Home Depot Windows and Doors

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
75 reviews & complaints.

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Special Order Blinds
By -

GREENWOOD VILLAGE, COLORADO -- On 4/6/10 I met with an associate about having blinds ordered and installed for 19 of our windows in our new-build home. We paid the $85 deposit for the installer and were given the sample book to take home and select our blinds.

On 4/10/10 the installer had come over to our home to measure our windows for the blinds. He wasn't the most professional, as our home is a new-build and we have new carpet. He kept his shoes on (and did not have any kind of shoe covers) as he walked through our home.

On 4/15/10 I went in to the Home Depot in Greenwood Village (store number 1509) and met with another associate in the window/blinds department. She had said that they were running a sale on their Bali Today blinds of 30% off. She had also said that they had some in stock in the color that we were looking for, however, that we would be better off ordering them from the manufacturer because they can cut the blinds more accurately.

Originally, I had wanted to go with the real wood, but she assured me that the faux wood would have been better because that they were more fade-resistant in the Bali brand. I also wanted to go with the cordless option, but she had told me that it was not available with the blind that I was selecting. So, after discussing these items with her, I opted to go with the Bali Today brand, in the faux wood, with the cords. She placed my order and said that it would take anywhere from 7 to 14 days for the blinds to be delivered to my home. She said that most of the time the blinds tend to "trickle" in (they do not all come in one shipment), and that they typically start arriving in 5 days. I paid the full amount of $2,029.09, and awaited my blinds.

4/30/10: It has been two weeks + 1 day, and we still have not seen one single box arrive. An associate for Home Depot called me and informed me that my blinds were on back-order and that they would not be delivered for another 14 days. She said that they should be at my home by May 14th. She said that she was "sorry" and that was all that she could do.

5/14/10: It has been two weeks from the previous phone call, and we still have not seen one single box arrive. This time, I did not get a call from anyone at Home Depot.
On 5/17/10 I sent an email to the CEO as I was extremely frustrated that it was over a month ago that I had ordered and paid for my blinds, and still did not have any product. I also submitted a complaint on Home Depot's website, in hopes that someone would be able to find out what was going on with my order. Around noon, I received a call from a corporate employee who informed me that she worked for the CEO and was responding to my email. She asked me if I had heard from the store manager. I told her no. She said that she had called him and asked him to call me in reference to the issue. She said that she would call him back again. 6:30 pm: the store manager called me and had also sent me an email requesting to speak with me about the blinds order. His email stated the below:

I would like to speak with you about your window covering order as well ensure you receive your order complete and to your satisfaction. I apologize for the time it has taken to receive your order and am currently working to find the answers as to where and when it will be arriving. Please feel free to call or e mail me at your convenience so we can discuss all the issues and ensure this is resolved immediately.

I called him back shortly after receiving his voicemail. He was apologetic in the situation and had assured me that he was doing everything he could to locate my order. I expressed my frustration and how I was perplexed that my order was so difficult to locate. He said that he would do everything that he could to make sure that we get our blinds and that we were happy with the results. I discussed discounts/rebates/compensation for the inconvenience and the time and he said that he would like to make sure that we get the blinds first and that they are satisfactory, and then he would discuss any kind of monetary compensation after that point. He said that he would call me back the following day before noon to let me know what had occurred.

On 5/18/10 the store manager called me back around 11 am and had informed me that my blinds had been put on back-order due to some issues that they were having from the manufacturer and that they had to be shipped from China. He also stated that my blinds would not be arriving to my home until June 16th. He said that if I wanted to go with a different manufacturer, then he could see what kind of a time-frame we would be looking at for delivery. I clearly stated to him that if I go with that option, then I would like either a comparable or better quality blind, that I do not want to pay any additional money for them, and that I would like them within a reasonable time-frame. By now, a reasonable time-frame to me was within 5-10 days. He agreed, and said that he would check with different manufacturers to see what he could come up with. He called me back around 2pm and said that he could offer me a Levolor blind and that it could be delivered by June 4th. I had asked him if that would be an additional charge (as I am aware that Levolor is a more expensive blind) and he told me "No, it will not be an additional charge." Not completely satisfied, I agreed to go with that option. He said that he would have his Install Expeditor call me. He also gave me her phone number.

By about 3pm, I still had not heard from the expeditor, so I called her. She said that she had just spoken with the store manager about the issue (this was an hour after I had initially talked to the store manager). She said that if I wanted to come in and pick out the color then she could call the manufacturer to make sure that they were in stock, and we could order them. I agreed, and told her I could leave work and would be there in 30 minutes. 3:30 pm I met with the expeditor in the store, and selected a color in the Levolor blind. She called the manufacturer and they said that that color was on back-order. Becoming more frustrated, I agree to just take the sample book home and try to select another color that might be a good match to my home. She told me that if I wanted to give her a call the next morning with my color selection, then she could get the order in. She said that if she placed the order before noon, then it would be processed that same day. I agreed that I would do that, and left with the sample book.

On 5/19/10 I called the expeditor back (per our conversation the previous day) at 8:05 am. I left her a voice message with the three color selections that we had picked out and had asked her to call me back. After not hearing from her, I called her back again at 11 am. She had stated the day before that if we got my order in before noon, then it would process that same day. I was trying to make sure that my order got in before noon. I left her another voice message. I also called the store manager at 11:50 am to find out if maybe his expeditor wasn't in. I ended up having to leave him a voice message as well. At 1:20 pm, I went in to the store to return the color sample book. I still had not heard back from the expeditor. I went to the service desk to ask for her, and the associate behind the desk asked for my name. I told her, and she said, "first and last name"? She said that she saw my file sitting on the expeditor's desk. This was frustrating because she had never called me back The expeditor came up to the front desk, and said that she had not checked her voice messages. She had not checked her voice messages from 8 am until 1:20 pm? Why would she not check her voice messages when she had my file on her desk and was awaiting my call? I gave her the three color selections, and she called the Levolor office to make sure that they were not on back-order and that they had the colors in stock.

After about 10 minutes, she was able to confirm with them that our first color selection was in stock. She verified with them that it would take roughly fourteen days for them to be manufactured and delivered to me. She said that they would be delivered around June 4th. Still not 100% satisfied with the delivery time-frame, I elected to go with that option. I gave her the specifics of what I needed and left the store. The store manager called me back at 2:40 pm to inform me that there was an issue with the pricing. He said that because we were going with the cordless option (which I had wanted in the first place, but was told it was not available with the type of Bali blind that I was ordering). He said that I would have to pay an additional $1,400 if I wanted to go with the cordless. This was completely contradictory to our previous conversations. I had told him that I did not want to pay any additional money. He was the one who had suggested the Levolor blind, but had assured me that there would not be any additional charges for the blinds themselves. He also did not mention any additional charges for any kind of upgrades. Not wanting to completely come unglued on the phone, I asked him if I could just call him back within an hour to figure out what I wanted to do next.

I called the store manager back at 3:40 pm and told him that I would just go with the corded option, as I did not want to pay Home Depot any more money. I also asked him if there was any way that he could expedite the shipping (as I'm fully aware that there is not anything that can be done about the time that it takes to manufacture and cut the blinds). He said that would most definitely look in to that. Then he informed me that we had another pricing issue. He said that because I was going with the Levolor blind that there was another $1,700 difference. He said that he was only authorized for up to $1,000, and that he would either need to get approval from his corporate office for the additional $700, or I would have to pay for it. Again, I did not want to pay Home Depot any more money. So I asked him to go through his corporate office to get approval. He said that he could not guarantee that they would approve it, and if that were the case then we may have to just go back to the Bali order the one that would not get to me until June 16th. He said that he had already sent in the request to his corporate office (to the same woman that I had spoken with), but did not have a phone number to call her. I told him that I had the phone number, and gave the phone number to him. He told me that he would call her "right now" and then would call me back. He never called me back that day.
On 5/20/10 at 7:46 am I sent the store manager an email asking what the status was on the approval that he had submitted. I also asked him to please reply to me via email, as I was going to be in and out of meetings during the following two days and did not want any information to get convoluted or lost in translation. At 9:10 am I received the following email back from the store manager (he had also copied the corporate employee on this email):

My apologies I was under the understanding that you were going back to speak to your husband and would call me back in an hour after we spoke at 3:40. We spoke to the $1700 difference in cost for and the portion in difference you were potentially going to incur. As for the partnership with Customer Care. I have only been able to leave messages for _______ at Customer Care and inform her of our conversation. I have yet to hear back from her at this time. I will be in contact with you as soon as I receive a reply.

My reply:
Actually, I had called you back at 3:40 (after we spoke at 2:40) and I had already spoken with my husband. You had told me that you were only authorized to cover $1,000 of the $1,700 difference and that you were going to have to get approval for the additional $700 from your corporate office. I'm not trying to be petty here, I just do not want to pay an additional amount for an error that was not created on my end. I'm not sure if you recall, but in prior conversations that we had had, you had offered me to go with the Levolor blind because you had said that it would be shipped to me prior to the time that Bali would be able to ship my order (original date should have been 4/29/10 then it was delayed to 5/14/10 and the new date that you had given to me was 6/16/10). You had also assured me that this would be to no additional cost to me. I am just trying to make sure that that agreement is being honored. I hope that you can appreciate my frustration with this whole issue, as all that I'm trying to do here is receive a quality product that I have already paid for. Thank you for your effort and your attention to this matter and I look forward to hearing back from you.

I called the corporate employee at 1:55 pm (because I had not heard back from either one of them via email or via phone) to find out what the status was on the above email. She more or less had no idea what I was referring to. She said that the store manager would not have sent the request for compensation to her, but that it should have gone to someone else. I tried to explain to her that this was not a compensation issue, but was more of an order issue. She said that she would call him right now to find out what the status was, and would call me back. She called me back at 2:15 pm with the store manager on the line and he told me that the overage was too excessive and that I would have to go with the Bali blind. That would mean that I would still have to wait until June 16th for delivery. And even then, he could not guarantee that date. He said that he could give me $500 back. I told him to just cancel my order and I want a full refund for my blind order and that I will never shop at Home Depot again. The corporate employee told me that it would take about 7 days for my credit card to be refunded. We'll see if that takes another 4 weeks

There are three issues here that I'm extremely upset about. First of all, I paid for a product (in full) that I never received. The estimated time frame kept on being pushed out, but no one bothered to let me know exactly what the issue was, or even looked in to it. Second was that the store manager made had offered me a product that he was not able to uphold/support. Third was that I wasted about another week's worth of my time, only to be back at square one. Oh, and I still don't have any blinds.

     
Replies
Ordered a Matching Bay Window Through the Home Depot....A Simonton Bay Window
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKE ORION MICHIGAN, MICHIGAN -- I was lied to by the Home Depot sales representative I told him that I wanted a bay window that would match the Bay Window in my Living Room. Match means same color inside and outside, as all the windows in the house was white inside and out. Match means the same size window panes. Match means the outside and inside structure would be the same.

The Sales Rep cancelled our 3:00pm appointment because he said...."he had been given a 2:30pm appoint on the same Saturday." He called us at 2:45pm. I asked him to call us after he was through with his 2:30pm. appointment to set up an appointment for Sunday as he had to work. He never called and arrived during our dinner hour. The Man I thought was writing down all the information I was giving him, plus he took many pictures of the window that he was going to reproduce. He measured everything, but never wrote it down as far as I can see. He had me sign a blank page that indicated my down payment. I asked him what the new Bay Window will cost, and he said......"he would have check a few things and call me back on Monday, Monday Afternoon at the latest." He never called on Monday or Tuesday. I finally got through a daisy chain of four corporate women that said "they have no authority as to this matter but will call another woman who called the sales representative to call me.

After waiting 2 hours I when through the daisy chain again, and again received no call from the sales representative It is the next day and through the daisy chain I was able to get a hold of the sales manager Jeff, and was no help because of a very week spine. His position does not allow him to make any decisions or he is afraid to make any decisions. Meanwhile, the installing company came to check on the sales representative paperwork.

Mike was a very nice gentleman....and when I told him I wanted a duplicate of the living room bay window..... size of window panes, exterior and interior white, the seat is to be insulated along with the sides and top. He took notes and many pictures. He stated "........that he did not trust the sales representative " during our discussion about my frustration.

When the delivery and installing the bay window it was noted that a major part of the interior was birch instead of white, The window panes are smaller than the one to be copied . We lost four inches off the center window, which can be seen from the street. I wanted a balance, as both original windows we balanced from on the house and could be seen from the street. The outside of the new Bay Window is built in a colonial style that does not match the original Bay Window.

As of this date, the Home Depot window fogs up with high humidity (Four Times from July 19th. While all my other windows made by North Star did not fog up either time. I also asked the Home Depot Sales Rep.If they sell any other brand of windows that I could select from, and I was told "......that is my only choose, The Simomton Brand. When I went to Home depot I was shown several brands including Anderson, which I would have chosen. The Presidents of Home Depot and Simonton will not talk to me.

My only choice is to take them all to District Court #52 in Rochester, Mi. Which my attorney has already started . And do every possible to get the sales rep. and the sales manager fired.

     
Replies
Install Door Cause Blackout My House for 2 Days, and Insist Because of My House Is Defected.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- Contractor of Home depot finally complete installation of front door. I requested to everything to Homedepot include installation.

Then my house had blackout from that night. I though it was breaker down or electric panel broken so I called electrician to check.

What a surprise, when they install the front door, they use long nail to hit electric tube inside drywall cause short for electric of my living room. It cost 850$ for fix so I took piece of paper proof why electirc tube broken because of nail hit and I took pictures and go to Home Depot.

They(Mr. Supervisor of customer support of installation) insist "electric tube cannot be close to door"."electric tube inside drywall should not be close to door that's your house' fault, Home Depot can nothing they can do"

HOW COME I CAN CHECK ELECTRIC TUBE INSIDE THE DRYWALL. Electrician told me there is not illegal location or location was right place and even staple to the side of front door, there is enough space if they did not use long nail so there is no illegal location, no contract of installation said location of electric tube.(actually location of electric tube is right place.)

-I paid $50 extra money for checking the house before installation.
-not illigal location no contract of installation told me location of electric tube.

  • only reason they break it because using long nail and hit electric tube cause 2 days blackout.

why I change the door? why people buy the new door and install?
A, because of there is no door for house? no!
B, because of the door does not work for open and close? no!
C, because new door has some new technology such as wireless network? same for 50 years!

Because we want house LOOKS BETTER.

Now the cracking of drywall (they break it, but they insist there was almost crack before installation, so they don't fix it. ugly!) with huge big hole with ugly electric tube inside for one week and no response from the supervisor.

I try not complain quality of the door installation was lower than average quality. (lock seem loose, location of lock is not straight,) cracked drywall because of the wall had hairline. Cost of installation was 1.5 to 2 times expensive than regular contractor. But long nail hit electric tube and make my house blackout for 2 day and it cost $850 for fix it. It takes 4 days already with keep opening drywall because Home Depot inspector need to come to my house check 5 days!!

And their response was "electric tube inside drywall should not be close to the door."

Please tell me any customer convinced by this response and agree their response?
"oh sorry I should open drywall and checked the location of electric tube before requesting installation of front door." I don't' think so. They think we do not have any knowledge about electric tube, so try to cheat us to convinced me with such a stupid excuse. We are very lucky electrican was at home and that was totally not truth. (this supervisor of Home Depot try to cheat me and avoid responsibility. His position call "supervisor of customer support of installation"

What I hear from them and their attitude and what I can hear is only:

"HOME DEPOT DOES NOT CARE CUSTOMER"
"HOME DEPOT DOES NOT CARE CUSTOMER"
"HOME DEPOT DOES NOT CARE CUSTOMER"

     
Replies
Terrible Door Install From Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

ST.LOUIS, MISSOURI -- We purchased a door from HD. Upon entering your store we found the exact entry door and storm door that we wanted. We began the process, by scheduling time for someone to come measure our door. The guy came out and measured. We were told we couldn't place the order for our door until the measurements were sent back to HD. After a week and a half we finally got the go ahead to come in a place our order. We arrived at HD to order the doors we wanted. We spent at minimum 3 hours in your store placing our order. We were told that our door would have to be custom ordered due to the measurements. Every single option that we picked out for our custom door, didn't work. We were told that certain doors can only be ordered in certain sizes and certain colors we wanted were unavailable for our size door (custom ordered door mind you). FINALLY after we had to settle for colors and doors that we originally didn't pick out but these were our only options, we ordered our door. We were then told we had to wait for the installer to call us in a week so we could schedule the install. AFter two weeks, we finally got fed up and called HD about not being contacted. HD eventually got tired of not being able to get a hold of the installer as well and gave us the installers number so we could contact them personally. We did this, and were told by the installer that we couldn't schedule a time to install until our doors came in. So then we called HD back and they advised us that our custom order door was on back order and it would be an additional two weeks before it would come in. This process took almost TWO MONTHS!!!! Finally we called the installer after we got word that our door was in, he said he couldn't get to us for another two weeks!!!! We called HD to see if there was another contractor they could send out as the holidays were arriving soon. FINALLY we were promised an install date.
The installer came out, was installing the door, we noticed that the door was crooked to the right. My husband then got his own level out and started checking the door... the installer came rushing up to him shewing him away from the door, demanding that we not check his work and "its not going to be flush, it won't be straight. I don't know why you are checking it!" I asked why it was crooked. He yelled at us and said, "This is the best I can do, you'll just have to deal with it!" We told him absolutely not would we just deal with it after we spent more than $1500 on this door and $400 alone was for install. He said, "too bad." He then said, "If you don't like the work I have done then I am not going to install your storm door." We contacted HD immediately and they asked to speak to the installer. We handed him our phone to speak with Franchesca and they began arguing over the phone. Franchesca and a pro installer by the name of Tom, came out to our house within a half hour. They seen the crooked door right off the bat and were very frustrated with the installer I believe his name was Jim? who works for the company DEM. They started going over options on how to fix the door and we were told by Franchesca that they "would take care of us." The next day we were scheduled for the same install people to come out and work on the door again. They arrived and simply added a wider frame to make an illusion that the door was straight. Our door has a center glass oval which is very obvious just by looking at the door that the glass is leaning (door is crooked). After a few days we had no word back from Franchesca on how she was going to take care of us after dealing with the installer, a permanently defected crooked door and the money we spent on a crooked install. We called her and she offered us $150 !!!!! We paid $400 alone for the install. Which was a botch job. She then directed us to the stores assistant manager Steve Hatch. He told my husband that he could only give us $150. I then contacted Steve and expressed my frustrations. He then said the next day we would be contacted by his boss Cindy Gillatti?? It has been two days and we have yet to be contacted. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED not only for the unprofessional work ethics of the people that represent HD, the crappy crooked $1500 door that was installed, and the lack of customer satisfaction guarantee we have received. We have lots of friends who have just purchased homes and have asked us who put our door in a where we got it from, this does not represent HD well at all. And I am not shocked by the amount of bad reviews I have found on the internet about HD service. We will be taking our business elsewhere from now on for all of our projects on our new home, if this is not corrected.

     
Replies
Special Order Lead Time
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DOWNERS GROVE, ILLINOIS -- Two weeks ago I placed an order for an entry door and a storm door at the Home Depot. The receipt for my order said the estimated arrival date for the entry door was 5/25/12 which was slightly sooner than the 10 day window the salesperson had given me -- so I was delighted. Well, yesterday I decided to check online to see what the order status was. It had been changed to 6/4/12 for both doors...hmmmn. Later in the evening, I looked again and the date had changed yet again. This time it was 6/15/12. Uh-oh and not good. You see, we moved into a distressed property and the doors I ordered are replacing doors that are barely usable (not to mention very NOT secure).

So I called the store. "Dan"...the guy in the door department promised to look into things with Jeldwen today and said he knew they had been having some production delays. He said he would call me back today, which he did. He then proceeded to tell me that 6/15/12 was indeed when the doors were expected and that when the order was put in "they" had some incorrect SKU numbers. I don't know who "they" are...but I do know that it is ridiculous to have to wait a month for a door that really isn't very custom at all. I'm very upset with Dan, Home Depot and Jeldwen and am on the verge of cancelling the order altogether and buying doors off the floor from Menards or Lowes. I asked Dan why "he" told me 10 days when I was in the store and he had no reply. He also tried to blame the other guy in the door department who actually wrote the order.

I've purchased storm doors from Home Depot in the past and had pretty good luck. I guess the caveat here is...if you need something the least bit special, be prepared for Home Depot to mess up the order or fail to process it in a timely manner. You might get the right merchandise...eventually...but you'll need to be very, very patient. This is why people will go to retailers who charge 3x or even 4x Home Depot prices -- just so they don't get jerked around.

     
Replies
Home Depot Ordered the Wrong Sized Windows -- Refuses to Exchange Them
By -

FLEMINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- I ordered new windows and doors from Home Depot -- $22,000 worth including installation, on January 18th, 2006. Prior to that, specifically, on December 30, 2005, Home Depot sent its subcontractor, B n B Associates, out to professionally measure, for which Home Depot charged me $30, to be applied against purchase, should I choose to buy their windows and have their subcontractors install them, which I did.

The windows included two Andersen 400 bay windows, three Andersen 400 double windows, and seven Andersen 400 single windows, plus three replacement sliding windows for the basement. In addition, I ordered an Atrium patio door and a new Feather River front door.

After many delays, the windows and doors were finally delivered on March 15th, and installation was scheduled for March 20th and 21st.

The installers, the same B n B Associates, showed up, and the crew chief informed me that most of the windows were the wrong size, as was the patio door. (B n B faxed their measurements over to Home Depot, which then placed the order -- and for the most part, B n B's measurements were correct.) For example, the patio door, which was supposed to fit a rough opening of 80" high and 66" wide, was in fact 96" (8 feet) by 66". The bay windows were much too narrow and too short. As the installers had removed one of the bay windows first, and couldn't replace it, they had to install the too-small one, "building in" the rough opening by about 4 1/2" on each side, and by about 2 1/2" on top and on bottom. As regular, or even wide decorative molding, was too narrow to mask the framing, they used 5 1/2" wide plywood to do the job, which really improves the appearance of my family room. Moreover, although my original (Andersen) window was a 30 degree bay, the one installed was 45 degrees, which doesn't match the cornice above the window.

The other bay window, which was to go in the dining room, was also too short and too narrow, and I told the contractors not to install it. In addition, all the windows for the second floor of the house were the wrong size. Some were too short, some were too wide for the rough opening, and four (out of seven) were both too short and too wide. They weren't installed either. As for the front door -- the original one was a double door whose master door was on the right, as one faces the house. The one they installed had the master door on the left. I reluctantly accepted that, provided the doorbell was relocated from right to left. (It hasn't been, so far.)

The next day, Home Depot's Zone Manager came out to speak with me and with the contractors. She assured me that all would be straightened out, and that I would get the right sizes.

The following day, however, the Zone Manager called me and said there were "discrepancies" in my store, and demanded that I attend a meeting to take place at the local Home Depot, which is Store 0941 and which is located in Flemington, New Jersey. At the meeting, I was informed by the zone manager and others at the store that Home Depot would not exchange my windows. The reason? A month earlier, I had realized that they ordered the wrong-angle bay windows, by using standard trigonometric formulas to prove that, which made me, in their eyes, an "expert." This should serve as a go-to-sleep call for all you readers now in high school; paying attention in your trig class may prove detrimental to your wealth. Home Depot did, graciously, agree to replace my 8' door with one the correct size.

I immediately starting contacting Home Depot's Customer Care department. Every time I was connected, I was routed to a call center in India where the representative was always very polite, but unable to do anything. Finally, I got a Customer Care woman in Atlanta, who heard my story, and agreed to help me. But when I called her back, she said that the store had E-mailed her, saying that I was unhappy with the measurements that were taken, and insisted, over the store's objections, in selecting the wrong sizes, saying "I'll make them fit." A total lie.

Finally, I got ahold of the store's corporate Conflict Resolution Department. The person handling the New York and New Jersey area wrote me a letter saying that I did my own measurements, and thus was responsible for my own errors. Again, a complete lie, and one easily disproven: I sent him records of the credit card receipt for the measure, a copy of the measure itself, and lots of other documentation. If I did my own measurements, how would Home Depot know they were wrong, and try to dissuade me from ordering those sizes in the first place?

The Conflict Resolution specialist then agreed to reexamine my situation. A week later, he called me on my cell phone while I was out jogging, and told me that while I did prove that Home Depot measured before the order was placed, I was still responsible, since I initialed something saying that custom orders weren't returnable. The fact that this wasn't a custom order to begin with -- everything purchased was of a stock size, seems irrelevant to Home Depot.

After being rebuffed by the Conflict Resolution Specialist, I called Jose Lopez, who is Home Depot's Corporate Senior VP and Chief Customer Officer. I told the woman who answered the phone my situation, and told her I was sending Lopez the same material I sent the Conflict Resolution Specialist. She seemed very cooperative, and even gave me Lopez' floor location so the material would arrive sooner. I told her it would go out by Express Mail the next day (Thursday, April 27th), and that he'd have it Friday (April 28th).

I sent the material Thursday morning, and that afternoon, I got a call from some woman in Atlanta who said she was in the same department. With a sugary-sweet Southern accept, she asked me if I needed anything, then proceeded to tell me that Home Depot was standing by their decision not to exchange the windows, and that this would be the last communication I would receive from Home Depot. I very impolitely, in my best Tony Soprano New Jersey accent, told this woman to go to hell, but before that happened, I'd see them all in court.

I have since filed complaints with the Hunterdon County Department of Consumer Affairs, who normally try to mediate complaints, but in my case have forwarded the material on to the New Jersey Attorney General's Office. I have also filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission, and have retained an attorney.

As for that patio door Home Depot agreed to take back? On March 31st, two people from the Flemington store came by with a pickup truck to take back the window, which they did. They also had some paperwork for me to sign, which was an order for a door 80" high and 72" wide, again, the wrong size. I refused to sign it (there was no credit for the old door, so if I had signed it, I'd own two doors that don't fit).

I have yet to receive either a new door nor a refund for the old one.

     
Replies
Replacement Window Installation Nightmare
By -

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- Last year we hired Home Depot to replace some windows in our home. It was supposed to be done before the end of December, but the man who came to measure them did it wrong. When the installers came to put the windows in, they didn’t fit. New windows had to be ordered, and the whole process was pushed back a couple of months.
When the installers came again, we were the victims of the worst possible work. Naively, I thought they were Home Depot employees. I had no idea that they were subcontractors with their own “company.”
First, they smashed the windows out without taping them or doing anything to make sure the glass did not go all over our yard. All they had was a tarp one story or two stories below the windows to catch the glass. This was in the midst of a windy winter day.
They used a reciprocating saw to cut the wooden frames of the windows out. In the process, they damaged our existing moulding. That was ignored.
They got caulking on the floor and tracked it throughout our first floor. Again, that was left for us.
However, the worst part of the job did not immediately come to light, and that was the extreme amount of broken glass left all over our yard and driveway. We did not immediately realize the glass was there because there was snow on the ground. As the snow melted and our dog’s feet were cut, we recognized what we had been left with.
For two months we attempted to rid our yard of glass by picking it up as we saw it. The problem was that the area involved was extensive. Not only had the installers smashed out windows on two sides of our house, but they had drug the tarp covered with glass around the house and to the driveway. Glass was being dumped the entire time.
Finally, in early April I contacted Home Depot about the problem. They claimed to be very supportive of our situation. However, one of their resolutions was to send the same incompetent crew of window installers back to pick up the glass. We had already told them that a professional landscaper said the only way to clear the area of glass was to scrape it off and put in new sod. However, we were subjected to the people who caused the problem again being in our home.
They picked up glass for a couple of hours and came to tell my husband they were done. He walked out and promptly picked up another hand full of glass. When he showed them, they stayed for another ½ hour and left. No surprise, our yard is still full of glass.
We were then told to get a professional to come out, evaluate the situation, and place a bid to resolve the problem. We had two companies come out. However, now that the bid for repair has been submitted, we are being jerked around again.
It has been over two weeks, and we are now told that it may take up to 90 days for their insurance company to approve repairs. That means that the bulk of the summer will be spent avoiding our yard because it is still dangerously glass covered. Plus, by the time they approve payment, it will be too late in the summer for sod to be put down. We will then be left with a huge area of exposed dirt once the glass filled sod is scraped off.
The bottom line…We paid to have windows replaced. We trusted Home Depot to send us quality workmen. They sent us subcontractors who did a terrible job, and we are still dealing with the aftermath.

     
Replies
Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DAVIE, FLORIDA -- My hurricane protection (accordion shutters) and impact windows (two jobs) were ordered from Home Depot April 23 (along with a garage door and front door). I was assured and reassured on at least four occasions the job would be done before or around the first part of hurricane season (June 1). Only after threatening to cancel the job did anyone bother to come out and measure the windows/shutters. This was done on May 16 wherein the contracted measurer said he would put in the job/order that evening or the next day and I would get a call the following week about installation which should take about 3-4 weeks or less. He further stated everything would be done at the latest by mid June. I received a call around the first part of June and was told a permit was applied for on June 5. Yesterday (June 14) I received a call whereby I was informed the eta for the windows was July 10. JULY 10??? I asked about the hurricane protection and was informed they wouldn't do that until AFTER the windows were installed. A separate job having nothing to do with the shutters...Furthermore I was told as of June 18, no permits had been applied for yet. THREE MONTHS FOR HURRICANE PROTECTION AND WINDOWS?????? It was bad enough it took two months for a front door to be installed but THREE MONTHS. I've called several shutter and window companies and have been told four weeks max. Home depot has intentionally put my property at risk, has intentionally and purposely caused stress and undue hardship. Home depot knew fully well what the installation time was but weren't truthful only to get the job. I wouldn't hire Home depot to install a kitty litter box . I was going to go to Home Depot for a kitchen remodel, and new carpet and tile. That will be a cold day in hell. So this is a warning... if you want bad sex, go to Home Depot for installations, they'll screw you every time.

     
Replies
Botched Door Install
By -

JENSEN BEACH, FLORIDA -- I purchased 2 sliding doors from Home Depot at a cost of $3500 which included install.

The contractor came to the house measured everything and the doors were ordered.

30 days later the door arrivied and the installer came out to install.

When he had 1 door inplace, I noticed that the bottom track did not fit in as it should. The door track was 3 inches higher than the floor.
For the doors to fit properly, the concrete that the doors have to sit on has to be dug out. The contractor advised me that he does not do that type of work and if it was done then the top of the doors would have to be brought down as well, which the contractor does not do as well.

I went to Home Depot and advised the sales staff. They called the contractor and the install was stopped.
The contractor had already discarded my original door so he had to leave the door with the bad track in place and unfinished. The placed duct tape around the door to keep the cold air from blowing in. (mind you it has been the coldest Dec on record in FL).
He had also started some work on the other door which at this time looks really bad, but the original door is in place and working.

Home Depot said they would try and find something that would work on my doors.
2 days later after not hearing anything from Home Depor I called and went into the store. I spent 3 hours with the sales person trying to find a door that would meet the measurements. (According to the staff my door entryway is not standard)

Finally the sales staff and myself found something that would work. The doors worked out to $70 more than what I had really wanted. The new doors are not really what I want but it is all that could be found.

Home Depot was going to put together another sales receipt but couldn't at the time because they could not remove the doors that did not fit from the bill until they were back in the store. The account manager said it would take a day and she would call.

It was Christmas so I gave them 4 days, but no call, so I called back. The Account manager said that the installer wanted $1100 more for the install since it was a different type of door and Home Depot thinks I should pay that.

I told them at this time I have not agreed to the install because we cannot agree on a price. That the botched job was not my fault. Home Depot had the responsibililty to make sure the correct product was delivered as I am not the expert in the field, and that I what I was paying them for.

The account manager said she had to talk to her manager and would get back to me.

That is how it is left at this time.

I have already paid for the doors with a Home Dpot Credit card I got at the time of purchase.

My doors look like C#$p. There is now way they can reinstall the original doors as the contractor discarded the first. I have duct tape falling off the walls which was supposed to be my primary insulation around the doors.

It will take another 30 days to get any new door to my house, which will make it 2 1/2 months since I first went into the store to order them.

I am not going to pay another $1100 or more for the install, and if that is what they want then I want my doors back the way they were. Unfortunately the installer threw away the original doors so the cannot be put back in.

I am very unhappy with Home Depot
I have an appt with an attorney in the morning.
I thought I could rely on Home Depot

     
Replies
In-home Designer Knows Little About Window Treatments
By -

SIMI VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- THIS IS TO WARN ANY PROSPECTIVE SHOPPERS NOT TO USE HOME DEPOT'S "IN-HOME DESIGNER SERVICE" FOR ANY WINDOW TREATMENTS.

We called our local Home Depot to have their in-home designer help us choose new shades for windows in three different bedrooms. We ordered the custom-made Roman shades on July 20/10 and they charged our credit card that day for the entire amount (over $5500!!). They came to install the shades on August 12/10. Because our master bedroom windows are quite large, the Roman shades with so-called "easycord" manual lift system were VERY HEAVY to lift and to lower. We asked the installer immediately about the stiffness, and he said it's "normal". But within a couple of days, my husband and I both got calluses from handling the thin, not at all "easycord" system, which also got tangled up with the bottom of the shade.

We called Hunter Douglas, who did not take any responsibility for products sold by Home Depot. We called Home Depot and the designer, who came to inspect the shades on Aug. 21/10 and she said it's "normal". We demanded our money back, since the shades were so impractical we wanted to throw them out the window! She said we could install a remote-controlled lift system for an additional $1600+. We felt trapped! It was the only way to deal with the daily opening and closing of the blinds in our bedroom, so we ordered the remote control system, and they charged us the same day. They came to un-install the shades on Sept. 15/10, left us with no window treatments at all, and we've been WAITING ever since for them to re-install the shades.

This is over THREE MONTHS and over $6500+ later and we're still left without any window treatments in our master bedroom!!? Is this the best HD can do? Now we know why some people go to 3-day blinds stores?

We are so disgusted with Home Depot, we'll NEVER shop there again for anything! They are the worst "designers" and installers we've ever dealt with. We've moved a lot in our lives and lived in six different states, and we've NEVER had this much problem with any window treatments ever!?

STAY AWAY FROM HOME DEPOT! They're irresponsible, unprofessional crooks, who take your money, but don't deliver the goods!! Should we start charging them interest on the money they took from us in July?

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >