Whirlpool Washing Machines

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 35 ratings and
102 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
Compare Appliance Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Whirlpool washer wfw9150ww00
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought Whirlpool washer wfw9150ww00 2 years ago in June. It is a front load washer which I never had before. I bought HE detergent because that is what I was told to buy. The first month or two were OK but it took a long long time to wash - 2 1/2 hours to be exact and just didn't seem right, but I never had a frontload. I called Fullerton and they said that is normal with front loads - energy efficient etc etc. OK. A few months later I called cause it really seemed weird that there was still a leak and it sounded a little louder which fullerton didn't seem to think was an issue either. Said to check front door, things get caught in front door and can be leak etc etc

I called or stopped down beginning of June last year. Said same thing, something probably in door, check door - OK. Nothing there, still a leak. I said it "just doesn't seem right". Said "well front loads are a little different". I went back last week of June last year and said it just really isn't right. They "said we will send someone out but you aren't in warranty". I said "I talked to you before the warranty expired" and they said "well, that's natural for it to be a little louder and take a longer wash cycle. Its a front loader but now you aren't in warranty".

So just lived with it cause they kept saying it was 'normal' and it did wash clothes but sounded louder and louder and everyone that heard it said it sounded like a jet plane. I had workers over a couple weeks ago while I happened to be doing laundry. They said they used to work Best Buy and it sounded like bearing - don't know what bearing is but he said that people that installed it should have caught that and it had to be a bad machine. I said "I have ALWAYS had Whirlpool appliances and was loyal to them." They said its a lemon and should have seen this when they installed it and it had to be a bad machine to begin with.

OK, called fullerton Tuesday and they said out of warranty - won't do anything but they did come and checked it this morning and drums are bad bearing and 2 other things! I said how can that be when it is 2 years old??? I called Whirlpool yesterday and they basically said they don't stand by their product and couldn't care less that I've been a loyal customer for 20 years and I'm out of warranty and that was that. I said "you won't stand by your product when it is a damaged unit to begin with and it is only 2 years old??".

Fullerton called Whirlpool this morning and Whirlpool said they would replace parts of 815.00 but it would cost me 320.00 to fix and take 2 weeks??? Um - I paid 700.00 for the washer, why don't they just replace it?? Why are they paying 815.00 for parts and making me wait 2 weeks to get this bad unit repaired and making me pay half of the cost of a new washer to do so???

So now I have to either pay 320.00 to get a washer repaired that may not work again??? and wait 2 weeks to do laundry when I bought a brand new washer 2 years ago expecting it to last more than 2 years! Shame on you Whirlpool!!! I used to talk and talk about how wonderful your appliances were and was loyal for 20 years as was my mother - your products used to last and you used to care about your customer service.

It would make more sense to replace the washer with another one and also save yourselves money and me money and aggravation - I stuck with this machine for 2 years out of loyalty and this is your resolution!!!??? I tell you what - you give me the 815.00 parts and I will sell them back to you for 800.00 and go buy a new washer that actually works!

Adventures with Washers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have been reading some of the sad commentary from people who recently purchased front loading washers. I have to admit that I now have a crying towel hanging from my doorknob as well. My machine is about 3 years old, is now nearly ready for its third door boot, has a second set of shocks, tub and stainless drum. I am presently working on the rear counterweight which fell from the tub and severed the pressure sensing tube in the process. We have water dribbling from the door, and also had to replace the black drain hose from the drum to the pump. This sprung a leak and caused flooding in the laundry area.

Like many others, this washer-dryer combination was purchased due to our being retirees, and wanting to have a robust product that would hopefully outlive us and be passed on to appreciative family members. This, like many of the best laid plans of mice and men have us presently going to the laundromat with our clothes. Pushing 70, we did not foresee this predicament. However, we are not alone. While at the laundromat, my wife met a woman who was 75 with the exact same problem.

There are many experiences cited about the money spent for what was imagined to be good quality laundry products. The average unnecessary expenditures on these washers seem to be in the under $1000.00 range. Enough to sting, but not quite enough to cripple. Most of the folks here will probably do their share of grumbling, put their washers out at the curb and then stomp off to buy some other product. However, adding up the combined losses to all these customers may amount to a very substantial piece of change!

Putting this into another perspective can be very illuminating. Imagine if these were cars instead of washers. A short time after purchasing a car, say the window and door gasket failed, letting weather enter the passenger compartment. In another year the crankshaft bearings seize. The year after, the transmission fails and needs to be completely replaced. Then the car computer, etc. On top of this, the car would sound like a foundry when it went down the street. Then the mechanics would have no idea what was wrong. The manufacturers would all blame the drivers for the condition of the cars.

This would be not only a disaster, but could push the public to the point of bankruptcy. No one would permit a situation like this to happen with their automobiles. True, the car is priced out at several thousands of dollars and the washer at under a thousand. But the parallel comparisons are equally valid. There is a saying in industry that goes: "The Quality Control Department is not located on the customer's premises."

Remember the head of a well known Asian car company was summoned from his country to testify before Congress? He had to explain why the cars he produced were showing serious faults. After that, real progress was made in his manufacturing. In other words, accountability was responsible for the product improvement, not simply complaints.

PS. It appears to me, as I read it; that these door boots have become a class action suit in Ohio. It seems the manufacturer appealed legal issues eventually to the Supreme Court level and had their arguments rejected. I read this in a class action blog. You may want to check into this yourself and see if my information is accurate.

Worst Product and Customer Service EVER!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATION, MICHIGAN -- Please read if you a™re thinking about buying from Whirpool. The Whirpool front loading washing machine, hmmm where do I start? €Oh, yeah, it€™s a colossal piece of garbage. Four years ago my wife and I went shopping for a washer and dryer. We looked at quite a few, and then we came across the Whirlpool front loading washer€. Ahhh, the wave of the future. The end all solution to your washing needs. The best the market has to offer, and at over $1100, they should be.

The salesman completely sold us on why we should spend a little extra for such a superior product. I thought, €œI work hard,€ I don€™t make a ton of money, but this sounds like a long term, worthwhile investment. Wrap it up, the Washer and dryer combo. Fast forward€ 4 years later. €€What€™s that awful clunking sound the washer is making. Oh, it€™s the drum. Maybe it€™s off center. I open it up to find that the spider arm is broken. €€Isn€™t it only 4 years old?€ Surely the Whirpool will fix this at no charge to the consumer, because as I was told 4 years ago, €œThis is the best technology.€

Now mind you, it€™s just my wife and me. She doesn€™t have to do laundry for 50 people, or even 4 for that matter.
Calling Whirlpool€. Ring, ring, ring. €€"Hello, this is Whirlpool€". I explain to them what the problem is, and that we have only had this magnificent piece of gold for 4 years, what can you do for me€. "Sorry sir, the machine is only warranted for a year, you€™ll have to buy the $350 part to fix it" (reading between the lines €œYou're screwed sucker, thanks for the cash).

"€Really, you€™re telling me that I spent almost $2000 of my very hard earned money for a washer and dryer set, and after only 4 years of use, you will not fix it". Allow me to paraphrase the reply in laymen€™s terms€. "Nope, your SOL, and thanks for the green".

Here is my thoughts on Whirpool. €They are one of the worst companies out there for customer service. The front loading washing machine is a horrible product that should be pulled off the market and never sold again. My experience with this company will never happen again, because I will NEVER EVER buy another one of their products. So please, before you think about giving them your business by buying a front loading washing machine, think again€ and remember this. €I now have an $1100 paper weight.

Whirlpool Washer Model # WFW9050XWOO
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, WASHINGTON -- I purchased a Whirlpool front loader the end of Nov 2010 at Lowes. The washer worked great for the first 11 months. In Oct 2011 the washer started making a loud and grinding noise. It took 2 weeks for the service technician to come out to diagnose the problem. I was told all the bearings and the washer drum went bad. Then I had to wait another 2 weeks for the parts to come in. It didn't even last 3 months it just broke again. I had to call for service 2/3/1012.

This time they came out on 2/6/1012 and told me the back bearings, washer drum and boot underneath broke and they would get back to me to fix it. When they called I was informed it was not cost efficient to fix it. It would cost more than I paid for the washer.

They gave me 2 options, they could replace it with a compatible washer and to go online at Buyers Edge.com and let them know. So I called them back and was told they discontinued the washer and couldn't get it. I had one more option, they would give me a cash settlement for the washer. Being the washer is is a little over a year old the settlement would be 75% of what I paid for it and it would take about 2 weeks to receive it. They didn't want to hear I was out a washer and had to go to the laundry mat. They said that is all they can do.

My husband @ I are very unhappy customers right now. It didn't even pay to purchase a extended warranty on the washer. I feel they back their words by the warranty. I want everyone to know stay away from Whirlpool Washers and their extended warranty. I heard of several other people having trouble with their Whirlpool Washers. They lost my husband and I as customers for good. I feel they could have replaced with another one and just have replacement to cover it.

What it is like to own a Whirlpool Cabrio Washing Machine
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I have owned a Cabrio washing machine for years. At first I thought it was great, because I didn't have to worry about an agitator getting in the way, so I would have more room for my whatever I was washing. Also, I liked the fact that I could wash large comforters. What a bonus. About 2 1/2 years after I bought it, my washing machine began to have the same problems that other Cabrio owners have experienced. The electronic board went out and then the bearings went. You can't miss when the bearings go out, because it sounds as if you have a train running through your home.

Thank goodness I had the extended warranty, or I would have had to just get rid of this machine. It just wouldn't have been worth putting that kind of money into it. It hasn't been that long since the tub and bearings were replaced. I don't know if the bearings are going out again or what, but it's making noise again. The service people are trying to find out what's causing it. I've talked to people at Whirlpool and when I've mentioned the complaints I've read about the Cabrio online and my experience with it, they don't say a word.

When you open the lid of a Cabrio, the first thing that you notice is the enormous capacity of the tub. What I wasn't told when I bought it, but learned afterwards, is that you can only fill it to the top of the stainless steel tub. I can't wash my big comforters in it, because they well exceed that. My biggest complaint about the Cabrio is how it washes. Sometimes I stand over the loads being washed and look in through the see through top and I don't feel as if my clothing is getting cleaned properly. You can see the clothing on top is not being agitated in the water. The clothing under it is, but not the clothing on top.

How does the Cabrio clean? Just imagine if you didn't wash dishes for two days and then stacked all of them at once in one large kitchen sink, filling it 1/4 of the way up with water, and used just a drop of liquid dishwashing soap. Instead of washing each item in the sink separately, you just swish the water around with your hands, so that the whatever was at the bottom of the sink had the slightly soapy water moved against it.

After doing this for a while, you take the sprayer on your faucet and spray cold water from the top of the sink over the dishes. After repeating this a couple of times, you then take everything out of the sink and put them back in your kitchen cupboards and drawers. Would you want to eat off of them? I wouldn't want to. I also don't want to wear clothing that isn't completely cleaned either.

I have actually done loads of laundry, where the clothes are actually dry in spots when they come out of the washer. I wash them again only to have the same thing happen again. When you buy a Cabrio, you have to forget everything you've ever learned about using detergent. I was told that you use very little detergent, because it cleans with just a few gallon of water per load. There are things about the Cabrio that I love. The fact that it spins the clothes so fast that they come out much dryer than the typical washing machine.

I also love the fact that it has that larger capacity tub and it doesn't have that large, center agitator that takes up precious laundry space. I also love the fact of how gentle it is on your clothing. It's wonderful, because it doesn't cause any wear and tear on your clothing. I live in California, where it's very important that we save water. The fact that this washer saves so much water is also a real plus, as so many of us are on metered water, so we have to pay for every drop of water we use.

What I want is a washing machine that I can depend on. Also, a washer that will clean my clothes to my satisfaction. I'm tired of washing white clothes for almost 90 minutes and the socks still come out almost as dirty as when they went in. I want to go back to the old style of washing machine where you have the agitator and it fills up with water, and uses a normal amount of detergent, and all of my clothing gets agitated in the soapy water.

I would love for someone here to tell me which make and model I should look for in an old fashioned style washing machine that is both dependable and does a wonderful job at washing clothes and yet is gentle on them.
I wish I still had my old Maytag washer. They just don't make them like that anymore.

Poor communication from Customer Service
By -

My husband and I bought a Whirlpool top loader in June 2006. We paid over $700.00 for the machine. About 2 weeks ago I put in a load of wash and when I later went to put the clothing in the dryer, found that the washer had stopped working and the clothes sitting in water with detergent. According to the timer the washer had only run a few minutes before shutting down. I repeated the cycle and the same thing happened so I used another cycle and the machine functioned without issue.

My husband and I read the manual and performed all the indicated tasks to troubleshoot the problem. We could not find anything so I called the customer service department for further instructions as was stated in the manual. I spoke with a very polite woman after answering questions to a computerized voice and after explaining the problem she stated that an appointment was needed to have a service person come out and determine the problem. On the day of the second appointment date {the first appt. date never reached the service company via computer so no one showed} the technician stated that the entire computer was shot and that I needed a new one.

Since it was costing me $80.00 just to have the guy find the problem and it is very expensive to go to a laundromat I told him to replace the computer {If I told him not to and called the Whirlpool representative and they assisted us with the purchase of the part I would still have to pay another $80.00 to have the guy come back and put it in}. It took 10 minutes for the technician to replace the computer and the total cost was $354.00 which was half the total cost of the washer. I was very upset at the cost of the repair, which was one half the price of the machine. The washer is only three years old and we do not abuse our appliances.

I went back to the place where I bought the machine and the guy said that I probably would not get any assistance from Whirlpool because we did not buy the extended warranty but that he would e-mail the appropriate person and they would get in contact with me. I never received a call after a week and called them myself. I spoke with a man who basically stated that he could not help me because the service man had already replaced the part.

I stated to him that "nowhere did it state and that not one person that I spoke to from Whirlpool tell me that if a part needed to be replaced that the service technician should not perform any work on the appliance until the customer called the company with a request for reimbursement or assistance."

If I refused to let the technician fix the machine and Whirlpool refused any compensation then it would cost me another $80.00 for another service call plus the cost of the part. Let us not mention again that the machine is only three years old and that I was also advised to obtain an extended warranty if available because there was a good chance that the electronics would have to be replaced again. I was very disappointed that Whirlpool would not stand behind their product and provide some sort of compensation-we have always purchased Whirlpool appliances but will probably not purchase another in the future due to this experience.

Whirlpool Wfw70he Washing Machine Broke Within 2 Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NY, NEW YORK -- We bought this washer and dryer set this past summer (2013) as a way to prepare for our expectant child. About 2 months after we bought it, the door locked shut with wet clothing inside. We followed the troubleshooting guide and instructions that the Whirlpool representative gave us on the phone. Nothing worked.

8 days later a tech came to break the lock off the door to get our clothes out. He said he will be back in the next week or so to replace the lock but until then, our washer would be unusable. He also said that when he come back, he will show us how to get the lock off the door should this ever happen again, so our wet clothes would not be trapped. I asked "so this will probably happen again?", He said "yes".

Meanwhile, our clothes were 8 days wet, our brand new washer (which I had been taking care to leave the door open in between loads as per instructed), smelled moldy and stunk up our whole house. It is now the middle of the third week without our washing machine working. We haven't heard back from Whirlpool, and we have a huge pile of musty, dirty clothes waiting to be cleaned. We feel incredibly ripped off as a young couple who has saved for a long time to buy a washer and dryer set.

Do not buy this washer! The reviews look good but this machine had not been on the market long enough to prove that it stands the test of time (Tech's words)... If you must buy it, get the warranty like we did. At least that way, every time it breaks down, you can have someone come and break the lock off for you and replace it several weeks later.

Don't Buy A Whirlpool Cabrio Washing Machine Wtw5500xw1
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Wish I had seen the reviews for this machine before I bought it. Apparently, I am not the only one who am having problems with the performance of this machine. I bought it 1 1/2 years ago, and this month it started to make a horrible grinding and sometime banging noise for about a minute straight during the washing cycle, and again during the rinse cycle (think airplane landing in your house, that's what it sounds like). I paid a good amount for this unit which is now 6 months out of warranty. It washes, but the noise is unbearable and I don't know if something is about to break.

Sears wants me to pay $229 for a repair call and fix for one year, but only up to $500 repair. And from the sounds of all of these hundreds of negative reviews on the web, it sounds like the best thing is to just junk it. I don't want to have to keep on buying one-year warranties. BUYER BEWARE!!!!! First and last Whirlpool purchase for me.

Two bad Whirlpool washers in a week!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AKRON, OHIO -- On August 28th Best Buy delivered our new Whirlpool HE washer. It made it through 1/2 of the cycle and died. I called Best Buy and they sent out a repairman 2 days later. He said all the electronics were bad. I could have them all replaced. I opted for another machine. On Sept. 8th my second machine arrived. It made it to the wash cycle and the locking device went bad! They are picking it up on Monday. My hubby and I went to Sear and picked out a regular old Kenmore washer. Yes I know it is a Whirlpool but hopefully it can make it through more than 1/2 a wash cycle before crapping out.

Front Load Whirlpool Washer model# WFW9050XW00
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARKERSBURG, WEST VIRGINIA -- My husband and I purchased a Front Load Whirlpool washer model#WFW9050ZW00 in September of 2010, it worked great for about 10 months then the grinding noises started and as if that was not enough it started leaking water down the front from the detergent dispenser. We called the repair man to come and he replaced the detergent dispenser and told me to not do large loads, this is a front load, large capacity washer, isn't it??? So it was fixed for about 6 more months, then the seal around the door on the inside, would tear up several pieces of clothing when the spin cycle was on.

I had purchased an extended warranty on a 2-year old Washer!!!! Of course the warranty would not cover the door gasket!!!! Needless to say, I will never buy another Whirlpool washer nor will I recommend it to anyone. Also, whatever you do, don't purchase a warranty, you should not have to if the company stands behind their product.

Top of Page | Next Page >