Whirlpool Washing Machines

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
100 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Whirlpool' POOR Quality
Posted by on
BRANTON HARBOR -- To Whom It Concerns:
I have purchased 3 major Whirlpool appliances over the last 18 months,
APPLIANCE Model Serial Purchased
1. Fridge ER2CHMXPQ05 EY2004508 6/22/10
2. Freezer EV201NZTQ01 U05393314 12/23/10
3. Washer WFW9150WW00 HL02828368 8/23/10
In general I have been satisfied with the products; however after spending nearly $1000.00 for a front load washer that lasted only 18 months then died I am NOT a happy camper. I began having problems with the washer before the warranty expired and I should have addressed the issue then. Unfortunately I didn’t because I was having major issues with the freezer; eventually they had to replace the door and gasket. I had my wife call Whirlpool and explain to them that the washer would shake violently when spinning, and it was not safe to use. She was promptly told the washer was out of warranty, and she had (2) options, #1; she could pay approximately $300.00 to have the washer repaired and receive a 1 year warranty; #2; she could pay approximately $160.00 to AES, their preferred repair company, have the washer repaired. I was/am shocked with the indifference of the Corporate Elite at Whirlpool and their philosophy of indifference to those of us who buy their products and sustain their companies.
I called Whirlpool and asked to speak with Customer service on January 6, 2012 for more than 1 hour. The young lady I spoke with was pleasant but utterly unable to resolve my problem, repairing my washer. I was told she would take my complaint and forward it to the appropriate person(s). I have to say I have NO faith in the quality of Whirlpool products. After that conversation I had a different certified company come to my house and diagnose the problem, it was a failing main bearing. How can one of the MOST important parts of a front load washer fail within a year and a half? Does Whirlpool expect consumers to HAVE to purchase an extended warranty with each of their products or purchase new appliances every 16 – 24 months?
In my opinion (IM0) Whirlpool should repair this washer at their expense, this is, IMO, clearly a manufacturer defect!
This company WILL NOT/ DOES NOT stand behind their products. DON’T BUY WHIRLPOOL!!!!!

Garfield Norris III
FRESNO, TEXAS
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
andbran on 01/17/2012:
you stated that you were having problems before the warranty ended. it should have been addressed then even while you were having problems with the freezer. unfortunately in this day and age once the warranty with anyone expires you are out of luck. I have had good experiences with Whirlpool for many years. my washer and dryer is 10 years and still runs great. I have had the belt break on my dryer once and they fixed it no problems. IMO Whirlpool is not at fault. again you should have had it looked while under warranty
Venice09 on 01/17/2012:
"Does Whirlpool expect consumers to HAVE to purchase an extended warranty with each of their products or purchase new appliances every 16 – 24 months?"

Excellent question.

Anything worth buying does not need an extended warranty. Extended warranties have become mandatory because planned obsolescence is factored into the design. It's a no-win situation for the consumer and the environment, and a win-win for the companies.
At Your Service on 01/18/2012:
I have to agree with andbran here. That 9150 is a really nice washer, but you have to remember that when making any purchase, there is an agreement of warranty that is included. In this case, the warranty was one year, limited. The fact that the warranty is outside of the year has nothing to do with Whirlpool "standing behind their product." They're willing to provide the parts and even assist by suggesting a service location, but there was never an agreement to service the product for some arbitrary amount of time.

It's good that the product was still sold with a one year warranty. Some manufacturers are reducing the warranties from this length of time. If you can believe it, there are those who really are not concerned about the guarantee of coverage.
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
It's not about warranties. It's about a company's integrity and quality of products, which are both sorely lacking in the Whirlpool family. If you don't believe me, just read the complaints. There's no arguing with those.
At Your Service on 01/18/2012:
According to ConsumerSearch, in an article entitled, "Front Loading Washing Machines Get The Best Reviews", the author states,

"The Whirlpool Duet [model] gets outstanding results in professional tests. Good Housekeeping calls it a 'gentle giant,' saying it does a great job with delicates. Reviewers also praise the machine's FanFresh feature, which 'tumbles and airs out a load for up to 16 hours to curb mustiness.' In another independent test, this washer achieves top scores for cleaning performance and efficiency, with very good scores for gentleness, vibration and noise level. We did not see a large volume of user reviews to back up these professional test results, but the 10 or so reviews that we pulled from various retail sites were mostly enthusiastic. Users [sites listed] love the FanFresh feature, which they say leaves the washer 'bone dry' and prevents odors. Another user [site] says the steam feature 'really gets the stains out,' and one [site] says the fast spin cycle cuts drying time in half."
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
Why push brands and models on people who are already fuming? That only adds insult to injury, diminishes the importance of the review and shows no respect for the author. I find it very inappropriate.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Adventures with Washers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I have been reading some of the sad commentary from people who recently purchased front loading washers. I have to admit that I now have a crying towel hanging from my doorknob as well. My machine is about 3 years old, is now nearly ready for its third door boot, has a second set of shocks, tub and stainless drum. I am presently working on the rear counterweight which fell from the tub and severed the pressure sensing tube in the process. We have water dribbling from the door, and also had to replace the black drain hose from the drum to the pump. This sprung a leak and caused flooding in the laundry area.

Like many others, this washer- dryer combination was purchased due to our being retirees, and wanting to have a robust product that would hopefully outlive us and be passed on to appreciative family members. This, like many of the best laid plans of mice and men have us presently going to the laundromat with our clothes. Pushing 70, we did not foresee this predicament. However, we are not alone. While at the laundromat, my wife met a woman who was 75 with the exact same problem.

There are many experiences cited about the money spent for what was imagined to be good quality laundry products. The average unnecessary expenditures on these washers seem to be in the under $1000.00 range. Enough to sting, but not quite enough to cripple. Most of the folks here will probably do their share of grumbling, put their washers out at the curb and then stomp off to buy some other product. However, adding up the combined losses to all these customers may amount to a very substantial piece of change!

Putting this into another perspective can be very illuminating. Imagine if these were cars instead of washers. A short time after purchasing a car, say the window and door gasket failed, letting weather enter the passenger compartment. In another year the crankshaft bearings seize. The year after, the transmission fails and needs to be completely replaced. Then the car computer, etc. On top of this, the car would sound like a foundry when it went down the street. Then the mechanics would have no idea what was wrong. The manufacturers would all blame the drivers for the condition of the cars. This would be not only a disaster, but could push the public to the point of bankruptcy. No one would permit a situation like this to happen with their automobiles. True, the car is priced out at several thousands of dollars and the washer at under a thousand. But the parallel comparisons are equally valid. There is a saying in industry that goes: "The Quality Control Department is not located on the customer's premises." Remember the head of a well known Asian car company was summoned from his country to testify before Congress? He had to explain why the cars he produced were showing serious faults. After that, real progress was made in his manufacturing. In other words, accountability was responsible for the product improvement, not simply complaints.

PS. It appears to me, as I read it; that these door boots have become a class action suit in Ohio. It seems the manufacturer appealed legal issues eventually to the Supreme Court level and had their arguments rejected. I read this in a class action blog. You may want to check into this yourself and see if my information is accurate.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
andbran on 03/14/2014:
I still consider Whirlpool a good product. IMO top loaders will always be better than front loaders. in my 32 years of marriage I have had 2 washing machines both top loaders. they are not as fancy but they get the job and they take years to wear out and I wash a load of clothes a day. I never had service calls they just stop working from old age.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Product and Customer Service EVER!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CORPORATION, MICHIGAN -- Please read if you’re thinking about buying from Whirpool

The Whirpool front loading washing machine…hmmm…where do I start…oh, yeah, it’s a colossal piece of garbage. Four years ago my wife and I went shopping for a washer and dryer. We looked at quite a few, and then we came across the Whirlpool front loading washer…ahhh, the wave of the future. The end all solution to your washing needs. The best the market has to offer, and at over $1100, they should be. The salesman completely sold us on why we should spend a little extra for such a superior product. I thought, “I work hard,” I don’t make a ton of money, but this sounds like a long term, worthwhile investment. Wrap it up, the Washer and dryer combo. Fast forward…4 years later…”What’s that awful clunking sound the washer is making. Oh, it’s the drum. Maybe it’s off center. I open it up to find that the spider arm is broken…”Isn’t it only 4 years old?” Surely they Whirpool will fix this at no charge to the consumer, because as I was told 4 years ago, “This is the best technology.” Now mind you, it’s just my wife and me. She doesn’t have to do laundry for 50 people, or even 4 for that matter.

Calling Whirlpool…ring, ring ring…”Hello, this is Whirpool”…I explain to them what the problem is, and that we have only had this magnificent piece of gold for 4 years, what can you do for me…Sorry sir, the machine is only warranted for a year, you’ll have to buy the $350 part to fix it (reading between the lines “Your screwed sucker, thanks for the cash)…Really, you’re telling me that I spent almost $2000 of my very hard earned money for a washer and dryer set, and after only 4 years of use, you will not fix it. Allow me to paraphrase the reply in laymen’s terms…Nope, your SOL, and thanks for the green.

Here is my thoughts on Whirpool…they are one of the worst companies out there for customer service. The front loading washing machine is a horrible product that should be pulled off the market and never sold again. My experience with this company will never happen again, because I will NEVER EVER buy another one of their products. So please, before you think about giving them your business by buying a front loading washing machine, think again…and remember this…I now have an $1100 paper weight.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
nikalseyn on 04/22/2013:
You will not find a washer much better than Whirlpool. They are all the same, tho some hype their "name" and features in order to charge more. Face it, all you need is a basic, no-frills, appliance that washes your clothes. Forget the water-saving, save the environment, all that nonsense. Buy a cheap washer, say a Whirlpool or Maytag at Lowes, they will deliver for free and set it up and save much money. I just bought one last year and paid under $400. It works just fine. When it breaks, I will throw it out and buy another. They are cheap enough.
NJ consumer on 04/22/2013:
I too bought a $400 washing machine and $400 dryer at Lowes, no bells and whistles, about a year and half ago. No problems so far. I don't understand why people pay over $1000 for an appliances when the $400 model does the same thing. We all know they don't last any longer.
andbran on 04/22/2013:
I totally agree with nikalseyn. you should have just went the old fashion top loading washers. I almost went with a front loader and I am glad I never did.in the 30 years I have been married we have only bought 2 washers both top loaders. for future reference new technology does not mean its good
WP2008 on 04/25/2013:
Hello brasco616. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Whirlpool. We truly apologize for the frustrating experience you have endured regarding your washer. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email us at Whirlpool.Digital@Whirlpool.com and provide us with your complete contact information as well as the model and serial number of your appliance. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (My3Cents) along with your user name and your ticket number (41321). We would be happy to review your concerns further. Best regards, Amber.
ontario,resident on 05/29/2013:
Me too. Had a bad experience. Bought an Inglis washing machine,Feb.2012 and in Aug.2012 it overflowed and flooded one of our basement bedroom wrecking the ceilings,walls and floorings. Contacted Whirlpool and the lady said,Ma'am you know they are man made.
Suraj on 07/06/2013:
This is first time in my life I experienced the worst service and answers from a Brand 'Whirpool'.
I never experienced this type of service from any Brand in my life. I bought a new refrigerator on 23rd June in night. and complaint to Whirpool customer care on 24th June for water dripping inside.
Instead of apology and replace the new refrigerator, engineer asked to change the place of fridge but the problem was still same.

Engineer came again next day and did something in my new purchase which I didn't like but it was still on the same condition next day. Then I complaint continuously till 30th June, but instead of doing something they put my call on hold more than 25 min many times and sometime they disconnect the call as well.

After a lot of calls and follow-ups of more than a week, Whirpool didn't understand the customer satisfaction and ask for more 15 days to change the product. Till then I did not receive any call from Whirpool.

If this is the the service of a Brand like Whirpool, so I will never suggest anyone to go for Whirpool product.

Suraj Gupta
Leslie on 08/05/2013:
I agree the Whirlpool is the worst front loader and the customer service is the worst 5 years ago I spent a lot of money had it service 2x and bought a new mother board only works 65% of time.
D Lee on 10/13/2013:
We have had it with our Whirlpool Duet washer! It's been 3 years of pure 'babying' it -- we only use Quickwash and Medium spin speed. 13 months after we purchased it, grinding sounds began, then very loud banging sounds began. Whirlpool sent our an authorized repair company for my area. He stuck his hand in to roll the drum, heard the noise and told me bearings were gone and the whole drum-basket assembly needed to be replaced. I was told these parts cost $850, not including labour (he kept accusing me of not using HE detergent, or using too much). I lost it. I called Whirlpool customer service with the repairman still in front of me. I asked for a manager, who finally gave in to my yelling and ranting about such a crazy repair. The manager waived the cost of the parts after I continued to complain about poor quality and would never buy another Whirlpool product. The parts arrived a week later. I was quoted 2 hours of labour with 2 repairman. The job only took one hour, but they wouldn't adjust my invoice. Crooks. I paid so they would get out of my house. Guess what? It's been 2 years since that repair and the same loud grinding noise has returned. This is truly a piece of garbage. Here I go again with calling Whirlpool customer service...
lynn kalish on 07/14/2014:
My husband and I purchased the Duet front-loading pair from Whirpool. We are absolutely disgusted with the machine. You have to do every load on Allergy to get enough water for rinsing. In order to prevent mildew, you have to dry the rubber each time and leave the door open. And after running the machine for almost two hours each time, there are still suds and we have to do one or two more rinses -- another hour! And there are still suds even though we hardly use any soap at all! What a crappy commercial hoax machine. It is loud, shaky, and energy wasteful. If I could get back my top loading old Maytag, I'd love it! Enough of this HE deceptive nonsense!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Whirlpool washer wfw9150ww00
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought Whirlpool washer wfw9150ww00 2 years ago in June. It is a front load washer which I never had before. I bought HE detergent because that is what I was told to buy - the first month or two were OK but it took a long long time to wash - 2 1/2 hours to be exact - and just didn't seem right but I never had a frontload ....I called Fullerton and they said that is normal with front loads - energy efficient etc etc- OK - a few months later I called cause it really seemed weird that there was still a leak and it sounded a little louder which fullerton didn't seem to think was an issue either - said to check front door - things get caught in front door and can be leak etc etc

I called or stopped down beginning of June last year - said same thing - something probably in door - check door - OK - nothing there - still a leak - I said it just doesn't seem right - said well front loads are a little different

I went back last week of June last year and said it just really isn't right - they said we will send someone out but you aren't in warranty - I said I talked to you before the warranty expired and they said well - that's natural for it to be a little louder and take a longer wash cycle -its a front loader but now you aren't in warranty

so just lived with it cause they kept saying it was 'normal' and it did wash clothes but sounded louder and louder and everyone that heard it said it sounded like a jet plane

I had workers over a couple weeks ago while I happened to be doing laundry - they said they used to work Best Buy and it sounded like bearing - don't know what bearing is but he said that people that installed it should have caught that and it had to be a bad machine - I said I have ALWAYS had Whirlpool appliances and was loyal to them - they said its a lemon and should have seen this when they installed it and it had to be a bad machine to begin with

OK - called fullerton Tuesday and they said out of warranty - won't do anything but they did come and checked it this morning and drums are bad bearing and 2 other things! I said how can that b when it is 2 years old??? I called Whirlpool yesterday and they basically said they don't stand by their product and couldn't care less that I've been a loyal customer for 20 years and I'm out of warranty and that was that - I said you won't stand by your product when it is a damaged unit to begin with and it is only 2 years old??

fullerton called Whirlpool this morning and Whirlpool said they would replace parts of 815.00 but it would cost me 320.00 to fix and take 2 weeks?????? Um - I paid 700.00 for the washer - why don't they just replace it?? Why are they paying 815.00 for parts and making me wait 2 weeks to get this bad unit repaired and making me pay half of the cost of a new washer to do so???????

So now I have to either pay 320.00 to get a washer repaired that may not work again?????? and wait 2 weeks to do laundry when I bought a brand new washer 2 years ago expecting it to last more than 2 years! Shame on you Whirlpool!!! I used to talk and talk about how wonderful your appliances were and was loyal for 20 years as was my mother - your products used to last and you used to care about your customer service

It would make more sense to replace the washer with another one and also save yourselves money and me money and aggravation - I stuck with this machine for 2 years out of loyalty and this is your resolution!!!???

I tell you what - you give me the 815.00 parts and I will sell them back to you for 800.00 and go buy a new washer that actually works!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
WP2008 on 06/15/2012:
Hello rszippy. My name is Melanie and I am a representative of Whirlpool. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your washer. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (My3Cents), your user ID name (rszippy), your phone number, your address, the full model and serial number, and email the requested information to Whirlpool.Digital@Whirlpool.com. We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Melanie.

Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Whirlpool Washer Model # WFW9050XWOO
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICAGO, WASHINGTON -- I purchased a Whirlpool front loader the end of Nov 2010 at Lowes. The washer worked great for the first 11 months. In Oct 2011 the washer started making a loud and grinding noise. It took 2 weeks for the service technician to come out to diagnose the problem. I was told all the bearings and the washer drum went bad. Then I had to wait another 2 weeks for the parts to come in. It didn't even last 3 months it just broke again. I had to call for service 2/3/1012. This time they came out on 2/6/1012 and told me the back bearings, washer drum and boot underneath broke and they would get back to me to fix it. When they called I was informed it was not cost efficient to fix it. It would cost more than I paid for the washer.

They gave me 2 options they could replace it with a compatible washer and to go online at Buyers Edge.com and let them know. So I called them back and was told they discontinued the washer and couldn't get it. I had one more option they would give me a cash settlement for the washer. Being the washer is is a little over a year old the settlement would be 75% of what I paid for it and it would take about 2 weeks to receive it. They didn't want to hear I was out a washer and had to go to the laundry mat. They said that is all they can do.

My husband @ I are very unhappy customers right now. It didn't even pay to purchase a extended warranty on the washer. I feel they back their words by the warranty. I want everyone to know stay away from Whirlpool Washers and their extended warranty. I heard of several other people having trouble with their Whirlpool Washers. They lost my husband and I as customers for good. I feel they could have replaced with another one and just have replacement to cover it.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Venice09 on 02/10/2012:
You should read the warranty to see what it says about replacement. There may be other options. Don't just believe what they tell you. Read the warranty.

You may also be entitled to a full or partial refund of the extended warranty. You should check on that, too.
Skye on 02/10/2012:
Great advice Venice!
Venice09 on 02/10/2012:
Thanks, Skye!.. Good to see ya!
WP2008 on 02/16/2012:
Hi, I am a representative of Whirlpool. I am sorry to learn of the issue you are having with your product. If there is anything that I can do please reach out to me via e-mail at Whirlpool.digital@Whirlpool.com please include your user name, the site we contacted you on and your complete contact information.



2cent-er on 02/17/2012:
Hope the OP posts back with results from what if anything Whirl' does for them. assuming complete basket/bearing job was done while under warranty, the reason it failed again-took that long to wipe replacement bearings out.[complicated repair]everything has to be done 'exacto-mondo'. if it's not repaired properly while under warranty and then same failure shortly after-Whirl' should make you whole as if it was still under the year..
2cent-er on 02/17/2012:
Just re-read your post OP. looks like you were dealing with two different entities; Whirl'while under warranty [authorized service]and now sleazy TPA [contract co]. lots of luck! If Whirl' won't make good and obviously the TPA won't-I'd go in person to Lowe's [people who touted this extended contract]and make a fuss. they hate that when other people are shopping while you're complaining.
Venice09 on 02/17/2012:
Best advice, 2cent-er. Making a fuss in a crowded store might do the trick, especially while the salespeople are trying to sell extended warranties.
disgruntal user on 07/04/2012:
I wish I would have read this complaint earlier. I purchased my washer in Sept 2010 and have had to have it fixed 4 times and just today it broke again and need a repairman to fix it. Unfortunately due to the holiday I have to wait until Friday leaving a bunch of water in the machine
Close commentsAdd reply
What it is like to own a Whirlpool Cabrio Washing Machine
Posted by on
BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I have owned a Cabrio washing machine for years. At first I thought it was great, because I didn't have to worry about an agitator getting in the way, so I would have more room for my whatever I was washing. Also, I liked the fact that I could wash large comforters. What a bonus.

About 2 1/2 years after I bought it, my washing machine began to have the same problems that other Cabrio owners have experienced. The electronic board went out and then the bearings went. You can't miss when the bearings go out, because it sounds as if you have a train running through your home.

Thank goodness I had the extended warranty, or I would have had to just get rid of this machine. It just wouldn't have been worth putting that kind of money into it.

It hasn't been that long since the tub and bearings were replaced. I don't know if the bearings are going out again or what, but it's making noise again. The service people are trying to find out what's causing it.

I've talked to people at Whirlpool and when I've mentioned the complaints I've read about the Cabrio online and my experience with it, they don't say a word.

When you open the lid of a Cabrio, the first thing that you notice is the enormous capacitiy of the tub. What I wasn't told when I bought it, but learned afterwards, is that you can only fill it to the top of the stainless steel tub. I can't wash my big comforters in it, because they well exceed that.

My biggest complaint about the Cabrio is how it washes. Sometimes I stand over the loads being washed and look in through the see through top and I don't feel as if my clothing is getting cleaned properly. You can see the clothing on top is not being agitated in the water. The clothing under it is, but not the clothing on top.

How does the Cabrio clean? Just imagine if you didn't wash dishes for two days and then stacked all of them at once in one large kitchen sink, filling it 1/4 of the way up with water, and used just a drop of liquid dishwashing soap. Instead of washing each item in the sink separately, you just swish the water around with your hands, so that the whatever was at the bottom of the sink had the slightly soapy water moved against it. After doing this for a while, you take the sprayer on your faucet and spray cold water from the top of the sink over the dishes. After repeating this a couple of times, you then take everything out of the sink and put them back in your kitchen cupboards and drawers. Would you want to eat off of them? I wouldn't want to. I also don't want to wear clothing that isn't completely cleaned either.

I have actually done loads of laundry, where the clothes are actually dry in spots when they come out of the washer. I wash them again only to have the same thing happen again.

When you buy a Cabrio, you have to forget everything you've ever learned about using detergent. I was told that you use very little detergent, because it cleans with just a few gallon of water per load.

There are things about the Cabrio that I love. The fact that it spins the clothes so fast that they come out much dryer than the typical washing machine.

I also love the fact that it has that larger capacity tub and it doesn't have that large, center agitator that takes up precious laundry space.

I also love the fact of how gentle it is on your clothing. It's wonderful, because it doesn't cause any wear and tear on your clothing.

I live in California, where it's very important that we save water. The fact that this washer saves so much water is also a real plus, as so many of us are on metered water, so we have to pay for every drop of water we use.

What I want is a washing machine that I can depend on. Also, a washer that will clean my clothes to my satisfaction. I'm tired of washing white clothes for almost 90 minutes and the socks still come out almost as dirty as when they went in.

I want to go back to the old style of washing machine where you have the agitator and it fills up with water, and uses a normal amount of detergent, and all of my clothing gets agitated in the soapy water.

I would love for someone here to tell me which make and model I should look for in an old fashoiined style washing machine that is both dependable and does a wonderful job at washing clothes and yet is gentle on them.

I wish I still had my old Maytag washer. They just don't make them like that anymore.
     
Read 17 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Venice09 on 01/17/2012:
Best review ever! The idea that a front loader can be turned upright and work properly is absurd. When I first saw the inside of a Cabrio, I instinctively knew it wouldn't clean clothes to my satisfaction. It would just be impossible. I'm so glad I wasn't tempted to try it and went with a standard top loader instead.

My next washing machine will be a basic top loader from Speed Queen. If you take a few minutes to read the information on their website, I think you will be as impressed as I was. Also, I've seen very few complaints, if any, about the company and its products. That's a good sign!

http://www.speedqueen.com/
trmn8r on 01/17/2012:
I don't know if you will find the best of both worlds. You say saving water is important, which the new machines do, but you want an old machine that uses a lot of water that covers the clothing.

You want a machine that is gentle on your clothing, which the new ones are, but you want an old style machine.

You want to use a "normal amount" of detergent, but a machine that uses very little water would be good where you live.

You find that clothing is coming out with dry areas, which seems to be a negative, but you also like the fact that the clothes come out as dry as they do. I guess you need to decide what is most important.
Venice09 on 01/17/2012:
There is a best of both worlds. And you will find it in a top loader.

I use only the water I need by adjusting the water level with each load.

The 'gentle' and 'hand wash' settings do exactly that. Delicates come out clean and unscathed.

Water and detergent can be adjusted as needed, using the least amount of both.

I believe the OP is saying that when the clothes come out dry, they never got wet in the first place. So how can they possibly be clean? I don't think she is referring to the dry attained by spinning.

Angry and Frustrated, your description of how Cabrio supposedly cleans clothes is so accurate it's scary. Again, this is the best review ever!
At Your Service on 01/17/2012:
I think I would agree with you trmn8r. Even though you're going back and forth on you wants and likes A&F, you were very wise in paying for additional warranty coverage. There are products which now come with little or even no warranty coverage. There are actually people willing to accept this. CBS News did a great story of this actual subject. The story can be found here: http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/08/10/earlyshow/contributors/raymartin/main3156565.shtml

I really like the way your review was written. It was very detailed. That is where my major concern comes in. It seems the issue you're having is with the bearings in your Cabrio. You've actually outlined that you only need to use a small amount of detergent, but never suggest you're using H.E. labeled soap. This is extremely important!!! This detergent is specifically low sudsing and protects the seal to the bearings. If you're using standard detergent, the seal can easily be compromised and the bearings become damaged.

Overall, I really like the Whirlpool line of products, including their Cabrio. There are people throughout this site and the internet that are considered more of the vocal minority. Do appliances break? Sure they do. Are some of them Cabrios? Undoubtedly. There are many more than I've found, however, that absolutely love their Cabrios. For example, Jerry Arlen of BestCovery gave the Cabrio the Best Pick and ranked it, "Best High-Efficiency Top-Load Washer!" Pretty impressive. In his review he states, "With 14 cycles and multi sensors, the Cabrio HE washer has lots to offer when it comes to washing and convenience features, but its claim to fame is the enhanced energy-saving technology which makes it a better saver than most other top-load HE washers. It also has a direct inject type of washing system that acts much like a pre-treater to render a cleaner wash load.It has been selected as a top energy efficiency top loader in the past, and customer reviews are great for this affordable top loader. Look to the Cabrio line to serve excellence, and the addition of these energy saving features just make it better."

Jax4313 said, "Our family has gone through 2 LG front loading washers and 1 front loading Frigidaire washer in the last 6 years. We go through a lot of laundry (6-8 loads per day). This is by far THE BEST washer we have ever owned. I initially purchased one because it looked large and was on clearance. After using it for about a month I went back and bought another one for a second home we have. I love this washer!!! I was sure to buy the extended warranty so I won't have to replace either of them anytime soon. 5 stars A+++++. Oh and it has never torn up any of our clothing or towels."

Sounds pretty smart to me Jax.

Shyann then proclaimed, "I have nothing bad to say about this washer. The only time it didn't clean my clothes was when I over filled it trying to see how much it could handle. It is huge. Truly a life saver with a full house. So far most bad reviews I have seen are for the older models. I also own the matching dryer. LOVE THE PAIR!!! Our clothes are clean and nothing has ever ripped."

Then Timothy at ApplianceToday gave a stellar review. Among other things he states, "This washer is perfectly put together. It could last for many years that would make you save money. If you would see the price, you would definitely be shocked but when you really know about washing machine, you would realize that it isn’t that expensive considering its sheer size and features. ... But if you compare Whirlpool Cabrio with other high quality types of front loading machine, it is cheaper. It is a very great investment, and if you are planning to buy a new washer, you’d better buy Whirlpool Carbio!"

Then Cabrio owners Carmen, Jennifer, Rick and Lisa all gave the Whirlpool Cabrio five of five possible stars. One of them actually stated, "This is the best washer I have ever had." If you want to view their multiple independent videos, they can be found over at ExpoTV.com.

This is not even touching the surface. It is important to know that there are many, many happy Cabrio owners out there and with everything you've said you like about the unit, I'd consider continuing to work with it. Changing the kind of detergent you're using, alone, may solve a great deal of your issues.
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
Again, this sounds like one big advertisement. Why push Cabrio, or any appliance, on people who are complaining about it?

"There are people throughout this site and the internet that are considered more of the vocal minority."

Considered by whom? You have no real way of knowing if those people are the minority, so you shouldn't make such a subjective statement.

Aside from the unusually high rate of breakdowns, the common complaint about this washer is that the clothes do not come out clean. All one has to do is look inside the tub of a Cabrio to understand the reason. I'm beginning to think that the people who like this washing machine have a low standard when it comes to clean.
Cabrio owner on 01/18/2012:
I'm the person who wrote this complaint about the Cabrio washing machine.

Thank you Venice09 and you were right about my complaint about the clothes coming out dry. It was because they were still dry in spots after they have been washed.

I have always used HE detergent in my Cabrio washing machine. I will say that it's a bit intimidating to go from what the washing machine HE detergent manufacturers suggest we use per load for HE machines, and what we actually are supposed to use for the Cabrio. That's because of the small amount of water that Cabrio usees per load.

Last night I decided to wash five of my turtleneck shirts on the casual setting. I watched them for quite a while and they were not being aggitated, but just spinning, plastered on the sides of the tub. Once in a while the machine would spray them, but they just spinned, not being agitated and they were not sitting in any water.

Maybe by spinning the clothes like this, they're extracting the dirty water from the tub before they spray on the clean water combined with the detergent. I don't know.

I just don't understand how spinning something when it isn't sitting in water, is going to do a deep cleaning. How does spinning clean clothes anyway?

Of course, it does use the agitator on clothes as well Maybe it depends on how heavy the load is, as to whether the agitator is used or not. Then again, when the agitator is used, the bottom clothes are being cleaned while the clothes on top aren't.

I'm so very happy that I kept the warranty going or my Cabrio washing machine. If you own a Cabrio and you don't have the manufacturer's extended warranty, you should look into getting one.

I don't know if you remember the person who used to post comments awhile back on this site, saying how much they loved their Cabrio and how they never had any problems with it. I don't remember what name I posted under, but I'm that person. I defended the Cabrio so many times when there was a complaint and then the same thing began happening to me 2 1/2 years about I bought it. It started to have one thing after the other going wrong with it.

The Cabrio has its pros and cons. My biggest con about it is that I really don't know if my laundry is getting as clean as it should be. I always have to use the "deep clean" cycle or my clothes don't come out clean.

If you have children, then you remember the body odor stage they all go through. Sometimes to get rid of that odor, I had to wash the clothes more than once.

I never wash my clothing without using the "deep clean" cycle or I'll end up washing them again.

Whirlpool needs to include a DVD to show new Cabrio owners how to actually use their machines properly and just how much HE detergent, and fabric softener they're actually supposed to use.

At Your Service on 01/18/2012:
Thanks for your response Cabrio owner. Is there a reason you didn't post under the name "Angry and Frustrated".

We've had a lot of people post positive comments about their Whirlpool products, Cabrio included. You're additional information is great too. One of the best features of many new machines is using a steam cleaning cycle. This can definitely handle any body odor problem.

It's always wise to consider the warranty coverage being offered when making a somewhat large purchase, especially if it's an appliance you readily depend on. As we see in just about ever aspect of manufactured merchandise here, there is always a percentage that can break.

Your idea for a DVD is a good one. You should send the recommendation directly to Whirlpool.
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
A warranty is not going to get clothes clean. All it will do is inconvenience and aggravate the owner even further. Not to mention the additional cost. I would never recommend anything that needed a mandatory extended warranty. That doesn't make any sense.

Angry and Frustrated, all the things you've said about Cabrio not cleaning clothes are the reasons I didn't buy one. I just don't see how clothes could come out clean in a washer of that design. And now that I know how frequently they break and how expensive they are to fix, I would never buy one.

This is the most helpful review I've seen here about Cabrio. I sincerely hope that anyone who is considering purchasing one reads this first. Anyone who reads this and goes ahead with the purchase is a glutton for punishment.
At Your Service on 01/18/2012:
Good point. I'd be surprised to find such a problematic product with all the wonderful comments and reviews listed above. It's why they are rated so well.
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
You may be able to twist the words of OPs because most of them don't see it, but you're not going to twist mine.

Rave reviews can be found about anything if you look hard enough. That doesn't mean I would buy something that is a flop.
At Your Service on 01/18/2012:
The same might be said for complaints.
Venice09 on 01/18/2012:
I take complaints more seriously than compliments. People don't come here and write complaints about appliances for no reason. However, some people have incentive to write positive reviews.
2cent-er on 02/03/2012:
A&F, you should see a lot of swishing back and forth in agt'cycle. how that washer works is; after fill, basket floats up and then goes-back/forth. if it's stuck in the up position it'll;not clean clothes and will spin around. there's no fault code for this. if stuck in down position it'll code out=F-51. either there's clothes under wash basket or something mechanical is wrong..call for service.
2cent-er on 02/03/2012:
OPPS! sorry, meant to say;sounds like it's not reversing.-call for service.
Venice09 on 02/03/2012:
2cent-er, that's the first thing I've heard about Cabrio that makes sense. It's so refreshing to have someone actually offer practical advice instead of pushing the product that is the subject of the complaint, along with an extended warranty.

I still would never buy this washer, but at least now I have a better understanding of how it works.
2cent-er on 02/04/2012:
Thank You Ms V/09, sometimes posters don't realize that other posters are being paid by some agency of the industry they're complaining about. so makes them feel stupid and marginalized. nice that you take the time to validate their feelings..keep up the 'good fight'
Venice09 on 02/04/2012:
Thanks for noticing and for getting it, 2cent-er.
Close commentsAdd reply
Horrible Washing Machine
Posted by on
A little over 2 1/2 years ago, I purchased a brand new front loading Whirlpool washing machine (Whirlpool LHW0050PQ) with stacking dryer. About a month ago, it stopped working (the warranty for the machine was 1 year, so it is no longer covered). The power would come on - but the machine would no longer begin wash cycles (the Start button did nothing). I had a repair person in who took several visits to diagnose the problem.

In the end, it was determined that the machine required a new control panel. The control panel cost over $500. With labor, I have spent approximately $800 now. When the part was replaced, as soon as the repair person left, I did a load of laundry, only to discover that the problem still existed *exactly* as it had before. I called the repair company - who wanted to take the machine to their shop to diagnose it. What they found was that the new part had almost instantly shorted out as soon as the machine was used for the first time after replacing it. They contacted Whirlpool technical support who told them that something in the machine must be causing the short.

According to the person at the repair shop that I spoke to, Whirlpool offered to give them a door latching mechanism for free for the washing machine so that they could perhaps see if it was causing the short (my repair people did install this part). In addition, Whirlpool gave me a new control panel (a new $500 part to replace the one that I bought that had burnt out - because it was still under warranty as a new part purchase). I now have the washing machine back and it seems to be working, but I have no faith whatsoever that it will continue to work for any length of time.

Here are my concerns:
- obviously, it positively sickens me that I would have to spend $800 to repair a washing machine that is only 2 1/2 years old. The washing machine was not cheap. I thought I was buying quality. This obviously wasn't the case.
- upon learning that the replacement part would cost so much, I would have just bought a new washing machine (not from Whirlpool!). However, the repair shop explained to me that my stackable Whirlpool dryer was only going to fit on top of a Whirlpool washing machine. So, to replace the washing machine would mean that I would also have to sell my dryer. Weighing the pros and cons of the situation, I decided to fix the washing machine even though it positively sickened me to give Whirlpool another cent. I find it equally repulsive that, when one buys a stackable unit, they're basically stuck if one part of it fails (this would be more acceptable, of course, if the machines lasted considerably longer than 2 1/2 years).
- when the repair person first brought the replacement part to my house, he mentioned that the replacement part was now being sold as part of a kit (control board with motor board - that's how they had purchased it from Whirlpool). He mentioned that, when parts come in a kit, it usually means the company has had problems with the part (so they sell the parts in a way that makes the many repair jobs easier). If Whirlpool has been having problems with this part, I have to wonder why they wouldn't instead compensate customers who'd bought the part in the first place. The fact that the replacement part had *exactly* the same problems as the original part makes me wonder the exact same thing.
- I have to wonder how much Whirlpool is making off of these replacement parts. It is absurd to me that any washing machine part should cost $500 - unless, of course, the company selling the part is marking up its value considerably. I really have to wonder if this isn't part of the company's business model: selling units that fail shortly after the warranty expires and then selling the parts required to fix the units at a jacked up price.
- related to the above point, the $500 replacement part has a guarantee of 3 months. Three months for something that cost over $500! In other words, if the part goes again in 4 months (and the machine's history tells me that this is a great possibility), I am completely out of luck again. I have never - ever - spent $500 on something that didn't come with a guarantee that wasn't at least a year long. You can buy a $30 toaster anywhere and it comes with at least a 1 year warranty! But I guess, considering what I believe to be their business model (see above), I'm not really that surprised by this.
- I am extremely confused by Whirlpool technical support's involvement in this. You would think that the nature of their involvement was an admission that something in the machine had caused the $500 part to go in the first place. This is especially suspect since they offered another part for free to try to make that determination. I just have to wonder why I should have had to pay $800 to replace a part that was caused by a fault with the machine in the first place.
- I have spent $800 and been without a working washing machine for over a month now. That alone is ridiculous. But, to add potential injury to insult, I now have a washing machine with parts that have proven to short out because of a deficiency with the machine. In other words, I now have to wonder if my washing machine is going to catch fire every time I use it!

I have written to Whirlpool 3 times now about this situation. All they really told me in return was that they appreciate my business and that they have added my concerns to their database. I don't think I need to explain to anyone what little consolation that has given me...
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 11/21/2008:
that is a little too high for that job.I don't know about a $500.00 control panel,Id say more like $300.00 or close to it....Three hundred dollars in labor charges ?

I'm sorry,but you got taken...I wouldn't use these people in the future...
Davenport on 11/22/2008:
You definitely got taken on the cost of repairs. 300 for labor on a 500 dollar part is ridiculous.

Your issue should be with the repair company, who didn't do the job right in the first place, not necessarily with Whirlpool.
qualityappliance on 11/22/2008:
The part is expensive, $381.73 wholesale $553.51 list, but $300. labor is way out of line even considering that it is a stack unit and the dryer has to be removed to service the washer. It is a sub compact Italian made machine that is so light a child could lift it.
Mario The Great on 11/22/2008:
So, you turned down the warranty and simply expect the machine to last you 100 years. I'm not into the warranty thing by any means, BUT on a washer (the workhorse of my life), why wouldn't you get one? I just looked to see what the cost was from 5 different retailers and they averaged $79.00 for 3 years. Seriously, why wouldn't you do it? I can see NOT doing it with a top loader - I have a $350 cheapie, but with a Front Loading machine, I don't get it. I don't buy them for anything BUT on things that I use on a day to day basis, I have them. (Washer, Computer and even my lovely cell phone) Other than that, I skip it as apparently you did to. No sympathy here, just my 3 cents worth.
L Lake on 11/22/2008:
I hate to say it, but I think your repair service people saw you coming. I think knowing that you didn't have a warranty, they were in charge and took you for all that they could.

Reading your complaint about what had happened to your washing machine, I'm not a repair person who daily works on washers, and I knew the problem was the control panel, so why did it take your repair people so many visits to make that determination? Anytime you own a washer with a control panel, you will be replacing them and maybe numerous times. Sometimes one right after the other.

I was told a long time ago that control panels with labor can cost between $700 and $800. I now have another washing machine that also works on a control panel and I've had it for over two years and know it's just a matter of time. Some washers I'd previously owned their control panel went out in a matter of months.

I hate to say it, but I think your repair people saw you coming and took you for everything that they could. If Whirlpool is sending out that other part as well with the control panel on your particular model, that this is a well known problem, so why didn't your repair people know about that as well? Why did they have to take your washer in? IMO was to make more money.

Anytime you buy an appliance, you have to get the extended warranty from the manufacturer before the initial warranty ends. Especially anything with a control panel, because they can go out and do go out at anytime. My advice for you is to get in contact with Whirlpool and have them connect you to their warranty department. You may have to wait three months before its activated, because your washer is out of warranty now, but it's what I would do if I were you.

Learn from this experience and next time there won't be a next time.

Anonymous on 11/22/2008:
gee qualityappliance that is an expensive console...Are these anything like the 2400 Maytag compacts?
qualityappliance on 11/23/2008:
Somewhat similar, I don't know who makes it but it is imported from Italy. Isn't the Maytag 2400 made by LG?
dugg on 09/24/2009:
I have recently experienced an event where My washer was in the middle of spinning when I turned it off. I started a new load and it was still stuck on spin so I turned the dial to "no spin" and now the power button won't work unless I hold it in. I unplugged and left it over night and still the same thing. I have been told that there is a way to reset the control circuit with a combination buttons to press on the front panel. I'm not having much luck locating information regarding that. I have however located a parts company at www.appliancepartspros.com The prices seem to be far cheaper than I I ever imagined. I hope this helps for any future service on the LHW0050PQ FRONT LOADER
DigitalCommando on 09/25/2009:
Turn your dial one full revolution to the off position, then start over at your normal wash setting.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Whirlpool Wfw70he Washing Machine Broke Within 2 Months
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NY, NEW YORK -- We bought this washer and dryer set this past summer (2013) as a way to prepare for our expectant child. About 2 months after we bought it, the door locked shut with wet clothing inside. We followed the troubleshooting guide and instructions that the Whirlpool representative gave us on the phone. Nothing worked.

8 days later a tech came to break the lock off the door to get our clothes out. He said he will be back in the next week or so to replace the lock but until then, our washer would be unusable. He also said that when he come back, he will show us how to get the lock off the door should this ever happen again, so our wet clothes would not be trapped. I asked "so this will probably happen again?", He said "yes".

Meanwhile, our clothes were 8 days wet, our brand new washer (which I had been taking care to leave the door open in between loads as per instructed), smelled moldy and stunk up our whole house. it is now the middle of the third week without our washing machine working. We haven't heard back from Whirlpool, and we have a huge pile of musty, dirty clothes waiting to be cleaned. We feel incredibly ripped off as a young couple who has saved for a long time to buy a washer and dryer set.

Do not buy this washer! The reviews look good but this machine had not been on the market long enough to prove that it stands the test of time (Tech's words)...If you must buy it, get the warranty like we did. At least that way, every time it breaks down, you can have someone come and break the lock off for you and replace it several weeks later.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Buy A Whirlpool Cabrio Washing Machine Wtw5500xw1
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Wish I had seen the reviews for this machine before I bought it. Apparently, I am not the only one who am having problems with the performance of this machine. I bought it 1 1/2 years ago, and this month it started to make a horrible grinding and sometime banging noise for about a minute straight during the washing cycle, and again during the rinse cycle (think airplane landing in your house, that's what it sounds like). I paid a good amount for this unit which is now 6 months out of warranty. It washes, but the noise is unbearable and I don't know if something is about to break.

Sears wants me to pay $229 for a repair call and fix for one year, but only up to $500 repair. And from the sounds of all of these hundreds of negative reviews on the web, it sounds like the best thing is to just junk it. I don't want to have to keep on buying one-year warranties. BUYER BEWARE!!!!! First and last Whirlpool purchase for me.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
WP2008 on 03/21/2013:
Hello theing. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Whirlpool. We truly apologize for the frustrating experience you have endured regarding your washer. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email us at Whirlpool.Digital@Whirlpool.com and provide us with your complete contact information as well as the model and serial number of your appliance. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (My3Cents) along with your user name (theing), and your ticket number (38131). We would be happy to review your concerns further. Best regards, Amber.
colleen on 07/15/2013:
I to purchased a Whirlpool junk washer paid over $800.00 dollars for it. Have had it only 15 months and the drum has dropped. I purchased an extended warranty through Lowes and now have to wait until Thursday for someone to come look at it. Pure junk.
Jenni on 07/18/2013:
We too have had nothing but trouble with this machine. I hated it from day one. It was purchased about 18 months ago, It DOES NOT wash the clothes properly, leaving lint marks, especially worse on black clothing which have to be re-washed....where is the eco friendly saving there????? We also had an issue with the terrible grinding noise and had to have a repair man come, the drum had shifted through breakage of frame which is plastic. I am truly over it!!!! Come on Whirlpool - do something about it - your website is also so user unfriendly. So unfair to the consumer. I want a replacement washing machine!!!!!
Susan on 08/02/2013:
I too have this Cabrio and less than two years after purchasing this expensive model, the machine no longer drains and spins. The authorized Whirlpool technician was unable to get a diagnostic reading and said the board was bad. The owner of the repair company said this model has had many problems and he would not spend any money to fix. A call to Whirlpool to discuss resulted in their giving advice on purchasing extended warranties. I didn't buy a Whirlpool with expectation of it lasting less than two years. I miss the GE washer I had for 14 years.

In case Whirlpool is reading, the CSR supervisor is unaware of these issues. Maybe he is new because I have to believe calls are made regularly based on the internet postings.
Phillipa on 09/25/2013:
I have to rewash the black clothes too due to lint being left on them. I want to add more water to this machine as feel it would do a better job. I use the extra rinse with each cycle so am not saving water at all. I would like to dump it but it cost me a lot of money and is less than 12 months old. Makes a lot of noise too. I wish Whirlpool would do a recall and replace it with something that works.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Two bad Whirlpool washers in a week!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AKRON, OHIO -- On August 28th Best Buy delivered our new Whirlpool HE washer. It made it through 1/2 of the cycle and died. I called Best Buy and they sent out a repairman 2 days later. He said all the electronics were bad. I could have them all replaced. I opted for another machine. On Sept. 8th my second machine arrived. It made it to the wash cycle and the locking device went bad! They are picking it up on Monday. My hubby and I went to Sear and picked out a regular old Kenmore washer. Yes I know it is a Whirlpool but hopefully it can make it through more than 1/2 a wash cycle before crapping out.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
ok4now on 09/09/2012:
This is a common problem in many of today's appliances. The electronic circuit / idiot boards go bad. Actually you were lucky that it failed so soon. Had it worked then failed out of warranty the cost for a new board plus labor is around $500. Better luck with the Kenmore.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >