Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Roofing Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Electronic Contract
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON -- BUYER BEWARE!!! I had my roof replaced by Home Depot. They did an excellent job on the roof, and they were neat and friendly. My BIG problem is with the paperless method of doing business. I received my "receipt" through email, which I have no problem with. But then I missed a VERY important part of that email, which is that somehow the color of the roof was changed! I saw the money part and thought that was what I needed to review (wouldn't you)? I never dreamed that the color would not be what I ordered.

The blame falls on me because I did not catch the error until the roof was put on, and there was no hard copy showing my selection. I'm VERY UNHAPPY that my roof isn't the color I had expected. If you use the Home Depot for installation, review EVERY INCH of your contract!!!

Don't Ask for Help Because You Won't Get Any
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

TOPEKA, KANSAS -- I went in the store with my 3-year old son & wife. When I first came in, the guy at the front door offered his help and took me directly to the item. I went to meet up with my wife who took our son to the restroom. We decided to get an extender as well and walked the store looking for the item. After a time we asked for help at the front of the store and were told to go to the back of the store.

We couldn't find the item and asked an associate for help. He said we should be able to find it based in his directions alone and refused to take us to the item. Eventually a customer who heard us asking for help took us to the very corner of the store where the item was. That's pretty bad although the customer service received seems to average out.

Home Depot scammed me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased a roof for my home from Home Depot in April 2011 and have been fighting since to have it properly installed. I paid with my Home Depot credit card. During one of my many calls to the customer service department, I was asked if I wanted to dispute the charge. I agreed it was worth disputing and that my roof (still to this day) is not satisfactorily installed. The dispute was opened on May 9th, 2012.

The dispute was finalized in my favor and $12,110.00 was provisionally credited to my account on September 9th, 2012 with a note that if further “significant evidence” was found that the amount would be reapplied to my account. I called the customer service and asked what “significant evidence” would entail and how much more investigation would there be. I asked these questions as $12,110.00 is a lot of money and with the initial letter opening the dispute claimed that the initial investigation could take up to 60 days, and by the time I received the letter stating that the charge had been reversed was 128 days, double what was quoted.

I was told that it was closed and no further investigation would be completed. However, around October 1st, 2012 I received a phone call from the Phoenix office asking if someone could come down and inspect the roof and make sure that everything was taken care of. On October 6th, 2012 a gentleman came down to my house and instead of getting out a ladder to get on the roof, he pulled out some paperwork. He explained that this form was a copy of a previous form that I had signed and that the person who had the form in Atlanta “had died” and because they “had died, no one can find the paperwork that was originally signed.”

Reviewing the paperwork, I noted that the form was a Customer Service Order form and stated that the work to be completed was to fix some exposed nails, torn shingles, and repaint the metal trims and that those specific items were completed. It also states that the balance remaining was $0.00.

With the suspicious circumstances surrounding this, I asked the gentleman if this had anything to do with the disputed charge. I was told that it had nothing to do with the charges and that it was only replacing a lost form. I reluctantly signed the form, the gentleman never did go on top of the roof and he left. Several weeks later I received a letter dated October 18th stating that the $12,110.00 has been reapplied to my account and that “Additional information has been received that provided significant evidence for the amount to be reapplied to your account.” Attached to the letter was a faxed copy of the form I signed on October 6th, 2012.

This was clearly a scam to trick me into signing a form stating that the roof had been satisfactorily completed in an attempt to defraud me of the amount that was returned to me. This is obviously a bait-and-switch, which is an illegal practice in the United States. I am writing for corrective action in returning the credit of $12,110.00 back to my account. Home Depot cheated me out of a properly installed roof, and then scammed me into paying for it after the disputed charges were dropped from my account. Permanently re-credit the $12,110 back to my account, zeroing my balance.

Home Depot 'At Home Services'
By -

I felt compelled to chime in responding to another post I saw about Home Depot's window program. A gal had been in the store pricing windows and ultimately agreed to an appointment with a salesman in her home at the behest of the store associate. She was miffed to find that the 'Home Services' salesman had different windows to offer than the store millworks department.

As a THD At Home Services, Inc. salesman, I deal with similar frustrations daily. The Home Depot has two distinct programs for replacement windows. One that offers a wide array of products and prices for 'do-it-yourself' projects and another that entails a turnkey replacement of existing windows (or roofing, siding or seamless gutters). My personal preference is to have my associates in the store 'spread the word' about our installed services and to offer an in-home appointment with someone like myself - a well trained sales consultant.

In the home, we offer the same basic tenets that have grown The Home Depot into the world's second largest retailer. These are Convenience, Selection, and unbeatable customer service. If, after an in-depth consultation and quote, the customer does not desire to use the 'At Home Services' program, a good sales consultant will happily refer the customer back to the store to learn about window pricing that is exclusive of installation, delivery, installation warranty, ancillary products necessary for installation, disposal, clean up, and the peace of mind that comes from using the nation's largest home improvement retailer and the nation's largest replacement window contractor - The Home Depot.

I realize I may sound like an orange-blooded cheerleader for my employer, but as a 27 year veteran of the remodeling industry, I can say that there is very real value in using The Home Depot's installed services. Issues can and will arise in any remodeling project. I have witnessed my company 'making things right' when 'Chuck in a Truck' may not have been able to.

The Home Depot organized the 'At Home Services' division in response to customer demand about 8 years ago. Prior to that time, customers with larger projects than they cared to attempt by themselves were sold the necessary products off our shelves and referred to installation contractors who could install the store-bought products. If there was a problem with the installation, the customer had to contact the independent installer. This arrangement was flawed as The Home Depot lacked quality control on the installation side.

No matter how unrelated to us, a third party installer could tarnish the impeccable reputation that The Home Depot has earned. Nowadays, a customer that contracts with The Home Depot for replacement windows enjoys the peace of mind of having every aspect of the project backed by The Home Depot.

The Home Depot's prices are generally in line with the local market. This alignment is carefully monitored by individual 'Program Merchants' that are assigned to their respective trades. One cannot easily compare windows off the shelf to windows that are installed. It would be like comparing apples to those yellowish, odd little fruit that slices up in the shape of a star. The company's challenge is to raise awareness of their 'At Home Services' division.

Through the program, customers can have a huge array of products installed for them - as well as have electrical, plumbing, and HVAC services performed for them. Requests for quotes can be made online (, in the store, or by calling 1-800-HomeDepot. The 'At Home Services' division often has fantastic discount programs as well. I am currently able to offer my customers 10% off of the bottom line on premium installed roofing, siding, windows, seamless gutters, home insulation and storm protection systems.

We also have roofing, windows and home insulation that qualify for the Economic Stimulus Tax Credit of up to $1500. This is a true tax credit, not a deduction from one's income - real money to offset the costs of installing energy efficient products in the home. Through our occasional credit promotions, folks using the Home Depot Credit Card can have energy efficient products installed at a 10% discount and have their tax credit money before the project is due for payment.

This is possible as the company occasionally allows 12 months 'same as cash' - no payment / no interest for 12 months. The company also has other financing options that help make larger projects very affordable to folks with good credit. I hear very often after a consultation that the customer learned a great deal about the project they are considering by having me offer a consultation and quote.

That's a free education folks - whether or not you buy from The Home Depot. 'Pete in a Pickup' may scribble a dollar amount on the back of his tattered business card. Your At Home Services Sales Consultant will give a thorough presentation of our wares and field all questions with superb product and industry knowledge. The note I'll close with is this: The estimate is free - It costs one nothing but 60-90 minutes in the comfort of their own home to learn about great products, services and financing options.

Unethical Business Practices - Do Not Buy A Roof From Home Depot
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- On March 16, 2009 we had purchased jobs for roofing and insulation for our home at the address above by R (cannot use his real name on this website), a Sales Consultant at the THD At-Home Services from Bitter Lake/Seattle address, among other Home Depots around town. He's described as a weird old man with a mustache from the 1900s that curled up at the ends who proclaims he worked with the government in the past and that he was a former home inspector. He said he spoke several languages, but his Cantonese was pretty awful.

Because of Home Depot's reputation for good service at their stores, we decided to trust him and hire Home Depot for our home improvement project. They presented themselves above all roofing companies, promising a lot for a fair price. However, our decision directed us toward the wrong path. Unethical practices from the sales department and billing/accounting by Home Depot revealed the truth.

My brother and I spoke to sales consultant during the estimation on March 16th about the work that we are hiring the Home Depot to do. We stated that we were concerned about our roof, which is 20 years old. Recently a leaking from the flashing near the range hood area in the kitchen has occurred, creating a water stain on the wall. There was also a mold problem in the attic space, but after inspection during the estimation, R concluded it was mildew.

During the estimation/consultation, the sales consultant had promised things that were basically lies. For one, R said that the Home Depots hiring process goes through a rigorous process, background check and drug test. This made me believe that the roof workers were employees of Home Depot. This is further from the truth; the company hired an outside source, Golden Seal Roofing, probably the highest bidder for this project. This wasn't revealed until the roofing company came knocking on my door to start reroofing.

The sales consultant lead us to believe there was a law made in 2006 which is illegal for King County homeowners to place new roofing material on top of old material. He also persuaded me to tell my father, who doesn't understand English very well, that it was completely illegal. After things started to unravel, I further researched this so called fact; I discovered there is no such law that states this.

The King County law says that if it is over three layers, it's restricted; however layering new shingles on top of old is fine as long as it abides to this rule. ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK THE INFORMATION ANY SALES PERSON TELLS YOU BEFORE SIGNING A CHECK, EVEN IF THEY ARE FROM A COMPANY YOU THINK IS RELIABLE.

The sales consultant then continued to talk about ventilation during the consultation. My brother and I were concerned about proper ventilation, especially since there is a mildew problem in the attic. Also, we explained that our ventilation holes on the front and back of the house were blocked with wood because of the birds around our neighborhood nesting inside. He said that those would be taken out for better ventilation and small screen netting would be needed to keep the birds out. None of this was done. I have yet to get a response from the sales consultant regarding this issue after emailing him.

We asked if the wood under the shingles would be replaced due to the dampness and mildew from the Northwest weather and also deterioration because of the age. Among the many lies during our consultation, he said they would replace the OSB with plywood. This was not done either.

After the roof was installed, during our own inspection, to our shock, many of the promises made were not completed. When I spoke to him over the phone on March 23, 3009 in the evening (the same day the roof was installed), he said that replacing the OSB with plywood was what we agreed on. I assumed this would be corrected immediately.

The next day on March 24, 2009, he came by the house two hours late and started retracting what was said. He basically backtracked what we agreed upon during our initial consultation and finally gave me the warranty information. The warranty on the paper says the first 12 years are non-prorated, but he tells me this is actually 20 years. After reading many complaints against Home Depot roofing, I'm beginning to believe how Home Depot does not honor this contract.

During our conversation, the sales consultant said he spoke with the project manager the night I called. The project manager said that only the area where the ventilation shaft for the kitchen's stove top hood needed the plywood. The sales consultant started to say that they had to keep the cost down by not replacing the old OSB for plywood. Again, this is all new information after the fact the roof was done.

The sales consultant finally showed me our itemization – approx $ 6,500.00 which was bundled into Timberline roofing material and cost of labor, this never included the cost of plywood. He further continued to say that the OSB wood we have on the roof did not have a problem and it was strong enough to hold in the nails. None of this was revealed during the consultation.

He then proceeded to rant on how mold and mildew will fall off the OSB board in the attic once there is proper ventilation. Again this was new information never presented prior to me signing a check. He also backtracked and said that if the roof did need new plywood, he would have come out and checked out the roof himself and would have given me a higher estimate. This guy was unbelievably deceitful.

I naively assumed this was all included in the materials and labor cost, since the total cost was so high. When he finally showed me his paperwork, the material and labor costs was bundled up together under the category Timberline. They still have yet to give me a proper itemization with the breakdown in actual cost, including materials, labor, material removal, and many other fees.

The sales consultant also recounted that the itemization could have been made if the customer asked. The lame itemization that bundled everything together under the name Timberline would not have given me what I wanted. When I asked by email for the itemization on March 18, 2009, he called me at home, asked me why I was even asking and told me he couldn't give me one and said that the estimate is 60% for materials and 40% in labor.

If you broke it down, it cost approx. $3900.00 for the Timberline roofing materials and $2,600.00 for labor cost. Additionally, he charged $1,100.00 for exhaust ridge vent and flashings for chimney and drip edge. Truthfully, Home Depot had charged me over 100%+ the amount it would have cost me to have the roof professionally done.

Home Depot has continues to give me wrong information and is completely unprofessional during the roofing process. On March 18, 2009, Wednesday, Home Depot Services called and spoke to my brother. The person said that the project manager will meet with me in the next morning to re-measure and they will start Monday to reroof.

When the project manager came the next day to re-measure, he said that the roofing company will call to schedule when a good time to reroof would be when I tried to confirm if it was Monday. He didn't know when they would come. No one called to confirm.

Monday morning comes along and I hear a knock at 9 am and roofing company showed up. I spoke to the owner of Golden Seal Roofing asked why they didn't call to confirm. His answer was “Why?” They started at 9 am and finally ended work at 2 pm, which totaled 5 hours of work for $2,600.00 for labor cost.

Lies after lies, the sale consultant's presentation included how Home Depot purchases large amounts to keep the cost low for consumers, but in all honesty they over price everything and outsource the work. We have decided to cancel the insulation job, calling the THD At-Home Services in Renton to do this. They charged us a 25% cancellation fee because they have already purchased the insulation material. The cancellation fee totaled approximately $400.00, outrageous! After realizing how deceitful and money hungry Home Depot is, they have lost our family as long time customers.

Had we known how unethical Home Depot is with their business practices, we would have never contracted Home Depot for any of the services. Always cross check information and never ever buy a roof from Home Depot or any other services they provide.

Home Depot Roofing Alert
By -

A Home Depot roofing salesman came to my parent's home yesterday, 09/02/2011. I sat in the other room as the salesman spoke with my elderly parents, 92 and 85. My parents did not sign a contract with the representative after I convinced them to get other quotes.

The long and short of it is that the guy was a con-man. He spoke of peace of mind, the reputation of The Home Depot, the large number of shady, non-licensed roofing contractors in the state of RI, etc. He had a binder filled with the names of non-licensed companies in the state of Rhode Island. He also spoke of being a family man, his church and his parents.

He quoted $14,000 to re-roof my parent's house. Knowing that the price should be in the $400 a square neighborhood I was shocked when I heard the $14,000 figure, getting up and going into the other room to join them. (I try and give my parents a sense of self-reliance.) The roof is 15 square. The price should have been in the $6000 range. I said nothing about the price to the salesman, just made sure they did not sign a contract.

The salesman realized he was not going to make a sale at $14,000 so he lowered the price by $800, saying that he would give them the Architectural Grade shingle for the same price as the, "entry," shingle, saving them $800. The two types of shingles are the same price, he simply raised the price on one to discount later in the pitch. Still sensing no sale, he offered a 10% senior discount and 12 months interest free, along with a great deal on the HD credit card. The sales representative would not leave the written quote unless they signed that day.

Reading other similar Home Depot roofing reviews, many as far back as 2003, it is obvious that these very shady sales practices have been going on for a very long time. It is hard to imagine that HD is not aware of what is going on, if not outright encouraging such behavior. Stealing is bad, we all agree, but preying on the elderly doesn't get much lower.

Beware of Bad Roofing
By -

WASHINGTON -- We recently had a new - high quality roof installed on our house. We were promised that a Project Manager would come and review the work that was being done - and then get up on our roof to inspect it to make sure it was installed correctly! That never happened!

We recently had some rain (yes - we live in WA State!). My husband found that water was running down onto our furnace coming out of a vent. I immediately called the Home Depot Store in our area to let them know our roof was leaking. They found an Installation Manager who would come out and take a look. When he arrived - he looked up from the street and told us that the flashing was too small. He then said that he would have someone come out the next day to fix it - that he was too old to get up on the roof.

Well, the next day came and went - no roofer. WE called him back and he told us that the roofer had to go to a town about 45 minutes away to pick up the parts needed to fix this. Then - it was another few days before he showed up - only to come when no one was home - no call to let us know he was coming. He left a note - that was found in our bushes stating that he was there - and that he had fixed the problem! When my husband got home that day - he immediately could tell that nothing had been done! Same flashing - same problem!

Fast forward 2 weeks later - still no repair - even though we have been called - apologized to - and yet - NOTHING has been done! Today a couple roofers came out when I was home alone - stated that we didn't need a smaller flashing - that he screwed the pipe in tight - and put some sealer on the joints! When my husband got home - he was livid! They had put black tar all over the flashing - and told me it was fixed! What a joke!

We called the store manager - and he wasn't in! We talked to the Asst. Manager and he told us basically he could send them an e-mail - WE could do that! He told us - he can't "make them" come out if they don't want to! We are so upset - and have made the decision to take our business elsewhere!

Roofing & Gutter Installation By Home Depot Expensive And Faulty
By -

MEDFORD, MARYLAND -- When I realized my roof needed to be repaired, I had several estimates, including Home Depot. Home Depot was the most expensive but they were willing to start within a week and showed up on time to give the estimate. The estimate seemed comprehensive and detailed. The installers showed up on time and cleaned up the majority of the debris. They did leave some leftover wood and shingles hidden behind the garage. They replaced my wooden gutter with new aluminum. When I asked them about the new gutters being larger than the wood ones, they said there was no problem. To my dismay, they cut off all the rafter tails (an architectural element of my historic Craftsman home).

Several months later, after a big rainstorm, the roof leaked and a big hole appeared in my living room leaking water. To make a long story shorter, there have been repeated leaks in the same spot. The installer has returned for the 5th time, and "discovered" that some areas of the roof were not shingled. Additional leaks and disintegration of interior walls have occurred. I requested that the installer repair the plaster ceiling. After I requested him to re-plaster the ceiling the installer's solution was to put drywall tape & mud on the cracks and paint.

Now I have a network of 6 inch seams and bumps. They did not even sand the joint compound. In the meantime, the roof was not angled properly and now drains off the end of each roof down a remaining rafter tail which is now rotted. I asked for flashing to be installed to redirect the water. After the 4th request, drip edge was inserted under the shingles, which partially fixes the problem but is unsightly.

The process of making a claim is also very convoluted - first call GAF and get a claim number, they call Home Depot and you get another claim number for the problems with installation. If there is resulting damage, you get another claim number and customer service person to remedy the damage. 2 years after installation, I now have a damaged ceiling in the living room, the bedroom, new damage in the dining room, and several rotted rafter tails.

Home Depot does not feel they are liable to fix the wet wood in the attic or replace the rotted wood. My advice is Home Depot is overpriced and their installers are not professional. During one repair session, I found the installers turning over boxes and emptying donation plastic bags to use for their trash.

Watch The Workers On Your Property
By -

LOS ANGELES COUNTY, CALIFORNIA -- While I must say the new roof on my house passed city inspection and seems to be just fine, I do have a problem with the workers, who on the last day, just before leaving, decided to strip all but one of the green fruits from my mandarin orange sapling. They did not even bother to pick them properly, merely yanking the fruit off, leaving pieces of skin attached to the stem, which could have broken the fragile trunk. Thank God I had the tree staked or it would have been broken in half for sure.

I had locked the gates the night before, got up early to unlock them. At that time the fruit was on the tree...I know, because it is on my way to the gate and the stark white of the remaining skins would have caught my eye. When I brought it up, the worker's supervisor ** stated, "Did you SEE them do it?" Hello, I'm the victim, not you. The fruit was there in the morning and after the last guy left it was gone.

**, having called the workers, said they had not used the back gate even, which was not true as I had seen some of them go out, including one who was sweeping the walk just inside the gate. I was told my car in the driveway would be locked up that night for me, though around 9 P.M. I went to check and it was unlocked and the back gate left wide open.

After you take care of a little sapling tree for a year is it so wrong to be upset at having the fruit thoughtlessly stolen? The fruit wasn't even ripe! Just don't turn your back on these guys. If they'll steal when they're outside, I can't imagine what they'd do in your house!

By -

Hello. I have also recently had a roof installed by the Home Depot. I got five quotes before I chose a company to do my project. I had a couple local contractors give me some real low quotes, a larger local home improvement company that gave me a real large quote and Home Depot that was somewhat in the middle. Home Depot and the Capizzi Home improvements both went though the scope of work they do and why certain aspects of the roof need different materials.

Home Depot explained they install and weather stopper roofing system that has many components that are required for them to install i.e. ventilation and rubber leak protection. Capizzi explained a similar system to me without a fancy name, but they were overpriced. I then being a smart consumer as I do consider my self one, researched this "roofing system" and found it on GAF's website **. I was happy to see it really existed and saw the value in having it protect my home.

I decided to have Home Depot install my roof the original installation was scheduled for a Friday but the day before the coordinator called to reschedule because she was concerned about the weather the following day. At first I was upset but then realized she was just looking out for my home. The next day it rained all day. We rescheduled for the following week. The day of the installation the crew showed up early to get started.

The Project manager was there in the morning although he did not stay for the whole project he assured me that I was in good hands. About an hour in to it one of the workers came to inform me that I had some rotten wood that needed replacing. I knew this was a possibility and asked if I could see. Because it was so high up on the roof he showed my pictures on his digital camera. They replaced 5 pieces of ply wood and informed me once again that it would be an additional cost.

They finished the project in one day and cleaned up to perfection. I was expecting to have to clean up a lot from what I had heard from friends after their roofs had been done. Not only did they rake my yard they used magnets to get all of the nails that ended up in my yard. All in all I was very happy with the project that was done. The project manager returned the next day to inspect my roof and collect final payment. I informed him I was very satisfied with the project.

After he collected the payment he told me that GAF the shingle manufacturer would be out in 6-8 months to do ANOTHER inspection of the installation. I realize I probably could have saved some money by going with one of the other guys but I am sure I would have not gotten the same quality roof or service.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Roofing Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
30 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
Compare Home Improvement Companies