Home Depot

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 106 ratings and
485 reviews & complaints.

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worse Than Any Small Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKE FOREST, ILLINOIS -- My Letter to the CEO
Mr Blake,

Based on my experience with your HVAC installations escalation team, I'm certain that your inbox must be flooded with issues, so I will attempt to keep this short.

The statement "CUSTOMERS FIRST!" in the signature line for the team should be removed. Under the lead of Brandi Hyde, I'm ready to cut up my Home Depot card and post on every BLOG and anywhere anyone will listen a very strong warning about doing business with Home Depot. Ms Hyde claims to work directly with you, so I figure you are my last line of escalation.

On July 7, 2013 I went to Home Depot to get a 75 gallon hot water heater replaced. I was up-sold tankless and told that 3K vs 2K expense would provide, energy savings, consistent water temperature and better warranty/reliability. When the sales person (Sal) got to my home, he warned about a 3K tankless providing less pressure and again up-sold me to a 7K solution with "better pressure", "better temperature control" and incredible warranty and reliability. I agreed to his solution and he committed to have the dual tankless system installed in 24 hours and provide me with 24 mos interest free financing on my Home Depot Card. The following timeline (approximate from memory) took place.

1.) 7-8-2013 asked me for a $500 deposit on another card, so he could get the job done "today" as promised and the rest $6600 would be charged to my Home Depot card interest free for 24 mos.
2.) 7-9-2013 Sal called back said they couldn't install today and would install a temporary 50 gal for approx 1 week.
3.) 7-10-2013 Sal called back saying they couldn't install the $7100 units per my city requirements, but, could install a $9600 system, I declined. He called back about an hour later and said he could put the even better units in for $7600 which would give me everything promised and re-circulation. Once again I was uphold and agreed to the new number.
4.) approx 7-14 they removed the 50 gal temp unit and installed new Navien 210a units starting at about 8am. When I got home at 7pm, they plumbers were still there on a smoke break reading the manual. The plumber Tom admitted he had NEVER installed a dual tankless and had no idea how to start of connect the units. (I own a 200 person IT firm and work with technology all day) I offered to help, and Tom thanked me for being patient. I was able to find the grommets and cross connect the two units and start them. They provided sporadic hot water temperature control and my water pressure was 50% of even what the 50 gallon unit produced. Tom assured me that they would send an expert to my home to complete the install in addition to finishing the electrical work and begged me to sign the install form on the fear of him getting fired. I noted the deficiency of the electrical work and signed the form.
5.) approx 7-19 after 5 or more calls, I got confirmation that the "busy" electrician would be to the house and the low water pressure and temperature fluctuations were due to my old water heater. The company sent their "master plumber" Mike out, who pretty much told me they did everything right even though the building inspector disagreed. Upon refusal of the building inspector to sign the installation Mike and his team worked for a full day to comply with the building inspectors request. I still had the same pressure and temperature fluctuations. Mike said they were done and the temperature and pressure fluctuations we my problem, even after I explained I didn't have these issues with my 75 gal or their temporary 50 gal water heaters. I opened a case with Jasmine Tally who offered no support just kept calling they company who screwed up the job and claimed it was good.
6.) Home depot charged my Chase card without authorization for the balance of $7100 – I will skip the 3 pages of writing to get to the end – James of DRF, who agreed to refund the un-authorized Chase charge and only charge my Home Depot card when the install was completed per the manufacturers specs. I can forward that email upon your request.
7.) More than 10 calls with Jasmine took place asking for repair, with no results. I corrected 80% of the issues at my own expense.
8.) DRF/Jasmie/Brandi have all given excuses, the electrician is on vacation, etc but, keep promising to correct the electrical work – It's 8-28-2013 and still not finished current promise is 9-3-2013 at 8am.
9.) 8-20-2013 The manufacturer asked me for photos of the install, I sent them to Navien and they replied next day telling all concerned that the install is NOT correct and does not qualify for warranty coverage. I emailed their written opinion to Jasmine on 8-21-2013.
10.) 8-22-2013 I contacted Jasmine when I got my HD charge bill. Once again the company charged my card without completing the job and no longer here-say it was against the WRITING in both DRF and Home Depot possession.
11.) 8-23-2013 I asked for escalation from Jasmine – After calling back at least 5 times zero out, etc I was assured a supervisor would call me within 24 hours.I did not hear from the supervisor Brandi until 8-26 after 6pm. We exchanged emails and Brandi committed to call me 1st thing in the morning 8-27 to address the issues I emailed her the night prior. No response or call from Brandi, I waited until 1pm (her time) and emailed her. She replied that she would call by 3:30pm, not bad, but, once again late 3:35pm.
12.) 8-27-2013 – Brandi asked till no later than 12pm today and called at 12:14 today – She basically said they don't need to comply with the manufactures installation procedure and they were justified in charging my HD card against the agreed upon writing and she works directly for the CEO and I have NO escalation.

Based on the above, my instinct is to reach out to the attorney general and see if criminal charges are an option for fraudulent use of my credit card, in addition to a civil attorney for damages done to my home, loss of use, etc.

I hope that Home Depot CEO level will not let this happen, as I'm really tired of dealing with this issue and don't want it on my mind for the next 6 to 12 mos during a legal ordeal. I will give you or your team until 9-3-2013 to create an acceptable plan before I take my documentation for legal disposition.

     
Replies
Subpar Kitchen Cupboards and customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SARNIA, ON --
A letter written to Home Depot with no response as yet other than to tell me the very poor options still stand. Certainly anyone that wants a kitchen renovation will benefit from not falling their promises of commitment to great customer service and product quality.

June 12, 2012

xxxx xxxxx, President
Home Depot of Canada Inc.
900 - 1 Concorde Gate,
Toronto, On, M3C 4H9

RE: Concern about Lack of Follow-up into Kitchen Installation Problems

Dear Mr. xxxxx,

The purpose of this letter is to bring to your attention the many unresolved issues I have experienced with Home Depot Sarnia since installing a new kitchen in my residence - August 2010.

I will give you a concise timeline overview first and then the detail:

August 2010 - Installation of new kitchen cabinets by Home Depot.

September 2010 - Installation complete - but:

  1. I cannot use all the burners on my stoves because the side cabinets overhang the stove. Initially, I was not aware this was a design flaw.

  2. I cannot open a corner door by the stove all the way because the door hits the control knobs on the front of the stove and could inadvertently turn on the gas burner.

  3. I cannot open the corner cabinet by my sink all the way as it strikes the front of my expensive porcelain farmhouse sink.

I learn that this was the Kitchen Design experts first design job. All of the appliances were new and the specifications were made available to the Home Depot designer.

February 2011 - The chocolate brown stain on the cabinets begins to visibly fade in unusual patterns on all cabinets in large random areas. I call Home Depot and they agree there is a problem with the stain as well as the poor cabinet design placement which they promise they will rectify.

February 2011 to June 2012 has been one frustrating process after another resulting in a final and insulting letter from your resolution specialist asking me to choose one of two very poor options and to sign off on the issue.

Home Depot - Sarnia, initially fully agreed with me that there were major problems and health and safety design flaws that needed to be addressed but now your head office has decided not to follow through.

As a customer I am extremely frustrated with your company's lack of communication and engagement in resolving the issues. To be clear, throughout this process I have experienced poor customer service and misleading commitments by senior agents and/or affiliates of Home Depot stating they would correct the defects and issues and then a complete turnaround with no explanation other than they cannot fix the problem because the original cabinets chosen will not hold the colour they offer them in. I have made a very large financial investment into this project, I have chosen complimentary tile and backsplash based upon my initial choice. I cannot use my stove safely. I have further agreed to compromise by altering my cabinet colour choice. In the end I have been left with a very minor offer of help.

The more in-depth background of my Home Depot kitchen experience follows:

Leading up to August 2010, I devoted a great deal of time and effort into budgeting and planning for a large scale new kitchen design and renovation. My dream kitchen installation began in mid August and was substantially completed near the end of September, 2010. There were some issues experienced with the design and the way the kitchen "worked" and the stove cabinets were not to code.

In early February 2011, I notice unusual patterns of fading on the kitchen cabinetry facings. The flaws were clearly noticeable and these observations were not disputed by Home Depot sales and design staff, who visited to review my concerns. Mainly, the issues cited were in relation to numerous cabinet facings 'fading out' and displaying signs of defect in workmanship. The unsafe cabinet placements were also discussed.

During the next few months I received numerous visits to my home from staff of Home Depot and/or affiliate agent(s) namely, MasterBrand Cabinets Inc., and National Installations Ltd. They sent managers, Regional representatives, design staff, and installers to make assessments and review. Each time I was told not to worry as the issue would be resolved to my satisfaction. During this period all the door and drawer facings were replaced to address the fading that had exposed the raw maple cabinetry.

Within the next six months (near August, 2011) the facings of the cabinets and drawers were observed to again fade and Home Depot - Sarnia was again immediately contacted. This time, I did not receive a response from the store. I then placed a call to your customer service center and Home Depot -Sarnia returned my call the same day.

Since involving Home Depot customer service, a Home Depot, Kitchen Manager, and Store Manager visited my home. Both stating and acknowledging the fade-out in the cabinetry and the design issues. Again, I was assured the errors would be taken care of and I was advised not to worry. This began a process of many representatives again entering my home for various reasons. More frustrating was reviewing over-and-over the product defect issue with each representative who was making enquiry. Many of these visits and/or phone calls were lengthy in duration and exhausting. Each time I was promised that Home Depot and their affiliate companies would stand behind and resolve the issue. I have never before experienced such a horrible and unpleasant situation.

In March, 2012 after speaking with a Regional Manager from MasterBrand a shipment of many boxes arrived at my front door. This was totally unexpected because it was discussed and agreed that - I was to be given the opportunity for input as to a resolution. Clearly this did not occur. I called, xxx xxx, Regional Manager of MasterBrand asking what these boxes were as I did not want the same facings again. I believe I had given MasterBrand ample opportunity for resolution with replacement facings. With this new delivery it would be the third replacement. To satisfy my concern, I was provided a copy of the attached letter. In brief, MasterBrand's Director of Sales and Marketing for Canada, xxx xxx assured me in writing that the newly arrived facings had gone through additional 'quality measures' to safeguard the integrity of the product. Additionally, the Regional Manager for the same - visited my home and acknowledged the issue with the assurance that it would be addressed to my satisfaction and all necessary work would be completed as required.

When the installer unpacked the delivery, numerous facings had arrived damaged and there were already visible signs of fading. He replaced some door/drawer facings and returned those to the supplier that were defective.

At this point the whole process was getting ridiculous.

I again called the Kitchen Manager at Home Depot, and the Regional Manager of MasterBrand. Both apologized and assured me they would get back to me with options.
Their initial offer and plan was to reface the cabinetry, but later stated this could not be done as doing so would compromise the integrity of the cabinet boxes. At this point I was offered new kitchen cabinetry.

The process for planning and choosing new cabinetry began again. To be honest, I was initially encouraged at this point by your affiliate company's commitment to stand behind their product. Both parties agreed and stated that this was also an opportunity to correct Home Depot's significant design flaws which were overlooked during the initial design. Specifically, the cabinets over the gas stove appliance which were not to code. As stated earlier they were installed too low and not at the correct clearance height and they infringe width wise. As a result I am only able to use certain interior burners and due to safety concerns I have asked my teenage children not to use the stove at all. Not good!

Also as stated above the adjoining lower corner cabinet opens and hits the gas control knobs. Further, the position of the lower corner storage cabinets near the sink is also a major design flaw. The doors do not extend freely without the knob handle striking the center of the very expensive porcelain farm sink basin. I have to hang a towel over my sink as a buffer. Again - unacceptable.

In April 2012, I was requested by the Kitchen Manager, xxx xxxx to visit the Sarnia Home Depot outlet to conduct a design consultation to plan for the new kitchen cabinetry installation. Along with Home Depot's design staff assistance we began to put the process in motion again. I met with design staff and picked out new cupboards. We discussed the original design flaws and how to rectify them. I let the Regional Manager know that the new cupboards I had chosen were a completely different finish that was much lighter in colour and not prone to fading and he assured me they were willing to waive the up charge because they were unable to resolve my initial kitchen issues. He stated, "this direction comes from the top." Again, many hours were dedicated to the process. A representative from National Installations, Mr. xxxx xxxx - Kitchen Install Co-ordinator, came to my

home and spent time taking pictures and measurements. All parties were satisfied we were moving forward including the Kitchen Manager of Home Depot.

I had an appointment to meet with the kitchen designer to review the design on the computer. When I arrived, she did not have this work done and instead advised me to speak with the Kitchen Manager, xxxx xxxx. xxxx advised me the Store Manager, xxxx xxxx and herself were waiting to receive something in writing. They had not received anything from the agents at MasterBrand. Specifically, I was told that they were awaiting a response from the Director of Sales & Marketing Canada, xxxx xxxx and she had not been responding to their many emails.

The process then came to a complete halt and the company has apparently changed their mind about fixing the problem. The local Home Depot has said they can no longer "talk to me".

I have since received a couple of letters offering me a minimal fix. They will now not replace the cabinets with new ones in a safe design and in a colour which will not fade. Instead the new offer is to take down the two cabinets by my stove and replace a few others. I am appalled at this turn in events. I have been very patient and I am now faced with this extremely insulting scenario - where I am now treated like a problem that needs to go away.

I have attached copies of the correspondence that ensued throughout this process that proves that I have an initially agreed upon legitimate complaint. Upon reading the correspondence I trust you will see that it is very evident that Home Depot admitted that:

  1. The cabinets were defective, and;
  2. The kitchen installation contained design errors that are not to code.

Both of these represent extremely serious issues that I expect Home Depot to resolve to my satisfaction. I do not accept the offers that have recently been given to me. In addition I find the tone of them very insulting.

At this point, I will only settle for either:

  1. A complete kitchen replacement or;
  2. A complete un-install and a full refund with compensation for the wall tiles that no longer match and will now need replacing.

Lastly, I would like to add that originally I was interested in purchasing the Kraftmaid product line of cabinetry and was led to the Thomasville line by the Kitchen Designer as this product was new to Home Depot. I later learned that it is your house brand. I am sure that you do not want such poor product quality, or this type of customer service representing the Home Depot.

Mr. xxxx, I am asking for your help in resolving this matter. This kitchen is the center of our very busy home and we were looking forward to enjoying our dream kitchen for many years to follow. I feel that I have legitimate problems that need to be addressed.
I thank you for any help you can give me and I look forward to hearing back from you soon.
If you have any questions, I can be reached at home at xxx xxx xxxx, or on my cell phone at xxx xxx xxxx.

Respectfully submitted,

xxxx xxxxxx

CC: Home Depot Resolution Specialist
CC: MasterBrand, Director Sales & Marketing Canada

Attachments:

Copy of letter dated April 2, 2012- MasterBrand's Apology and Commitment to Quality.
Copy of letter dated May 21, 2012 - MasterBrand's Initial Offer of Settlement
Copy of letter date May 28th, 2012 - Home Depot's Final Resolution Offer
Copies of email correspondence

     
Replies
Damaged Item Never Accepted on Delivery but Charged and Not Refunded
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- On October 7th, 2012 I ordered a bathroom vanity with a mirror for $1,525.45. I was quickly charged and said my order left the manufacturer two days later. The shipper is in Miami and the manufacturer is in California but I was shocked at how quick my item got delivered (within a week) but then I looked at it upon delivery, my 60-inch mirror was in pieces and three sections of the marble top were damaged along with the wood. I refused to accept the delivery. After an hour of speaking to Home Depot I was told the vanity was not on back order till end of October the 28th.

They credited me about $200 back and told me I would get the next one discounted when I placed the order. I then received an email saying expected in stock date was Nov 1. On October 23, 2012 I looked online and my product was available so I ordered it at the discounted price. I had to again speak to someone for an hour to get this placed. It is now November 18, 2012 and after three calls and two billing cycles I still have not been credited for $1,302 and am paying interest on it. I am writing as I sit on hold again. It's been 50:21 sec this time. Any ideas of who I need to talk to to get this resolved? I am going to go to small claims court and request my credit plus my finance charges.

     
Replies
Not a Great Place to Work
By -

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- To anyone who is thinking about joining the Home Depot as an employee, please beware. First of all, I left my last job as an assistant manager to join the Home Depot as a cashier. Why? The pay was better and seemed as if everyone worked together. When I went back to fill out my paperwork I was told that the only position that was available at the time was as a Lot Attendant.
So the Human Resource Manager told me not worry, that he knows I have management skills, and that he would not forget about me and leave me in this position. So I went from being an assistant manager to a lot attendant. No problem I don't mind working my way up.

On my first day I learn from my co-workers that there are no other lot attendants other than myself. If you didn't know a lot attendants duties include loading customers merchandise, returns of carts to their designated positions, and cleaning of the outer area of the store. As the first month pass by I continue to do my job and what every else someone ask of me to do. I'm always being told that I am doing a great job, but management has not hired another lot attendant to provide me with help. Around the beginning of June the garden loader associate quits. Now while most companies would hire more help the position is left opened and I am now being called to also do garden loader work inside and outside. Now keep in mind that the pro-loader only works until 4 p.m., so when he is off, I must also pull that load. Okay now I am starting to get frustrated. I now find myself (a lot attendant) inside of the store pulling and cutting wood because there is no pro loader after four and because customers cannot find any lumber associates. So I continue to do my job without complaining.

In the middle of June Home Depot hires another lot attendant, but get this, he is only part-time. I showed him the ropes and what we would being doing and the first thing that came out of his mouth was why are lot attendants treated like dogs. So now I have another lot attendant here, I would go and talk to the Human Resource Manager and let him know that I would like to come inside to be a cashier now. (And get this when I went to talk to this guy he forgot who I was and all about what he said in the beginning.) I went to not just because I wanted to get off of the lot, but because we have a great need for cashiers. Many are going back to school, moving back home, or just quitting. He told me that he would get the ball rolling for me to get me moved to a cashier position. Like I said before I was an assistant manager, I had done returns and exchanges at my last job and I have over five years of cashier experience. Instead of bringing me inside to be a cashier they started hiring and bringing in outside help before considering the people they already had. After a while I just got fed up with the process and stopped asking about the position.

So it comes around to my review. I am told that I am doing an excellent job and that the company wanted me to start forklift training and cashier training. So I am excited that they want me to be a cashier, but that's not the point. They want to train me as a cashier, leave me as a lot attendant, and only bring me on the inside when they need help. Many of my co-worker told me to quit, but I am a hard worker, so I stayed.

A couple of days later I learned that my other lot attendant would be leaving to go back to school. He left in the beginning of July and had already let the company know that he was leaving. It is now the end of August and I have not had any help in the lot since he has left. When I take my breaks and come back to work, management whines about the lot being full of carts. But what am I supposed to do work on my break and lunch. So now I am pissed. This company care little if anything for your well being and getting some decent help. They knew this guy was leaving beforehand and haven't even tried to get me any help.

So last week I was approached by one the managers who told me he wanted to talk to me about my attendance. I had missed a lot of the days because of being dehydrated from constantly working in the lot by myself. He never even talked to me because he did not want to hear my side of the case.

I am a lot attendant at the Home Depot and yet I work in lumber, plumbing, garden-inside and out, building materials, hardware etc. So be forewarned about working at Home Depot. They do not possess a great deal for employee care.

     
Replies
Tool Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- On October 16th, I rented an orbital floor sander from the Home Depot in Chicago at 6211 N. Lincoln Ave. When I arrived I met with an associate in the tool rental department. I took the unit home and was going to use it the next morning to do the project. Shortly after I started the project, I noticed that it was getting very dusty in the room I was doing and noticed that the collection bag was not inflating or doing anything. I called the store and they said I needed a shop vac to use with this unit and after some discussion, I said this machine will not work and I should have been informed of this when I got the unit. At this point I needed to find where to go rent another unit so I could do this job I have already started. A little bit later that day, I tried the sander again at another part of the room near a window for a few minutes because the other sander wasn't getting the floor sanded in that area. It worked fine and then I proceeded to put the sander back in my car so I could return it later that evening. I tilted the unit back to remove the sanding discs and as I tilted it back the handle snapped off. I then tried calling Home Depot twice to let them know about this and I was on hold each time for over 10 minutes and I didn't have the time to spare at this point, so I would deal with it when I returned it. I brought the unit back, the tool associate saw it on a cart and was just beyond words. I tried to explain what happened but I am not sure he really heard me. In the end I was there for about 45 minutes and they charged me $450 to have the unit fixed. The next day I called and spoke with a store manager there and what they thought was fair was to give me a $200 gift card to compensate me. I have also been in contact with corporate and they are also standing behind the decision the store manager has made. I have detailed this in the letters I am attaching below. I would really like to hear back from you soon regarding this. Also was I was told about after the fact is that Home Depot does have insurance available on rentals which I was never told about and if the tools associate would have told me about this and I would have taken out the insurance, I would not have to be going through this hassle.

I have just recently heard back from corporate for the third time and they are sticking to their guns and not placing blame what so ever on themselves or taking any responsibility. I am still required to pay the $450, which I feel is so wrong. I am encouraging everyone out there to please make other choices when shopping at home improvement stores and to choose other places to do your business with. Nowadays customer service should still be a top priority, but not in Home Depot's case. Why should we shop at places where we are not going to be treated fairly and with respect. Please work with me and choose other stores to go to. I am sure Lowes or Menard would love more business from people like us.

     
Replies
Replace Window
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT COLLINS, COLORADO -- This was THE worst experience I have ever had with a company!

July 2013 I visited my local HD, and ordered a window to replace one in my basement that has rotted from the sprinkler. I tried to do this last year, and never got a response..should have taken that as a clue! I put $300+ as a down and waited for someone to come and measure.
Met the measurement guy after taking time from work to do so..he said he would order it, be in in 5 weeks..I figured the window would be installed by end of August, and no problem with winter weather.

September 2013 I called and went into the store and said where is my window? They hemmed and hawed, and well, someone else will need to come and Measure! I meet the guy once again..different person..and he measures..I complain that I already spent last fall trying to resolve this issue and used them with no response..now when can I expect my window? he says by the end of October! OK..and I should probably receive some sort of discount for this hold up..cool..

Near end of October, I am supposed to have the window installed in the AM on a Saturday...its after 11 and no one is here! I call them,. well, the guy had decided to install someone else's stuff first, and he will be here between 1 and 3. I say, let me talk to this person..I don't want some Yahoo coming to put in a window last minute I think...I talk to him..tell him what was promised and that if he can't make it by 2 then forget it! he shows up at 1..nice man, seems to know his business..and he gets the window out and It doesn't FIT!!!! I decline to take it..he can chaulk it in, but with a three inch gap! no go..
they will send someone to measure!!! HA!

End of October..call and go to Home Depot once again..well, they will send someone name of Steve out..he is handling all their customer service stuff for this 'area'..Ends up he is in a northern Denver suburb! and he comes up on a Saturday to Measure! he is sick with a cold..He tells me that Anderson doesn't make a window this size! Hello? I have been trying to buy an Anderson window from them all this time, and he finally tells me that they don't make it? 4 months later? this information was finally relayed to me after several phone calls from him and from me to Home Depot! So, I say, OK..I will go with a vinyl window with simulated wood look..its a basement window..and I ask Steve..so when will I get my window? before the snow flies? before Christmas?
He assures me it will be done before Christmas..

Well folks..I heard from them once again..they want to come out and show me what the wood vinyl will look like before they order it! they called me middle of December to say this...I say, well, so first off, I think I should know the cost of this window..and he tells me its basically the same $1300 I was paying for the Anderson wood window..no allowance for all this inconvenience..nothing..just suck it up..I say fine..cancel the *^&$% order..and here I sit..6 months and a year later.. no window..and now I have to go to the HD and get my money back for the down.

What a rip off..what poor customer service..like there even is something called that in this store! Believe me..I will go to Lowes for everything from now on...the middle finger to Home Depot!

     
Replies
Incompetence
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HELOTES, TEXAS -- I took in a design for a kitchen counter top with dimensions. The supposed design specialist entered the data into their design computer system and came up with a total square footage of 38 and gave me an estimate of the job. I went home to think about it. I went back in 2 days to pay for the job taking advantage of 10% off by getting one of their HD credit cards. The original design specialist was not available and no one else was apparently qualified to access the design system. Therefore, I made an appointment to return that afternoon to meet with another design specialist who was supposed to be able to call up the first estimate so that I could pay for it. When I came back for the appointment, that specialist was not available. Another gent from appliances tried to do the job, but could not call up the estimate so he tried to just start from scratch. There were about 3 attempts at that before he came up with something. Trying to check out now, the cashier rang it up, charging me on the new credit card but the 10% off did not ring up. Off to the service department to cancel the charge and when they did, it apparently cancelled everything. They actually had to re-enter the whole design again and finally got it rung up with the 10% off.

When the contractor showed up to do the final inspection, he told me how there would be about 2 or 3 more square feet than the original estimate due to small modifications we made. I understood and had no problem with that.

According to the contractor, if Home Depot did not contact me in a couple of days to notify me of the difference between the estimate and the actual total cost, I should contact them. Of course, 2 days passed and there was no call from Home Depot. I went into pay the difference. I was surprised when I was told that the difference was 6.4 square feet at $43 per sq.ft., not 2 or 3. I asked to see where the differences were. Again, the original design specialist was not available to call up the original estimate. The service department gent printed off a copy of the contractor's final design that I could have compared to the original estimate if only I could see that. I realized that if I wanted to verify the 6.4 sq.ft. difference I was going to have to spend some time studying and comparing all of the dimensions. OK, but then the service department guy would not give me the final design sheet that he printed off!

I went home to do my homework. I found that for some reason when the original design specialist loaded my dimensions she came up with 3 square feet less than what my design had. This left 3.4 sq. ft. difference which is plausible and understandable. Having accounted for the 6.4 sq. ft. difference, I paid the balance due for this job. My problems with Home Depot is that they did nothing to help me in accounting for the difference, impeded my work to do that by denying the final design drawing to me, the time wasted and several trips required to go to that store to get this worked out made this a real exercise in frustration trying to get this work accomplished. I laugh at their commercials where they proclaim all of the help that they provide to home owners.

     
Replies
Furnace Installation Resulted in Gas Leak, No Mechanical Permit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINNESOTA -- I am writing to document the dangerous and frustrating experience I had with Home Depot / A-ABC Appliance & Heating / Total Comfort following the installation of a new Furnace and air conditioning system in June of 2013.

While the Installation appeared satisfactory at the time of installation, it wasn't until Oct 20th that I discovered a gas leak left by the installers which caused me to take a more in depth look at the service I received from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort.

On Oct 21 a service technician arrived from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort to repair the gas leak. The technician found and documented that the leak was caused by a damaged fitting that had been used by the installer. Gas leak testing by the installer could have easily uncovered the mistake. Apparently there was no gas leak testing.

While the problem has been corrected, gas had been escaping into my home for 20 weeks.

I requested that Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort refund my installation costs and re-inspect my furnace and Air conditioning for any additional mistakes.

Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort refused any adjustment to the installation cost but did agree to re-inspect the Furnace /AC. The re-inspection appointment was then cancelled because of a conflict with the technician's schedule. I then scheduled an appointment with another HVAC company for re-inspection. Steve Hawes, My salesman, did reassure me that there would be no charge for replacing the damaged fitting and stopping the gas leak. That work, he reassured me, would be covered under my warranty.

While the gas leak was the most serious and dangerous error made by Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort there were several other mistakes made that caused significant frustration and hours of follow-up time to correct. Those errors were as follows.

The $200 rebate from Rheem (the furnace manufacturer) was temporarily lost in the mail because Home Depot / A-ABC…/ Total Comfort had given Rheem the wrong address (wrong zip code). Follow up work by the mailman and post office did result in the rebate check being delivered.

A $300 rebate from Center Point Energy and a $450 rebate from Xcel energy also listed an incorrect house address on the application form but were eventually delivered to my home.

A fourth rebate ($100 also from Xcel Energy) had the incorrect address on the application and never did arrive at my home. According to Mr. Hawes this was the fault of Xcel Energy because they “lost” the rebate application. Once this rebate was resubmitted I did receive the $100 approximately 3 months after furnace installation.

While reviewing the rebate paper work I did notice that my address and zip code, while incorrectly written on every rebate application, was correctly written on the A-ABC / Total Comfort invoice and Home Depot invoice.

When going through the Furnace installation documentation in October,
I found a letter from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort explaining that the customer, not the contractor, was responsible for arranging final code inspection for the furnace/ AC installation.

While discussing the inspection process with the city, I discovered that the appropriate permits were never pulled for my job by Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort. Apparently an electrical permit was pulled but a mechanical permit was not pulled. When I mentioned this to Mr. Hawes he looked into the issue and told me that it was the city's error. In an unlikely coincidence, The City told the contractor that a mechanical permit was not required for installing a furnace and the contractor apparently agreed and (at least temporarily) saved the $186 permit fee.

In conclusion, I must say that had I been a less observant customer, I would be living with a gas leak approximately 18 inches away from the furnace flame, I would not have received $300 in rebates, I would not have had my furnace installation inspected by the city and the appropriate permits would never have been pulled.

My hope is that this information will lead to a review of the technical, financial and administrative competence of Home Depot /A-ABC Appliance & Heating / Total Comfort and that it will serve as a wake up call to as many current and future Home Depot / A-ABC Appliance &Heating / Total Comfort customer's as I can inform.

     
Replies
Beware of Home Depot Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MENTOR, OHIO -- I purchased an LG washing machine Model # WT5101H on 11/27/2010. From HOME DEPOT and I also purchased the Home Depot extended 4 year warranty plan. It was a $1100.00 washer on sale for $749.00 . On 10/6/2013 the machine broke down. I called Home Depot's warranty center on 10/7/2013 to have the washer repaired an they set up an appointment two days later on the 9th and said the repair man would be there between 8am & noon. So on the 9th I received a call around 11am from the repairman and said he would be there around 5pm. When he got there he looked at the machine an said the whole motor assembly would have to be replaced an that it would take 10 to 14 days to get the part which I thought was ridiculous.

The next day I called an LG service and was told it only takes 24 to 48 ours to get the parts. So then I called Home Depot Warranty and told them what I found out, and I was told that they could no authorize any one else to repair it. I waited until 10/29/2013 and called them again and was told that the claim was not authorized yet. I could not believe it, nothing had been done, the parts weren't even ordered . Then I asked to talk to a manager. When I talked to the manager I was told the same thing and there was nothing she could do about it. I lost it.

Then when I told her I was going to report it to the BBB, and a local news TV channel she then connected me to another person by the name of Aron. I had to explain every thing I went through and he told me that he would have to find out what actually happened because that it only takes minutes to get this authorization not weeks. He told me that he would find out what happened an would call me back. About 45 minutes later he did call me back an said he had found the problem but he would not disclose it to me. Then he told me that he got everything straightened out and that the parts were in stock and that he had talked to the service man and promised me that it would be repaired on or before Monday 11/4/2013, he also gave me his phone number so that I could call him back if there was still a problem and that he would call me on Tuesday the 5th to make sure that the repairs were made, So I waited until Monday the 4th of November and decided to call the service center that was supposed to do the repairs and was told that the parts were on order and haven't come in yet.

So then I called Aron at Home Depot warranty and ended up leaving a message on his answering machine about this but he never called me back, He never called me back on Tuesday either. So know here it it almost a month later and still don't have a washing machine to use.

     
Replies
Installation Hassles
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORTLANDT MANOR, NEW YORK -- In May I signed a contract with Home Depot for new siding. The sales agent, Greg, promised that the installation would be done by the end of June. In July Home Depot informed me that my product would be delivered soon. On July 29th a contractor team was dropped off in a white van. No one had any badges and there was no manager on site. They started to destroy my wood shutters. I tried to tell them I was keeping them in both English and Spanish. I got no reply. One of the guys cut himself and threw bloody tissues and bandages all over my driveway. I did not notice this until they had left. My two year old son and dog picked up the bandages. My two year old son had blood on his hands. The men also piled my shutters and other debris on top of my newly planted rose bushes (that I had purchased from Home Depot).

The second day different men came and one went and peed in my neighbors yard near his five year old daughters window. My neighbor called me and I went outside and yelled at the guy. The men continued to dispose of my shutters even after my installation manager "Doug" told them not too. Doug called them off the job but they still stayed until I called Doug four times. Then a new team showed up the next day. These were professional people that cleaned up after themselves and did not pee on my neighbors property. However, they ran out of material and more material had to be ordered. Doug told me that the job would be complete in between 3 and 5 days. The contractors told me ten days. So I thought about 10 days would be about right.

On day 11 I begin to call Doug to ask him what the holdup is and he does not take my calls. I had a tree scheduled to be taken down and the debris left on my lawn (damaging my lawn) was in the way of the removal. The company I was getting the tree removed by is on my street and told me that they could not take the tree down with that debris there. The debris sat there from July 29th to August 11th. It killed the grass that I bought from Home Depot and planted there because it is hard to grow grass on my lawn. Now I have to do that again. Doug finally agreed to have the debris removed and actually ended up doing it himself. However, it has now been more than ten day or even 14 days. I keep calling Doug to see what the problem is but he avoids my phone calls, hangs up when he knows its me, forces me to call from different numbers, and generally ignores the situation. Home Depot than gives me the number of Terry, another installation manager. Terry is great with customer service and calling people back but the only answer he can give me is "I have to ask Doug" or "I don't schedule Doug's teams". This becomes very annoying as he has no answers for me.

Again I call the 1-800 number for help and they try to call Doug and get no response. I call the 1-800 number five times and get nowhere. In the mean time water started coming into a window that water had never came in before staining my wall and damaging my floor. (I have been told by Terry that an insurance claim would have to be opened up by Doug who does not take my phone calls.) The men come over to work 19 days later but don't have enough material to finish the job. They do stop the leak that was caused by an open J Channel and incomplete siding around the window (according to the contractor on site). I am then told they have to order white siding to wrap the porch. I then call Home Depot stores in the area and ask them if they have this in stock. Every store has this item in stock. I am not confused because I was told by Doug and Terry that this has to be ordered. When I told that to Terry he did admit the item was in stock. I call the 1-800 number again for help and this time the agent laughs at me for being so upset and tells me to calm down. I hang up with her and call the 1-800 number back to report the agent. the manager is very nice and tells me she will get me in contact with John [snip]. She also promises to call me back and follow up with me. She does not follow up with me and I am unsure if she ever got a hold of this John [snip].

It is August 22nd and my job is still incomplete but my credit card was charged the entire price of the job on August 4th. I am promised the men will come back and finish on Friday but am always promised they will be here on Friday every week. I believe that this is because its the end of the week and I can't start complaining again until Monday. I would never hire Home Depot to do anything again. They promised the job would be done by the end of June. It's the end of August and the job is still not done. I am having Lowe's install my gutters even though the nearest one is across the Tappan Zee Bridge. I am very disappointed by Home Depot.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >