Lowe's - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 119 ratings and
364 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Brutally Bad Customer Service at Lowes!
Posted by on
GREENWOOD VILLAGE, COLORADO -- I wanted to purchase a GE Profile Gas range from Lowes for which I placed an Order at the Store

LOWE'S OF GREENWOOD VILLAGE, CO #0311
9100 EAST PEAKVIEW AVENUE
GREENWOOD VILLAGE, CO 80111
Phone: (303) 220-8737
Fax: (303) 220-8562

1) The day I made the purchase I was told that They can get the Gas Range on the following Friday.

2) The day after I made the purchase I got a Call from an associate at Lowes Thanking me for the Purchase. That's when I was told that the Range would be there the Following Friday (28th Of April 2006) and Since I had requested the Delivery and Install on a "Saturday" he said That, that was possible and would be done that way.

3) So came Friday(28th April 2006) and I called Lowes and No One Had any clue as to when my Unit would be delivered. In fact the Install Service Rep gave me the Phone number of the Installer and asked me to schedule an appointmwnt with him directly. I left the installer two messages. He finally called me in the evening and told me that He was not working for Lowes anymore. I asked him, since When? and he told me "Since about a month ago". So I called back the Insall Service Dept of Lowes and the Guy (cannot remember his name) told me that " This was news to me!". No one was aware that their installer (at least whom they thought was their installer) was no longer working for them.

4) I made repeated calls that day and then Saturday and then Sunday which is when I had the Worst Customer service Experience Ever by The Install Rep named "Gary" . His Tone was the most Rude I had ever Heard and rather than solving my problem he was trying to intimidate me. He constantly kept on saying " if you interrupt me once more I will disconnect the call Okay" And then I said "Yes" To which he repeatedly kept on asking me me "Okay?? Okay??" Just intimidating me in the most DisRespectful fashion.

5) So Then I yelled and ended that conversation. I was extremely frustrated by then and called Lowes Main Customer service number: 1-800-445-6937 So that I could cancel my order. The lady who answered my call was good and she redirected me to the Operations Manager of that Lowes Store named "Anissa".

6) Anissa offered me a 10% discount so that I did not to cancel my order, which I didn't. She told me that the 10% discount was for the inconvinience caused to me.

7) I also Asked her that I cannot take any more days off so I needed the Delivery and Install on a Saturday. She promised to call me on the following Monday (May 1st 2006) which she didn't. So I called instead at 5:00pm and I was told that she was out for lunch (yes at 5:00pm) and that I should call back later. I specifically asked the Customer Service Rep who answered the call as to How long she would be working there and I was told till the close of the day (10:00pm). So I called back at about 8:45pm and I was told that she had left for the Day.

8) So then I called the following day (Tuesday - May 2nd 2006) to talk to Anissa and I was told that she was in training and that she would be back in on Wednesday May 3rd. I left a message for anissa with the Customer service Rep with my name and bunch of other relevant details about my order.

9) So then I called on May 3rd (Wednesday) and she was not in that day too. I asked for the Store's manager and got to talk to Bill, Which I was later on told that he was the Store's Zone Manager. Explained the Whole situation again to him and he promised to get it resolved. He also told me that he will Definitely call me back that Day.

10) I did not receive a call from himthat Day. So I called up the very next morning (Thursday May 4th 2006) and spoke with Bill and he said he had called and even left me a Voice mail. I am still waiting for that Voice mail till date). I am sure he dialed the wrong number. Anyway He told me that He is still trying to figure out who the installers are.

11) The next day (Friday 5th May) I called up the store again and spoke with Anissa and she told me that Michelle was working on getting the installers figured out since there was some messup with the installers. She kind of indicated to me that the ball is out of my court now. Please be calling Michelle which to me is a great indicator of Poor service.

12) Its 8th May (Monday) today and I have still not heard about my Order.

13) So I made another call (Don't even know what Date now. and spoke with Michelle in the Install Department. She told me that I would have to work directly with the Installers which was now even more frustrating to hear. So I told her that I have dealt with enough of this and I need answers upon which she softened her tone and told me that she would find out what's going on with my delivery and get back to me (I think another tactic to get rid of a customer rather than helping one).

14) I waited for about 2 hours for Michelle to call me back but nothing. I was by then running out of patience and being given the Run Around. I then made a call to the Lowes Main Customer Service Number again and told them about my problem. They went over my Order and the Notes so far and apologized to me about the treatment given to me so far. This was the first time I think someone from Lowes as a Company had apalogized to me for the Bad treatment and service that I had got. They said they will look into the matter.

Guess what? Michelle called me back within about 5 minutes of me making that call to Lowes Main Customer Service. She told me that She contacted the Installer who Sub contracted with another Install Company in Colorado. This Subcontractor installer did not get a copy of the Insall Order. So she contacted the Main Install company and they too did not receive the install Order but Michelle remembered faxing it to them. Another Mess at Lowes? Someone dropped the ball somewhere AGAIN! So she Faxed them the Install order again.

15) At this point I was so frustrated that I just wanted to order the same GE Gas range from Home Depot. So I ended up making a Call to the main Customer Service Line at Lowes again and asked them to cancel my order. They transferred me this time to the Store's Manager (don't remember his name). This time it was the Store's Manager and not the Store's Zone Manager. I requested him to cancel my order. He asked me to explain to him why I wanted to cancel my order upon which I told him "NO Sir, I will not Explain this Whole thing again. I have already done this three times. I just want my order cancelled". He then I guess found the Notes on my Order and started going through and stalling me. He asked me if this was a special order upon which I said I don't think so. So since there was no way to save this order he asked me in that sarcastic tone, "U sure you want to cancel this order? I said yes, he said OOOOOOKaaaaaayyy. Yeah Just like that in that tone".

It seemed like at that Lowes store no one seemed to care about my problem. Everyone just wanted to give me Some BS answer and get off the phone as quickly as possible.

As the old axium goes, if you make your customer happy you've made one person happy. But if you mistreat your customer, he will share that experience with 9 other people. Or maybe worse, on a forum board or Boards on the internet.

BTW I have ordered a the Gas Range from Homedepot and I cannot even BEGIN to describe the Difference in treatment and the smoothness of operations (with the 10% discount) between the two stores. Home depot was WAY WAY WAY Better in service Quality and Customer care. I think they understand what the Word Customer Service means whereas Lowes in my opinion Absolutely does not.

Note: I will not be doing business with Lowes anymore. My experience in Totality was Extremely extremely Poor.

Thanks.
     
Read 21 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 05/23/2006:
COPY your Lowe's receipt and type out your complaint emphasizing your problem with "Gary" then submit your letter by certified mail to - Customer Care
Lowe's Companies, Inc.
P.O. Box 1111
North Wilkesboro, NC 28656
Did you get your money back ? I'd call you credit company and flag Lowe's from doing any transcations, provided you got all your money back.
Doc J on 05/24/2006:
There are so many complaints about big-box appliance stores and their delivery service/policy. Rent a small U-Haul, get some friendly neighbor boys to help load, and hire an independent contractor (look under "handyman services") to hook up the appliance. Might cost a total of $100 (including pizza for the helpful boys). But it's done on your time and it's done right.
beanbagbritches on 05/25/2006:
I can't believe you thought Gary was rude because he asked you to stop interrupting him. You even admit to yelling at him. No wonder you didn't get anywhere.
Thirdsession on 06/01/2006:
Yesterday I bought a garden hose container and it clearly stated on the container "For 5/8" garden hose. Today I returned to Lowe's Home Improvement on Rte 44 in Taunton, Ma. because the fitting on the conecting hose was for a 1/2" faucet and would not attach to the faucet on the house which is 5/8". The salesman said the only way to make it fit was with a 5/8" adapter. That was fine with me but since it was clearly stated on the container "for 5/8" hose", I want it included in the price of the container. He stated that he couldn't do that but he would get the manager. The manager came down promptly and I explained the situation to him. He stated coldly, "so buy the adapter". I explained to him that his attitude would only result in my returning the entire container for a refund and a lost sale. I then pointed out to him that it clearly states for 5/8" hose. He stated that neither he nor Lowe's printed that statement. With that sophmoric statement and attitude, I did raise my voice a couple of octaves and asked to speak with his superior. He then grabbed his badge on his shirt, stuck it in my face and said, "I"m the boss here now". His badge said, "CHARLES, SALES MANAGER". The adapter is only $2.97, a small price indeed, but the principal of false labeling and a cocky, juvenile attitude by the manager will not allow me to pay for this item. After I left the manager's presence, a customer came up to me a told me that he purchased the same item last week and met with the same results. Has Lowe's stooped to deceptive tactics to sell merchandise? Does Lowe's not care about its customers? Is this the way everyone will be treated at Lowe's? Are Lowe's salaries so low that they can only hire managers who just want to exert their authority and don't care about Lowe's good standing? Tell me, what is my next step? I am a 68-years-old retired executive and I don't believe anyone should be treated like that and Lowe's should stand behind what is printed on the label whether they printed it or not, they are selling it and thereby vouching for its accuracy.
Bodashustatas on 07/14/2006:
Moan, moan, moan. Gripe, gripe gripe. If you are going to take your business elsewhere...then do it!!!!! Why do you feel the need to broadcast it to the world, like anyone cares about your problems! Do what ya got to do and move on! If they are that bad, hit them in the pocket book! Take your business where ever you like. If others agree, they will go out of business, if not, they won't. Are you trying to sway public opinion? Whatever!
BestCashier on 10/28/2006:
That is so true if your not happy with the customer service at lowes then go to wherever your heart desires! And PLEASE PLEASE don't do the "Oh I'm going to go to Home Depot now" speech in front of the lowes employees because guess what as an employee there I can tell you we couldn't care less!
chancesr on 12/19/2006:
Lowe's employees do care less and boy does it show! Maybe when Lowes goes down because of such lousy customer service, you'll be on here. And I think this is to warn the public about what an awful company Lowes is. I will never shop there.. don't want to meet the evil people that work there.
nataligirl8698 on 12/28/2006:
Alain on 06/14/2007:
BestCashier seems to represent Lowes and how they feel about customers. So that's Lowes answer to your complaint.
Ann Margaret on 06/26/2007:
I feel for this person, because she is getting the same polite run-around that I have been getting with a repair on a refrigerator for over three weeks that I purchased from them. Had I known that Lowe's was so poor with their service I never would have purchased this item from them. So I think it is great to read about other people's experiences with various businesses. Maybe if we all woke up and refused to frequent these places they would change their policy.

Just call up their repair service, and all you get is how they are a "Customer Care" company. Well if waiting over three weeks for a repair is caring, then they don't know what the meaning is.
great-grandma is M-A-D on 07/06/2007:
not glad to see others had problems with Lowe's, but, glad it wasn' just me. Not glad that people can't understand if they don't have problems then no one does. They will someday and no one will understand, only criticize. What a shame. I do wish my run-around had been polite, I went all the way up to the executive customer service in the home office and she was the rudest of them all. Basically, catch us if you can. I EXPECT new appliances when I buy them, tell me they are refurbished (as in new compressor installed before my pruchase) and if I then choose to buy, to bad; so sad for me, but, that wasn't the case. I asked the right questions but was fed lies and never would have known had it not completely broken down and had the door hot as hades = I just wonder if it would have gone on fire had I not gotten up during that night? Only God knows, but, I am sure that others will say that is dramatic now that I see they have been treated well or work there...good for you, AND GOD BLESS EVERYONE...I am not vindictive at all. Just want what a paid for A NEW fridge.
Until you walk in my shoes...yadayadayada
great-grandma is M-A-D on 07/08/2007:
do any of you think that 'T' should be added to the Lowe's name ? lowesT
great-grandma is M-A-D on 07/09/2007:
Bodashustatas - people come on here just to do what you seem to think they have no right to do...complain about services, so why, may I ask, do you put your 3cents in if you have no interest. You go elsewhere, this site is for complaining, if there were no problems, then no complaint site would be needed. someone has to wake up Lowe's and such to the fact that if you think customers are ALWAYS wrong, you best think again.
Jezzicka on 07/26/2007:
I currently work for lowes and I have been for almost 4 years I understand that the problem that you are having is very agravating but yes....looking at us and telling us that you wish u had gone to Home Depot does not make us want to help you any better in all reality it makes us care less...you be rude to us we will be rude back...that's with every person..not just lowes employees. btw what MOST people don't understand about retail...we got to "Lunch" when we get a chance...not everyone goes to lunch at 12 especially if you don't get there till later...but I'm glad you have decided to go to Home Depot because since this situation happened you will never find lowes to ever suit your needs so have fun shopping at Home depot!
Alain on 07/31/2007:
I keep on hearing managers talk about customer service and then doing their best to make sure it can't be done. Oh well, they pays us and we hide as best we can.
bluesplash on 09/06/2007:
I have a hard time with Lowes service also. I am a great believer that as a customer my sales person reflects back to me what I am sending out but I swear the people at my local Lowes just have no idea what customer service is and are PLAIN CLUELESS about any products in the store. I have been in customer service (waitress, Kinkos, and now my own painting business) and if at any time I acting like the people in Lowes acted I would have been fired. And to the people that work at Lowes on this site I think you should look at all the people all over the country that complain constantly about Lowes service and maybe you can suggest improvements in your store. Thank you
BruceWayne on 12/19/2007:
A lot of times customers take store/retail employees for granted. They think that by calling someone up at the store and yelling at them and/or bullying them around they think that they can get what they want out of them. That is not true, in reality you come off as looking like an idiot. I have worked in retail for several years now especially in the home improvement/hardware business. Customers like you are few and far between. You make up about 0.01% of customers big box retailers receive and frankly we couldn't care less whether you spent your money with that company. It takes more time and effort to try to reason with you than it does with a normal person. Now, if you called the store and tried to reason with an associate, that is one thing, not everyone working in that store knows what is going on all the time. So you may have to explain your story many times. But being rude by yelling and screaming at employees over the phone does not help the situation and does not make you a bigger man. You make the situation more difficult for not only you, but for the store and employees as well. So don't be surprised by the service you received at Lowe's. If someone treated you the way you treated those employees, how would you react to that? Quit trying to be tough and suck it up!
doityourselfgal on 02/02/2008:
I sit here laughing a bit because I really wonder how exaggerated this story is. Knowing how Lowes works and their policies I truly believe this story to be a "bit over the Top". I also wonder how cooperative you were with Lowes. Through the years of flipping houses I have shopped all the Big Box stores and experienced problems with all. The overrideing difference between the stores was that, given the chance, Lowes took care of me while the others did not. Mistakes happen, it is a part of life and business. I have found that Lowes will do whatever it take to correct the mistake. It is not always easy and fast because there are many times outside Vendors etc. to deal with but, they take care of you. One more question, When was the last time you went on a site and blabbed about a GOOD experience you had?
anthony2009 on 09/04/2009:
I work at Lowe's. I do think the system could be a little better, though. It seems as if ONE PERSON drops the ball, everything goes downhill.

The system works perfectly about 93% of the time. You just had a bad experience.

You must be in an area where there is a Home Depot with really good staff. The Home Depot here SUCKS!

Backlash2 on 02/03/2010:
I must say that some of the products I buy from Lowes have been defective, for example I purchased a Cusinart coffee pot $99.00
it leaked after 3 months use, I bought and Electric Fireplace $500 it stopped working after 6 months use.I have found too that by going on their website and sending an Email regarding my complaint to their customer service that they always get back in touch with me in a couple of days and they have always gotten in touch with the manager from the store that I purchased the items and had him call and offer to replace the item or refund my money
Pakettle on 05/03/2010:
We moved in January 2010. We bought a washer and dryer from Lowes. In the past we made many large purchases at Lowes and never had an issue (until now).

Recently we bought a new entry door with oval glass insert. When we hadn't heard anything about the door and it was after the date expected, we called Lowes and was told the door was lost in shipment and they are trying to find it. They tracked it down and the installer (Lowe's contractor) called us to set up the install.

The installer took out the old door and framed in the new one, but when he went to attach the door to the frame he noticed damage. He said he would have to install it, but would contact Lowes about ordering a new door. He said it appeared that the door was dropped. There was a slight dent which is covered by the door knob and when he removed the panel holding the oval glass, many of the glass supports (plastic) we broken.

The problem is that Lowes (the local store) has put us in the middle of their dispute with the installer. I got fed up and called the office of the CEO because I don't understand why this cannot be resolved between the store and the installer. The installer is claiming that Lowes is making him responsible for the damage and Lowes is telling us they asked the installer to repair or replace the door at his expense. I paid for a new door, not a damaged and repaired door. If Lowes won't replace the door, I want a discount on the 1200 I paid (in advance because it was special order).

Am awaiting a response from the CEO's office. Depending on the outcome, I may never shop Lowes again.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Japanese Beetle
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AMES, IOWA -- The garden center is loaded with Japanese Beetles laying eggs for you to take home with the plant you are buying to wreak havoc on your garden, lawn etc. Then they get to sell you the insecticide to TRY and get rid of the Japanese Beetle. They do not care about what damage it is causing you, they are making money from this.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
3285lefk on 07/04/2012:
When I took the plants back that had dozens of eggs laid in it and voiced my opinion because of all the eggs and the damage it could have caused my blueberry patch and my lawn grass they didn't care
jktshff1 on 07/04/2012:
Good review, thanks for the heads up.
madconsumer on 07/04/2012:
a picture of the eggs would be helpful to other readers.

Japanese beetles can be easily controlled with organic products. although a scary and hungry pest, they are not the end-all.
here is a link to the organic controls.

http://www.ehow.com/facts_5875853_organic-japanese-beetle-control.html
trmn8r on 07/04/2012:
That would be useful information to the people at Lowes, so they could get rid of the pests so their customers don't have to transport them to their properties, and each figure out how to get rid of them.

If this Lowes location cared, which evidently it didn't, this hassle could be avoided.

Pictures of Japanese Beetle eggs are all over the web. Here is the first site I looked at:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_beetle
3285lefk on 07/04/2012:
I did not know about Japanese beetles till I got home and researched them right away, took them back immediately, Lowes knew about them when I bought the plants, they were telling me what insecticide to use and the beetles were not harming the plants, just eating the leaves, but they were laying eggs in the plant soil and they eat everything else in your yard or garden.
old fart on 07/04/2012:
Go to a reputable garden supply rather than a chain like Lowes, Home Depot and the like. Good local companies are less likely to produce this problem!
Sampha on 07/05/2012:
Yes, I agree. I have a decent amount of shrubs and flowers in my yard. I worked very hard. Well 3 years ago we bought several trees, apple, cherry and pear tree along with a crab apple tree. Planted it and the next year my yard was infected with thousands of Japanese Beattles. Destroying the trees bare and attacked my flowers, especially roses. Only thing left was the Hydrangeas cause somehow they don't like those.
I tried spraying several different remedies, the beetle bags worked nicely but it never ceased to decrease them.
2nd year same thing. The trees barely were alive after each season and never grew. This year early spring we chopped the trees all off. It's about this time that they attacked. Well I saw a few on my bushes but nothing more since.
I really do believe they came from the tree's soil and multiplied in my yard. Beware when you purchase new plants!
Chrissiann on 07/08/2012:
What on earth does Lowe's mean the beetles "don't harm the plants just eat the leaves." Um, the plant needs the leaves for respiration! for photosynthesis! for life! That is like saying "Oh don't worry
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unprofessional and Incompetent
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- 1) Appliance Heros came on June 18! They were suppose to get the parts within 3 days. That means Friday or Monday June 20th or 22nd. They did not call me at all. I called them on Monday and they said it would come on Tuesday. No call from them. I called back again, they said on Tuesday it did not come in. Wednesday rolls around, no call from them. I call them and they tell me it finally came. Fine sure I'm being patient it happens. Because it's so late already they say they can come on Friday June 27. Finally they come on Friday. By now it's been 9 days. The technician can't fix it, he says it's the main board that's defective. He calls his supervisor and says the part is defective the family has been without a fridge for a week, can we expedite the order? The supervisor says yes ok I'll get it ordered and expedited.

2) I call on Monday June 30th to Appliance Repair Heroes. First they put me on hold and tell me the parts department is busy. Then after 1 hr I call back and say I'm still waiting. This woman named Lisa Desoux answers and tells me my part is due in on Wednesday. I get very upset as they promised expediting it on Monday. Now we're promised delivery by July 2nd (2 days before July 4th) I call Lowe's and am very upset. I told them I need it expedite it's going to be 4th of July and I need my fridge. I tell Lowe's that it is unacceptable I want my refrigerator fixed. Lowe's tell me sorry Appliance Heroes are closed. I tell Lowes the story and they say they can't do anything until they contact Appliance Heroes. Still nothing from either businesses. Finally I get a call on Tuesday from Appliance Heroes saying that they cannot expedite it but want to schedule me in for Wednesday or Thursday. Appliance Repair Heroes tells me that they will try to get it to me and asks me for more flexibility. I tell them I can have someone home all day. Appliance Repair Heroes says great. On July 3rd, now it has been more than 15 days. I call them on July 3rd to ask what time they are coming, they said oh we're coming between 3-5 from what you told us originally. Ok what the heck?! I asked my family to stay home so you could have flexibility to come earlier! Ridiculous. Ok fine, I wait until 3-5, the technical comes over still can't fix the fridge, tells me that he will get his office to fax the paper in when he gets back. I call Lowe's and they tell me that they cannot accept my paper and need to contact Appliance Repair Heroes. Guess what?! As I said before I told Lowe's it's cutting too close to July 4th.

3) Now instead of accepting a copy of the paperwork from me so that you can replace my refrigerator, you want to call the Appliance Repair Heroes and get back to me in two business days.

4) Now I have been without a fridge for 19 days. By Tuesday July 8th it will have been 20 days! I am completely unsatisfied with your service.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer Service Ever
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
After sending hours searching for specific shoe cubbies I decided to order 4 from Lowes. I had never ordered from Lowes or purchased items from their store before. Well Lowes has succeeded in convincing me to never purchase or order anything from them EVER again. I am also making it my personal mission to tell all of my friends and family member (all homeowners like my husband and I) to steer clear of Lowes and take their business to Home Depot.

First only two of the items arrived. I waited 24 hours hoping maybe they had been shipped separately. When the other two did not arrive I called Lowes to ask where they were. The rep's response to my question was "Did you reject the package"). WTF!? If I'm calling to say I did not received something why would the first [snip] question be whether I'd rejected it. When I pointed out the inherent idiocy in that question, only then did the nitwit think to check with their shipper (UPS). I was then told that UPS had decided to return the other items to Lowes b/c they had been damaged in transit. I asked for a credit and was told I could not get one until they received the item back. So, if UPS failed to return merchandise I never received they'd get to keep my money?!?!

Even so being desperate to complete my project I asked it any stores nearby had two in stock that I could buy that day. Initially I was offered stores 2-3 hours away from my home when one is just 10 minutes away. (Ugh!) They did find two and the neighborhood store and I foolishly went out to pick them up. Note that I had to pay for these -- they would not even count them as replacements for the two that UPS sent back.

Upon arriving at the Lowe's store I was faced with a gauntlet of the most RUDE, apathetic and condescending in-store personnel I have ever encountered in any retail setting. I still managed to purchase the items.

Next day we open the boxes to begin assembling the items only to discover missing pieces. I called customer service again (glutton for punishment). I proceed to spend half an hour on the phone with a representative and then a supervisor who both insisted that they could/would not address the missing pieces issue b/c the initial two items received by mail had been shipped from a store in Mississippi and that I'd have to speak to the manager of that store. I live in New Jersey!!!! When I tried to question why they would not make the arrangements to either expedite replacing the item they told me that since my order was filled by a Mississippi Lowes, that it was Lowe's policy that the customer had to directly resolve such issues with the sourcing store. HUH!?!!? Reminder -- At least three stores in my state had the items in stock. In essence Lowe's logic is that if you order from Lowe's it's the luck of the draw where you may need to resolve issues based upon which store Lowe's chooses to ship the item(s) from -- maybe Guam??

Suffice it to say I informed the supervisor "Sara B." that I was returning all of the items in my possession and hung up. Within 15 minutes I was at the local Lowes returning all four and am now disputing the charge for the two that were returned by UPS with my bank.

THE WORST, THE WORST, THE WORST. NEVER EVER AGAIN!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lowe's Doesn't Care About Their Customers!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DICKSON CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- On July 4th in the evening our Whirlpool dryer broke - no heat. We purchased the dryer for $673.20 on 10/4/08, model #WED8300SW. Along with the purchase in good faith of them standing behind their product, we additionally purchased a 4 year extended warranty for $99.97.

First thing on July 5th we called the extended warranty department and was initially told they couldn't come out until July 10th, I felt that was a long time to wait - we have a family of 5 doing an average of 2 loads of laundry per day!! They found an appointment for me on July 8th between the hours of 12 & 5. I took the day off of work and the gentleman (Dorsey). I called Mr. Dorsey myself and was told that Lowes never emailed him the information to service our dryer. He stated that he could come service our dryer on Wednesday the 10th at 2pm. I took another day off of work, Mr. Dorsey never showed again!!!! I left him 2 messages with no return call.

I called the extended warranty department and was told that now that it is Wednesday and nearing the end of another week, the soonest they could get someone to come now to service our dryer was on the 18th or 19th of July. I set up the appt for the 18th - was never sent an email confirming this appt yet again!!! I called the manager (Ryan) at our local Lowe's in Dickson City, PA and was told he would see what he could do. He calls me back and states that he called the extended warranty department and that Mr. Dorsey would be calling me to come for service sooner - well of course Mr. Dorsey never called again!!

I then proceeded to call and speak with a supervisor at the warranty department and was told no one was available and would call me back shortly and again I never got that call either!! On July 11th I called the warranty department again and insisted on speaking with the supervisor and after insisting on holding, several minutes later, a supervisor came to the phone and basically said there was nothing they could do more than schedule service.

I insisted on speaking with corporate and was connected with the Customer Care Center and was told that the best thing to do was to file an official complaint and I would be contacted back within 24 hours. Well again that phone call never came!!! I called back on July 12th and got the run around and again and after being transferred to several people was connected with Sarah, she states she is in the executive department of Lowes under the President. Explained my situation to her and she told me she would investigate and call me back. When she called me back, she basically said the best option she could do was to have Lowes come pick up our dryer on the 14th and service would be done at Lowes on the 17th and they would return to us.

I expressed that I have lost 2 days of work up to this point due to the no show's of Mr. Dorsey in additiion to the time away from my family and the extra money I had to pay to take my clothes to the laundry mat to have them dryed!!! In total I have lost around $450 due to loss time at work and laundry expenses!! She basically told me that they do not compensate for lost work time. I requested them giving us a new dryer and was told that wasn't going to happen- her words were "you are not getting a new dryer" that we didn't qualify for one under the terms of the warranty.

We were sickened by the thought of a large company of this manner allowing their company to make numerous errors with hiring incompentent contractors for their service work and allowing their upper management to just ignore phone calls of their customers. I then sent an email to the president expressing my concerns on the 14th of July and on July 15th of course I had the pleasure of speaking with Sarah again. I told her that since I lost 2 days of pay due to the contractor not showing up - no my fault - I was at my home waiting for service that we wanted to be compensated with a refund on our warranty or a gift card to the store and was rudely denied!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Bill on 07/16/2013:
The best thing to do is document everything a file a claim in small claims court for the missed work and any other expenses you can think of. Just the hassle alone is worth something. If more people did this these large companies would think twice about their "don't care" attitude toward their customers.

I never purchase the extended warranty. I have a local appliance guy that will usually come within a day or two and can fix most any appliance. He comes when he says he's coming and he doesn't rip you off.
Sometimes it's not worth the hassle of putting up with these people.

You got five years out of your dryer, if you're doing two loads a day that's probably equal to 20 years of normal use. I'd just go buy a new one and avoid the hassle.
andbran on 07/16/2013:
in hindsight it probably at one point may have been better to call a appliance repair center. it may have actually saved you some time and money. IMO extended warrenties are not worth the extra money
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Commercial Services Desk
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
SUNNYVALE, CALIFORNIA -- I applied for a commercial account because Lowe's is trying to attract commercial customers and are luring them with a 5% discount and $20 deliveries. Well, you don't get the discount if you don't ask for it. No one told me that when I signed up for my commercial card, causing me to have to get in line at the service desk, get the amount refunded to me, then recharge the item to my card with the discount.

90% of the time I need to place or check on an order, when calling the commercial desk, the phone rings and rings, then goes back to customer service. Customer Service transfers me back to the commercial desk, then it rings and rings until it goes back to customer service. They transfer me back to the commercial desk and it rings and rings. You get the point. It is almost impossible to get anyone to answer the phone, let alone get an order in.

Once I went into the store for a few items once for my project. Stock was completely out on all but one of the items I came for. I only left with one thing I needed that night for my project. I had to special order the rest and wait a week to receive them.

I had to re-order a 50 gallon drum of slurry seal that never got ordered. When it arrived, they told me that my 5 gallons of slurry seal had arrived. I had ordered 50 gallons. Had to wait a few more days for the 50 gallon drum to arrive.

I waited on a delivery for days because their truck had broken down not once, but twice that week.

I had negotiated quantity discounts that I never received, and also noticed I got taxed on a delivery charge on my recent statement. So I attempted to call the commercial desk to get it resolved. Got bounced back and forth between the commercial services and customer service desks no less than 7-8 times, then got hung up on. Called back and got bounced back and forth from desk to desk, and finally someone picked up the phone that could help with my billing questions. He then told me that he couldn't help. He explained that I had an account manager and gave me another number to call. ??? I called that number and it was a heavily accented Indian lady who told me that she didn't have our account number in her system and that she couldn't help me. She explained that I needed to call the store again.

My project is pretty small compared to many other contractos and their projects. I'm about to throw the card in the trash. I don't have time to get bounced back and forth from desk to desk trying to talk to someone whenever I want to give them business. If their truck is broken, why not rent one so they can provide seamless service? They have lost many of my orders because Home Depot is cheaper, even with the 5% discount, and they have what I need in stock.

I have given Lowes constructive feedback when things are going wrong for them, trying to improve my future experiences as well as those of others. Deaf ears. Commercial in Sunnyvale needs some work. Lowe's is clearly not ready to service commercial accounts effectively.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Employee Resorts to Prostitution to Secure Sale.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- Before I begin, one has to understand where I come from. I put a lot of stock in my faith. My family, the members of my church, our pastor, and the contractors with whom I am networked (who are either from within my church or of like faith) all hold the concept of integrity, honor, and fidelity very sacred. This is why I post this today, and why I am shocked and disgusted that a company such as Lowe’s would condone such actions from within their staff.

Toward the end of February, the network of contractors I work with were picked for a project for a client at three different locations; a project that will take us well through the spring, summer, and into early fall. To give this client the best possible estimate, an associate of mine (my Church Pastor) and I visited the Lowe’s Store #0615,10580 Duke Dr., Alpharetta, GA 30004. I went straight away to Commercial Services while my pastor went to a couple different departments to find what we’d needed for this project.

I was met by ******. She was young; too young to be knowledgeable for what I was looking for, in my opinion. Surprisingly, she was very helpful and was able to answer my questions as they came up. However, she seemed very eager to secure my order right then and there after I’d already explained what it was I was trying to accomplish at that point in time – only comparative shopping for the sake of the project at hand. She then became visibly frustrated, and began to flirt with me quite aggressively. I made certain that she caught sight of my wedding band, but it was obvious that she paid no mind to such things. She made it evident that she was going to try any tactic she could to secure this sale then and there.

As I was trying to politely wrap up this visit, my Pastor joined us. In an apparent final act of desperation, this ****** then leans in, quite leeringly, and asks, “What would it take to get you to secure your purchase here, today, and now? I’ll do anything to ensure you both leave happy and with everything you’d both want as men.”

Already uncomfortable with the situation, I politely advised her that we do NOT operate our business in such a manner, bid her good day, and left the store IMMEDIATELY. As we turned to walk away, this young lady also muttered a very UNLADYLIKE dismissal that readily described what she intended to do with us to “secure” this sale. We left, disposing of the notes taken during this visit and proceeded to discuss our other options as we walked to our vehicle. As we were standing behind our truck, discussing our next destination, and answering/returning a couple of phone calls, ****** was either leaving for lunch or leaving for the day (it was between 3 and 3:30 pm). She made a point to drive clear across the parking lot, directly to where we were, and then waved a very inappropriate, one fingered hand gesture at us as she sped away. I think I need not tell you which finger.

A day or two later, I phoned this location to speak with a manager about the incident. I was left on hold for fifteen to twenty minutes. Someone returned to my call, asked for my contact information and what the call was in regard to. When I spoke of the situation, I was hung up on and have not heard back since.

I then submitted my complaint to the corporate offices, who have since returned my correspondence with requests for repetitive accounts of the incident, as well as other information not relevant to the subject at hand; obviously not willing to take the matter under investigation or do anything about it.

Our Pastor, having witnessed this incident first hand, has since called for a full church wide boycott of Lowe’s and their subsidiaries, and has passed the call to his colleagues who serve churches/congregations of similar faith and denomination. I know I’ll never shop Lowe’s again, nor will my family.

It’s a shame that a company as big and well known as Lowe’s would encourage their employees to resort to prostitution to make a profit. However, after reading the complaints posted on websites such as this, I can see why their reputation is so bad.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Nohandle on 03/25/2012:
These are very serious allegations you have made sir. The individual's name has been removed from your review. You have every right not to shop there and to warn others but it's not necessary to mention her name.
trmn8r on 03/25/2012:
This complaint boils down to an allegation of inappropriate behavior towards you by an employee, the fact that when you reported it to a manager "a day or two later" that manager hung up on you, and then your report to corporate.

It sounds like you have taken the appropriate steps. Corporate representatives asked you for details which you have provided. You say they obviously aren't willing to investigate, yet they have asked you multiple times for information. It sounds to me that they did/are investigating it.

That is all you can hope for. You can't be told the resolution of this as it is a personnel matter. In my opinion a "total boycott of Lowes and their subsidiaries" is inappropriate based on this information (the alleged actions of a single employee), but your church group can do as it wishes. If the motivation of the boycott is that Lowes "won't do anything," the rub is Lowes can't tell you what it has done...
clutzycook on 03/25/2012:
The young woman certainly was trying to use every tactic in the book to secure the sale (my guess is that they get a bonus of some sort if they help with stuff like this) and definitely took it a little to far, based on your account.

However, I have to take umbrage with your determination that just because she was young, she obviously must not know what she's talking about. I've known people in their teens and 20's who have a very wide knowledge base about a topic, and I've known people who have been in their business for 20-30 years and couldn't tell you the first thing about their area of "expertise."
Venice09 on 03/25/2012:
I think you should have gone directly to the manager the day it happened, and then taken it further if necessary. You are now basing a boycott on the assumption that nothing is being done and that Lowe's condones this behavior, despite the fact that you really don't know. By excluding Lowe's as a prospective supplier, you might be cutting off your nose to spite your face. You are condemning an entire company based on the actions of one employee without even knowing what is being done to address the situation.

"However, after reading the complaints posted on websites such as this, I can see why their reputation is so bad."

I think Lowe's fares pretty well on this website. Could you be more specific as to the type of complaints that are affecting their reputation?
BigAl on 03/25/2012:
This will never get printed and rightfully so but I bet he doesn't like the Hardees commercial.
BigAl on 03/25/2012:
Actually that would be solicitation not prostitution unless we're not geting the complete story.
clutzycook on 03/25/2012:
You're right, Al. It is more of a solicitation rather than prostitution. I was going to say something to that effect too, but it slipped my mind :).
The Triplets boy boy girl on 03/26/2012:
Nohandle

What is harmful about first name. I am sure there are lots of people with the same name as her.
Venice09 on 03/26/2012:
I agree that the first name should be removed. This woman could be singled out fairly easily because the location of the store and her department are posted.
ok4now on 03/26/2012:
Why can't I get these proposals when I go there to buy a gallon of paint? LOL!!!
jktshff1 on 03/26/2012:
Triplet, but not at this particular store.
2cent-er on 03/27/2012:
Maybe it had something to do with the tattoos on your hands-love/hate? reminds me of the character Telly Savalous[sp] played in the movie Dirty Dozen
time and a word on 03/29/2012:
I see the name's been removed - good.

and I agree... why does her age mean she's too young to understand? when has home-improvement projects required people to be elderly to understand them?
Kristev on 03/31/2012:
Why do I get the feeling this is only half the story?
ticia232 on 04/07/2012:
I was in Lowes today comparing prices on things for a later date and the employee said, "What can I due to seal the deal today?" I remembered this complaint and asked about it. It's a script that they are required to say.
Thisispointless on 04/07/2012:
I agree with everyone else, I think your giving half the story and probably thinking way to highly of yourself, lowes employees, along with every other sales person in this universe are directed to be very aggressive in their sales tactics. The reason she flipped you off leaving is probably because you insulted her by thinking she was coming on to you.
Close commentsAdd reply
"Lowe's Fears Competition Prices so bad they refuse their own coupon !"
Posted by on
GALLATIN, TENNESSEE -- On November 16, 2011 at around 1:00pm. I stopped in to the Gallatin, TN Lowe's.. To see If I could find a refrigerator that was at Electronic Express. One of the associates told me they could special order it for me "Model # sshs2622ms". I noticed that Lowe's was way over priced on the fridge. Their cost was $1099.99 vs Electronic Express at $799.00. So I asked if they would match the price and beat it by 10% as their policy said they would do.

The associate called a manager, and he said yes they would. So they worked up my order, then told me to pay at customer service. So I went to the customers service desk. Where they had trouble pulling up the order. After having to call for a second assistant, they found my order. I proceeded to pay out.

I had a one time moving discount coupon good for 10% off. When I tried to use it I was told I could not. That the coupon was not good with any other discount. I Told the associate I hadn't received any other discount. She aid well they price matched. I told her that Lowe's being overpriced and having to match and beat by 10% was policy. Not a discount at all.

After she argued with me for some time she called a manager. Whom told me he wouldn't allow me to use the coupon either. He said that it wasn't good with any other discount. I told him I had not received any other discount, That them price matching was their policy. He told me he didn't even have to price match on a special order product. He argued with me some then just said he wouldn't allow the coupon.

I think it's sorry when Lowe's gets their socks knocked off by a company like Electronic Express so bad that they can't even honor their own coupons. Also now that they have made me mad! I think I will be furnishing my new home at Electronic Express and Home Depot. It's a shame too because I have been a long time Lowe's customer, and a Lowe's credit card holder. I'm very disappointed with Lowe's.. People should strive to shop elsewhere! I will place the stipulations for use of their coupon for all to read. Read it for yourself never does it say can not be used with our price match guarantee....!

**** †Coupon cannot be used in conjunction with any other coupon or discount. This coupon is good for a single receipt purchase of any in-stock or Special Order merchandise only up to $5,000 (Maximum discount $500). Coupon is not redeemable for cash, is nontransferable and cannot be replaced if lost or stolen. Void if altered, copied, transferred, or sold through any on-line auction. Limit one coupon per household. Not valid on sales on previous sales or purchase of services or gift cards. This Coupon is valid in the U.S. only and will expire on the date listed on the front of the Coupon. ****
Lowe's wasted one whole day of my time. With their unusable coupons, and “their scared to match “ price match guarantee!!!

BBB CASE#: 37083068
     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
SteveWiginowski on 11/16/2011:
It says that the "coupon cannot be used in conjunction with any other coupon or discount." You are getting a discount on the item by not just price matching, but getting an additional 10% off due to their policy. That is a discount.
unhappy999 on 11/16/2011:
I think a Price Match is the same as a discount since you were getting the refrigerator MORE than $300 off since you were getting the 10% off as well. A discount is "money off" which is what you were getting. It sounds like you were already getting a really good deal. I'm not sure what you gained by cancelling the order because you couldn't use your 10% off coupon since if you go back to Electronic Express you have to pay $799 and you were going to get it cheaper at Lowe's. When they told you "no" it sounds like you continued to "argue" with the Manager. Another thing, you say you wasted a whole day on this, how did this take a whole day? You already knew what fridge you wanted when you walked in, they told you what they could do and not for you on the price, so you take it or leave it. I don't understand why you say it took a whole day. I don't see where Lowe's did anything wrong in this case.
ChuhBaca on 11/16/2011:
Honestly, I don't see anything wrong with what Lowes did. They beat their competitor by 10% by discounting their price. You still got it cheaper than the other place.

I may have asked about the coupon, but if I had gotten the initial response you did, I would still have been happy knowing that I still got it for less.

In truth, I don't really like the price-matching game. I will just buy from whomever has the lower price for everyone.
Slimjim on 11/16/2011:
So if I'm understanding this, you received an $1100 refrig for $719.10 and are arguing semantics that it wasn't discounted. IMHO, $380 off sounds like a discount, regardless of the circumstances.
Venice09 on 11/16/2011:
I agree with all of the above. This review encourages me to shop at Lowe's.
madconsumer on 11/16/2011:
I avoid lowes at all costs.

I found this a very helpful review!!
trmn8r on 11/16/2011:
On a planet where kitchen tables are in vogue, gravity pushes things up, sugar is tart, and 15 minutes takes weeks, the puppetmaster Max Headroom would argue that outstanding customer service dictates that any and all discounts should apply simulteously.

Unfortunately, that isn't our reality and armpits stink on our planet. In my opinion you received a hefty discount and then were looking to get an additional one, which the coupon doesn't allow.
At Your Service on 11/16/2011:
I was going to say the exact same thing as trmn8r, including that thing about armpits! ;-)

To me, this complaint lacks any form of legitimacy. A discount was given, even to the extent of an additional 10% and the O.P. is still complaining.
trmn8r on 11/16/2011:
No, no, NO, AYS. All complaints are legitimate and the company is always wrong. Outstanding customer service means always take a loss and send the consumer out the door feeling like he/she has taken advantage of you.

THAT'S what keeps customers coming back.
At Your Service on 11/16/2011:
LOL!
Anonymous on 11/16/2011:
Oh man I got zinged! lol
griffin21 on 11/16/2011:
I normally just go with the store with the lowest price, but the price match + 10% discount is certainly an incentive. I shop at Lowe's all the time, but I had never paid attention to the price matching policy, so this review actually get my vote for being helpful.

I've been meaning to write a compliment about Lowe's ship-to-store order service: they had the items available 5-10 days before the estimated date. They certainly enjoy scrapping by perfectly laid schedules!!!
andbran on 11/17/2011:
I would consider this a compliment not a complaint. I would be estatic to save over 300.00 dollars. but that is just me.
Anonymous on 11/17/2011:
I agree with madconsumer.
At Your Service on 11/17/2011:
Nothing wrong with price matching. I prefer to shop where I feel I get the best service, including extended warranty service if I desire. If there's a better local price, most places will match without much of any issues.
ttst on 02/07/2012:
I will only go to lowes, if all other hardware's go out of business. at least I now know they treat all their customers like crap.
Krystal on 07/29/2013:
I work at Lowes, and anytime we change the price of an item in the computer, wither its a price match, coupon, discount or sale item, the computer recognizes it is a different price and thus counts it as a discount. The program itself will not allow a double coupon and no management can over ride that.
Jare Bailey on 12/15/2013:
Actually Lowe's policy is to match and beat any STOCK item by 10%, any special order they just match and cannot beat by 10%. So actually you got your discount without using the coupon. That is policy and it's in writing on every ad, promo coupon, or even TV commercial.
Close commentsAdd reply
Non Experienced Kitchen Designer
Posted by on
I moved into a new home and immediately wanted to redo the entire kitchen including cabinets and all appliances. I sat with the Lowes design consultant who then designed a kitchen and left out an entire wall of cabinetry even after I paid Lowes $75 to come out to my house and take measurements to begin with. I then paid in full up to $20,000.00 only to see the plans missing a whole wall and when I complained to Lowes they offered me a drawer insert and a $250 Lowes store card although I still had to pay over a $1000.00 to correct the issue. after 4 or 5 weeks the installation started and the appliance that I purchased through Lowes were not able to fit in the openings of the cabinets installed. I called the store manager and the district manager to complain for the 100th time and was told I could pick out a different cooktop and wall oven to correct the mistakes they made. I am still going at it with Lowes and my job is not yet complete 6 weeks later. Lowes hires subcontractors to do all aspects of the work and gives them all wrong material to work with and I am managing my own job site at this point and dealing directly with all the subcontractors because Lowes does not follow through and does not care. Lowes obviously thinks they are too big to have to care and until people stop shopping there or hiring them for their services they will never give good service. I have never in my long life had a job done this badly and I will never shop there again and think that an educated consumer, after reading this will not use their services either. please trust my review as I am being totally honest here and do not want to see anyone else treated the way I have been. we need to let our voices be heard with these big companies so that businesses that deserve the business actually get it. IN CLOSING -DO NOT HIRE LOWES TO DO ANY WORK IN YOUR HOME....EVER!!!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 09/07/2011:
After reading this, I'm grateful that I chose an independent cabinet-making company. They were very attentive to detail.
spiderman2 on 09/07/2011:
The only person I would let do any work inside my house is my trusted contractor. He is awesome and has had the same guys working for him for 20+ years. If you go to a big box store, you never know who is coming into your house!
Judy on 05/23/2014:
I wish I had read your review before I contracted with Lowes. I am having a whole new kitchen put in. The project was supposed to take one month from the time the cabinets came in. Well, I am now two months out and have no idea when the job will be done. The project manager neglected to put in the ceiling design, so the lighting was put in all wrong - had to be dismantled and repaired ( a three week project). Then when they went to put in the cabinets that had been here for two months, they found that they were the wrong size. So they had to be reordered and won't be here for at least another three weeks. I have been living with a makeshift kitchen ( a hotplate in the bathroom) for all this time. I finally called the CEO in North Carolina and the local store manager and addressed my concerns. They're going to try to move the shipment up a week. Too little too late. I will never shop there again, and in my opinion, the people who signed off on the project should be fired!
Close commentsAdd reply
Stay away from Lowe's Delivery
Posted by on
GLEN BURNIE, MARYLAND -- On October 9th I ordered from Lowes.com a Bosch Washing Machine for $854.10. The washing machine was for a rental property in Baltimore, MD. The on-line confirmation told me the estimated delivery date was October 25th and that I would be contacted within 24 hours to schedule delivery. That evening I received a voicemail telling me that the washing machine would be delivered tomorrow, October 10th. This delivery was allegedly coming from the Lowe’s store in Glen Burnie, MD. I was very surprised by this, so I called the Shipping Department back and was assured the item was in stock and ready to be delivered on October 10th between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm. I was also told that I would get a phone call on my cell phone when the delivery was close by. I then promptly notified my renters and they told me one of them would hang around the house all day and wait for the delivery. I did the same and was planning on meeting the delivery with some friends at the house as the washer needed to be moved to a 2nd floor. The delivery or call never came. I attempted to call the delivery department several times later that afternoon and got no answer. The next day on October 11th I called the store to see what had gone wrong. I talked to Store Manager #1 and he seemed very surprised by this chain of events. He said they definitely did not have the washer, it was definitely not supposed to have been delivered the previous day, and that from what he saw it would not be arriving at the store until Oct 25th. He said this was probably a “computer glitch” and this happens sometimes. This was the beginning of the major communication gap that seems to exist between the Lowe’s store and their Shipping Department.

Later on during the week of October 11th I called the Lowe’s store and talked to Store Manager #1 again. I informed him that I was going to be out of town for a few weeks and to please call my two renters when the item was ready to be delivered. They would then coordinate the delivery. I gave him both of their cell phone numbers. I informed my renters to expect delivery on October 25th and to expect a call beforehand. I gave them the proper paperwork in case there were any questions.

While I was gone here is part of the fiasco the renters went through - on October 24th the Shipping Department called me and the renters saying the item had been damaged while being off loaded from the truck, and there will be no delivery. She then said the item would not be delivered until November 11th.

However, during the week of October 25th Lowe’s calls my renters and sets up a new appointment for October 30th between 1:30-3:30. Apparently the washer had come in. On October 30th the driver calls the renters at 1:45 and tells them he is 10 minutes away. The driver never shows or calls back. However I get about 3 messages on my cell phone (I am still out of town) from the driver saying he is outside MY residence (not the rental property) and that there is no one home. I have no idea how they managed to attempt to deliver to my address. My renters call Lowe’s later that afternoon to find out what the story is and the store in Glen Burnie says it is “out of their hands” and they should contact the Shipping Department. They attempt to call contact the Shipping Department several times and get no answer.

The renters get a hold of the Shipping Department again on November 2nd and setup the delivery for November 3rd. The renters hang around all day for the delivery and it never comes and they receive no phone call. They call the Shipping Department later in the day and are told the appointment for November 3rd had been deleted by the Lowe’s Manager by accident. It is then setup for November 4th. Again, the delivery never comes and when the renters talk to the Shipping Department they are told the washer had been taken off the truck at the last minute. As before no call was made to the renters (or me) to tell them the delivery was not coming. At this point the renters have raised the white flag and were done dealing with Lowe’s. On November 4th I attempted to get a grasp on this nightmare.

On November 5th I talked to Store Manager #1 from the Glen Burnie Store and explained to him the charade that had been going on the past few weeks. I made a request to have an exact time on when the washing machine would be delivered. He said he was not able to do that, the best he could do was say the delivery would happen between 8am-12pm on Saturday, November 6th and that I would get a phone call when the delivery was getting close. I explained to him to please make sure to call me first when the delivery was about to take place as I lined up three workers for that morning who were going to assist me in carrying the washer to the 2nd floor (as I had done on the previous deliveries). I never received a phone call. However, that evening I receive a voicemail from one of the renters stating the washer had been dropped off at 3:00 pm. The Shipping Department stated that they were not able to remove the old washer because of liability (the washer has to be lifted onto a 2nd floor deck to get it up and down the 2nd floor). I totally understand this and that is why Lowe’s was supposed to call me first (and show up between 8-12) as I had the workers lined up and we were at the rental property all morning. Instead they don’t call me and they show up three hours late. Very, very frustrating. There is a total lack of communication between the store (and what they’re putting into the computer) and the Shipping Department.
Next I talked to Store Manager #2 on November 9th and made him aware of the situation. I asked him if someone can come over the weekend of November 13th and disconnect the old washer, connect the new one, and haul away the old one (as stated in the contract). He stated the Shipping Department was gone for the day but that someone would call me on the morning of November 10th to set up the appointment. I never get a phone call from Lowe’s. At this point I decided to call my local plumber and have him disconnect the old one and connect the new one. Lowe’s is just too unreliable to deal with.

On November 11th, I called Lowe’s and talked to Store Manager #1 again and they said they would come on November 13th to pick up the old washer. I then called Customer Service on November 12th and told them that some funny noises were coming from the washing machine. They then put me in touch with Store Manager #1 again (Glen Burnie store) and he said it was most likely because the shipping bolts were probably still in the washer. I received a call the evening of November 12th from the Shipping Department and they told me they would come the next day between 12:30-2:30. Again they don’t contact me (as they said they would the previous night) or the renters, but for the first time they do show up on time. They then actually removed the shipping bolts and took the old washer away.

I then e-mailed the Lowe’s Customer Care line. They apologized for the issues I had and they said they would forward the situation to senior management at the store. The next day I get a call from Store Manager #1, the same guy who was part of the whole problem. He apologized and asked if everything had been resolved. I asked if he had read the 3 page report I had e-mailed to them and he said he had not. He said he just wanted to make sure the washer was in and he stated they had fixed the problems with the delivery department (no details of course). I then contacted Customer Care again saying the whole point of writing the 3 page timeline was so Senior Management at Lowe’s could be alerted of this debacle. Customer Care said this was Senior Management. However they then sent an e-mail that the issue would be pushed to the Regional Manager. The following day I received a call from the Regional Manager and for the first time it actually seemed like someone cared about what happened. He said he had read the letter three times and was in disbelief about what had occurred. He said this was not how business was done at Lowe’s and that he was going to the store later in the week and would try and get to the bottom of what happened. He also sent me a $100 gift card. I haven’t heard back as to what corrective measures have been taken. My experience with Lowe’s was a nightmare and I would advise people to stay away! I have used Sears and Home Depot in the past and they seem to be much more reliable.

The most amazing part of this experience was the number of no calls and no shows. Sitting around on 4 different days and getting no phone call after the appointment has been scheduled is fairly incredible. Even towards the end, when you think the issue would be a priority, Store Manager #2 tells me I will get a call the next morning to address the issue. I never receive the phone and have to instead call them the day after. Unbelievable. I know Lowe’s is a big company but I would advise consumers to stay away. This was one for the books!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 11/27/2010:
Wow. Wow. That's a darned ugly story. Thank goodness the regional manager had the brains to offer you a gift card.

As far as Lowes letting you know about corrective steps, I don't believe you are entitled to that. I think you have gotten all you are going to get, from the regional manager. One can only hope that the store management gets a kick in the rear and improves their processes. It is badly needed.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >