Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible, Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The worst customer service ever! We purchased a set of wall ovens in October 2014 for our new home. Went to do a self clean cycle for the first time on January 14, 2016 (I keep my ovens very clean, so it wasn't needed until this time). When the self clean cycle was finished the power went dead on the oven unit and the oven door remained locked.

Of course, the breakers were checked, they were not tripped. I call Whirlpool and was told even though they were just 12 weeks out of warranty there was nothing they could do for us. They were able to offer us an extended service warranty for $298! This would extend the warranty for 1 more year and cover repair costs. We purchased this and they scheduled a repairman to come out on Monday, January 18th between 8-12. Waited all morning for him to come, never came.

At 5:30 that afternoon he called and told me he would be there in 1 hour. At 6:30 he shows up, looks at the ovens, says they need a new fuse and he would order the next day. He said it would be a week or so before they would come in. During this week I tried to call him several times to see if the fuse was in but no answer and did not return my calls. Called Whirlpool the following Monday to see what was going on.

They tell me that the guy who they sent to my house does not repair wall ovens and he closed the ticket out. So to Whirlpool that meant the repair was completed. Of course they apologized and scheduled another repair company to come out that Wednesday between 8-12. I wait at home again, all morning. 12:00 comes and goes and no repairman. I called his company and the answering machine stated office was closed. Call Whirlpool, they tell me "oh we are sorry, that company declined the work ticket on Monday and no one called you". WHAT!!! Are you kidding me.

OK now I'm 2 weeks without ovens and I paid $300 to Whirlpool for extended service... what a joke!!! Wednesday afternoon January 27th, they tell me they are contacting dispatch to find another repair company. I call on Thursday to find out what the status is now. They tell me they are working on it and a company will call me within 1 business day to set up an appointment. So by Thursday night I call again for an update and they give me the number of the service company.

I call them Friday morning to set up an appointment. Earliest they can get to me will be Tuesday Feb. 2. So if this appointment goes through, it will be a minimum of 3 weeks without ovens that are only 15 months old. Pitiful, just pitiful. We could not be more disappointed with Whirlpool! Please do yourself a favor and never purchase a Whirlpool product.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service and Very Poor Quality Products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINGTON -- If I could give Whirlpool products and their customer service zero stars, I would! We built our beautiful home that was complete in June 2015. Our builder was installing Whirlpool products in the homes he was building at the time so we decided to accept the microwave, dishwasher and drop-in gas range that he offered. We had never had Whirlpool kitchen appliances and no reason to respectfully decline the brand. We bought a french door Whirlpool refrigerator as well so the handles would match our open concept kitchen.

In addition to the poor quality overall, the microwave makes a terrible buzzing noise that has been "fixed" two times thus far. The refrigerator is so loud at times that it's difficult to hear the television when sitting in the living room. The dishwasher does not dry the dishes on any setting to include "heat dry" hours and hours after the cycle is complete. This forces us to hand dry our dishes prior to putting them in the cupboard. The cast-iron grates on the drop-in range already look terrible because the enamel is coming off after only four months of use. I clean all the appliances as recommended by Whirlpool and like to keep our home beautiful as it is our place of solace and comfort.

As stated prior, our kitchen and living room are open concept so I now have to contend with an eyesore in the middle of our home's hub because Whirlpool considers this manufacturing flaw as "cosmetic" and won't cover it under warranty. To add insult to injury, these poor quality products are the higher end available from Whirlpool. We plan to wait for the year end warranty to expire and replace the four appliances with a brand that has always offered excellent customer service and has been very reliable and trustworthy for us. As a consumer, I will never purchase another Whirlpool appliance again!

Replies
Noisy ovens
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANYWHERE, FLORIDA -- Whirlpool makes Maytag, KitchenAid and many other named appliances. My Maytag NEW oven whistles when operating and for 30-45 minutes after turned off. I object to the whistle as it is very annoying. I don't mind if the cooling fan make air noise, like a normal fan, but the whistle drives us nut.

3 service appointments, including a new fan did NOTHING to fix the whistle. The "Factory Certified Repairmen", all 4 of them, said the whistle is NORMAL for my oven and is due to the manufacturer, (Whirlpool) putting in a 2 strong fans to fix the design problem of overheating the electronics! Whirlpool/Maytag effectively says "tough luck" if I do not like the noise. They refuse to eliminate it or to refund my purchase, as they say the oven is working as it should!!! BUYER BEWARE, WHIRLPOOL/MAYTAG AND ALL THE OTHERS THEY MAKE, care not at all about customer satisfaction!!!

Replies
Whirlpool HE low water washer smell bad and destroy clothes after washing.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought Whirlpool Cabrio washer two months ago. (Model number: WTW7300DW0) They indicate washer use less water and clean better, but that is not true. Some clothes on top of the load were not even getting wet and clothes smell bad after washing. Even worse is that clothes got holes in many places and some clothes were totally destroyed after washing. In just two months, I have to throw away many of my towels and clothes.

I don't believe this kind of washer should be sold again. This should be a recall to give us a replacement ASAP and remove any products still in the market. There are many complaints online. I hope someone will stop this and do the right thing.

Replies
Advertisement
Extended Warranty Is Worthless
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased the extended warranty on a Whirlpool refrigerator. After 2 years of trouble-free service, I now have a small problem. I have called the phone # listed 9 times and have been on hold for a total of 4 hours... and have yet to speak to a human. This phone # is the ONLY way to contact them and they refuse to answer! A product is only as good as their service and Whirlpool's service is non-existent...

Replies
DO NOT BUY WHIRLPOOL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRING HILL, FLORIDA -- Purchased Whirlpool refrigerator 6 months ago, and the handles which were not even, was corrected only by the doors now being uneven. Also, constant water drips off of waterline on door regardless of being used or not. Just recently refrigerator started a piercing, ear ringing annoying sound when running. What happened to quality control in the U.S.A?

Replies
Piece of Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHEVY CHASE, MARYLAND -- I would happily dump the pieces of junk Whirlpool duet system. Paid 1500.00 for a new set recently. Dryer only works on one cycle and washer does not work at all. Plus the damn company does not service their own product. They sub out the work to whoever bids the lowest. So the service gets even "better".

Replies
Shreds Clothing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALABAMA -- Whirlpool knows the washer is defective but refuses to fix or recall. So I will start mailing the CEO my shredded clothing with an invoice to replace what their defective machine shredded.

Replies
Advertisement
Brand New Gas Oven Lights Inconsistently Despite Three (3) Service Calls
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

OHIO -- We moved in to our new home June 20, 2014. In November the gas oven on our brand new Whirlpool range (WFG510S0AS2) began to turn off in the middle of cooking ribs - twice. Then it would spark repeatedly but only turn on intermittently. In December when I tried to light it to do my Christmas baking, it refused to ignite. We tried the remedies suggested in the owner's manual but were unsuccessful in getting the oven to start. I contacted Whirlpool Service and they set up an appointment for four days later, on or about December 11. The serviceman replaced the igniter after telling us this was a very rare occurrence in a new stove.

In February 2015, the oven began to repeat the pattern - sparking a number of times, lighting or refusing to light. I contacted service again February 16 and they sent a repairman on the 19th. He adjusted the gas tube in case it was too far from the igniter. He left. The oven continued to balk at lighting. I sent an email to the repair company and they returned February 26, cleaned and readjusted all the parts. Repairman checked it right before leaving and it didn't start! So he worked on it again, then declared that he had done all he could.

My husband then sent an email to Whirlpool explaining the difficulties we are experiencing. Whirlpool's response: "Unfortunately we do not know what is causing that issue. You may want to check the power hookup... we can only recommend a follow-up service call." This stove is eight months old. We cook and bake at home. Having a reliable, working oven is important to us. Is it possible we simply have a lemon? Shouldn't the company do more than suggest we check our power hookup? The service people on the phone and in person have been exceptionally nice, but we still have a stove that may or may not light when we need it.

Replies
Don't trust Whirlpool Rebates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Whirlpool appliances had a rebate promo going on from April 1-30, 2013 called Sleek Style, Beautiful Savings Offer # 691-955 with an expiration date of May 30, 2013. You could get $400 in rebates if 4 select appliances were purchased and you followed the directions.

On April 12, 2013 I purchased 4 of the eligible appliances with my credit card... all in the same transaction for a total of a little over $4,000 and sent in all required info, i.e. the rebate form, the serial numbers, and the receipt to the correct address, all within the required time. I have copies of all paperwork. This was not the first rebate promo I had participated in.

Instead of getting a rebate of $400, I got one for $250. Recently I ran across the file with the info in it and realized I had not been given the entire rebate. When I called the number of the rebate center I was told the rebate offer had expired, that it looked as though I had not paid for the microwave (this is not correct - all appliances were paid for at the same time and delivered together) and that's why I didn't get the entire rebate. There was no recourse she said, because the promo had expired.

So... even though I show a receipt from my appliance store where I paid for all 4 appliances at the same time, within the promo times, and even though I sent the information required for the rebate in well before the expiration of the rebate... I lost out on $150 of rebates I should've gotten. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed in Whirlpool. I own rental property and will not be buying appliances from a company that does not stand by its promises. In fact, due to this experience, I will no longer participate in future rebate programs. If you can't trust a company, don't give them your hard earned money.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 31 ratings and
120 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies