Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Windows and Doors Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Storm Door Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- My wife and I have been trying to buy new storm doors for our home for over a month now. We went into Home Depot one day and waited for service, but nobody seemed to be staffing the department. We finally went and found someone who didn't have the product knowledge to help us. We left when it became obvious there was no one who could really help us. A few days later, I stopped into a different Home Depot and went to the doors and department, and once again could find no one to help me.

I find it interesting that HD has a surplus of people to greet you when you come into the store, but they lack staff with knowledge of the actual products they carry. About three weeks ago we went into the original store again and found one staff person manning the doors dept., but we waited our turn until we finally got him to help us. He told us that we would need to pay $30 up front to have their contractors come out and measure our doors.

The next week the contractors called and came out and left a card saying they had gotten the measurements. They said that Home Depot would be contacting us with a full estimate. We waited for a week but didn't hear a word from HD. We called, but they had no estimate for us and promised to get back to us later that day. They didn't. So now we're out the $30 and still have no storm doors or even an estimate. After many years of being a loyal Home Depot customer, I'm through with Home Depot. This is the poorest customer service I've ever experienced anywhere.

Replies
Advertisement
Refused to Return My Deposit, Employee Payback for Canceling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARMINSTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- Two months ago I had Home Depot come to my house for an estimate on a new front fiberglass door. Employee John ** was super friendly and left with a $750 deposit. He explained that I had a three day right of rescission and they needed to do a final measurement. No order was placed at this time. I had two more estimates which were much cheaper than Home Depot so I cancelled on the third day. John ** acknowledged this and said my deposit would be returned within 10 days.

Ten days passed and my deposit was not returned. Over the next two weeks I send numerous emails and leave voice mail messages for super friendly John ** who is totally ignoring me. Finally I get lucky and catch him on the phone. He plays dumb and says he needs to contact Corporate and will get back to me. Another two weeks pass with no response. During this time I'm still emailing and calling him. I now go to customer service at the store. They tell me this is a separate department that they have no control over. I'm further told that to contact super friendly John ** directly. WTF!!

Enough is enough. I return to the store and demand to speak to the manager. Politely I explain what you have just read. He contacts super friendly John's big boss and assures me I will get my deposit back. Five days later they do a direct deposit into my checking account. Conclusion: I am totally done with Home Depot for any kind of home improvement. If I have this much aggravation over a deposit I can only imagine the frustration if they did the install and there was a problem.

Replies
Home Depot Stole Nearly $200 From Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HYANNIS, MASSACHUSETTS -- My daughter and I bought my husband an electric smoker for Father's Day. He decided to exchange it, with the cash receipt, for a gas one. The clerk made an error and issued a store credit to make the exchange. When he opened the box of the gas smoker, it was so severely damaged, it would not have worked. He immediately returned it, and requested our money back.

Even with receipts for all transactions, the store manager and the representative at 1-800-HomeDepot, say they can only give us store credit because the clerk did a store credit on the first exchange. That was their fault, not ours. And now we have a credit for a store we will NEVER visit again.

Replies
Replacement Window Installation Nightmare
By -

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- Last year we hired Home Depot to replace some windows in our home. It was supposed to be done before the end of December, but the man who came to measure them did it wrong. When the installers came to put the windows in, they didn't fit. New windows had to be ordered, and the whole process was pushed back a couple of months. When the installers came again, we were the victims of the worst possible work. Naively, I thought they were Home Depot employees. I had no idea that they were subcontractors with their own “company.”

First, they smashed the windows out without taping them or doing anything to make sure the glass did not go all over our yard. All they had was a tarp one story or two stories below the windows to catch the glass. This was in the midst of a windy winter day. They used a reciprocating saw to cut the wooden frames of the windows out. In the process, they damaged our existing moulding. That was ignored. They got caulking on the floor and tracked it throughout our first floor. Again, that was left for us.

However, the worst part of the job did not immediately come to light, and that was the extreme amount of broken glass left all over our yard and driveway. We did not immediately realize the glass was there because there was snow on the ground. As the snow melted and our dog's feet were cut, we recognized what we had been left with.
For two months we attempted to rid our yard of glass by picking it up as we saw it. The problem was that the area involved was extensive. Not only had the installers smashed out windows on two sides of our house, but they had drug the tarp covered with glass around the house and to the driveway. Glass was being dumped the entire time.

Finally, in early April I contacted Home Depot about the problem. They claimed to be very supportive of our situation. However, one of their resolutions was to send the same incompetent crew of window installers back to pick up the glass. We had already told them that a professional landscaper said the only way to clear the area of glass was to scrape it off and put in new sod. However, we were subjected to the people who caused the problem again being in our home.

They picked up glass for a couple of hours and came to tell my husband they were done. He walked out and promptly picked up another hand full of glass. When he showed them, they stayed for another ½ hour and left. No surprise, our yard is still full of glass. We were then told to get a professional to come out, evaluate the situation, and place a bid to resolve the problem. We had two companies come out. However, now that the bid for repair has been submitted, we are being jerked around again.

It has been over two weeks, and we are now told that it may take up to 90 days for their insurance company to approve repairs. That means that the bulk of the summer will be spent avoiding our yard because it is still dangerously glass covered. Plus, by the time they approve payment, it will be too late in the summer for sod to be put down. We will then be left with a huge area of exposed dirt once the glass filled sod is scraped off. The bottom line…We paid to have windows replaced. We trusted Home Depot to send us quality workmen. They sent us subcontractors who did a terrible job, and we are still dealing with the aftermath.

Replies
Advertisement
Special Order Blinds
By -

GREENWOOD VILLAGE, COLORADO -- On 4/6/10 I met with an associate about having blinds ordered and installed for 19 of our windows in our new-build home. We paid the $85 deposit for the installer and were given the sample book to take home and select our blinds. On 4/10/10 the installer had come over to our home to measure our windows for the blinds. He wasn't the most professional, as our home is a new-build and we have new carpet. He kept his shoes on (and did not have any kind of shoe covers) as he walked through our home.

On 4/15/10 I went in to the Home Depot in Greenwood Village (store number 1509) and met with another associate in the window/blinds department. She had said that they were running a sale on their Bali Today blinds of 30% off. She had also said that they had some in stock in the color that we were looking for, however, that we would be better off ordering them from the manufacturer because they can cut the blinds more accurately. Originally, I had wanted to go with the real wood, but she assured me that the faux wood would have been better because that they were more fade-resistant in the Bali brand.

I also wanted to go with the cordless option, but she had told me that it was not available with the blind that I was selecting. So, after discussing these items with her, I opted to go with the Bali Today brand, in the faux wood, with the cords. She placed my order and said that it would take anywhere from 7 to 14 days for the blinds to be delivered to my home. She said that most of the time the blinds tend to €œ'trickle'€ in (they do not all come in one shipment), and that they typically start arriving in 5 days. I paid the full amount of $2,029.09, and awaited my blinds.

4/30/10: It has been two weeks + 1 day, and we still have not seen one single box arrive. An associate for Home Depot called me and informed me that my blinds were on back-order and that they would not be delivered for another 14 days. She said that they should be at my home by May 14th. She said that she was €œsorry€ and that was all that she could do.

5/14/10: It has been two weeks from the previous phone call, and we still have not seen one single box arrive. This time, I did not get a call from anyone at Home Depot. On 5/17/10 I sent an email to the CEO as I was extremely frustrated that it was over a month ago that I had ordered and paid for my blinds, and still did not have any product. I also submitted a complaint on Home Depot's website, in hopes that someone would be able to find out what was going on with my order.

Around noon, I received a call from a corporate employee who informed me that she worked for the CEO and was responding to my email. She asked me if I had heard from the store manager. I told her no. She said that she had called him and asked him to call me in reference to the issue. She said that she would call him back again. 6:30 pm: the store manager called me and had also sent me an email requesting to speak with me about the blinds order.

I called him back shortly after receiving his voicemail. He was apologetic in the situation and had assured me that he was doing everything he could to locate my order. I expressed my frustration and how I was perplexed that my order was so difficult to locate. He said that he would do everything that he could to make sure that we get our blinds and that we were happy with the results. I discussed discounts/rebates/compensation for the inconvenience and the time and he said that he would like to make sure that we get the blinds first and that they are satisfactory, and then he would discuss any kind of monetary compensation after that point.

He said that he would call me back the following day before noon to let me know what had occurred. On 5/18/10 the store manager called me back around 11 am and had informed me that my blinds had been put on back-order due to some issues that they were having from the manufacturer and that they had to be shipped from China. He also stated that my blinds would not be arriving to my home until June 16th. He said that if I wanted to go with a different manufacturer, then he could see what kind of a time-frame we would be looking at for delivery.

I clearly stated to him that if I go with that option, then I would like either a comparable or better quality blind, that I do not want to pay any additional money for them, and that I would like them within a reasonable time-frame. By now, a reasonable time-frame to me was within 5-10 days. He agreed, and said that he would check with different manufacturers to see what he could come up with. He called me back around 2 pm and said that he could offer me a Levolor blind and that it could be delivered by June 4th.

I had asked him if that would be an additional charge (as I am aware that Levolor is a more expensive blind) and he told me "€œNo, it will not be an additional charge." Not completely satisfied, I agreed to go with that option. He said that he would have his Install Expeditor call me. He also gave me her phone number. By about 3pm, I still had not heard from the expeditor, so I called her. She said that she had just spoken with the store manager about the issue (this was an hour after I had initially talked to the store manager).

She said that if I wanted to come in and pick out the color, then she could call the manufacturer to make sure that they were in stock, and we could order them. I agreed, and told her I could leave work and would be there in 30 minutes. 3:30 pm I met with the expeditor in the store, and selected a color in the Levolor blind. She called the manufacturer and they said that that color was on back-order. Becoming more frustrated, I agree to just take the sample book home and try to select another color that might be a good match to my home.

She told me that if I wanted to give her a call the next morning with my color selection, then she could get the order in. She said that if she placed the order before noon, then it would be processed that same day. I agreed that I would do that, and left with the sample book. On 5/19/10 I called the expeditor back (per our conversation the previous day) at 8:05 am. I left her a voice message with the three color selections that we had picked out and had asked her to call me back. After not hearing from her, I called her back again at 11 am.

She had stated the day before that if we got my order in before noon, then it would process that same day. I was trying to make sure that my order got in before noon. I left her another voice message. I also called the store manager at 11:50 am to find out if maybe his expeditor wasn'€™t in. I ended up having to leave him a voice message as well. At 1:20 pm, I went in to the store to return the color sample book. I still had not heard back from the expeditor. I went to the service desk to ask for her, and the associate behind the desk asked for my name. I told her, and she said, "Fœirst and last name€"? She said that she saw my file sitting on the expeditor'€™s desk.

This was frustrating because she had never called me back. The expeditor came up to the front desk, and said that she had not checked her voice messages. She had not checked her voice messages from 8 am until 1:20 pm? Why would she not check her voice messages when she had my file on her desk and was awaiting my call? I gave her the three color selections, and she called the Levolor office to make sure that they were not on back-order and that they had the colors in stock.

After about 10 minutes, she was able to confirm with them that our first color selection was in stock. She verified with them that it would take roughly fourteen days for them to be manufactured and delivered to me. She said that they would be delivered around June 4th. Still not 100% satisfied with the delivery time-frame, I elected to go with that option. I gave her the specifics of what I needed and left the store.

The store manager called me back at 2:40 pm to inform me that there was an issue with the pricing. He said that because we were going with the cordless option (which I had wanted in the first place, but was told it was not available with the type of Bali blind that I was ordering), he said that I would have to pay an additional $1,400 if I wanted to go with the cordless. This was completely contradictory to our previous conversations. I had told him that I did not want to pay any additional money. He was the one who had suggested the Levolor blind, but had assured me that there would not be any additional charges for the blinds themselves. He also did not mention any additional charges for any kind of upgrades. Not wanting to completely come unglued on the phone, I asked him if I could just call him back within an hour to figure out what I wanted to do next.

I called the store manager back at 3:40 pm and told him that I would just go with the corded option, as I did not want to pay Home Depot any more money. I also asked him if there was any way that he could expedite the shipping (as I'€™m fully aware that there is not anything that can be done about the time that it takes to manufacture and cut the blinds). He said that would most definitely look into that. Then he informed me that we had another pricing issue. He said that because I was going with the Levolor blind, that there was another $1,700 difference.

He said that he was only authorized for up to $1,000, and that he would either need to get approval from his corporate office for the additional $700, or I would have to pay for it. Again, I did not want to pay Home Depot any more money. So I asked him to go through his corporate office to get approval. He said that he could not guarantee that they would approve it, and if that were the case then we may have to just go back to the Bali order - the one that would not get to me until June 16th. He said that he had already sent in the request to his corporate office (to the same woman that I had spoken with), but did not have a phone number to call her.

I told him that I had the phone number, and gave the phone number to him. He told me that he would call her €œright now€ and then would call me back. He never called me back that day. On 5/20/10 at 7:46 am I sent the store manager an email asking what the status was on the approval that he had submitted. I also asked him to please reply to me via email, as I was going to be in and out of meetings during the following two days and did not want any information to get convoluted or lost in translation. At 9:10 am I received an email back from the store manager (he had also copied the corporate employee on this email).

I called the corporate employee at 1:55 pm (because I had not heard back from either one of them via email or via phone) to find out what the status was on the above email. She more or less had no idea what I was referring to. She said that the store manager would not have sent the request for compensation to her, but that it should have gone to someone else. I tried to explain to her that this was not a compensation issue, but was more of an order issue. She said that she would call him right now to find out what the status was, and would call me back.

She called me back at 2:15 pm with the store manager on the line and he told me that the overage was too excessive and that I would have to go with the Bali blind. That would mean that I would still have to wait until June 16th for delivery. And even then, he could not guarantee that date. He said that he could give me $500 back. I told him to just cancel my order and I want a full refund for my blind order and that I will never shop at Home Depot again. The corporate employee told me that it would take about 7 days for my credit card to be refunded. We'€™ll see if that takes another 4 weeks.

There are three issues here that I'€™m extremely upset about. First of all, I paid for a product (in full) that I never received. The estimated time frame kept on being pushed out, but no one bothered to let me know exactly what the issue was, or even looked in to it. Second was that the store manager made had offered me a product that he was not able to uphold/support. Third was that I wasted about another week'€™s worth of my time, only to be back at square one. Oh, and I still don'€™t have any blinds.

Replies
Faulty Window Installation
By -

WESTCHESTER, NEW YORK -- In August 2008 we contracted for the purchase and installation of 37 top line windows from Home Depot. I like our new windows- so far. Installation was subcontracted, and there began the problem.. Instructions for installation were on stickers on each window, (I saved one) and included wrapping with insulation (not done) and using predrilled holes to attach windows (not done) and inside and outside sealing. (inside seals developed many gaps).

Immediately the house started whistling with any wind. When winter started cold air could be felled streaming in through the gaps in sealant. Home Depot came several times, blamed "little holes" in sealant, would fix. Eventually one smart guy took off stops and found the lack of insulation and the open pre drilled holes, letting the air in from the outside right into the home- which caused the whistle. He felt windows needed to come out and new windows ordered because they were "cemented in and would be damaged during removal". (This was Christmas and I did not fancy having windows removed during that cold time, so I requested it done early January.)

By that time Home Depot did not want to re-order windows and reinstall, so they assured me it would be equivalent to take off the interior window stops and stuff insulation along three sides of the window from the inside. Plus they would take off something outside and stuff insulation along bottom of window. (nice guy, I requested the one who discovered the problem in the first place, but as you probably realize I am pretty gullible.

I am not sure this way of insulating is as good as if it had been wrapped around the window properly the way it should have been done in the first place). He had to scrape the sealant and putty from the poplar wood stops, which caused some unavoidable damage, and they now look awful, and some were gouged or broken.

He also drilled screws into the existing holes. No more whistles now. I did lots of other things to decrease my oil consumption before last winter. (New storm doors, from Home Depot ha ha), pipe covering, caulking and plastic over the basement windows that were not replace, sealing crawl spaces and lowering the thermostat to 64 in daytime. There was NO decrease in oil consumption. (gallons, not dollars) I checked heating degree days, they were about the same as year before. (Did you know you can do that online?)

So, my complaints were monetary loss from heat loss due to faulty window installation, loss of work for multiple home visits, and a terrible looking inside window frame. (The contract specifies they are not responsible for this, but it looked neat after the first installation. And taking these window stops off a second time really ruined them, had they done it right the first time that would not have occurred.) Home Depot, offered to replace them with pine, but said it was not as good as original poplar.

We settled my collective gripes for a 450 dollar gift certificate (end March). After a while, I had to send a release form, (end April). I am still waiting for this gift certificate and the project manager is so fed up with me, he no longer answers or returns my calls. I expect I will eventually get this 450 dollar gift certificate- maybe even this year, but want to warn every one about Home Depot. I will never contract for any services with HD again! Now, in all fairness, here are the good things.

The windows look and seem to work really nice, and everyone- (well, all the people I have met from Home Depot), tell me they are better than some famous name brand windows. This story also makes for great dinner conversations and a support group, who have followed along with me, through all the ups and downs of this saga. At work, the joke is "did you get your Home Depot check yet". And sometimes at night I miss the howling whistle sound of the wind coming in through the holes in my window frames, very soothing as long as I did not think of the warm air pouring out.

I even made some new acquaintances because I called some other customers that had window installation done by the same company. (HD left a customer list- not on purpose I assume.) So will I ever shop at HD again? Well, I may have a gift certificate, right? So I keep dreaming.

Replies
Lies and broken promises
By -

WASHOUGAL, WASHINGTON -- Promises from Home Depot and not delivered: Install by Home Depot and not an outside contractor. Home Depots point of sale in store and on trucks makes it appear that Home Depot actually installs windows. Asked salesperson and he assured me that Home Depot was doing the install. Spent additional time speaking about this since I would have NEVER gone with them if I knew it was an outside contractor. To clarify his point, the salesperson pointed to his Home Depot smock and said that by having the Home Depot clothes on made him an actual employee.

Excellent quality windows – over 50% had broken glider/rollers from the factory. Expert installation – Installers left metal shards over entire house with no clean-up. Windows were so dirty it took a HD employee 45 minutes per window to clean. Insulation not used when installing new windows letting air and water inside the window. Spaces of up to 4 inches on sides of windows where light and water could come in.

All windows taken out of home first and then the two installers went back to the first window to start the install of the new ones. In 36 degree weather this was a lack of common sense and the furnace had to run extra hard to keep up with the cold. Common sense says that you take one out and install the new one, individually.

A disabled person lives in the second home install having to deal with the cold plus the sharp metal shards. Only 1 drop cloth brought on job that was covered with paint so when it was put down in front of the front door, paint chips scattered everywhere. No drop cloth was used inside or out when installing all the windows. The cloth was thrown inside the homes only.

Shims used on the outside of the windows poking through to the inside on about 50% of the windows. For the insides to be finished, these shims needed to be chiseled out. HD came out to “trim” out the outside of the windows. This consisted of filling in the gap in the “J” channel. The windows do not look professional at all. They should have actually been trimmed using molding over the “J” channel.

Promised quick service but the after the install, HD was to come out and inspect the install. When called the next day after install, homeowner was told it would be two weeks. Only after a loud complaint was this changed. “Everything taken care of by Home Depot, promised “no worries”. This has been the most stressful construction job I have ever been involved with and it has lasted 2 months.

“Go with Home Depot instead of a” fly by night” local outfit”. The installers came a day early with absolutely no identifying marks on their clothes or their truck. It literally looked like an installer and his homeless friend that came to help. Extremely unprofessional in all aspects. Substantial credit promised over 21 days ago and never received.
Promised all completed paperwork over 14 days ago and never received.

Promotional windows at $299 plus a $30 disposal fee, total $329. Actual total was $414 per window with NO documentation given to homeowner as to why the difference. Classic “bait and switch” by businesses on promotions.

Replies
Terrible Door Install From Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

ST.LOUIS, MISSOURI -- We purchased a door from HD. Upon entering your store we found the exact entry door and storm door that we wanted. We began the process, by scheduling time for someone to come measure our door. The guy came out and measured. We were told we couldn't place the order for our door until the measurements were sent back to HD. After a week and a half we finally got the go ahead to come in a place our order. We arrived at HD to order the doors we wanted. We spent at minimum 3 hours in your store placing our order. We were told that our door would have to be custom ordered due to the measurements.

Every single option that we picked out for our custom door, didn't work. We were told that certain doors can only be ordered in certain sizes and certain colors we wanted were unavailable for our size door (custom ordered door mind you). FINALLY after we had to settle for colors and doors that we originally didn't pick out but these were our only options, we ordered our door. We were then told we had to wait for the installer to call us in a week so we could schedule the install. After two weeks, we finally got fed up and called HD about not being contacted.

HD eventually got tired of not being able to get a hold of the installer as well and gave us the installers number so we could contact them personally. We did this, and were told by the installer that we couldn't schedule a time to install until our doors came in. So then we called HD back and they advised us that our custom order door was on back order and it would be an additional two weeks before it would come in. This process took almost TWO MONTHS!!! Finally we called the installer after we got word that our door was in, he said he couldn't get to us for another two weeks!!!!

We called HD to see if there was another contractor they could send out as the holidays were arriving soon. FINALLY we were promised an install date. The installer came out, was installing the door, we noticed that the door was crooked to the right. My husband then got his own level out and started checking the door... the installer came rushing up to him showing him away from the door, demanding that we not check his work and "it's not going to be flush, it won't be straight. I don't know why you are checking it!" I asked why it was crooked. He yelled at us and said, "This is the best I can do, you'll just have to deal with it!"

We told him "Absolutely not. Would we just deal with it after we spent more than $1500 on this door and $400 alone was for install." He said, "too bad." He then said, "If you don't like the work I have done then I am not going to install your storm door." We contacted HD immediately and they asked to speak to the installer. We handed him our phone to speak with ** and they began arguing over the phone. ** and a pro installer by the name of **, came out to our house within a half hour. They seen the crooked door right off the bat and were very frustrated with the installer I believe his name was **? who works for the company DEM.

They started going over options on how to fix the door and we were told by ** that they "would take care of us." The next day we were scheduled for the same install people to come out and work on the door again. They arrived and simply added a wider frame to make an illusion that the door was straight. Our door has a center glass oval which is very obvious just by looking at the door that the glass is leaning (door is crooked). After a few days we had no word back from ** on how she was going to take care of us after dealing with the installer, a permanently defected crooked door and the money we spent on a crooked install. We called her and she offered us $150!!!

We paid $400 alone for the install. Which was a botch job. She then directed us to the store's assistant manager **. He told my husband that he could only give us $150. I then contacted ** and expressed my frustrations. He then said the next day we would be contacted by his boss **?? It has been two days and we have yet to be contacted. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED not only for the unprofessional work ethics of the people that represent HD, the crappy crooked $1500 door that was installed, and the lack of customer satisfaction guarantee we have received.

We have lots of friends who have just purchased homes and have asked us who put our door in and where we got it from, this does not represent HD well at all. And I am not shocked by the amount of bad reviews I have found on the internet about HD service. We will be taking our business elsewhere from now on for all of our projects on our new home, if this is not corrected.

Replies
Advertisement
Botched Door Install
By -

JENSEN BEACH, FLORIDA -- I purchased 2 sliding doors from Home Depot at a cost of $3500 which included install. The contractor came to the house measured everything and the doors were ordered. 30 days later the door arrived and the installer came out to install. When he had 1 door in place, I noticed that the bottom track did not fit in as it should. The door track was 3 inches higher than the floor.

For the doors to fit properly, the concrete that the doors have to sit on has to be dug out. The contractor advised me that he does not do that type of work and if it was done then the top of the doors would have to be brought down as well, which the contractor does not do as well.

I went to Home Depot and advised the sales staff. They called the contractor and the install was stopped. The contractor had already discarded my original door so he had to leave the door with the bad track in place and unfinished. The placed duct tape around the door to keep the cold air from blowing in. (mind you it has been the coldest Dec on record in FL). He had also started some work on the other door which at this time looks really bad, but the original door is in place and working.

Home Depot said they would try and find something that would work on my doors. 2 days later after not hearing anything from Home Depot I called and went into the store. I spent 3 hours with the sales person trying to find a door that would meet the measurements. (According to the staff my door entryway is not standard.) Finally the sales staff and myself found something that would work. The doors worked out to $70 more than what I had really wanted. The new doors are not really what I want but it is all that could be found.

Home Depot was going to put together another sales receipt but couldn't at the time because they could not remove the doors that did not fit from the bill until they were back in the store. The account manager said it would take a day and she would call. It was Christmas so I gave them 4 days, but no call, so I called back. The Account manager said that the installer wanted $1100 more for the install since it was a different type of door and Home Depot thinks I should pay that.

I told them at this time I have not agreed to the install because we cannot agree on a price. That the botched job was not my fault. Home Depot had the responsibility to make sure the correct product was delivered as I am not the expert in the field, and that I what I was paying them for. The account manager said she had to talk to her manager and would get back to me. That is how it is left at this time.

I have already paid for the doors with a Home Depot Credit card I got at the time of purchase. My doors look like **. There is no way they can reinstall the original doors as the contractor discarded the first. I have duct tape falling off the walls which was supposed to be my primary insulation around the doors. It will take another 30 days to get any new door to my house, which will make it 2 1/2 months since I first went into the store to order them.

I am not going to pay another $1100 or more for the install, and if that is what they want then I want my doors back the way they were. Unfortunately the installer threw away the original doors so the cannot be put back in. I am very unhappy with Home Depot. I have an appt with an attorney in the morning. I thought I could rely on Home Depot

Replies
Do NOT sign a contract with Home Depot
By -

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- April 10, 2008 – I paid Home Depot 1302 (HD 1302) for an estimate for replacement windows for my home. Cost of the estimate was $45.00 which I placed on my Chase card. April 20, 2008 – Based upon the estimate from the HD contractor, I ordered the windows with the following specifications: Desert Sand color and 1/4 inch glass. This was a change from the original estimate that was for white vinyl and standard thickness glass. The cost of the upgraded windows was $5,573.93 which I placed on my Chase card. The contract specified a 5/20/08 delivery/installation date.

July 9, 2008 – The contractor arrived with the windows. The windows were white, not desert sand and were not 1/4 inch glass as specified in the contract. It is evident that HD1302 sent the original specifications to the window manufacturer Jeld-Wen and not the specifications that were in the contract .

July 9, 2008 – I telephoned HD 1302's manager. I requested that my payment for the windows be refunded. ** arrived at my home at approximately 4:35 P.M. and met with me and my father. He handed me paperwork showing a refund of $3,255.59 (I do not understand how that amount was determined.) and a charge for the same amount ($3,255.59). I did not sign the credit card slips, nor the new contract for the windows. We asked why the windows had been reordered, because I had not given permission to reorder the windows as it was already more than a month and a half past the contracted installation date.

The manager avoided the question and promised that “there would be some compensation” for me and my father for the delay, moving all the furniture, taking down drapes, taking down blinds in preparation for the installation of the new windows. However, he was evasive as to the amount and continued to evade the question of why the windows had been reordered. The manager said that he would have the store manager call me. I have not received a call from the store manager.

July 11, 2008 – Drove to HD 1302 and talked to the store manager. Asked why there had been a reorder on the windows and what the compensation would be. The store manager said that compensation would not be discussed until after the windows were installed. I was not satisfied with his answer and called HD' customer service. I talked to “**” (no last name).

July 16, 2008 – Received a phone message from "**" which stated that she was sending a release and that “After you sign a release we will install the windows.” July 17, 2008 – My father called "**" to confirm our interpretation of her message. She confirmed that the windows would be held until the release was signed. My father also talked to her supervisor who also confirmed HD would hold the windows until after the release was signed. My father stated that was unsatisfactory, as there could be additional issues with the windows and/or the installation.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Windows and Doors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies