Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Windows and Doors Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Do NOT sign a contract with Home Depot
By -

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- April 10, 2008 – I paid Home Depot 1302 (HD 1302) for an estimate for replacement windows for my home. Cost of the estimate was $45.00 which I placed on my Chase card. April 20, 2008 – Based upon the estimate from the HD contractor, I ordered the windows with the following specifications: Desert Sand color and 1/4 inch glass. This was a change from the original estimate that was for white vinyl and standard thickness glass. The cost of the upgraded windows was $5,573.93 which I placed on my Chase card. The contract specified a 5/20/08 delivery/installation date.

July 9, 2008 – The contractor arrived with the windows. The windows were white, not desert sand and were not 1/4 inch glass as specified in the contract. It is evident that HD1302 sent the original specifications to the window manufacturer Jeld-Wen and not the specifications that were in the contract .

July 9, 2008 – I telephoned HD 1302's manager. I requested that my payment for the windows be refunded. ** arrived at my home at approximately 4:35 P.M. and met with me and my father. He handed me paperwork showing a refund of $3,255.59 (I do not understand how that amount was determined.) and a charge for the same amount ($3,255.59). I did not sign the credit card slips, nor the new contract for the windows. We asked why the windows had been reordered, because I had not given permission to reorder the windows as it was already more than a month and a half past the contracted installation date.

The manager avoided the question and promised that “there would be some compensation” for me and my father for the delay, moving all the furniture, taking down drapes, taking down blinds in preparation for the installation of the new windows. However, he was evasive as to the amount and continued to evade the question of why the windows had been reordered. The manager said that he would have the store manager call me. I have not received a call from the store manager.

July 11, 2008 – Drove to HD 1302 and talked to the store manager. Asked why there had been a reorder on the windows and what the compensation would be. The store manager said that compensation would not be discussed until after the windows were installed. I was not satisfied with his answer and called HD' customer service. I talked to “**” (no last name).

July 16, 2008 – Received a phone message from "**" which stated that she was sending a release and that “After you sign a release we will install the windows.” July 17, 2008 – My father called "**" to confirm our interpretation of her message. She confirmed that the windows would be held until the release was signed. My father also talked to her supervisor who also confirmed HD would hold the windows until after the release was signed. My father stated that was unsatisfactory, as there could be additional issues with the windows and/or the installation.

Replies
Advertisement
Search For Other Door Stores So You Don't Have To Use Home Depot
By -

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- My husband and I placed an order on 5/14/08 to have a storm security door installed by Home Depot # 6152 (Gateway Mall in Brooklyn). For the most part, the door and the actual installation of the door went fine. The frustrations and terrible service come from the time it took for the door to be ready, delivering the door, and removing the old door and box from our property.

The finish date for the door on the purchase order was 6/13/08. It wasn't ready until 6/23 and I had to call to find out what was up. On 6/23 I made an appointment to have the door installed. She said the earliest appt. was 7/3. So now we had to wait another almost 2 weeks again before we could get our door. The installer comes on 7/3 bright and early just to say that the wrong door was put in the truck, that our door was in the Bronx and first thing on Monday they'll install our door.

Monday, 7/7 comes the installer, calls me at 7 in the morning to make sure they have the right door. "It's a black door, right?" he asks. NO! I ordered a white door. It says white on the invoice. Now he's going to call me back in two hours.

Three and a half hours pass and no call. Where is MY DOOR? So I get out my paperwork to call the supervisors and expeditors. The guy at the first number I called had the nerve to say that the expeditor is out today, call back tomorrow. I tried other numbers. After being put on hold several times and refusing to "call back tomorrow" a few times, eventually someone agreed to look into this for me and would give me a call back.

Instead of waiting, I called the installer again and he said my door was delivered to New Jersey and he'll bring it tomorrow. I asked him what time. 3 p.m. Tomorrow is here. We did some shopping with our kids in the morning because we had until 3 p.m. to be home for the door. We drive into the driveway at 12 p.m. and we see the door box on our porch. Aw, common!

Evidently they were waiting across the street because they came to the house soon afterwards. Like I said before, the installation went fine. The door works fine. I asked the guy "what about the old door?" He says "if you paid for removal, the guys who delivered the door will remove the old door."

I called the guy who I had been calling to deliver the door. He says he's truck is full and he'll pick it up on Thursday (2 days from today). I told him I don't want that big door hanging out on my porch where my kids want to play. Anyway here I am, Saturday morning at 3 a.m., writing this and that big old door is still on my property. We've been calling and calling for them to remove it and it's just excuse after excuse after excuse.

Another thing that I'm mad at Home Depot about is the young lady whom they have taking the door orders told me to make sure I buy the knobs and lock for the door. I bought it right then and there because she stressed that we need it for when they install the door. Come to find out we didn't even need to make that extra purchase. The door came with locks. So now I have to go back to Home Depot and get my money back.

I have 2 more doors to buy but I am NOT going to buy them from Home Depot. The time it took to get 1 door was outrageous. In between the time I placed the order for the door to actually getting it, I got my kitchen cabinets and counters refaced by another company--and they had to make 2 new cabinets for us and install a Microhood. So, Home Depot, I'll use you to get supplies and stuff, but nothing with installation.

Replies
Very Poor Service
By -

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- On February 7th 2008, I signed a contract with Home Depot at Home Services to install Hurricane Windows and a Hurricane Sliding Glass Door on my mobile home. I was told it would take about 2 weeks to order and two days to install.

On Feb. 19th I got a call from Pilar, project manager who told me my installation date is March 5th. On March 5th nobody showed up. On March 13th 3 windows were put in none of them locked. On March 17th Pilar called to see if contractors were there. Told her they told us there was a job with one window left to do and then they would do ours. Per Pilar they were not there either. They didn't show up.

3/18/08 More windows that didn't lock were installed and I was told by that the company knew of this error and they would be switched next week... 3/19/08, contractor went to pick up slider that wasn't there. 3/20/08 called Pilar explained was told Den and Bathrooms are wrong sized. And no locking replacement windows. 4/2/08 One locking window installed by the others haven't come in. Per Pilar, "Be patient on slider. The slider had been put in with a defect in the glass. And a gap in the frame." 4/12/08 Received postcard from asking how I like my new windows.

4/14/08 Called and explained dinged slider not finished, windows don't lock and damaged plaster around windows also paid $85 out of my own pocket to have rug recut. Gave him job number. He said he would check and call back, which he did not. 4/24/08 Pilar on vacation next week, Tim ** is coming Tomorrow with locking windows and slider panel. Reminded her that there are six non locking windows and an $85 gift card.

4/24/08 called $100 gift card is coming from Atlanta, GA. and will fix slider and windows. 4/25/08 Had to show how to reuse locks as replacements don't come with locks. Claims wasn't told that. Checked slider and claims not right and replacement won't fit. But will have a Manufacturers Rep come and check it out. 4/25/08 called Pilar and Explained above. Per Pilar keep calling to get this Straightened out. 4/29/08 Left word to call.

4/29/08 Received bill and 1 year no interest has been shortened to six months per Adrianna will see right date on next statement. (Have I paid anything? NO! Would you?) 4/30/08 Left word to call who called back claims spoke to manufacturer's rep and someone will come out today or tomorrow MAYBE.

4/30/08 Ellie from Security Window and Doors called claims doesn't know why she had to call me. Explained Home Depot installed hurricane windows that did not lock until last Friday and the slider is stuffed with newspaper. Are you the manufacturer's rep who is going to check this out? Claims need P# will call Home Depot and call back. Explained I will have somebody from the local newspaper come and see this as it has been six weeks.

5/1/08 recalled Ellie. She called back befuddled claims. Didn't get PO#. 5/2/08 Called. He called back. Will call manufacturer's rep today and call back. 5/2/08 Explained Nobody has called with appointment. Tim called back says he was told I would get a call that morning, Told him it didn't happen. 5/5/08 Elly claims still no PO# but will schedule me for May 12th at 10:30. Called claims that is the Purchase Order Number/job number that is on my paperwork and that Security Windows has had it right along and he received a fax ten minutes ago that he is filling out for them.

So here it is 11:53 at night. All I want is what I signed up for can anyone suggest anything else I can do? On 5/15 after calling and getting recording several times called back Customer Care this time demanded supervisor. Supervisor set up conference call with Ron ** and Tim ** who promised would get back to me with someone to fix trim. 5/16 both Tims came out replaced and caulked inside trim. Now I got what I signed up for.

Replies
New Windows
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- Salesman told us we would get back 30% of our money on taxes on our windows. When asked, he told me there was no minimum, now we find out that there is a minimum of $500 and possibly $200. Want my money back since I was lied to and am told I will forfeit 1/4 of the purchase. Cannot trust Home Depot.

Replies
Advertisement
Special Order Lead Time
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DOWNERS GROVE, ILLINOIS -- Two weeks ago I placed an order for an entry door and a storm door at the Home Depot. The receipt for my order said the estimated arrival date for the entry door was 5/25/12 which was slightly sooner than the 10 day window the salesperson had given me -- so I was delighted. Well, yesterday I decided to check online to see what the order status was. It had been changed to 6/4/12 for both doors...hmmmn.

Later in the evening, I looked again and the date had changed yet again. This time it was 6/15/12. Uh-oh and not good. You see, we moved into a distressed property and the doors I ordered are replacing doors that are barely usable (not to mention very NOT secure).

So I called the store. "**"...the guy in the door department promised to look into things with Jeldwen today and said he knew they had been having some production delays. He said he would call me back today, which he did. He then proceeded to tell me that 6/15/12 was indeed when the doors were expected and that when the order was put in "they" had some incorrect SKU numbers. I don't know who "they" are...but I do know that it is ridiculous to have to wait a month for a door that really isn't very custom at all.

I'm very upset with **, Home Depot and Jeldwen and am on the verge of cancelling the order altogether and buying doors off the floor from Menards or Lowes. I asked ** why "he" told me 10 days when I was in the store and he had no reply. He also tried to blame the other guy in the door department who actually wrote the order.

I've purchased storm doors from Home Depot in the past and had pretty good luck. I guess the caveat here is... if you need something the least bit special, be prepared for Home Depot to mess up the order or fail to process it in a timely manner. You might get the right merchandise... eventually... but you'll need to be very, very patient. This is why people will go to retailers who charge 3x or even 4x Home Depot prices -- just so they don't get jerked around.

Replies
In-home Designer Knows Little About Window Treatments
By -

SIMI VALLEY, CALIFORNIA -- THIS IS TO WARN ANY PROSPECTIVE SHOPPERS NOT TO USE HOME DEPOT'S "IN-HOME DESIGNER SERVICE" FOR ANY WINDOW TREATMENTS.

We called our local Home Depot to have their in-home designer help us choose new shades for windows in three different bedrooms. We ordered the custom-made Roman shades on July 20/10 and they charged our credit card that day for the entire amount (over $5500!!). They came to install the shades on August 12/10. Because our master bedroom windows are quite large, the Roman shades with so-called "easycord" manual lift system were VERY HEAVY to lift and to lower.

We asked the installer immediately about the stiffness, and he said it's "normal". But within a couple of days, my husband and I both got calluses from handling the thin, not at all "easycord" system, which also got tangled up with the bottom of the shade.

We called **, who did not take any responsibility for products sold by Home Depot. We called Home Depot and the designer, who came to inspect the shades on Aug. 21/10 and she said it's "normal". We demanded our money back, since the shades were so impractical we wanted to throw them out the window!

She said we could install a remote-controlled lift system for an additional $1600+. We felt trapped! It was the only way to deal with the daily opening and closing of the blinds in our bedroom, so we ordered the remote control system, and they charged us the same day. They came to un-install the shades on Sept. 15/10, left us with no window treatments at all, and we've been WAITING ever since for them to re-install the shades. This is over THREE MONTHS and over $6500+ later and we're still left without any window treatments in our master bedroom!!? Is this the best HD can do? Now we know why some people go to 3-day blinds stores?

We are so disgusted with Home Depot, we'll NEVER shop there again for anything! They are the worst "designers" and installers we've ever dealt with. We've moved a lot in our lives and lived in six different states, and we've NEVER had this much problem with any window treatments ever!? STAY AWAY FROM HOME DEPOT! They're irresponsible, unprofessional crooks, who take your money, but don't deliver the goods!! Should we start charging them interest on the money they took from us in July?

Replies
Nothing custom about it!
By -

I highly recommend using a local contractor instead of Home Depot installation. My biggest mistake was in using the Home Depot installation because of convenience and not consulting a local contractor until after the installation problems. First - when the installers arrived they asked for an electrical outlet so they could plug in their battery for the drill and charge it, while charging they sat in their truck and waited. (this was my sign!) I was then charged custom for building up the sill, which is when they place a piece of board under the new door sill to fill in the gap between the old and new sill.

The board used is shorter than the width so I have gaps on both sides that were not filled in with insulation or anything and the board used was not covered with flashing or flashing tape so I have bare wood exposed to moisture, water, and the elements. I was also charged custom for placing 1x4, to fill gap between new door and the house. This also was left bare and is exposed to the elements. Since the installation I have learned from a local contractor that there is always a difference when installing a new door, because the chances of the new and old being the exact sizes are very slim and sill build up and trim fill in is normal in the installation process.

I think the worst part will have to be the trim and what I am left with. The installers removed the old trim and had I had paid for and they had brought the new trim to be installed inside. When it came time to install, it was easier to use the old, which was already cut to size, so they put the old trim back up. The trim has holes from the old nails, the new nail heads are sticking out and the trim has splits in the wood from removing. Nail heads were not sunk, holes were not puttied and the split looks horrible! Then on the outside trim, they removed and reused what was there. Once again I have nails sticking out, holes from the old nails, and they did not line up the trim properly.

I have shingle siding and the previous trim had shims behind so the sides would line up with the header. They removed and did not reuse the shims so the side boards twist at the top and are not level with the header. Everyone's first impression is "what happened?" All I can say is to avoid inferior work, PLEASE - use a local contractor, they guarantee to leave you with just touch up painting to do, whereas I now have to have my trim replaced. I would never recommend nor will I use the installation services of Home Depot again!

Replies
Replacement Window / Bait & Switch
By -

LEESBURG, VIRGINIA -- My husband and I went to Home Depot looking to purchase replacement windows and have them installed. We found what seemed to be a good window in the price range that we felt we could afford. We have 30 windows that need replacements. We spoke to the salesman about the American Craftsman 8500 double hung replacement windows, he provided us with more information and we subsequently decided to schedule an appointment to have the Home Depot rep come to our home to give us an estimate to install them in our home. The salesman said he couldn't give us any price until someone came to the home.

The "sales consultant" came to our home, we sat down and he proceeded to tell us to put all the information we obtained at the store to the side because they didn't install those windows only Simonton windows that they didn't even have on display in the store!! We questioned him about why didn't the salesman in the store tell us this and he told us he was "new". He also told us that they only sold the American Craftsman to be installed by the purchaser - didn't we ever see that big sign on the store that said "do it yourself"!!! (nice huh?)

Of course, the Simonton windows turned out to be VERY expensive, way over what we had budgeted for and we literally wanted to throw the salesman out of our home. He also stated that any other company such as "Lowe's" would come in and basically use "bait and switch" techniques. I told him if anyone was using "bait and switch" it was Home Depot and they should be ashamed of themselves.

Having been loyal Home Depot customers for many years, they are now in our opinion a sleazy operation with false advertising practices and need to re-evaluate their practices and procedures. They wasted our valuable time and we will not be going to Home Depot for any future purchases. Let others beware!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DAVIE, FLORIDA -- My hurricane protection (accordion shutters) and impact windows (two jobs) were ordered from Home Depot April 23 (along with a garage door and front door). I was assured and reassured on at least four occasions the job would be done before or around the first part of hurricane season (June 1). Only after threatening to cancel the job did anyone bother to come out and measure the windows/shutters. This was done on May 16 wherein the contracted measurer said he would put in the job/order that evening or the next day and I would get a call the following week about installation which should take about 3-4 weeks or less.

He further stated everything would be done at the latest by mid June. I received a call around the first part of June and was told a permit was applied for on June 5. Yesterday (June 14) I received a call whereby I was informed the eta for the windows was July 10. JULY 10??? I asked about the hurricane protection and was informed they wouldn't do that until AFTER the windows were installed. A separate job having nothing to do with the shutters... Furthermore I was told as of June 18, no permits had been applied for yet.

THREE MONTHS FOR HURRICANE PROTECTION AND WINDOWS??? It was bad enough it took two months for a front door to be installed but THREE MONTHS. I've called several shutter and window companies and have been told four weeks max. Home depot has intentionally put my property at risk, has intentionally and purposely caused stress and undue hardship.

Home depot knew fully well what the installation time was but weren't truthful only to get the job. I wouldn't hire Home depot to install a kitty litter box. I was going to go to Home Depot for a kitchen remodel, and new carpet and tile. That will be a cold day in hell. So this is a warning... if you want bad **, go to Home Depot for installations, they'll screw you every time.

Replies
Door Department never called with information
By -

HYATTSVILLE, MARYLAND -- 1 Star for Hyattsville MD store only. (5 Star for Silver Spring store.) I went to the Hyattsville MD store on December 14 to get a price and order doors for all of the doors on my house after a burglary on December 7 (2011). This man from the Door Department said the computer was down, or so he said. I gave him my telephone number and e-mail to send me a ballpark figure as soon as the computer was running. After a few days, I called and he said (which I do not believe) that he needed my address -- and still (this is December 29) I have not heard from him. On December 27, I went to the Home Depot in Silver Spring MD.

I said that I was tired of being jerked around by the Hyattsville store and I wanted someone who knew what they were doing. Two very professional people (a man, **, and a woman... I think **) came and got the ball rolling. Within 30 minutes, my order was placed and the company called the next day to set up an appointment for measuring (which they just did). The woman, **, called the next day to confirm the appointment and asked if there was anything else I needed. This Home Depot in Silver Spring MD is 5 Star.

When I called Hyattsville MD Home Depot, the woman disagreed that the door man did not know what he was doing. The "manager" -- if he really was the manager -- just kept saying "Yes Ma'am" and then hung up. He never heard a word that I was saying. So, all I can do is warn people against ever stepping foot into the Hyattsville MD store -- head immediately to the Silver Spring MD store where they know how to be professional.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Windows and Doors Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
84 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies