Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Manufacturer Warranty Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INLAND EMPIRE, CALIFORNIA -- The Whirlpool manufacturer warranty is terrible! We called on 3/22/18, received no callback until we called over a week later. Then it took another week to get referred to "Product Replacement," which won't be shipping our replacement until 4/16. Again - I had to call to find this out. Then another 10-14 days! We just bought the microwave in November. It will be well over a month before we get the replacement under warranty. The people working there seem resigned to providing poor service and having to apologize all the time.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible, Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The worst customer service ever! We purchased a set of wall ovens in October 2014 for our new home. Went to do a self clean cycle for the first time on January 14, 2016 (I keep my ovens very clean, so it wasn't needed until this time). When the self clean cycle was finished the power went dead on the oven unit and the oven door remained locked.

Of course, the breakers were checked, they were not tripped. I call Whirlpool and was told even though they were just 12 weeks out of warranty there was nothing they could do for us. They were able to offer us an extended service warranty for $298! This would extend the warranty for 1 more year and cover repair costs. We purchased this and they scheduled a repairman to come out on Monday, January 18th between 8-12. Waited all morning for him to come, never came.

At 5:30 that afternoon he called and told me he would be there in 1 hour. At 6:30 he shows up, looks at the ovens, says they need a new fuse and he would order the next day. He said it would be a week or so before they would come in. During this week I tried to call him several times to see if the fuse was in but no answer and did not return my calls. Called Whirlpool the following Monday to see what was going on.

They tell me that the guy who they sent to my house does not repair wall ovens and he closed the ticket out. So to Whirlpool that meant the repair was completed. Of course they apologized and scheduled another repair company to come out that Wednesday between 8-12. I wait at home again, all morning. 12:00 comes and goes and no repairman. I called his company and the answering machine stated office was closed. Call Whirlpool, they tell me "oh we are sorry, that company declined the work ticket on Monday and no one called you". WHAT!!! Are you kidding me.

OK now I'm 2 weeks without ovens and I paid $300 to Whirlpool for extended service... what a joke!!! Wednesday afternoon January 27th, they tell me they are contacting dispatch to find another repair company. I call on Thursday to find out what the status is now. They tell me they are working on it and a company will call me within 1 business day to set up an appointment. So by Thursday night I call again for an update and they give me the number of the service company.

I call them Friday morning to set up an appointment. Earliest they can get to me will be Tuesday Feb. 2. So if this appointment goes through, it will be a minimum of 3 weeks without ovens that are only 15 months old. Pitiful, just pitiful. We could not be more disappointed with Whirlpool! Please do yourself a favor and never purchase a Whirlpool product.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service and Very Poor Quality Products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINGTON -- If I could give Whirlpool products and their customer service zero stars, I would! We built our beautiful home that was complete in June 2015. Our builder was installing Whirlpool products in the homes he was building at the time so we decided to accept the microwave, dishwasher and drop-in gas range that he offered. We had never had Whirlpool kitchen appliances and no reason to respectfully decline the brand. We bought a french door Whirlpool refrigerator as well so the handles would match our open concept kitchen.

In addition to the poor quality overall, the microwave makes a terrible buzzing noise that has been "fixed" two times thus far. The refrigerator is so loud at times that it's difficult to hear the television when sitting in the living room. The dishwasher does not dry the dishes on any setting to include "heat dry" hours and hours after the cycle is complete. This forces us to hand dry our dishes prior to putting them in the cupboard. The cast-iron grates on the drop-in range already look terrible because the enamel is coming off after only four months of use. I clean all the appliances as recommended by Whirlpool and like to keep our home beautiful as it is our place of solace and comfort.

As stated prior, our kitchen and living room are open concept so I now have to contend with an eyesore in the middle of our home's hub because Whirlpool considers this manufacturing flaw as "cosmetic" and won't cover it under warranty. To add insult to injury, these poor quality products are the higher end available from Whirlpool. We plan to wait for the year end warranty to expire and replace the four appliances with a brand that has always offered excellent customer service and has been very reliable and trustworthy for us. As a consumer, I will never purchase another Whirlpool appliance again!

Replies
Noisy ovens
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANYWHERE, FLORIDA -- Whirlpool makes Maytag, KitchenAid and many other named appliances. My Maytag NEW oven whistles when operating and for 30-45 minutes after turned off. I object to the whistle as it is very annoying. I don't mind if the cooling fan make air noise, like a normal fan, but the whistle drives us nut.

3 service appointments, including a new fan did NOTHING to fix the whistle. The "Factory Certified Repairmen", all 4 of them, said the whistle is NORMAL for my oven and is due to the manufacturer, (Whirlpool) putting in a 2 strong fans to fix the design problem of overheating the electronics! Whirlpool/Maytag effectively says "tough luck" if I do not like the noise. They refuse to eliminate it or to refund my purchase, as they say the oven is working as it should!!! BUYER BEWARE, WHIRLPOOL/MAYTAG AND ALL THE OTHERS THEY MAKE, care not at all about customer satisfaction!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool branded hot water tank issues
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- In August 2008 we purchased a gas, a 40 gal. hot water heater from Lowes that was branded as "Whirpool". We have had great success with Whirlpool appliances in the past, so we thought this was a no brainer. This past week, the tank started to fail. Each morning we woke up to no hot water and found the tank not functioning. Each day we called Whirlpool and had them walk us through relighting the pilot light. The tank would heat up normally. When we got home from work, the tank would still be functioning. Then, the next morning we were back in the basement, on the phone with Whirlpool trying to get the tank relit.

Why did we call Whirlpool instead of just relighting it ourselves? We called and had them walk us through it so there would be a record of the problem, the frequency, etc. Yesterday, the operator had me light the tank then shut it off and so we could pull wires and test the firing. With the phone to my ear, she had me pull the white and black wires to the thermocoupler, hold the wires together, then with the other hand expected me to push the RED button down, hold it and then concurrently click the spark switch rapidly.

After a minute, the tank failed to relight relight. She then had me plug everything back together, and try the relight process again. Nothing. And again we tried, and nothing. I just got fed up, and said to the operator on the phone - who, I have to say was super nice as are all the people at Whirlpool who we've spoken to - and said that this wasn't acceptable, and that this was apparently a larger problem than just a pilot light going out. She said that the tank was covered for parts, but not service. I said that when you buy a Whirlpool, you expect something better than that solution considering the unit was not even two years old.

The operator immediately said that Whirlpool would cover the repair - meaning parts and service costs. They gave me the name of a local heating contractor and I scheduled the replacement for the defective part which happened today. The repair man said that they could NOT guarantee the part, and that there were problems with the replacement parts as well.

I looked up "Whirlpool gas hot water tanks" sold through Lowe's and I discovered that not only were tanks NOT made by Whirlpool, but were "branded as Whirlpool". I also found that many, many people have ongoing issues with parts failing. Most of the complaints have stated that the parts failed shortly after installation - our failed after approximately 20 months. But in all fairness, when the unit operates properly, it performs in a flawless manner.

So we are going to watch this appliance very, very carefully. If it fails again in an unreasonable amount of time, we will replace the tank with high efficient on demand system from a reputable plumber, and we won't be quite so certain of future appliance purchases from Whirlpool.

I am really disappointed in this product. If the product is as problem riddled as I have found, and those complaints are accurate, then Whirlpool needs to make it right to everyone who bought one of these units. As I said, when you buy Whirlpool, you expect peace of mind. I'll no wonder every morning IF we have HOT water, or IF we'll have to go through this again.

Replies
Extended Service Plan Ripoff and the Big Fat Liars Who Work For Them
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- At 1:30, March 11, 2010, I was told by ** (who conveniently no longer works for Federal Warranty Service Corporation, according to his supervisor, "**-I-cannot-reveal-my-last-name-for-security-purposes" when asked for his last name..."**" is probably made up, also) that the KitchenAid Extended Service I was purchasing on my 3rd KitchenAid in the last 5 years was for 10 years if I purchased that day. I was to receive an email verifying the length of time within 24 hours. "**" even put me on hold to verify it with his supervisor... came back on and said, "yes" it would be for 10 years, expiring 12/08/2020.

March 15, 10:30 A.M. spoke to "**", CSR, looks on computer and says, "Yes, it is for 10 years"... puts me back over to Sales to see why my confirmation has not been emailed. "**" in Sales @ 10:32 A.M. tells me that as of March 15, I have a 10 year extended total replacement plan. Still nothing received by 11:40 on 3/16/10 and "**" reconfirms in the CSR Dept. that the computer shows that a contract for 10 years was sent to me.

"**" on 3/26/10 @ 10:00 A.M. said the actual contract was sent to the "wrong place" by the CSR Department and that a new contract would be sent and take 7 to 10 days... and yes, confirms again my contract expires in 2020. "**", on March 29, 2010, is from the same town where I live (40 + miles from the Indiana office on the Kentucky side of the Ohio River) and works in CSR office, I believe. He also confirms that the computer screen shows that my contract is for the 10 years.

I know his family, so he will tell me the truth... he went to the same school as my children and we know the same people... he will not tell me something that was a lie. He told me that I should get a cover letter for the contract that states that my Total Replacement Plan is for 10 years.

May 14, 2010, receive another contract with a THREE YEAR TOTAL REPLACEMENT PLAN... NOT THE 10 YEAR I WAS SOLD!!! Call @ 11:45 A.M. and speak with "**" who says it is for 10 years and puts me in touch with the Sales Dept. and tells "**" the situation and she says that it shows that it is for 3 years and cannot be changed, but she will ask her supervisor,"**", and explain the situation. "**" tells me it is for 3 years and it cannot be changed. I ask to speak to the supervisor's supervisor (this is now going on for 45 minutes).

NOW, get this...I have had 7 (seven) plus the original approval from a supervisor who say my contract is for TEN (10) years...the "I-cannot-give-you-my-last-name" supervisor today tells me that the company NEVER had a ten year contract...PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE...WOULD SOMEONE TELL ME HOW I KNEW ABOUT THE 10 YEAR CONTRACT AND 7 PEOPLE EMPLOYED AT THIS OFFICE SAID I HAD IT...BUT TODAY, I AM TOLD THERE WAS NO SUCH THING??? When pushed, the latest "final" supervisor told me they had had a 10 year contract in January, but I could not get that one...

Now, get this... when I told him the number and names of the employees who had verified that I had a 10 year contract with them, he told me they were all lying to me... why would 7 different people lie to the same caller on different days, months, etc.? He told me he was going to go back to all of them and tell them they should not lie to me.

I was not born yesterday, but this little weasel said he would not change it even though that is what I was sold... he then tried to explain that verbal agreements were not contracts... I asked if he happened to have a law degree, as he was making incorrect law determinations... the monies were sent from Kentucky and sold over the state line as a 10 year contract from Indiana... they have not only broken a moral code (this young generation generally has no idea what that is) BUT they lied and cheated a customer to get my funds.

I am going to Shout the following: DO NOT BUY ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH WHIRLPOOL, FEDERAL WARRANTY SERVICE CORPORATION, KITCHENAID EXTENDED SERVICE PLANS LOCATED IN INDIANA AND LOUISVILLE, KY. The supervisor is now telling customers they do not get what they were sold... it is their "code" of conduct.

I am contacting the state attorneys general in Kentucky, Indiana, and their location is also, according to their contract, in Atlanta, Georgia. What I thought was funny was the Complaint Dept. for this Indiana branch is not in Indiana, but across the bridge in Louisville, KY. They refuse to give you a street address, but the supervisor gave me a post office box and incorrect zip code... when I questioned him on the zip code, he then gave me a correct one... I guess he was trying to pull a fast one again. When asked for the President's name, he fumbled and gave me J. F.'s name, the President of Whirlpool... but he did not have an address or a phone number...

Replies
Quality and Customer Service Nightmare
By -

In April of 2009 we purchased several Architect Series stainless steel KitchenAid appliances from a local authorized dealer including a diswasher, microwave, stove, warming drawer and a 36" cooktop and downdraft unit (~$10,000 of product). When the cooktop unit arrived, it was installed by the local dealer's service technicians. During the installation we discovered that a number of pieces were missing from the cooktop including burner tops that prevented us from using the cooktop.

After 3 to 4 phone calls to Whirlpool and about 2 weeks later, we finally received the parts and discovered that Whirlpool (owner of KitchenAid brand) had sent the wrong parts. After several more phone calls, we were finally sent what we thought were the remaining correct parts. After the technician arrived to install them, he found that we were missing more burner parts from the high capacity burner and that using the burner without these parts had scorched the cooktop slightly.

At the same time we discovered that the downdraft system activation button was not working correctly and more new parts for both items were ordered by the technician. A new cooktop was ordered and then installed about 3-4 weeks later by the local dealer. After the cooktop was installed, we discovered that it was scratched badly and ordered another. About 2 weeks later the parts for the downdraft arrived and were installed by the local dealer technicians. The next day the downdraft system got stuck in the up and on position and could not be turned off. Another cooktop arrived several weeks later and was installed.

I called the local dealer frustrated at having paid for a new cooktop in April and still not able to use it fully in late July and was told by the owner that we had to wait to have a Whirlpool authorized 3rd party technician come to our house to evaluate the unit before Whirlpool would do anything to replace or repair the downdraft unit. Meanwhile, after 4-5 phone calls and being transferred around in Whirlpool's "customer service" bureacracy of divisions, we tried to get a replacement unit and were told by Whirlpool that they would send us one, but that they were on backorder and it would be mid-August before one could be delivered to our home.

We asked them if they could find one at a distributor or retailer and have that unit sent to us and were told by the "customer service" person that they don't do that. They furthermore said that we could try to do that on our own but that they would only refund exactly the discounted price that we paid from the local retailer and not what we would have to pay to get one delivered from somewhere else in the country to our home.

I run a manufacturing business that sells products in the same price range as these appliances through distribution to retail stores. We occasionally make mistakes as do all companies. When a customer has a problem, our customer service ensures that the customer is taken care of immediately either through a local retailer or directly from us. We see a problem as an opportunity to have customers rave about our service levels to other potential customers and realize that service attitude and responsiveness pays for itself several times over in the positive word of mouth versus the negative that would occur if we didn't do this.

Whirlpool had a huge opportunity to have my wife and I telling a wonderful customer service story that would have positively influenced other potential customers in an affluent community where many of our friends and neighbors are upgrading kitchens. Instead, I will be telling as many people as I can both verbally and online about my experience and the impact to their sales will be 10-100 times what it would have cost them to be nice to us and try to solve our problem.

I hope that someone in the management of Whirlpool someday gets this message and uses it to change the company for the positive. Meanwhile, I suggest that if you can, you should avoid buying any of the brands that are made and serviced by Whirlpool.

Replies
Rebate Rejected - Sorry There Is Nothing We Can Do
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I submitted a $400 rebate for the Whirlpool Ice Collection. This rebate was rejected because the postmarked date was 5 days past due. The rebate was postmarked 6/4, but should have been postmarked 5/30. I explained my situation to the rebate team, but they said that no exceptions can be made. I explained that I was told by HHGregg to wait to submit my rebate until the appliances were delivered on 5/25 and they said, "HHGregg told you wrong and you should have submitted the rebate before you received the shipment." So this left me only 5 days to submit my rebate as well as remembering that my rebate should be sent in the next few days.

To make matters worse after I moved into my new house, my basement was flooded within a week of moving in. The rebate team did not sympathize with me and told me that no exceptions can be made. I talked with a manager and found out that the rebate team isn't even Whirlpool employees. Now things are starting to make more sense, no wonder the rebate team didn't care that I said I would take my business elsewhere in the future, because they don't even work for Whirlpool.

I asked them how I could get in touch with someone from Whirlpool because I would assume Whirlpool would want to keep a customer for the long-term. They said, "you can submit a fax to the Exceptions Department." Later, I found out from another manager at the rebate team that the Exceptions Department is really just a Complaint Department that doesn't make exceptions on rejected rebates. I need to get in touch with a Whirlpool employee. I tried calling Whirlpool's Customer Service Department, but they refused to work with me because this is dealing with a rebate rejection and they said that I need to work with the Rebate Department.

So here I am posting a complaint with a sole purpose of trying to get in touch with a Whirlpool employee to get my rebate. I spent over $4,600 for my Whirlpool appliances and all I want is the promised $400 rebate. I have purchased 8 Whirlpool appliances in my life and I'm only 30 years old. Imagine how many more Whirlpool appliances I will purchase if Whirlpool keeps me happy. I'm having a very difficult time understanding why Whirlpool won't just fork over the $400 to keep a customer. Whirlpool's customer service department needs to think long-term not short-term.

I was curious how other appliance companies handled this situation, so I called GE's Online Rebate Center (1-800-871-8893) and mentioned that my GE rebate was rejected because it was 5 days past the postmarked date. **, the GE customer service agent that I spoke with, mentioned that he would be able to make an exception for me.

He specifically mentioned that he could make an exception as long as the postmarked date isn't 20 days past the final due date. I didn't have to ask to speak to his manager or send a fax in requesting for an exception. GE made this process simple and I think their customer service department does a good job at making their customers happy.

When Whirlpool responds to this message, I would ask that a ticket number is provided as well as a phone number. I would love to get this simple complaint resolved and continue being a happy Whirlpool customer that speaks highly about Whirlpool appliances.

Replies
Advertisement
The WORST Customer/Repair Service
By -

I purchased a new Whirlpool Side-by-Side Refrigerator from HH Gregg in May of 2010 when we bought our new house. In January of 2011, my husband opens the freezer and notices that everything had defrosted. After further investigation, we discovered that neither the freezer or refrigerator were cooling. What a mess! I called HH Gregg and they connected me with the Whirlpool warranty repair department to schedule for a contracted repair person to come repair the problem. The earliest I was told a repair man could come was a few days out and they gave me an estimated arrival time of 1:00-5:00 pm.

In order to ensure that someone would be home, I had to take a day off from work to sit at home and wait. 5:00 came and went with no sign or word from the repair company. We/I called to see when they were coming, all I was told was that they needed to reschedule. This was on a Tuesday and the next earliest available day for service was going to be on Saturday! I called Whirlpool back and told them that Saturday was NOT acceptable because that would be 2 weeks without a working refrigerator.

They gave me the name and number of another repair company that could process warranty repairs but the only problem with this company is that they only come to the city I live in 2 days a week! I went ahead and set up an appointment with them for Thursday (after all that is 2 days earlier than Saturday). When the repair man came, he said that the compressor had gone out and that he would have to order the part. Great! Now the earliest we can get this fixed will be on Tuesday. Another 5 days without a refrigerator. Tuesday came and went... nothing! Thursday came and went... nothing! We are now at 3 weeks without the refrigerator.

I called Whirlpool back demanding that they get this problem solved. They looked into the situation and said that the product was on back order, but that they had one they could ship to the repair company. I'm not really sure how something can be on back order yet they have one they can ship, but that is what I was told. They were so polite as to offer to ship the compressor overnight to the repair company, so they would have it on Friday. That really doesn't do me any good since the company still won't come to my house until Tuesday!

Whirlpool has not and will not make any extra effort to help me out. They won't give me a credit toward the appliance that isn't even paid for. They won't do anything to compensate for the food that was lost or especially the inconvenience of being without a working refrigerator for nearly a month! I have never been more surprised and disappointed in such a HUGE lack of customer service in my life. Needless to say that I will NEVER buy from Whirlpool again!

Replies
Circuit panel replacement for double wall oven by Whirlpool
By -

I cannot believe the runaround we have been getting from Whirlpool regarding getting a replacement part for our double wall oven. We bought it in 2003, have already replaced the circuit control panel once before (ORIGINAL PART #83001917 IS NOW PART #10244191) and now again the top oven controls went out first, then two weeks later the bottom oven has done the same thing. We had a hard time locating the part the first time, and now we can't find it anywhere in the USA. (Exact words from the Whirlpool phone Rep.) who I must say had attitude. I said I will look into having the part repaired if that was the case, he said they cannot be repaired.

Told me that they have stopped using certain vendors, when I asked what country these vendors were in that they were dealing, when he said he was not at liberty to tell me. I still have the original part that we replaced before, and the sticker on that one said it was manufactured in Mexico. I have been trying to locate the part since August, with the same results as one of the other people who posted a message on this website. Each time you call, you are told another month out. We are now being told end of January. Which we don't believe will happen. What a sorry tale this is, I have a wonderful looking wall oven that is a piece of crap and not worth a dime.

There must be something that the government consumer protection agency can do about a company as large as Whirlpool, not having the parts available to repair appliances that are less than 10 yrs old. I said this to the last girl I talked to from corporate office and she told me they are obligated to have the parts available for the term of the warranty on the appliance. I don't believe that. So after the warranty, you are on your own. I am ready to call to see what can be done by the government regarding these issues. Like the others have already said, to have to go out and spend another $2000 on an appliance that is only seven yrs old is absurd.

The ovens I replaced with this piece of crap were over 25 years old, working fine, and the only reason I changed them was color. Boy did I make a terrible mistake. Holidays were no fun in our house. We are a large Italian family. No cookies this year. I already sent a registered letter to corporate office regarding this issue, and when I heard from them two weeks later, was a call from some secretary telling me what I already knew. That the part was not available. I asked to talk to a higher company representative and she said she was told to call me and tell me there was nothing they could do. The part was on back order.

I know that already, it has been on back order for over five months. I am a real estate agent and I deal with people all the time looking to makeover their kitchens. The first thing out of my mouth is stay away from Whirlpool appliances. I told the phone representative to tell the corporate heads to go on the computer and read all the negative reviews from unhappy consumers like me. I TRULY FEEL THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
118 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies