Home Depot Roofing

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unethical Business Practices - Do Not Buy A Roof From Home Depot
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- On March 16, 2009 we had purchased jobs for roofing and insulation for our home at the address above by R (cannot use his real name on this website), a Sales Consultant at the THD At-Home Services from Bitter Lake/Seattle address, among other Home Depots around town. He's described as a weird old man with a mustache from the 1900s that curled up at the ends who proclaims he worked with the government in the past and that he was a former home inspector. He said he spoke several languages, but his Cantonese was pretty awful.

Because of Home Depot's reputation for good service at their stores, we decided to trust him and hire Home Depot for our home improvement project. They presented themselves above all roofing companies, promising a lot for a fair price. However, our decision directed us toward the wrong path. Unethical practices from the sales department and billing/accounting by Home Depot revealed the truth.

My brother and I spoke to sales consultant during the estimation on March 16th about the work that we are hiring the Home Depot to do. We stated that we were concerned about our roof, which is 20 years old. Recently a leaking from the flashing near the range hood area in the kitchen has occurred, creating a water stain on the wall. There was also a mold problem in the attic space, but after inspection during the estimation, R concluded it was mildew.

During the estimation/consultation, the sales consultant had promised things that were basically lies. For one, R said that the Home Depots hiring process goes through a rigorous process, background check and drug test. This made me believe that the roof workers were employees of Home Depot. This is further from the truth; the company hired an outside source, Golden Seal Roofing, probably the highest bidder for this project. This wasn't revealed until the roofing company came knocking on my door to start reroofing.

The sales consultant lead us to believe there was a law made in 2006 which is illegal for King County homeowners to place new roofing material on top of old material. He also persuaded me to tell my father, who doesn't understand English very well, that it was completely illegal. After things started to unravel, I further researched this so called fact; I discovered there is no such law that states this.

The King County law says that if it is over three layers, it's restricted; however layering new shingles on top of old is fine as long as it abides to this rule. ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK THE INFORMATION ANY SALES PERSON TELLS YOU BEFORE SIGNING A CHECK, EVEN IF THEY ARE FROM A COMPANY YOU THINK IS RELIABLE.

The sales consultant then continued to talk about ventilation during the consultation. My brother and I were concerned about proper ventilation, especially since there is a mildew problem in the attic. Also, we explained that our ventilation holes on the front and back of the house were blocked with wood because of the birds around our neighborhood nesting inside. He said that those would be taken out for better ventilation and small screen netting would be needed to keep the birds out. None of this was done. I have yet to get a response from the sales consultant regarding this issue after emailing him.

We asked if the wood under the shingles would be replaced due to the dampness and mildew from the Northwest weather and also deterioration because of the age. Among the many lies during our consultation, he said they would replace the OSB with plywood. This was not done either.

After the roof was installed, during our own inspection, to our shock, many of the promises made were not completed. When I spoke to him over the phone on March 23, 3009 in the evening (the same day the roof was installed), he said that replacing the OSB with plywood was what we agreed on. I assumed this would be corrected immediately.

The next day on March 24, 2009, he came by the house two hours late and started retracting what was said. He basically backtracked what we agreed upon during our initial consultation and finally gave me the warranty information. The warranty on the paper says the first 12 years are non-prorated, but he tells me this is actually 20 years. After reading many complaints against Home Depot roofing, I'm beginning to believe how Home Depot does not honor this contract.

During our conversation, the sales consultant said he spoke with the project manager the night I called. The project manager said that only the area where the ventilation shaft for the kitchen's stove top hood needed the plywood. The sales consultant started to say that they had to keep the cost down by not replacing the old OSB for plywood. Again, this is all new information after the fact the roof was done.

The sales consultant finally showed me our itemization – approx $ 6,500.00 which was bundled into Timberline roofing material and cost of labor, this never included the cost of plywood. He further continued to say that the OSB wood we have on the roof did not have a problem and it was strong enough to hold in the nails. None of this was revealed during the consultation.

He then proceeded to rant on how mold and mildew will fall off the OSB board in the attic once there is proper ventilation. Again this was new information never presented prior to me signing a check. He also backtracked and said that if the roof did need new plywood, he would have come out and checked out the roof himself and would have given me a higher estimate. This guy was unbelievably deceitful.

I naively assumed this was all included in the materials and labor cost, since the total cost was so high. When he finally showed me his paperwork, the material and labor costs was bundled up together under the category Timberline. They still have yet to give me a proper itemization with the breakdown in actual cost, including materials, labor, material removal, and many other fees.

The sales consultant also recounted that the itemization could have been made if the customer asked. The lame itemization that bundled everything together under the name Timberline would not have given me what I wanted. When I asked by email for the itemization on March 18, 2009, he called me at home, asked me why I was even asking and told me he couldn't give me one and said that the estimate is 60% for materials and 40% in labor.

If you broke it down, it cost approx. $3900.00 for the Timberline roofing materials and $2,600.00 for labor cost. Additionally, he charged $1,100.00 for exhaust ridge vent and flashings for chimney and drip edge. Truthfully, Home Depot had charged me over 100%+ the amount it would have cost me to have the roof professionally done.

Home Depot has continues to give me wrong information and is completely unprofessional during the roofing process. On March 18, 2009, Wednesday, Home Depot Services called and spoke to my brother. The person said that the project manager will meet with me in the next morning to re-measure and they will start Monday to reroof.

When the project manager came the next day to re-measure, he said that the roofing company will call to schedule when a good time to reroof would be when I tried to confirm if it was Monday. He didn't know when they would come. No one called to confirm.

Monday morning comes along and I hear a knock at 9 am and roofing company showed up. I spoke to the owner of Golden Seal Roofing asked why they didn't call to confirm. His answer was “Why?” They started at 9 am and finally ended work at 2 pm, which totaled 5 hours of work for $2,600.00 for labor cost.

Lies after lies, the sale consultant's presentation included how Home Depot purchases large amounts to keep the cost low for consumers, but in all honesty they over price everything and outsource the work. We have decided to cancel the insulation job, calling the THD At-Home Services in Renton to do this. They charged us a 25% cancellation fee because they have already purchased the insulation material. The cancellation fee totaled approximately $400.00, outrageous! After realizing how deceitful and money hungry Home Depot is, they have lost our family as long time customers.

Had we known how unethical Home Depot is with their business practices, we would have never contracted Home Depot for any of the services. Always cross check information and never ever buy a roof from Home Depot or any other services they provide.

Home Depot scammed me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased a roof for my home from Home Depot in April 2011 and have been fighting since to have it properly installed. I paid with my Home Depot credit card. During one of my many calls to the customer service department, I was asked if I wanted to dispute the charge. I agreed it was worth disputing and that my roof (still to this day) is not satisfactorily installed. The dispute was opened on May 9th, 2012.

The dispute was finalized in my favor and $12,110.00 was provisionally credited to my account on September 9th, 2012 with a note that if further “significant evidence” was found that the amount would be reapplied to my account. I called the customer service and asked what “significant evidence” would entail and how much more investigation would there be. I asked these questions as $12,110.00 is a lot of money and with the initial letter opening the dispute claimed that the initial investigation could take up to 60 days, and by the time I received the letter stating that the charge had been reversed was 128 days, double what was quoted.

I was told that it was closed and no further investigation would be completed. However, around October 1st, 2012 I received a phone call from the Phoenix office asking if someone could come down and inspect the roof and make sure that everything was taken care of. On October 6th, 2012 a gentleman came down to my house and instead of getting out a ladder to get on the roof, he pulled out some paperwork. He explained that this form was a copy of a previous form that I had signed and that the person who had the form in Atlanta “had died” and because they “had died, no one can find the paperwork that was originally signed.”

Reviewing the paperwork, I noted that the form was a Customer Service Order form and stated that the work to be completed was to fix some exposed nails, torn shingles, and repaint the metal trims and that those specific items were completed. It also states that the balance remaining was $0.00.

With the suspicious circumstances surrounding this, I asked the gentleman if this had anything to do with the disputed charge. I was told that it had nothing to do with the charges and that it was only replacing a lost form. I reluctantly signed the form, the gentleman never did go on top of the roof and he left. Several weeks later I received a letter dated October 18th stating that the $12,110.00 has been reapplied to my account and that “Additional information has been received that provided significant evidence for the amount to be reapplied to your account.” Attached to the letter was a faxed copy of the form I signed on October 6th, 2012.

This was clearly a scam to trick me into signing a form stating that the roof had been satisfactorily completed in an attempt to defraud me of the amount that was returned to me. This is obviously a bait-and-switch, which is an illegal practice in the United States. I am writing for corrective action in returning the credit of $12,110.00 back to my account. Home Depot cheated me out of a properly installed roof, and then scammed me into paying for it after the disputed charges were dropped from my account. Permanently re-credit the $12,110 back to my account, zeroing my balance.

Home Depot 'At Home Services'
By -

I felt compelled to chime in responding to another post I saw about Home Depot's window program. A gal had been in the store pricing windows and ultimately agreed to an appointment with a salesman in her home at the behest of the store associate. She was miffed to find that the 'Home Services' salesman had different windows to offer than the store millworks department.

As a THD At Home Services, Inc. salesman, I deal with similar frustrations daily. The Home Depot has two distinct programs for replacement windows. One that offers a wide array of products and prices for 'do-it-yourself' projects and another that entails a turnkey replacement of existing windows (or roofing, siding or seamless gutters). My personal preference is to have my associates in the store 'spread the word' about our installed services and to offer an in-home appointment with someone like myself - a well trained sales consultant.

In the home, we offer the same basic tenets that have grown The Home Depot into the world's second largest retailer. These are Convenience, Selection, and unbeatable customer service. If, after an in-depth consultation and quote, the customer does not desire to use the 'At Home Services' program, a good sales consultant will happily refer the customer back to the store to learn about window pricing that is exclusive of installation, delivery, installation warranty, ancillary products necessary for installation, disposal, clean up, and the peace of mind that comes from using the nation's largest home improvement retailer and the nation's largest replacement window contractor - The Home Depot.

I realize I may sound like an orange-blooded cheerleader for my employer, but as a 27 year veteran of the remodeling industry, I can say that there is very real value in using The Home Depot's installed services. Issues can and will arise in any remodeling project. I have witnessed my company 'making things right' when 'Chuck in a Truck' may not have been able to.

The Home Depot organized the 'At Home Services' division in response to customer demand about 8 years ago. Prior to that time, customers with larger projects than they cared to attempt by themselves were sold the necessary products off our shelves and referred to installation contractors who could install the store-bought products. If there was a problem with the installation, the customer had to contact the independent installer. This arrangement was flawed as The Home Depot lacked quality control on the installation side.

No matter how unrelated to us, a third party installer could tarnish the impeccable reputation that The Home Depot has earned. Nowadays, a customer that contracts with The Home Depot for replacement windows enjoys the peace of mind of having every aspect of the project backed by The Home Depot.

The Home Depot's prices are generally in line with the local market. This alignment is carefully monitored by individual 'Program Merchants' that are assigned to their respective trades. One cannot easily compare windows off the shelf to windows that are installed. It would be like comparing apples to those yellowish, odd little fruit that slices up in the shape of a star. The company's challenge is to raise awareness of their 'At Home Services' division.

Through the program, customers can have a huge array of products installed for them - as well as have electrical, plumbing, and HVAC services performed for them. Requests for quotes can be made online (www.homedepot.com), in the store, or by calling 1-800-HomeDepot. The 'At Home Services' division often has fantastic discount programs as well. I am currently able to offer my customers 10% off of the bottom line on premium installed roofing, siding, windows, seamless gutters, home insulation and storm protection systems.

We also have roofing, windows and home insulation that qualify for the Economic Stimulus Tax Credit of up to $1500. This is a true tax credit, not a deduction from one's income - real money to offset the costs of installing energy efficient products in the home. Through our occasional credit promotions, folks using the Home Depot Credit Card can have energy efficient products installed at a 10% discount and have their tax credit money before the project is due for payment.

This is possible as the company occasionally allows 12 months 'same as cash' - no payment / no interest for 12 months. The company also has other financing options that help make larger projects very affordable to folks with good credit. I hear very often after a consultation that the customer learned a great deal about the project they are considering by having me offer a consultation and quote.

That's a free education folks - whether or not you buy from The Home Depot. 'Pete in a Pickup' may scribble a dollar amount on the back of his tattered business card. Your At Home Services Sales Consultant will give a thorough presentation of our wares and field all questions with superb product and industry knowledge. The note I'll close with is this: The estimate is free - It costs one nothing but 60-90 minutes in the comfort of their own home to learn about great products, services and financing options.

Roofing Scam
By -

NEW YORK -- I contracted with Home Depot At Home Services to replace the roof on my house for several reasons. First, I wanted to go with an installer who was certified by the manufacturer, thereby allowing the highest level of warranty protection. I researched the project thoroughly and worked closely with the Home Depot salesman, **, for several months before signing the contracts. Mr. ** assured me that the work would be performed by a Home Depot crew, and not a subcontractor.

Imagine my horror when I arrived home unannounced one morning to find a crew of illegal alien, day laborers installing my roof. They were under the direction of an American foreman, and took great pleasure in urinating in my bushes. The extent of this problem came to light some months later when a neighbor's child described to her parents, in detail, the characteristics of an uncircumcised penis. Several shrubs were damaged along with this poor child's innocence.

The installation was completed the next day. The end product looked exactly as one might expect, given the qualifications of the "installers." GAF Camelot shingles (their most premium product) were jammed and buckled against the dormers. At least two bundles of a different color shingle - the GAF representative was later able to name the errant color from fifty yards - were used in the roof.

Nonlinear shingle courses gave the illusion of a deep valley in the center of one roof. When shingle courses ended in wildly variable lengths, the excess was simply hacked off. It looks more like the excess material was bent back and forth until broke off, leaving a jagged edge.

Needless to say, I was very dissatisfied with the finished product. I was able to arrange a site visit with the regional GAF representative, a Home Depot representative, and the subcontractor. Yes, a subcontractor, after I had been assured that the work would be performed by Home Depot employees. The subcontractor drove up in a brand new Mercedes Benz and claimed that his "partner" had supervised the entire project.

I had never seen this person before, and he had certainly never been on my property. He described a crew that was about two generations removed from the illegals who installed my roof. Luckily, I have a pretty sophisticated video security system and was able to capture some resolute portraits.

The GAF representative was mostly unwilling to acknowledge the roofing errors, preferring to inquire as to whether the month-old roof was leaking. If it wasn't leaking, he said, the matter was one of aesthetics, a subject in which he was completely uninterested. I reminded him that the old roof (30 years old to be exact) wasn't leaking either, but I sure wouldn't pay $25,000 for it.

Home Depot is not sure who installed my roof, but they admit that there are serious problems. They have offered to have the subcontractor of record correct the errors. I have informed Home Depot that I prefer to avoid the robberies, home invasions, sex crimes, and homicides associated with the undocumented-alien workforce.

Had I wanted to expose my family to these perils, I would have a chosen a roofing company from the yellow pages, and taken my chances. Instead, I selected the most recognized name in home improvement. They sold the job to a subcontractor, who in turn sold it to a sub-subcontractor.

I would like to thank those of you who have contacted me with information. You will be happy to know that local media have expressed an interest in the case. One investigative reporter has offered to bring in experts to oversee the removal of the Home Depot roof. The entire process will be documented on tape for later broadcast. Footage from my security system will supplement the professional footage.

Images of the roofing crew will be sent to law enforcement for comparison to known fugitives. Please learn from my experience and avoid Home Depot At Home Services. They are prostituting their name and reputation at the expense of the consumer.

Top $ roof -- no service
By -

ROYAL PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- My name is Chris. I have been a loyal and satisfied customer for over 17 years. That is until my wife and I called At Home Services for installation of our new roof. The nightmare began when hurricane Frances hit (Sept. 3-6, 2004). We needed a new roof. Sunday's newspaper (9/12/04) advertised that Home Depot At Home Services is now doing roofs. We have had a previous good experience with At Home Services and we want to go with a big company who will do a good job on our roof. We call on 9/12/04. On 9/13/04 ** (salesman) comes to our home, sells us a new roof. He explains that there are no payments, no interest for 6 months.

Our contract amount is $14,254.00 this is top dollar - we are paying for top service. I was so impressed with ** presentation (he was at my home for more than 2 hours) and especially the professional service that Home Depot guaranteed. ** told me that he was part of a team. There would always be a Home Depot representative to work with us every step of the way. Making sure the job was done up to Home Depot standards. He advised that we, the buyers would be contacted by phone by a project coordinator. No project coordinator called us. Home Depot had already either dropped the ball or totally misrepresented themselves to us.

** arrives the following week, introduces himself as the project manager. He is to look at the roof and confirm that the measurements are correct. Great. Meanwhile, Hurricane Jeanne (Sept. 26th) hits and does even further damage to our compromised roof. My wife and I, like millions of Floridians are stressed beyond belief by the recent events. One good thing, we have already called Home Depot and are in the works to get a new roof. The second Hurricane knocked out power and phones and it is impossible to get in touch with Home Depot.

We call ** in early Oct. and ask what is going on. We haven't been called by a project coordinator. ** can't believe it. He provides us a phone number for the first project coordinator, **. ** says no problem. The job is in the works and it won't be long until we receive a call telling us the scheduling date. By mid-late October we don't hear anything. We call Home Depot and are told that ** is no longer our project coordinator. Now we have been assigned to **. We finally get in touch with **, she says no problem we should be scheduled by the end of the week and she'll call us with the scheduling date. No return call.

We call ** repeatedly, only to reach voice mail which states "all calls will be returned within 24 hours". We leave messages we never receive a return call. Now why would you have to state on your voice mail message that all calls will be returned within 24 hours - are calls not being returned? At this point the communication between the customer (us) and the seller (Home Depot) starts to deteriorate and we begin to be unhappy and unsatisfied.

We call At Home Services office in Delray Beach, Florida, and complain to the person who answers the phone that we can never get our project coordinator on the telephone. We express our disappointment and are assured that ** will call us back. ** (the project manager) call us. We express frustration with ** that no progress is being made. We are passed the 4-6 week period for work to be completed.

** provides excuses, we have to be patient, we have to understand that no one expected two hurricanes. We say we are trying to be patient but we want Home Depot to deliver on their promises. ** advises that there is a problem obtaining the shingles. It will be an additional 1-2 weeks. We are again assured that we will be called and things will get better. Early November - no call - we call **.

Again, where is the communication? What is going on? We are growing more frustrated by the way we are being treated. We are called by a roofing company - during the day while we are work and a message is left on our answer machine that we have been scheduled for January 13, 2005! We are stunned! My wife goes crazy. Calls the roofing company the following morning and states January 13th is totally unacceptable.

My wife tells receptionist at Roofing company to please call ** and tell her that an upset and angry customer has called and ** has to deal with the situation before it explodes. My wife is contacted at work by **. My wife explains that we were told our roof would be done in 4-6 weeks. Now we are expected to wait into the new year! My wife thinks there has been a major screw up and tells ** so.

** only offers excuses to my wife My wife doesn't want any more excuses - we want answers and action! ** can't deal with my wife and puts my wife on the phone with her boss, **, manager of At Home Services in Delray Beach. My wife tells our story to ** and complains that there is no communication. ** offers more excuses. My wife begs ** to please keep her in the loop, we can't deal with ** any longer.

We are very unhappy customers and all we want is to be happy customers. We ask Home Depot to make it right. We ask Home Depot to deliver the services we were promised. You are a large company and if you have taken on more work than you can handle. We the customer should not suffer at your expense.

Again my wife asks ** to take advantage of the opportunity to make us happy. ** says he will keep us "in the loop" -- now shingles are available but there aren't enough roofers to go around. He reminds my wife that two hurricanes have just made things difficult. My wife tells ** she realizes this we survived the stress of the hurricanes and really don't need any more stress in our lives - at the hands of Home Depot. ** tells my wife Home Depot is working on getting more roofers and ** says that his "team" will go back to the drawing board and see if it is possible to get our start date moved up. My wife says thank you. Apologizes again but frustration got the better of her.

WE NEVER HEAR FROM OR SPEAK TO ** AGAIN! So much for communication. Another opportunity to turn an unhappy customer into a happy one is lost by Home Depot. :-( November 23, 2004 (2 days before Thanksgiving) Home Depot truck arrives in the middle of the day while we are at work to deliver shingles. No prior phone call is made to us. We have no idea to expect them. 6 palates of shingles are left in our driveway. No one signed for the shingles. It is now Home Depot's policy to deliver materials without letting the customer know?

Again, no communication from Home Depot to us. What happened to the professional service? By the time we got home from work that night it is almost dark. We are left with no choice but to move these heavy shingles into the garage for safekeeping as people are desperate for shingles and they are being stolen from job sites. We, the customer, do not appreciate being put in the position to be forced to do difficult physical labor at our age and we were very, very upset, not only with the lack of communication but with the thought of being physically injured moving those heavy shingles.

What happened to the Home Depot team? We are left to shake our heads in disbelief again. What is going on with Home Depot are they now delivering materials and expecting the customer to store them for approximately 2 months? :-(

Early December, 2004, we are called by Home Depot At Home Services who inquire if we happened to receive shingles. Uh yeah they came all right. Does this mean we might just get our new roof by the end of the year? Home Depot representative advises they will call the roofer and see. Once again, no communication between customer and Home Depot, no communication between Home Depot and roofer and no communication between roofer and customer. :-(

Mid December we call roofer - "have you received a call from Home Depot and are you going to start the job early? We have shingles stored in our garage." We are told January 13, 2005. We are disappointed but it is the middle of December we only have to wait one more month! :-) However, we are very inconvenienced by Home Depot as we cannot keep ours cars in the garage. More frustration. ** (title unknown) from Home Depot calls my wife at work January 11th and says would it be okay if the roofer starts a day earlier?

My wife says great news. My wife asks ** point blank - "the roofer isn't going to start the job and then leave us hanging for 2-3 weeks before completion are they?" ** says "oh no that would be a nightmare!" January 12, 2005, one day early job starts this is 121 days after contract is signed. 6 weeks is 44 days. Only 66 days late The Home Depot Way! Roofer sends a "prep" crew on January 12, 2005.

They don't know anything about the shingles in the garage (why not? We told them in mid December we had shingles). They are very unhappy they are required to now haul these heavy shingles up to the roof by way of ladder. I personally helped them put the shingles on the roof. I say are you coming back tomorrow to finish the job? Crew foreman states - "No. We are only the prep crew. We are finished."

Another crew will come to finish the job and lay the shingles. When will the shingles go on I ask? A couple of days "You'll come home one day and your roof will be done" the foreman says. Roofer leaves the paperwork for the job taped to the front screen door and we are told not to remove it or the ladder left on the side of the house. The inspector from our town will need to come. This was January 12, 2005.

I call Roofer the next day, January 13th to inquire if I am scheduled for next week to finish the job. I am told that they were working on the scheduling and I'll be advised. I am happy - I ask for 1 day's notice to make arrangements for my pet to be boarded elsewhere. No call the following week :-( No inspector :-( Now what is going on? January 26, 2005, ** (last name and title unknown) from Home Depot, calls my wife at work - wants to know if we are happy with our new roof! Ha! My wife says what new roof? Job was started but we are waiting for the roofer to come back - it is now 2 weeks after the start of the job. My wife is not happy with **.

** advises he will contact the roofer. ** arrives at our house the very same afternoon. He tells me that the roofer advised the job was done. My wife says well look at the roof - does it look done to you? ** explains he is the new project manager. He will call the roofer and find out what is going on. We want to know why the inspector hasn't come. My wife says maybe somebody forgot to call the inspector. ** says well maybe the inspector is behind and lately he says, the inspectors have been coming by, taking pictures and signing off at the end.

My wife expresses frustration and disappointment with the way we have been treated. ** offers excuses but no answers! This is a reoccurring theme. My wife tells ** told her that the job would be started and finished and we would not be left hanging for 2-3 weeks - that would be a nightmare according to **. My wife tells ** we are living the nightmare. ** is not sympathetic with our story. Again, is it Home Depot's policy to change project managers and not make the customer aware of it? Total lack of communication on the part of Home Depot. More frustration.

I feel better at this point because ** the project manager has arrived on the scene and is going to fix everything. Great! :-) I am waiting for a call from **. My wife tells me not to hold my breath. My wife says the story about the inspector taking pictures and coming back at the end of the job doesn't sound right to her. I tell my wife ** said he would take care of it. My wife says we've heard that before.

At this point I still have some faith in Home Depot. No call from **. No call from roofer. No inspector. What is going on!!! January 29, 2005 (Saturday), Roofing crew arrives at 7:30 am - no phone call? No 24 hour notice? Okay, what the heck, we are finally getting somewhere. This nightmare is almost over :-) Crew checks paperwork on door has not been signed off by inspector! Crew says they cannot finish the roof without signature from the inspector. I say “no, no, ** my project manager was here 3 days ago and he said we didn't need an inspector to sign off.”

Crew foreman walks away and calls boss. Comes back and tells me “sorry we have to leave.” I say what! “No. No. Don't leave.” Foreman tells me that I can call for an inspection. Well not today it is Saturday and every place is closed!!! Am I supposed to call for an inspection? I thought my Home Depot "team" was in charge of the job. How come no one told me on January 12th that I was supposed to call?

Again, no communication and lots of frustration for us. I am kicking myself at this point for putting faith in **. I have no business card and no way to get in touch with him. I have ** (the old project manager's) phone number. I call **. I tell him what happened today and what happened with **. ** says "sounds like somebody dropped the ball!" He'll get in touch with ** will call me. I call Roofing Company get answer machine and leave message.

I wait all day for a return call from **. No call. No one to call and say gosh we are sorry. We will make it right. No call, no inspection, no communication NOTHING :-( This ISN'T THE HOME DEPOT WAY. This is not what we were promised and what we are expected to pay for! I am left to stew all day and my frustration gets the better of me. I call and leave messages on at least 8 different voice mails.

I am now at this point pleading - will someone please help me! Will someone give me answers! I finally figure out how to get the phone number for Home Depot Corporate Headquarters in Georgia. I speak with the complaint department. I will not hang until I am given a name and phone number of a vice president, a regional manager, you - Mr. Robert Nardelli, the CEO! Finally, I am given the phone number for the southeast Regional boss, **. I call him and leave a message - again I am begging for someone to help me. No roof!

As of today, January 31st, it is two days short of 3 weeks since the prep crew arrived to start the job. The nightmare continues. We gave Home Depot opportunity after opportunity to turn this situation around and make us satisfied and happy customers. When this nightmare started that is all we wanted. To be happy. Home Depot dropped the ball. We feel that we have been wronged and we want Home Depot to make it right with us.

Just finishing the job is not going to be enough. We were sold a product and services on Sept. 13th. A very expensive product that came with very poor quality service (at top dollar cost). This is not the Home Depot way of doing business or is it? The Home Depot website makes promises that are not being kept regarding roof installation and professional services offered.

Obviously you as the President are not aware of the total lack of professionalism being offered to your south Florida customers. We can't seem to get anyone on the phone to help us. We have no alternative but to write you a letter and let you know. Well, now you know. This is a true story. This is not a joke. Will you please make things right? Please contact us. Thank you for taking the time to read this letter.

Home Depot Roofing Alert
By -

A Home Depot roofing salesman came to my parent's home yesterday, 09/02/2011. I sat in the other room as the salesman spoke with my elderly parents, 92 and 85. My parents did not sign a contract with the representative after I convinced them to get other quotes.

The long and short of it is that the guy was a con-man. He spoke of peace of mind, the reputation of The Home Depot, the large number of shady, non-licensed roofing contractors in the state of RI, etc. He had a binder filled with the names of non-licensed companies in the state of Rhode Island. He also spoke of being a family man, his church and his parents.

He quoted $14,000 to re-roof my parent's house. Knowing that the price should be in the $400 a square neighborhood I was shocked when I heard the $14,000 figure, getting up and going into the other room to join them. (I try and give my parents a sense of self-reliance). The roof is 15 square. The price should have been in the $6000 range. I said nothing about the price to the salesman, just made sure they did not sign a contract.

The salesman realized he was not going to make a sale at $14,000 so he lowered the price by $800, saying that he would give them the Architectural Grade shingle for the same price as the, "entry," shingle, saving them $800. The two types of shingles are the same price, he simply raised the price on one to discount later in the pitch. Still sensing no sale, he offered a 10% senior discount and 12 months interest free, along with a great deal on the HD credit card. The sales representative would not leave the written quote unless they signed that day.

Reading other similar Home Depot roofing reviews, many as far back as 2003, it is obvious that these very shady sales practices have been going on for a very long time. It is hard to imagine that HD is not aware of what is going on, if not outright encouraging such behavior. Stealing is bad, we all agree, but preying on the elderly doesn't get much lower.

Roof Ripoff
By -

I had my roof installed by Home Depot in 2007. The sales person at Home Depot offered me several packages to choose from and I selected the higher priced package because it came with a 'Lifetime Peace of Mind' guarantee. The sales Rep also guaranteed if there were any damages inside my home due to any leaks from their roof that they were fully insured and would be responsible.

The roof began leaking in 2008, again Sept 2009. They came to 'fix' these leaks. In April 2010 the leaks worsened causing a great deal of damage to my home. Home Depot sent their 'field team' to investigate the issue, and this is when they discovered the installation was done incorrectly. Their installers used aluminum and copper around the skylights causing a chemical reaction, deteriorating the frames of the skylights, causing $86,000 of damages. It has been 3 months of dealing with Home Depots insurance company, Sedgwick, who avoided my calls, and my attorney's calls.

When finally getting them on the phone, they claimed they lost the estimate provided by both a private adjuster, and my General Contractor. Meanwhile HD adjuster never provided any estimate. A total run around and stall tactic. Now they claim the issue is being investigated, this was the last we heard from Sedgwick and that was November 18th. No Investigator has contacted us and it has been 4 weeks.

Though Home Depot admitted their faulty installation caused these damages, their insurance company refuses to be cooperative, and clearly dragging out my claim, making a bad situation severe. Home Depots ‘lifetime Peace of Mind guarantee" is an absolute joke. After three years they are ignoring my phone calls. I am left with a 27,000 roof that leaks, and a house that is inhabitable. It has been a homeowners NIGHTMARE.

Beware of Bad Roofing
By -

WASHINGTON -- We recently had a new - high quality roof installed on our house. We were promised that a Project Manager would come and review the work that was being done - and then get up on our roof to inspect it to make sure it was installed correctly! That never happened!

We recently had some rain (yes - we live in WA State!). My husband found that water was running down onto our furnace coming out of a vent. I immediately called the Home Depot Store in our area to let them know our roof was leaking. They found an Installation Manager who would come out and take a look. When he arrived - he looked up from the street and told us that the flashing was too small. He then said that he would have someone come out the next day to fix it - that he was too old to get up on the roof.

Well, the next day came and went - no roofer. WE called him back and he told us that the roofer had to go to a town about 45 minutes away to pick up the parts needed to fix this. Then - it was another few days before he showed up - only to come when no one was home - no call to let us know he was coming. He left a note - that was found in our bushes stating that he was there - and that he had fixed the problem! When my husband got home that day - he immediately could tell that nothing had been done! Same flashing - same problem!

Fast forward 2 weeks later - still no repair - even though we have been called - apologized to - and yet - NOTHING has been done! Today a couple roofers came out when I was home alone - stated that we didn't need a smaller flashing - that he screwed the pipe in tight - and put some sealer on the joints! When my husband got home - he was livid! They had put black tar all over the flashing - and told me it was fixed! What a joke!

We called the store manager - and he wasn't in! We talked to the Asst. Manager and he told us basically he could send them an e-mail - WE could do that! He told us - he can't "make them" come out if they don't want to! We are so upset - and have made the decision to take our business elsewhere!

Outrageous Roofing Quote From Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGIA -- We have a small house with a very simple shingle roof. A reputable contractor who has done a good bit of work in our neighborhood gave us a quote to re-roof our house for $3,800. I told him that quote sounded high and I would like to have a quote for identical shingles, GAF Architectural, from Home Depot. The Home Depot salesman came by on April 7th and read me page after page from his sales flip charts, measured our roof and prepared a quote.

After even more sales efforts he finally gave me the price, $7,600.00 for the exact same work. When I told him that Home Depot was twice as much as the last contractor, he offered to drop the price by 10%. We were astonished at the quote and can only assume there are too many sales people to be paid commissions to have a reasonable quote.

Don't Hire Home Depot
By -

Less than 6 months ago we hired Home Depot to install a new roof. We paid more than we would have for a local contractor, but their warranties are good and the salesmen are good. The only problem is the salesmen don't tell the truth, and the warranty is only good if you can get in touch with someone about it. They apparently hire the lowest bidder, they leave a huge mess, and now less than 6 months later our roof leaks. The warranty covers the leaky roof, but no one will return my calls to fix it, and really should a new roof that has never even seen a winter start leaking. That speaks towards the workmanship you will get if you hire the Home Depot.

Top of Page | Next Page >
[ X ]

Find the Right Company for Your Home Improvement Project

Get a Quote