Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Satisfied Customer
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

NORWICH, NEW YORK -- I do not have a complaint about Lowe's. They were very courteous and very helpful! The quality of wood that arrived was great!! Much better than what many reviewers stated here and online. I anticipated getting some knotty, rough looking stuff, but it was only a 3-sided, no floor run-in for the horses that I'm building. It didn't much matter as long as it was strong enough to hold up in winter.

I guess if I had a complaint (which I did let the store manager know), I kept getting rerouted when I was trying to find out what time my delivery was going to arrive. It took 3 calls (as I kept getting disconnected after being on hold), but the lumber arrived with all the equipment needed to take it to the 'hard to get to by truck' location. The delivery driver was awesome!! He informed me that (4) pieces of Tuftex roofing material was not in stock and would be delivered it as soon as it was in stock, which should be this week, per the driver. It's fine. It's the last thing going on anyway. I have another 4 weeks. He also informed me they gave me an extra piece.

When they loaded it on the truck, they realized (1) piece broke at the edge. This would not interfere with the roofing anyway, but I got an extra piece. My husband did not hear him say this and was a little upset until I informed him that he did tell us... twice! Once when unloading with forklift and 2nd time when we were going through it to make sure it was all there. He went through everything twice, upon arriving and leaving! That to me is exceptional service!! My husband and I are starting to build it (ourselves) and couldn't be happier with how this was all handle! Good Job Lowe's!!

Replies
Advertisement
Lowe's Has Destroyed My Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. MARY'S, GEORGIA -- It is impossible to put into words how angry and helpless I feel towards the Lowe's company. I am speaking of the huge hardware chain, the company that sponsors Jimmy Johnson in Nascar, that Lowe's. Last year my wife and I were shopping in our local Lowe's store, in St. Mary's Georgia. We were walking down an aisle and my foot was caught up in some plastic wrap that was left behind when the pallet was removed. The plastic wrap was sticking out into the aisle and was weighed down by a bag of fertilizer.

After the fact it looked as though an employee had taken the last bag of fertilizer off of the pallet, leaving it in the aisle on top of the entire piece of plastic wrap that had originally been wrapped around the whole pallet of fertilizer. The plastic wrap was bunched up under the fertilizer but plenty was sticking out from under it.

My foot had gotten caught in it, and stopped very abruptly. I was pushing a basket and fell so fast that I did not have time to soften the fall with my hands. I fell directly on my tailbone, lower back. The pain I experienced was extreme, I could not move, it was a scary experience. I felt pain throughout my entire lower half of my body. At least 10 Lowe's employees gathered around me, trying to make me comfortable as I lay on my side. My wife sat by me holding my hand in shock.

An ambulance came and put me on a gurney and wheeled me out to the ambulance. It was the most painful ride of my life. They belted me down on my back, gave me an I. V. and a shot for the pain, it did not help at all. The E. M.T. put a mask on my face and told me to breathe in as hard as I could and whatever I was breathing in would help with pain, it did not, but it did make me drowsy. They drove me to a hospital 45 miles away.

We arrived at the hospital where the doctors took a quick look at me and sent me for x-rays, after giving me some pain medication. It felt like forever. They took every x-ray known to mankind, it was horrific. I would not wish this pain on my worst enemy.

After the hospital stuff, I was referred to Brunswick Brain and Spine Clinic. I went through numerous spinal injections to try to relieve the pain I was feeling. I had numerous MRI's and other tests, this went on for months. I was being medicated with morphine, klonipin, oxycotton, suboxone, and multiple other drugs. I am unable to bathe myself, or anything else that requires a back and legs.

Finally, the neurologist suggested that I get a surgically implanted Spinal Stimulator to get relief of my pain. We set the date and it was done. A Spinal stimulator is a lead wire that is attached to your spine, about 3/4's of the way up your spine, it is attached with hardware that can never be removed. The wire then comes down your spine, of course under your skin, it is connected to the stimulator and battery, that is implanted in your flesh, a lot of cutting of skin is involved with this operation not to mention the risk of being paralyzed.

I now have a controller that I can control the power output of the stimulator. The stimulator is supposed to block pain signals from the brain. Today I go to a pain management doctor every month, to be monitored. I am still on morphine and other powerful drugs to help with pain. And will have extreme pain for the rest of my life, there is not anything left worth trying for pain relief. I have a wife and 3 children, my wife had a stroke 18 years ago and cannot move her right side of her body. Lucky family aren't we?

I don't sleep, I cannot drive, I cannot, nor ever will I be able to get an erection again, I could go on forever, you get the picture. I am on Social Security Disability, I receive $1200 a month, I am 5% of the man I was before Lowe's. I did get a lawyer to get what I could out of Lowe's, what is your life worth? My lawyer called me today, 12-7-2012, Lowe's offered me $15,000. That don't even cover half my bills, I guess I will have to sue them.

In my opinion Lowe's is a pathetic company, unwilling or unable to care about their customers. On my mother's grave, I swear Lowe's will feel my pain. All I want is to provide for my family, we will lose our house, we have lost our vehicle, if it were not for my family I would be gone from this Hell. All I ask is for your prayers that Lowe's stands up and does the humane thing, and compensate me for their mistake that ruined my family's world. If anyone knows of an organization that could help me, make Lowe's compensate me for all they have taken from me please contact me.

Replies
Bad Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUNTERSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- We went to Lowe's and pick out the flooring we liked. Scheduled a time to be deliver at our home which they said that on May 1, 2016 was open that day. Then we set a time between 4-8 pm. Needless to say no one showed up. On Monday my husband called around 10 am and spoke to someone and they said they would call him back, no call!! Around 12:30-1:00 pm he called them back still no one would give him a answer about delivery, said again someone would call us back.

Around 3:30 pm my husband called them again and still nothing! So if this is the way do business no Thank you!! We cancelled our order. I guess they don't need our hardworking money! And we also are gutting our master bathroom and they won't have my business there either.

Replies
Poor Consumer Help and Does Not Stand Behind Products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAUREL, MARYLAND -- On June 4th contacted Lowe's about my air conditioner. I was told we needed a new furnace and heat pump. A few days later a salesman from Lowe's and another man who said he was with Trane came to our house. I am 65 in very poor health and need air conditioning for COPD, heart problems, etc. My wife is 73 and we have our house up for sale since July and have a contract on it.

On June 12th or the 13th the furnace and heat pump cost us $5482.00. Prior to signing the contract my wife did not go over the full content of the sales assessment or sale sheet. We put $500 on a debit card, $3030 on our Lowe's credit card and the rest on our Capital One credit cards.

I am on a small social security, when I was declared disable in 2007. My wife has a small pension from the Federal Gov't. We signed the forms believing everything was on the up and up. On one of the forms it said reuse lines and in another space it read reuse/flush existing lines. We were under the impression that everything was good to go. On August 24th, 2012 I went to my family room and water was slouching in my carpet. My wife called All Pro who installed the furnace and heat pump, made an appointment and a friend of ours said "you have a leak, get a plumber."

My wife called All Pro back and cancelled the service call. I contacted a Plumber Fred and Son and he was at my house in 40 minutes. He cut a piece out of the ceiling and the ceiling was dry. He cut a piece of drywall from the wall where the pipes are and he saw the water coming back in from the condensation line. He said "you need to flush the line and have it snaked out." He charged us $120 for the service call. I then went to the phone book and called Michael and Son's. They came out and charged us $89 for a service charge and they said the same as Fred did.

I looked at All Pro Services bill and it said heating and air conditioning also plumbing and fitters. I called back All Pro and asked a lady name Louise to send someone out and was sorry for the mix up. A service man showed up looked at the wall and the leak and stated "we don't do that kind of work." His name was Jerry. I said to him "how in the hell am I going to sell this house to a lady who put a contract on it. I will lose the house." He said "I do not get into those kind of issues."

I called my realtor and put her on a speaker phone and he walked into another room. At this point it cost $209 for two estimates. I called Lowe's on several occasions and all I got was from them "someone will call you back." This was on a Thursday from 10:00am til 4:00pm then I asked for the Corporate Office. I must have spoke to 12 different service providers. I called All Pro Services back and asked to speak to Bill. He is busy. Call back.

An hour later I called and was told to send him a fax so I went to Staples and sent him a fax, still no reply. On Friday I called All Pro Services again and a lady named Laura told me Bill was out of the office. I called back 2 hours later and was told by some man that Bill was busy.

Finally I called the Lowe's store back and spoke to an assistant Manager and he told me he discussed this with his Manager Frank and he provided me with a claim number and a phone number and to call the next day. On the 26th I called and was transferred to the legal department and spoke to a John ** who was not polite or how are etc. in a business. I asked him about the claim number I submitted to him and his reply was "it was denied." I told him my situation about my house and that the work was not done properly then Lowe's and All Pro Services should stand behind their work and word.

I was so upset I could not do anything that day and passed out from the aggravation and my blood pressure was 188/108. I was in bed 402-A at Laurel Hospital as my wife had to call 911. I was released from the hospital 21/2 days later and I called the store again and spoke with a Donna who gave me a new complaint number. I can and John got on the phone and I told him I have a new claim number and he said I am denying that. I asked if he was a lawyer, a heating and air conditioning person, a plumber and electrician and he said no to all of them.

I asked him then "how do you know who to approve and not to approve. I have contacted the BBB in Washington, DC area, 2 TV channels, 7 on your side and McGinty's mailbag on channel 9. I have also posted on Angie's List, Consumer Complaint Agency. My home insurance is not paying for a plumber but is replacing all my carpet, paint the entire family room, had a restoration company to bring in large fans and a dehumidifier till Tuesday.

Not only did I pay the $120, the $89, the $250 deductible plus $503 to the plumber and $25 to Consumer Complaint agency. I called Lowe's credit card Company GE money and told them I am disputing my balance on my bill. If the Corporate office is willing to reimburse me $989 for what I have paid out of pocket I will be glad to pay the balance of my bill.

Replies
Advertisement
Delivery Issues - No More Purchases From Lowe's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SHELBYVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I purchased a range, along with the whole kitchen package (refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave), from the Shelbyville, Kentucky location and was promised delivery of the range and refrigerator on Friday. I stressed to the sales associate, Daniel, that I was hesitant to buy from Lowe's due to their delivery reputation but he assured me that I would be taken care of. When Friday rolled around, the delivery guys showed up with the refrigerator only. No range. When I called and talked to Pat in appliances, I asked why my range was not on the truck.

He explained that is was an error and that all humans make mistakes. No apologies. I then talked to Chris who explained that the manufacturer was at fault because the range arrived to them marked incorrectly. No apologies. He felt that getting it delivered sometime today was apology enough. I had a full day planned and had to rearrange everything to accommodate Lowe's delivery and, you guessed it, "No Apologies!" I will never purchase anything from Lowe's due to their customer service. Never have I been made to feel like my time is so valueless.

Replies
Great Experience with Dave **, Sales Specialist
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

DANBURY, CONNECTICUT -- Is not often that I feel empowered to write about a sales representative but I was so impressed about the assistance I received from Dave ** at the Danbury Lowe's. He not only was extremely knowledgeable about the products in the flooring department but went out of his way to also assist me in other departments. I was in the process of opening a preschool so I required different items like appliances, blinds, vinyl flooring and carpet.

He advised me on the best products but also watched my spending and the best deals for the money. I was so taken by the fact that even though he went out of his way to walk me to other departments and counsel me at the products, per my request, he allowed the sales representatives in those departments to take on the sales.

Replies
Their Service Is Excellent
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ONEONTA, NEW YORK -- 8 months ago, we purchased a $1500 refrigerator, and it stopped working. We called LG (the refrigerator manufacturer) to get a repair technician. We called 14 times, and they finally said they would send a repair man (in four weeks), and that we needed the receipt. We had bought the refrigerator from Lowe's, so we went there to see if they could reprint the receipt (we had lost it) and when we asked the lady at the counter, she called one of the executives, and he sent one of their best technicians free of cost, and told us if anything goes wrong again, it's on them.

There are many other times where the Lowe's staff have helped us tremendously. They know their stuff, and they drop everything they're doing to help you. I had to lift a table saw I was going to buy onto the cart, and one of their employees came running 3 aisles away when they saw I was having trouble. I have never had a problem with Lowe's, and on top of all this, they supported our local church, selling them last year's dishwashers and washers and dryers for $50 so the church can give them to those who are struggling. God bless these people.

Replies
Worst Experience of My Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- I contracted with Lowe's in June 2015 for a full kitchen remodel. Everything from the studs out. Their installers started work on 8/5/15. As of this date 3/18/16 it is still not finished correctly. The quality of their work is sub-standard at best. I even found they had been drinking on the job as they left a couple of beer cans in the cabinet one day. The job the tile guy did was horrible. Uneven floor and backsplash tile with no grout spacers used and uneven grouting throughout. The tile guy came back once to fix but all he did was re-grout the floor which did not come out very good.

I have contacted the store and subcontractor many times only to be told it would be a certain day. They have just blown me off almost every time. I am filing a complaint with corporate and have filed a complaint with the attorney general's office. Bottom line is steer clear of Lowe's. The thousands of complaints I have found online blow my mind. This was the biggest mistake I have made in my life.

Replies
Advertisement
Lowe's Taking Over the Market
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

XENIA, OHIO -- As a building contractor for over 25 years I can feel your pain. Reading through the reviews is all it takes to understand that a lack of competition is not good. Years ago when I was a young contractor I had Fisher Lumber, Erb Lumber, Carter Lumber, Woolahan Lumber and several local private owned companies. I wasn't concerned as much about price as quality and I could choose quality parts for your house from many places.

I had the reputation of being one of the best builders in the area. About 20 years into my career things changed dramatically. Lowe's and Home Depot took over the home building market leaving the only choice in where to shop being price. After about 5 years of using fewer and fewer quality materials in my homes I finally said enough and retired.

Replies
Bad Cabinet Experience
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

INDEPENDENCE, MISSOURI -- We meet with kitchen specialist at Lowe's to design layout. With measurements in hand he made a nice computer image of our remodel. The order was placed and the Diamond cabinets arrived in only 3 weeks (1 week early). One shelf was broken in shipping, one cabinet did not fit over a window, and the wrong crown molding was ordered by our "specialist". I tried to return the cabinet that did not fit. Since the cabinets were early, I had to wait 2 weeks to obtain the credit for the cabinet.

The crown molding we needed to go to the ceiling still has not arrived another 4 weeks later. We are over 7 weeks into this project still waiting for trim. The cabinets took less time to make than the trim molding? Lowe's keeps putting back the arrival date! The countertop was 2 sq. feet more and we had to go pay the additional $80.00 right away! I would not recommend Lowe's for Diamond cabinets unless you have a lot of time for all the mistakes.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 118 ratings and
357 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies