Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
155 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
Compare Appliance Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Extended Service Plan Ripoff and the Big Fat Liars Who Work For Them
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- At 1:30, March 11, 2010, I was told by ** (who conveniently no longer works for Federal Warranty Service Corporation, according to his supervisor, "**-I-cannot-reveal-my-last-name-for-security-purposes" when asked for his last name..."**" is probably made up, also) that the KitchenAid Extended Service I was purchasing on my 3rd KitchenAid in the last 5 years was for 10 years if I purchased that day. I was to receive an email verifying the length of time within 24 hours. "**" even put me on hold to verify it with his supervisor... came back on and said, "yes" it would be for 10 years, expiring 12/08/2020.

March 15, 10:30 A.M. spoke to "**", CSR, looks on computer and says, "Yes, it is for 10 years"... puts me back over to Sales to see why my confirmation has not been emailed. "**" in Sales @ 10:32 A.M. tells me that as of March 15, I have a 10 year extended total replacement plan. Still nothing received by 11:40 on 3/16/10 and "**" reconfirms in the CSR Dept. that the computer shows that a contract for 10 years was sent to me.

"**" on 3/26/10 @ 10:00 A.M. said the actual contract was sent to the "wrong place" by the CSR Department and that a new contract would be sent and take 7 to 10 days... and yes, confirms again my contract expires in 2020. "**", on March 29, 2010, is from the same town where I live (40 + miles from the Indiana office on the Kentucky side of the Ohio River) and works in CSR office, I believe. He also confirms that the computer screen shows that my contract is for the 10 years.

I know his family, so he will tell me the truth... he went to the same school as my children and we know the same people... he will not tell me something that was a lie. He told me that I should get a cover letter for the contract that states that my Total Replacement Plan is for 10 years.

May 14, 2010, receive another contract with a THREE YEAR TOTAL REPLACEMENT PLAN... NOT THE 10 YEAR I WAS SOLD!!! Call @ 11:45 A.M. and speak with "**" who says it is for 10 years and puts me in touch with the Sales Dept. and tells "**" the situation and she says that it shows that it is for 3 years and cannot be changed, but she will ask her supervisor,"**", and explain the situation. "**" tells me it is for 3 years and it cannot be changed. I ask to speak to the supervisor's supervisor (this is now going on for 45 minutes).

NOW, get this...I have had 7 (seven) plus the original approval from a supervisor who say my contract is for TEN (10) years...the "I-cannot-give-you-my-last-name" supervisor today tells me that the company NEVER had a ten year contract...PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE...WOULD SOMEONE TELL ME HOW I KNEW ABOUT THE 10 YEAR CONTRACT AND 7 PEOPLE EMPLOYED AT THIS OFFICE SAID I HAD IT...BUT TODAY, I AM TOLD THERE WAS NO SUCH THING??? When pushed, the latest "final" supervisor told me they had had a 10 year contract in January, but I could not get that one...

Now, get this... when I told him the number and names of the employees who had verified that I had a 10 year contract with them, he told me they were all lying to me... why would 7 different people lie to the same caller on different days, months, etc.? He told me he was going to go back to all of them and tell them they should not lie to me.

I was not born yesterday, but this little weasel said he would not change it even though that is what I was sold... he then tried to explain that verbal agreements were not contracts... I asked if he happened to have a law degree, as he was making incorrect law determinations... the monies were sent from Kentucky and sold over the state line as a 10 year contract from Indiana... they have not only broken a moral code (this young generation generally has no idea what that is) BUT they lied and cheated a customer to get my funds.

I am going to Shout the following: DO NOT BUY ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH WHIRLPOOL, FEDERAL WARRANTY SERVICE CORPORATION, KITCHENAID EXTENDED SERVICE PLANS LOCATED IN INDIANA AND LOUISVILLE, KY. The supervisor is now telling customers they do not get what they were sold... it is their "code" of conduct.

I am contacting the state attorneys general in Kentucky, Indiana, and their location is also, according to their contract, in Atlanta, Georgia. What I thought was funny was the Complaint Dept. for this Indiana branch is not in Indiana, but across the bridge in Louisville, KY. They refuse to give you a street address, but the supervisor gave me a post office box and incorrect zip code... when I questioned him on the zip code, he then gave me a correct one... I guess he was trying to pull a fast one again. When asked for the President's name, he fumbled and gave me J. F.'s name, the President of Whirlpool... but he did not have an address or a phone number...

Brand New Gas Oven Lights Inconsistently Despite Three (3) Service Calls
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

OHIO -- We moved in to our new home June 20, 2014. In November the gas oven on our brand new Whirlpool range (WFG510S0AS2) began to turn off in the middle of cooking ribs - twice. Then it would spark repeatedly but only turn on intermittently. In December when I tried to light it to do my Christmas baking, it refused to ignite. We tried the remedies suggested in the owner's manual but were unsuccessful in getting the oven to start. I contacted Whirlpool Service and they set up an appointment for four days later, on or about December 11. The serviceman replaced the igniter after telling us this was a very rare occurrence in a new stove.

In February, 2015, the oven began to repeat the pattern - sparking a number of times, lighting or refusing to light. I contacted service again February 16 and they sent a repairman on the 19th. He adjusted the gas tube in case it was too far from the igniter. He left. The oven continued to balk at lighting. I sent an email to the repair company and they returned February 26, cleaned and readjusted all the parts. Repairman checked it right before leaving and it didn't start! So he worked on it again, then declared that he had done all he could.

My husband then sent an email to Whirlpool explaining the difficulties we are experiencing. Whirlpool's response" "Unfortunately we do not know what is causing that issue. You may want to check the power hookup... we can only recommend a follow-up service call." This stove is eight months old. We cook and bake at home. Having a reliable, working oven is important to us. Is it possible we simply have a lemon? Shouldn't the company do more than suggest we check our power hookup? The service people on the phone and in person have been exceptionally nice, but we still have a stove that may or may not light when we need it.

Unfortunately You Will Have to Wait!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESLEY CHAPEL, FLORIDA -- We purchased a Whirlpool refrigerator, stove, and dish washer. Even though we have never had appliance issues, we went ahead and bought the extended 5 year warranty. We purchased all 3 appliances due to a rebate Whirlpool offered. We filled out the forms mailed them in and nothing. Called Whirlpool about rebate, got runaround and eventually just forgot about it only to have our 7 month 1800.00 refrigerator to stop working.

Called Whirlpool and yet not to my surprise, we treated extremely poorly. The woman said we had our fridge for 2 years. I replied impossible I have the receipt. Then I added we also purchased the extended coverage. She quickly let me know I would need to fax her a copy or we would have to pay out of pocket.

Livid with that response, I then phoned Famous Tate where I actually made my purchase. ** the manager was extremely concerned and made every effort to get a repair tech out that same day. Diagnosis unrepairable. Again, I called Famous Tate, he said he is waiting to hear from Whirlpool. He said he would replace our fridge but sometimes Whirlpool does it directly.

I then called Whirlpool and I was told someone would call me in 24-72 hours and they are closed on weekends. Sooooo that means my family of 5 is without a fridge for several days. I felt that was unacceptable! I was passed through many Whirlpool associates voicing my thoughts on their policy of thinking it was OK to dismiss our family needs of a refrigerator. Who can possible be without a fridge for that many days.

The most upsetting part is they actually believed it was good customer service. The final representative ** said "unfortunately you will have to wait" Threw out this entire process ** with Famous Tate did everything he could to stand behind the product he sold only to have Whirlpool not carry their responsibility for the product they made. Would never purchase another Whirlpool product or recommend them.

Rebate Rejected - Sorry There Is Nothing We Can Do
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I submitted a $400 rebate for the Whirlpool Ice Collection. This rebate was rejected because the postmarked date was 5 days past due. The rebate was postmarked 6/4, but should have been postmarked 5/30. I explained my situation to the rebate team, but they said that no exceptions can be made. I explained that I was told by HHGregg to wait to submit my rebate until the appliances were delivered on 5/25 and they said HHGregg told you wrong and you should have submitted the rebate before you received the shipment. So this left me only 5 days to submit my rebate as well as remembering that my rebate should be sent in the next few days.

To make matters worse after I moved into my new house, my basement was flooded within a week of moving in. The rebate team did not sympathize with me and told me that no exceptions can be made. I talked with a manager and found out that the rebate team isn't even Whirlpool employees. Now things are starting to make more sense, no wonder the rebate team didn't care that I said I would take my business elsewhere in the future, because they don't even work for Whirlpool.

I asked them how I could get in touch with someone from Whirlpool because I would assume Whirlpool would want to keep a customer for the long-term. They said you can submit a fax to the Exceptions Department. Later, I found out from another manager at the rebate team that the Exceptions Department is really just a Complaint Department that doesn't make exceptions on rejected rebates. I need to get in touch with a Whirlpool employee. I tried calling Whirlpool's Customer Service Department, but they refused to work with me because this is dealing with a rebate rejection and they said that I need to work with the Rebate Department.

So here I am posting a complaint with a sole purpose of trying to get in touch with a Whirlpool employee to get my rebate. I spent over $4,600 for my Whirlpool appliances and all I want is the promised $400 rebate. I have purchased 8 Whirlpool appliances in my life and I'm only 30 years old. Imagine how many more Whirlpool appliances I will purchase if Whirlpool keeps me happy. I'm having a very difficult time understanding why Whirlpool won't just fork over the $400 to keep a customer. Whirlpool's customer service department needs to think long-term not short-term.

I was curious how other appliance companies handled this situation, so I called GE's Online Rebate Center (1-800-871-8893) and mentioned that my GE rebate was rejected because it was 5 days past the postmarked date. **, the GE customer service agent that I spoke with, mentioned that he would be able to make an exception for me.

He specifically mentioned that he could make an exception as long as the postmarked date isn't 20 days past the final due date. I didn't have to ask to speak to his manager or send a fax in requesting for an exception. GE made this process simple and I think their customer service department does a good job at making their customers happy.

When Whirlpool responds to this message, I would ask that a ticket number is provided as well as a phone number. I would love to get this simple complaint resolved and continue being a happy Whirlpool customer that speaks highly about Whirlpool appliances.

Whirlpool Oven did not last
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- I think the following chat is self explanatory:


I have 2 Whirlpool ovens model RBS276PB, set in the wall on top of each other (not a double oven but two separate units.) I purchased these units from HH Greg approximately 3 years ago.

I use the bottom oven 99% of the time for daily cooking. My wife uses both ovens when she bakes cookies. She used the top oven about a dozen times in the last three years.

Recently, I decided to clean the ovens using the self cleaning feature of the oven.

Unfortunately, when finished, the top, hardly used oven was broken. I called out a factory authorized Whirlpool repair person who informed me the computer in the oven had burned out and needed to be replaced.

I am highly upset. As I said, this unit was used only about a dozen times and broke the first time I went to clean it. While I know the oven is out of warranty, I am asking if you have had this problem in the past with these ovens, and determined that you need to stand behind your product?

Amanda L: Thank you for contacting Whirlpool! My name is Amanda L. I will be with you momentarily.
Amanda L: I am sorry to hear that you're having this trouble with your oven, Mr. Jaffe. I am a consumer myself, and certainly understand and appreciate your feelings and frustrations. When a product fails to meet a consumer's expectations, it concerns us. We make every effort to ensure only the highest quality materials are used during manufacturing.

Based on your model and serial combination there are no ongoing recalls or service issues. Therefore, if the unit is beyond the manufacture's warranty there would be no financial assistance that Whirlpool can offer. I am very sorry for the inconvenience.

andy jaffe: Amanda, besides these 2 ovens we have a Whirlpool dishwasher, a Whirlpool refrigerator, a Whirlpool washer, and a Whirlpool dryer.

andy jaffe: If you cannot help us, please rest assured that as the units need to be replaced, it will not be with a Whirlpool product.

Amanda L: In an effort to administer our warranty fairly to all customers, Whirlpool Corporation complies with our legal, written, product warranty. Once a product warranty has expired, any costs for maintenance, service, or component replacements are then within the owner's time frame of responsibility. Since there are no ongoing service issues with your unit the charges for the service call would be our responsibility.
Amanda L: *your

andy jaffe: Thank you for your form answers. I am sorry that I will no longer be a Whirlpool customer, and that I will be posting this chat to review web sites for other consumers to choose their manufacturers.

Amanda L: I apologize for your displeasure and regret that you are not completely satisfied with the resolution that I'm able to provide at this time. Your comments have been documented in our files and are available for review should it become necessary for you to contact Whirlpool again at a future date.

It has been a pleasure to assist you today. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us again. Thank you for choosing Whirlpool. We appreciate your business. Have a great day!
Amanda L has disconnected.

Held Hostage By Whirlpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- We bought this microwave on 02/25/12. We paid for professional installation because it is OTR. The microwave was installed on 02/28/12. On 03/18/12, the microwave quit working. The exhaust fan and the fan that runs while in use quit working. On 03/19/2012, I called Whirlpool, and they sent out a local contractor to fix it. They came out on 03/22/12. The tech had to order 5 parts for the microwave! 5 parts! He said he would be back on 03/29/12 at the same time (afternoon). They were a no call/no show. On 03/30/12, I called 3 times during the day about the status of my parts and they still couldn't find them.

So, I called Whirlpool and they said that their delivery wasn't in yet and I should call the next day. So, I had to wait over the weekend. I called the contractor on 04/02/12 and they still didn't have any information. On 04/03/12 I called again, and they had the part but the only way they could install it was in the morning. So, my son had to take off from school. Yep, you guessed it, wrong part! I called Whirlpool on 04/04/12. The customer service representative did a 1-2 priority shipping on the part. On 04/10/12, I called Whirlpool and said I did not hear anything about my part. So, Whirlpool called the contractor and yes, they ordered the wrong part again!

So, another priority 1-2 day shipping of my part was on the way! On 04/17/12, I called Whirlpool and said I haven't heard about the part. They called the contractor and said the part was in. So, it's almost closing time and we had to call the contractor. They said they had to check with a tech and that I should call the next day. On 04/18/12, after much argument, they said they would come out on 04/23/12! So, because of Whirlpool and this contractor, I was out of my brand new microwave for 37 days. The contractor said that Whirlpool was to blame because the schematics were wrong for the part. Whirlpool blamed the contractor because of their poor service.

To summarize, Whirlpool customer service, "understands my frustration." Yeah, I would like to see any of them in the call center go 37 days without a microwave! Whirlpool should be ashamed of themselves. 37 days! And no one treated us with any compassion or priority. Whirlpool should be fined for this treatment of their consumers.

Whirlpool branded hot water tank issues
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- In August 2008 we purchased a gas, a 40 gal. hot water heater from Lowes that was branded as "Whirpool". We have had great success with Whirlpool appliances in the past, so we thought this was a no brainer. This past week, the tank started to fail. Each morning we woke up to no hot water and found the tank not functioning. Each day we called Whirlpool and had them walk us through relighting the pilot light. The tank would heat up normally. When we got home from work, the tank would still be functioning. Then, the next morning we were back in the basement, on the phone with Whirlpool trying to get the tank relit.

Why did we call Whirlpool instead of just relighting it ourselves? We called and had them walk us through it so there would be a record of the problem, the frequency, etc. Yesterday, the operator had me light the tank then shut it off and so we could pull wires and test the firing. With the phone to my ear, she had me pull the white and black wires to the thermocoupler, hold the wires together, then with the other hand expected me to push the RED button down, hold it and then concurrently click the spark switch rapidly.

After a minute, the tank failed to relight relight. She then had me plug everything back together, and try the relight process again. Nothing. And again we tried, and nothing. I just got fed up, and said to the operator on the phone - who, I have to say was super nice as are all the people at Whirlpool who we've spoken to - and said that this wasn't acceptable, and that this was apparently a larger problem than just a pilot light going out. She said that the tank was covered for parts, but not service. I said that when you buy a Whirlpool, you expect something better than that solution considering the unit was not even two years old.

The operator immediately said that Whirlpool would cover the repair - meaning parts and service costs. They gave me the name of a local heating contractor and I scheduled the replacement for the defective part which happened today. The repair man said that they could NOT guarantee the part, and that there were problems with the replacement parts as well.

I looked up "Whirlpool gas hot water tanks" sold through Lowe's and I discovered that not only were tanks NOT made by Whirlpool, but were "branded as Whirlpool". I also found that many, many people have ongoing issues with parts failing. Most of the complaints have stated that the parts failed shortly after installation - our failed after approximately 20 months. But in all fairness, when the unit operates properly, it performs in a flawless manner.

So we are going to watch this appliance very, very carefully. If it fails again in an unreasonable amount of time, we will replace the tank with high efficient on demand system from a reputable plumber, and we won't be quite so certain of future appliance purchases from Whirlpool.

I am really disappointed in this product. If the product is as problem riddled as I have found, and those complaints are accurate, then Whirlpool needs to make it right to everyone who bought one of these units. As I said, when you buy Whirlpool, you expect peace of mind. I'll no wonder every morning IF we have HOT water, or IF we'll have to go through this again.

Quality and Customer Service Nightmare
By -

In April of 2009 we purchased several Architect Series stainless steel KitchenAid appliances from a local authorized dealer including a diswasher, microwave, stove, warming drawer and a 36" cooktop and downdraft unit (~$10,000 of product). When the cooktop unit arrived, it was installed by the local dealer's service technicians. During the installation we discovered that a number of pieces were missing from the cooktop including burner tops that prevented us from using the cooktop.

After 3 to 4 phone calls to Whirlpool and about 2 weeks later, we finally received the parts and discovered that Whirlpool (owner of KitchenAid brand) had sent the wrong parts. After several more phone calls, we were finally sent what we thought were the remaining correct parts. After the technician arrived to install them, he found that we were missing more burner parts from the high capacity burner and that using the burner without these parts had scorched the cooktop slightly.

At the same time we discovered that the downdraft system activation button was not working correctly and more new parts for both items were ordered by the technician. A new cooktop was ordered and then installed about 3-4 weeks later by the local dealer. After the cooktop was installed, we discovered that it was scratched badly and ordered another. About 2 weeks later the parts for the downdraft arrived and were installed by the local dealer technicians. The next day the downdraft system got stuck in the up and on position and could not be turned off. Another cooktop arrived several weeks later and was installed.

I called the local dealer frustrated at having paid for a new cooktop in April and still not able to use it fully in late July and was told by the owner that we had to wait to have a Whirlpool authorized 3rd party technician come to our house to evaluate the unit before Whirlpool would do anything to replace or repair the downdraft unit. Meanwhile, after 4-5 phone calls and being transferred around in Whirlpool's "customer service" bureacracy of divisions, we tried to get a replacement unit and were told by Whirlpool that they would send us one, but that they were on backorder and it would be mid-August before one could be delivered to our home.

We asked them if they could find one at a distributor or retailer and have that unit sent to us and were told by the "customer service" person that they don't do that. They furthermore said that we could try to do that on our own but that they would only refund exactly the discounted price that we paid from the local retailer and not what we would have to pay to get one delivered from somewhere else in the country to our home.

I run a manufacturing business that sells products in the same price range as these appliances through distribution to retail stores. We occasionally make mistakes as do all companies. When a customer has a problem, our customer service ensures that the customer is taken care of immediately either through a local retailer or directly from us. We see a problem as an opportunity to have customers rave about our service levels to other potential customers and realize that service attitude and responsiveness pays for itself several times over in the positive word of mouth versus the negative that would occur if we didn't do this.

Whirlpool had a huge opportunity to have my wife and I telling a wonderful customer service story that would have positively influenced other potential customers in an affluent community where many of our friends and neighbors are upgrading kitchens. Instead, I will be telling as many people as I can both verbally and online about my experience and the impact to their sales will be 10-100 times what it would have cost them to be nice to us and try to solve our problem.

I hope that someone in the management of Whirlpool someday gets this message and uses it to change the company for the positive. Meanwhile, I suggest that if you can, you should avoid buying any of the brands that are made and serviced by Whirlpool.

Don't trust Whirlpool Rebates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Whirlpool appliances had a rebate promo going on from April 1-30, 2013 called Sleek Style, Beautiful Savings Offer # 691-955 with an expiration date of May 30, 2013. You could get $400 in rebates if 4 select appliances were purchased and you followed the directions. On April 12, 2013 I purchased 4 of the eligible appliances with my credit card... all in the same transaction for a total of a little over $4,000 and sent in all required info, i.e. the rebate form, the serial numbers, and the receipt to the correct address, all within the required time. I have copies of all paperwork. This was not the first rebate promo I had participated in.

Instead of getting a rebate of $400, I got one for $250. Recently I ran across the file with the info in it and realized I had not been given the entire rebate. When I called the number of the rebate center I was told the rebate offer had expired, that it looked as though I had not paid for the microwave (this is not correct-all appliances were paid for at the same time and delivered together) and that's why I didn't get the entire rebate. There was no recourse she said, because the promo had expired.

So... even though I show a receipt from my appliance store where I paid for all 4 appliances at the same time, within the promo times, and even though I sent the information required for the rebate in well before the expiration of the rebate... I lost out on $150 of rebates I should've gotten. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed in Whirlpool. I own rental property and will not be buying appliances from a company that does not stand by its promises. In fact, due to this experience, I will no longer participate in future rebate programs. If you can't trust a company, don't give them your hard earned money.

Hot Water Tank Pilot Goes Out
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOHNSON CITY, TENNESSEE -- I am a small apt building owner. In as such, I upgrade and take care of each unit. New appliances as well as the structure upgrades. One tenant brought forward that the hot water does not seem to last very long. I also have an energy efficient washer that uses the same hot water. (I pay the hot water-gas service and water folks) And since the tank was going on 8-9 years old, I decided to replace with a larger unit. I purchased the item from Lowes, but it took me about 2 months to install due to time factors.

After installing within the first month the pilot light went out about once a week. Could not figure it out. Called my plumber and he did some adjustments and worked OK. This last week Friday evening at 9 pm, a call from the tenant, the hot water is out. Since installing, I've moved from the area and now live 2 hours away. Saturday morning off to the building. Hot water tank lights but yellow flame. Out with the install guide, viewing various trouble shooting. Yellow flame, seems like not enough air or otherwise. Call to the plumber. Team tag to read online reviews. Call to Whirlpool 800 number and this is where I've now made the decision to NEVER purchase another Whirlpool product.

The representative was so demeaning, unhelpful, and just a big bully. Treated me as an idiot. She called the installation and guide instructions as the "manual". I tried multiple times to ensure that what I was looking at was her version of "manual". I am very detailed oriented and wanted assistance with step by step, and I wanted help not attitude. I asked her at least 5 times to slow down so that I could view what she was saying. Absolute futile conversation if you could call it that. The kicker was that she told me that the unit needs servicing every 3 months to operate correctly.

Now, with 4 other water tanks in line and in service for over 8 years without one issue.... do you think I want this kind of hot water tank that needs servicing every 3 months? After the horrid customer non service, I spoke with the plumber and the unit is being replaced today with a Bradford White. The Whirlpool model is less than one year old. So beware of Whirlpool, the way to teach a company like this is to STOP buying their appliances. As a consumer, is it too much to ask for a bit of empathy and respect on the phone? Be forewarned.

Top of Page | Next Page >