Preview Review

Next Review

Ford Motor Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Problems Caused by Use of Spare Tire
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

MICHIGAN -- I have a 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis. On 04/18/2013 I had a flat tire and had to put on the spare tire that Ford Motor Co. furnished with the car. It is a little smaller in diameter than the regular tires. When I got back on the road the car would only get 35 mph for about 7 miles then picked up and ran faster. The caution on the tire warns to not exceed 50 mph so I kept it around that.

As soon as I was back on the road the ABS light, the park brake light and the stability control light all came on. When I went to have it reset I was told that it had taken out the module that controls this. The cost to replace this is around $300.00. It is sorry of Ford Motor Co. to supply a spare tire that is going to cause this kind of trouble if you use it.

Replies
Advertisement
Ford Escort Lemon
By -

WESTLAND, MICHIGAN -- I bought a used Ford Escort SE(1999) from a dealership near my home in Michigan in late August 2005, less than one year ago, with 22,000 actual miles on it. Since then it's made sure to suck enough money out of me so that I could never afford to buy another car. Stated by the salesman ** the brakes were newer (at least over half their life left), the entire car had been inspected before sale, and the car had never been in any accidents.

Less than one week after I bought it the car started violently shaking at idle, from bad motor mounts; a defect that took two visits to their dealership fix. During the first fix the mechanic tried feeding me a bull line about the "engine is so powerful that it causes extra vibrations" (a 1999 Escort SE gets about 110 HP. I've been outrun by minivans. Powerful engine my **).

Also noted to the mechanics both times was a squealing noise from the brakes. The mechanics both told me that the brakes were new on and not in need of fixing; neither one even looked at them. Two weeks after the motor mounts were finally fixed (now September), the air conditioning stopped working. Took it in, was told the entire system had been looked over and the compressor was replaced. Again brought up the now rubbing brakes, was told there was nothing wrong with them.

October, check engine light comes on repeatedly at random. I pull over to check the engine and notice the entire harness for the headlights is cracked across the front. Headlights and front clip are now held on by less than two inches of plastic. I also notice what seems to be masking material for a paint job near the hinges of the hood. This car's front has been repainted... and replaced, though I was told it was not... dealership refuses to replace the cracked part, saying that under warranty or not it doesn't cover any "body damage".

Almost rear end a car for lack of brakes in late October. Jack up the car and remove the wheel; the pads and rotors have HEAVY damage. Rotors are warped and chipped to hell. I take it into the dealership to complain, they say that brake work is not in their warranty and that I must've done it. Mileage is approximately 24-26,000 miles at this time, and I mostly highway drive... mechanics have told me there is no way I caused that much damage to those short of hitting them with a hammer.

Took it in for first oil change at around 25,000 miles,air filter looked as if it had been dipped in sewage. My old Chevy Celebrity had had the same air filter since '03 and looked cleaner (2003-2005!) So much for inspections. Replaced. Periodically check engine sensor pings on and off. The dealership won't look at it even unless I pay them $100, and not all sensors are covered by their warranty. Could run me over $300 just for a sensor. Car also started sucking gas, gets about 20 mi to the gallon instead of 28-30 highway. No idea why.

April 2006, car starts vibrating all the time, makes ticking noises. Over a week it becomes deafening. Take it in, mechanic insists there's nothing wrong. I refuse to leave until they look at it. Inspection finds a cracked flywheel, replaced. May 2006, air conditioning goes AGAIN. It's only been used a good three times since the last repair! The dealership refuses to warranty their last work, saying that the wiring can corrode so it won't work.

Problem: wiring does not corrode that much in 8 months, meaning they put bad wiring back into my car during their "inspection". June, paint starts chipping. Everywhere. Big flakes. I noticed a bit around the doors earlier, but got concerned when chips the size of my thumbnail started falling off the car for no reason.

Went to complain to the managers of North Brothers Ford... the manager who inspected my car basically accused me of lying. He told me that "people put ideas into my head" and "there's nothing wrong with this car"... in short, they would give me 1500 in a trade for it...

I paid over 6 grand for the thing less than a year ago. I know 6 grand isn't a lot, but I'm a college student who's now stuck with an unreliable car that I really couldn't afford. I bought it because it was promised to last me longer than my past heaps. No one there offers help. I just keep getting lied to. Can't afford a lawyer for lemon lawsuit. Trying to sell the car to cut my losses... not working too good. Ford, you suck.

Replies
Ford Motor Credit Lease Vehicle
By -

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I leased a vehicle through Ford in 2005 - This would be my 2nd vehicle with Ford. I have excellent credit. NEVER paid late. They always received their $430.00 every month. Mind you the payment was $429. and some change. I decided this year not to renew my lease with Ford. My first reason - they send these letters, you know, come out of your lease early, they get you in the dealership and tacks the months that they claim they are paying off in your new lease. Well this is not helping me! Plus the fact their cars are just plain janes.

I decided to go with Hyundai and I must say I choose the Veracruz Limited fully loaded same price as my ford and guess what! A 2 year lease! I left my vehicle with Hyundai. I was told they could turn it in. I would get a lease bill at the end, which I did. In the mean time I owed for 3 payments. I had just paid 1 payment of $430.00 on the 22nd of Feb which was actually my normal payment. I got the new car on the 23rd and I made a payment to Ford on the 4 of March for the remainder which was like $1298.00. End of story.

In the mean time I went on their site and was locked out of my account, could not make any payments with them or see anything. Thank God I made the $1298 payment when I did before they locked my account. I set that up electronically with FORD and it was taken out of my bank account. I kept getting calls that they did not get the $1298.00 finally after the 3rd day. I had to call and was notified that they received my money.

Well guess what Ford decides to make changes to my credit to read Termination lease early and still had the balance of 1298 out there. Which to me look like I ended the lease and owes them $1298 (even though I paid this). This change to my credit was made on 3/5. I called them and they told me because I ended my lease 3 months early my lease was to end in July - they had to make the change.

OK when I got the lease in 2005 with Ford, I got that lease 6 months early, nothing happened to my credit. Could it be because I went from a FORD to a FORD or now because I went from a FORD to a HYUNDAI and someone got their tail in a spin! This even gets better. I got the review from the lease. This is where they go over your vehicle very good.

Now I was told turn in the vehicle, let them look it over and anything you owe you have 30 days to pay. I got the letter (mind you all this I can back up). The car was in normal wear and tear condition. Over mileage was 294.00 which this include 36 dollars and something cents in tax fees. I was told I had 30 days to pay. I received this letter on 3/14/08. I am not being called at home 3/11 by Ford about the 294 even though the letter clearly states 30 days to pay. I have paid these people faithfully for 3 years. 294.00 is not going to ruin my credit! But you can best believe this! THEY HAVE LOST ME FOR LIFE. I AM DONE WITH THEM!

Now I know why they will eventually go out of business. Now I know why Hyundai, Toyota, and even Kia does better than them. I am done with them! My concern is not about who sold more cars, however putting out a better product to me is a better in the long run, and as a consumer HOW I AM TREATED!!!! I always went with ford because a sister in law of mine was a big wig in Philly then in Detroit. That why I ended up leasing with them all the time.

My point is If you don't continue with them you lose out.. I paid every cent, terminated early, so what? I should have kept the vehicle the additional 3 months. It is called lease termination yes, but PAID IN FULL not lease termination owing 1298.00. That is my point!! I might as well parked the car in my driveway.

At least I thought I was doing the appropriate thing. It is not about having facts right. It is about the customer and treating the customer right so you can come back. Why I want to tack 3 or 2 months let alone 1 year worth of payments on to the next lease and pay them interest.. That don't make sense to me. I wanted to pay what I owed and be done. I appreciate the responses!

Replies
Ford dealer service rip-offs
By -

MESA (PHOENIX AREA), FLORIDA -- On March 7, 2007, I took my 1993 Ford Probe into the Berge Ford Service Department in Mesa, Arizona to have the leaking valve cover gaskets replaced, and to get my recently refurbished air conditioning system functioning again. The written estimate I received for this work was $608. On March 14, I picked up the car and the billed amount was for $2713.79 (more than the car is worth).

The Service Advisor had called me the day after I left the car to tell me that the A/C compressor needed replacing (it had already been replaced 20,000 miles ago when the system was converted to the newer R138 refrigerant from R12). He said the cost for a rebuilt compressor would be $540. In fact, without any further notice until I picked up the car one week later, I was charged $914 for this part plus another $148 for a new accumulator. (I had authorized the $688 additional quoted cost, but when I picked up the car I was stunned to find that the cost for the A/C work came to $1154.)

The Service Advisor had also recommended the replacement of the (expensive) spark plug wires, which he informed me were oil-soaked. I knew that the long internal plastic/ceramic spark plug connectors were impermeable to any such soaking and declined that part of the job.

The Service Advisor also used scare tactics to try to get me to authorize CV shaft replacement because of the loss of one CV joint grease boot (he said my wheel would fall off while driving). His quoted cost to replace both of these CV half-shafts was $1700. I declined, and had this exact replacement work done (with new shafts) at another shop (Network Alignment in Mesa) the following week for a total cost of $413. The Berge Ford service department wanted to charge me four times the cost that the other shop charged me for this work.

Included in my final bill was a water pump and drive belt replacement (which I had verbally authorized on the telephone). But the mechanic broke several parts when working on the engine -- including a listed vacuum selenoid pack which he reportedly replaced. But when I picked up the car the ABS (antilock braking system) warning light was lit-up on the dashboard -- which was not illuminated when I left the car with the dealer.

Because it was obvious that the mechanic did something to the ABS control system module while working near it in the engine compartment, I asked to have this fixed at no charge, was refused, and so asked speak with the Service Manager. Both the Service Manager and Advisor refused to even look into the problem that their mechanic caused unless I paid an additional fee to find the cause. I refused -- not wishing to repeat my earlier mistake of trusting these people. Now I am driving a car with a potentially serious safety flaw which this Ford dealer service department caused.

I have been a loyal Ford customer for more than 50 years, but never before have felt so blatantly cheated by greedy businessmen. As a consequence I have sworn to sell our two Fords (we also own a recent model Ford truck) and never again buy a Ford vehicle or patronize one of their dealers.

Replies
Advertisement
2012 Ford Fiesta S Falling Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I purchased this car new, and within 4000 miles the clutch needed to be fixed. Had to take it into the dealer twice for them to really look at it. Then at 30000 miles the axle is leaking fluid really bad. And of course Ford Service can't get me in until next week, and states "it should be fine to drive it like that." Never buy a Ford, go with Honda or Toyota and spend less time at Ford Service Centers.

Replies
Station Wagon Theft
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAGINAW, MICHIGAN -- Lately Ford Motors has featured a comic style commercial featuring some poor soul trying to get into the back of a station wagon with an armload of packages. His problem is finally solved by pressing a foot pedal at the rear of the vehicle to open the car and insert the packages. My question is "Doesn't this allow any thief from doing the same thing and making off with the vehicle"? It doesn't seem too safe to me.

Replies
Paint peeling, oil pan rusting, tranny issues
By -

BUFFALO, MINNESOTA -- I am a loyal Ford man and so is my family. Lately my trucks have been worthless and Ford will not stand behind their workmanship. I bought 2 Black f 350 trucks in 2002. Right away I had paint peel on my drivers door on the Ext. cab. Ford painted it and told me that it was just that door and the rest of the truck would be fine.

After the warranty was up, my paint started peeling on the passenger door. Ford would not stand behind it so I got rid of the truck. My other 2002 Regular cab showed signs of peeling at 24,695 miles. The whole truck needed to be painted. Because I was past three years, they would not repair it. After fighting with them for a few months, they said they would paint it but I had to pay $700. What do you do? So they painted it and I paid them $700.

Now the truck has 50,000 miles and the tranny goes out. Ford still will not help me. So out of my pocket goes $3000. Now the oil pan has rusted out on my 7.3 diesel engine. I am past the 5 year 100,000 mile warranty. I asked the dealer if they would call and check with Ford to see if they would help. He said he knew that Ford wouldn't do anything so he wouldn't even bother calling them. They want $2100 to replace the oil pan. This is a joke. It is costing me a fortune to keep this thing running.

I have never had an oil pan rust out on anything in my life. I drive a 1987 ford ranger with everything original and it runs like a top. My dad has a 1986 F150 with all original equipment and it runs awesome to. Why can't they build this stuff better or stand behind the workmanship?

Replies
Manipulation of payments to incur lower credit rating and excessive late charges
By -

I leased a 2009 Ford Flex. Everything was fine and no late payments were made. In October 2009 I became totally disabled but still made my payments. In March of 2010 I called Ford Credit and asked for a three month payment deferral to be paid at the end of the lease. They informed me a two month extension was available but stated that to qualify for relief from April and may payments I would need to make a payment [go figure]. The cost of the extension would be an additional 221$, and they would put two payments on the end of the lease. Cost of two payments? 700$ .Cost of extension? 551$. They know how to get you when you're down.

I eventually fell two payments behind and the phone calls became incessant. Very much not the Ford your father owned. Finally in 2011 I started to get back on my feet. I sent them 800$ to cover that years apr-may payment. A month later I sent them 1400$ to cover June-July payments plus 166$ late fees plus 221$ extension fee. What they did against my request was made payments through September leaving late fees to accrue and non-payment of extension to damage my credit with them.

Now if I want to lease from them again in six months OR buy out in six months my interest rate with either will be prohibitive. I just got off the phone with Ford Credit and after about 1 hour and two different, no three different agents, the first one hung up. I was dragged around in a circle with them telling me what I should have done and me telling them that was what I was trying to do and them telling me IF I had done what I was trying to do we wouldn't have a problem.

Keep in mind the reason they paid two payments forward was to protect me from missing payments that were not due yet. Sept.2011 my statement declared no payment was due and currently there were no charges on my account. Now today my Oct. statement arrived with the payment plus 166$ in late fees and 221$ in ext fees.

What Ford Credit will do is once they realize you are a repeat lessor they will systematically manipulate your billing to damage your credit, incur late fees and have you believe it is your fault. Don't believe it. It's not you. At the end of my phone conversation I asked ** to stop talking about it, I had a solution. I would simply return my Ford Flex at term and not buy from Ford anymore. That won't be too difficult. By the way, my Lincoln was built in Mexico and most of my Flex was built in Canada.

Replies
Advertisement
Ford might owe you money...
By -

Ford was able to QUICKLY bury media reports of a court case that they lost in 2001. The court disposition was that Ford was to reimburse current AND FORMER Ford owners, whose cars had DOCUMENTED repairs related to this problem. It was an ignition module, that failed when hot, and left NO diagnostic clue in the car's computer. That in itself was a free ticket to the dealers to clean out your wallet. I had one of these vehicles - a 1995 Ford. I had ALL records for failed repairs, etc., etc., etc. Total losses to me were almost $3,000, DOCUMENTED.

Ford played dumb, and one day I heard about the court case closing, and they lost. By the time I got home, Ford already had the story off of the National Public Radio website, which carries stories for at least until the next day. I had to go to the radio station to get the press release. Ford still played dumb, all the way to corporate offices. "What court case?" they said? I took my business-vehicle Ford to the dealer, left it, told them about the failed part, and the court case. I went to the Chevy dealer and bought a new Chevy. A week later, I picked up my Ford. The next day, it broke down.

I wrote Ford Motor Credit, and said to come get my Ford - no more payments for you, with breach of contract. 3 months later, they came to get it, and entered a INVOLUNTARY repossession on my credit record. If they had had a case, it WOULD have been VOLUNTARY repo, but that didn't matter to them. They had no case anyway, since they had LOST the court case!!! And they went through my dad to find me, even tho' I told them where to get it. They shouldn't have done that, because I then told my dad why his Ford-equipped motor home shut down when hot.

Wall Street said this might bring Ford to its' end. It was supposed to really hurt them. Fortunately for them, the web was in its' infancy, and 'viral' stuff didn't happen like it does now. Supposedly, you were to get $186 if you had any records for this problem (I have LOTS more). I don't know if that applied only to CA residents tho'. Supposedly, law firms in 5 other stated are (were) assembling the same case against Ford, pending a federal case. Google 'TFI Settlement'. Do you have any receipts for service on Ford vehicles???

Replies
Defective Motors
By -

I owe two ford explorer's. One is a 01' model and the other is a 05' model. Both have the 4.0 motors. Not two long ago the belt on the 05' started to make some squalling noise. So being a little knowledgeable about car's. I bought a new serpentine belt & replaced it. The new belt did quiet it some but did not get rid of the noise. So the next step was to call a friend of mine that works for ford (In the service dept.) and ask him what he thought. He told me that the Harmonic Balancer pulley was defective. He began to explain that the center of the pulley is made of plastic and the outer ring is metal.

Over time the metal separates from the plastic and the serpentine belt would slip down on to the plastic part of the pulley and the metal ring slides back closer to the motor. So I asked sense this is a defective product ford would fix it at no cost to me. NO was the response. So my next question was how much is it going to cost. 550.00 dollars. So then I told him I would have to wait to get it fixed b/c I do not have that kind of money. He then told me not to drive it until it was fixed b/c they had a ford ranger with the same type of motor and that the pulley came off and went through the radiator, & it cost him over 1300.00 dollars to fix it.

So I paid, but not before I called ford to ask them about the problem with all of the 4.0 motor's. They said it was the first that they had heard about the problem,& they were not responsible. So then I called six different dealership in the area and asked them if they have been fixing any problems like mine. Every one of them said that they were fixing at least two a week and that it was all of the 4.0L. That sounds like it should be a recall to me. What do you think. I hope this will help some people decide not to buy a FORD.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Ford Motor Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
104 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Ford Motor
The American Rd.
Dearborn, MI 48121
1-800-392-3673 (ph)
www.ford.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Auto Manufacturers