap, 5 stars for the financing and for refunding me for the surplus. I give Lowe's 2 stars for the bill of material which was excessive.

A complete roof replacement, which went as well relatively fine, except that when I gave back the redundant material to the sales guy/project specialist, he never refunded me any $$. The credit would have been around $100 so I did not follow-up on it.

A partial gutter installation of 46 LF and two downspouts, which took time to see the installation crew come to install it and they did not have all the material, so they did the work they could and they left the downspouts half done. I have been calling the sales guy, the Lowe's installation folk multiple times and I was promised it will be taken care of every time. But then nothing happens. The order was placed on 3/13/2017. Can you imagine what customer service they have? I don't know if I should take Lowe's to court for this. I can be reached on **.

Replies
Bathroom Remodel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST PEORIA, ILLINOIS -- We bought a complete bathroom remodel from Lowe's. Took the room down to the studs to start over. It was a nightmare from the time the products started to arrive. The vanity top was ordered the wrong size. Lowe's suggested we reroute our HVAC so they could move the vanity closer to the wall. The custom shower was ordered the wrong size so the panel had to be cut to fit the shower space. The wrong wall cabinet was ordered and when I told them about they told me the cabinet I ordered was no longer made. I was looking at it online and could get it in two days.

It took 6 weeks for the cabinet to come in and it was damaged. A job that was supposed to be done in February got done in July. We were supposed to get a visit from Lowe's regional office to "make things right". After not getting any response to my calls for a couple of months we called our contractor to be informed the person we were supposed to see no longer worked for Lowe's and he doesn't know if the new person will honor his "make it right" offer.

Replies
Advertisement
Exterior Remodel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOWES, PENNSYLVANIA -- Siding gone bad. They gave the job to a guy who was supposed to be qualified to do siding but has not done it for a while. The J-channel is crooked, side flashing was bent as to not allow gutters to sit flush on fascia. I gave him the opportunity to correct and he patched it with covering it up and not correcting the gutter issue. They broke a window screen, scuffed freshly painted shutters, and did not tell me. Cigarette butts and nails not picked up.

Lowe's did not have another contractor to come and correct the issues. They wanted to give me 250 dollars. No one would even touch it after they found out Lowe's did it. Corporate did not call back half the time. I called last week and still did not hear from them. Stay away from Lowe's. I canceled my card and will never shop there again. I know where this is headed. Stay away from Lowe's.

Replies
Poor Work and Terrible Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

HATTISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- My wife and I decided to replace our large living room window and contacted the local Lowe's (Harrisburg) who sent a salesman to our home on Black Friday. After selecting a window he did some measuring and said the installer would contact us for an install date. Two weeks later a contractor came to our house and re-measured the window opening. I received a call two weeks later from another person who said they needed to come out and re-measure the window.

In January, the window was delivered and installed. It was scratched during shipment and one of the screens had a small rip. The installers stained our carpet and made a terrible mess. Customer service from Lowe's followed up a month later, in February. I told them about the shortcomings and requested they at least replace the screen. The representative said someone was going to contact me. In April I emailed the customer service department and it's now June and nobody has contacted me. My advice is don't order windows for installation through Lowe's. I have been a loyal customer for a lot of years but am very disappointed with this whole experience.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Installation Services Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 54 ratings and
296 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies