Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Duet Series Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Whirlpool Duet Front Load Washer Rips Clothes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased this washer in the summer of 2011. By winter 2012, I noticed holes, tears, fabric indents and huge rips at times on clothes, blankets etc. I thought I was possibly overloading but no matter how few items I washed it was Russian roulette not knowing what would get ruined. Looked up model on line to find out hundreds of other consumers have same exact problem.

Called Whirlpool customer service who informed me since it was past the 1 year manufacturers' warranty, it was at my expense to have one of their technicians come do a diagnosis for $300 and then parts and labor to fix. I asked if there was any recall or product defect reported since so many others have had the same problem. Customer service informed me there was not and nothing further they could do.

What a disgrace that a washer slightly over a year old that should last for years has a defect like this! All consumers who were duped into purchasing this defective product need to get a class action lawsuit against Whirlpool. This huge corporation has decided to look the other way while consumers pay the price for not only the cost of a new washer but all the clothes it has ruined and stress it has caused me and my family.

I was forced to eat the expense and purchased a new Samsung washer I am very happy with. Made sure to do my homework on this one instead of trusting what I thought was a well known brand name like Whirlpool. NEVER BUY WHIRLPOOL/MAYTAG APPLIANCES! They have lost me as a customer and have been spreading the word to anyone who will listen to avoid having consumers support a company that thinks so little of them! Thank you for taking the time to read this :)

Replies
Advertisement
Planned Obsolescense With a Vengeance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I have had the Whirlpool Duet stackable dryer for 4 1/2 years. After 2 1/2 years, I had to invest $500 for a new machine control electrics assembly. It worked well for 10 days, when it again stopped responding to the control buttons. If I pushed the buttons long enough, it would start. This went on, intermittently, for another 2 years. Now, at 4 1/2 years, I have to invest another $500.00 for the console electronics assembly. Solution -- buy a new dryer, right? No can do. Whirlpool has slightly changed the slots on the back of the dryer so the connector piece that fastens the two together doesn't fit. Their "professional" advice -- I need to buy a new washer as well! No other solution.

Replies
Front Loading Washing Machine Duet - Stopped Working 13 Months Later
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Whirlpool Front Loading Duet Washer - purchased from Lowes 10/6/2012 suddenly stopped working 11/9/2013. Since it was out of warranty by 33 days they would not warranty the new part needed to fix it. Computer Control Panel $320.00. The part isn't available until 11/21/2013.

I contacted Whirlpool, they were not willing to stand behind their product. I am deeply disappointed the product didn't last longer than 13 months. I will not purchase another Whirlpool Product again. I have a Whirlpool Accubake Oven and a Whirlpool Refrigerator. The Whirlpool Refrigerator has seen a service repair man three times as well. It was purchased in 2006 and broke in the first 12 months of ownership. BEWARE OF WHIRLPOOL PRODUCTS. THEY DO NOT LAST!!!!

Replies
Save Your Clothes, Don't Buy Whirlpool: Clothing Fatality 63+ Whirlpool Doesn't Stand Behind Product Quality
By -

~UPDATE: Finally received a reply from Whirlpool, in short (the way I understood it) they said that no, they will not stand behind their product and that I should be happy with the warranty covering the repairs. Never mind this washer will be useless within months of the warranty being up (just like it's useless now as we wait for them to replace 'all the guts' of it). And never mind we paid several hundred dollars in good faith of receiving a machine that would work for more than mere months and would not destroy thousands of dollars in clothing.

~UPDATE: because of what a serious problem this washer is (and I'm sure will continue to be) I contacted the Whirlpool representative that contacted us through here and asked if there was any way we can return and be refunded for the washer as its an obviously defective model and replacing the parts is only going to last a few months before we start this whole process over again destroying more clothing and shortly having to also pay out of pocket for the repairs. I will update with what we are told.~

Bought May 9th from Menards, a few months after purchase noticed clothing coming from wash holes & started keeping a tally- count is 63 articles (not including from before tally began). Breakdown by family member- Mom: red shirt, pink sweater, green hoodie, blue robe, green tshirt, mama pad x2, tshirt, underwear, sleep shirt, pink shirt, undershirt x2, jeans, black shirt (new never worn). Dad: black shorts, sock, boxers x2, sleep pants, black tshirt x2, gray tshirt, striped sweater, undershirt x2.

Amanda: white tshirt x2, black dress, black pants x2, shirt w/ design x2. Tristian: red turtleneck (new never worn), overalls, black pants, cat shirt, train shirt, Old Navy shirt, blue striped shirt, circo shirt, potato head shirt. Trace: blue shirt, blue pants, babylegs x3, sports romper, onsies x4, sweatshirt, boppy slipcover, goodmama fitted x3, sos fitted & insert, bumgenius insert x2, bummis cover, nubunz pocket x2.

Searching the web I found this is a common revolving problem. UPDATES (click next page to read all): 12/16/10: My Husband got the receipt printed off from Menards & called Whirlpool, they are sending someone out tomorrow; also, discovered standing water under washer & hamper from leaking.

12/17/10: Gentleman came out, washer had balled up a onsie & sock in the metal ring & the items were where water comes in & caused leak; also, ordered part- back ordered til 1/3/11. Said we can use washer while waiting, put small pieces in mesh bag to wash. When I did a load the washer started beeping mid wash cycle & stalled.

12/18/10: Husband called, they said just don't use it til they came out with the part on 1/3/11. My husband said that is more than 2 weeks of not being able to use our 7 month old washer & he didn't think the part was going to fix this issue as it doesn't sound like what the first guy talked about. Whirlpool is sending someone out Monday.

12/20/10: Came out, seems the whole inside needs to be replaced. Said he was basically ordering in the guts to the whole washer and that on Monday 2 guys would be out to replace everything because it was a 2 person job. This is a 7 month old washer!!! The only explanation is just amazingly horrible quality.

12/27/10: Parts haven't come in yet and the washer will not go at all now. Got a phone call saying the parts are back ordered until 1/10/11. 1/4/11: Parts came in (some very large boxes in our house right now taking up room) someone was supposed to come out today but they called because they hadn't scheduled enough people to do the job. Coming out Thursday (1/6/11) instead.

This washer has cost us so much in the way of replacing clothing- plus then time, money & hassle washing when it's not working. The closest laundry mat is 6 miles away- plus having little ones to deal with at the same time instead of just being home doing it. When it's working the choice is between losing lots more money from it destroying clothes but getting to keep our routine or losing less money after paying for gas to get tho a mat (plus the added hassle taking little ones) and paying for the washing but getting to keep our clothes- even though we have a supposedly top of the line 7 month old washer at home.

Finally received an email from Whirlpool 8 days later saying they would not give a refund, see update at top for more info. "It's frustrating to buy something because a company is supposed to have quality products, just to find out that what you bought is not good quality and have it cost you so much more time and money in just months. And to find this is not a new problem, but one that's been occurring with these machines for a while- then again to find the company does not stand behind the quality of their products.

I'm sorry to hear this and am afraid we will not be customers of Whirlpool or any of your related brands for life- as I can no longer trust that what we buy won't cost us hundreds of more dollars, stress and time from inferior quality. So we will never again be buying one of your products. You would have earned us as customers for life had the company stood behind its products and dealt with an obvious quality problem by reimbursing the money we paid in good faith for a machine that would not destroy our clothing or cost us in stress and time just months after being bought. "

In case anyone wants to know, some other Whirlpool owned brands (to my knowledge): Amana, Estate, Gladiator, Insperience, Jenn-air, KitchenAid, Magic Chef, Maytag, Roper, Admiral, Econowash, Menu Master, Glenwood, Danby, Caloric, Imperial, Litton, Modern Maid, Speed Queen, Sunray, Viking... feel free to share more you know.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool and A&E Factory Service
By -

Have happily used GE products in my house since 1988. A consumer magazine reported that Whirlpool washer had a great repair record so I went with Whirlpool. Soon after warranty was up, washer stopped in middle of wash and gave a code of F71. Called Whirlpool number supplied with product info. They referred me to A&E Factory Service. Appointment made for 9/2/2010. Charge would be $129.00 plus parts; labor charge supposedly would cover a 90 day period in case related visits were necessary.

Tech came and diagnosed problem ("Part Failure: Needs Interface") and gave me an estimated bill for $129 (Labor performed - Control motor) and $304 (for "Parts Required-1 Sub Kit."). If I agreed to pay this amount, the tech would have ordered the part(s) and installed it at the next appointment with no new labor charge. The decision not to resulted in a number of events none of which has resulted in anything being done to repair my broken washer.

First, I called Whirlpool and they kindly agreed to authorize payment for the part but not the labor I'd already paid. That was the only good news as of this date, 9/13/2010. Next I called A&E to give them the authorization code but they told me the tech had not filed his report and allow 24 hours. Later that week I tried unsuccessfully to call Whirlpool to have them connect me to A&E. I kept getting tied up with their computer answering/questioning device. On 9/7, I finally made contact with A&E and again tried to give them the authorization number and arrange for a follow-up service visit.

The A&E person said that was out of the norm as Whirlpool has to enter the authorization code from their end into A&E's computer system and A&E wouldn't take the word of a customer on the authorization. I asked her for the part number I needed to give to Whirlpool and she couldn't find anything listed for me. I told her I had a 9/2 receipt that listed a part but no number and then she was able to locate the part number (W10300044).

I called Whirlpool on 9/7 and they told me I had the wrong part number; they figured it out and said I had one too many zeros (when the second tech came on 9/13 he showed me his computer and the number had three zeros as A&E had told me earlier. So who is right and are customers getting the correct parts???). They told me the part purchase was now authorized in the system and to call A&E back for an appointment. I told them I didn't have great confidence in the person at A&E as they couldn't find me in their system at first. She volunteered to make the appointment.

She came back online and told me the part was being delivered directly to my house and the appointment for service was being scheduled for one week from now to allow the part to arrive. She twice instructed me that if the part arrived sooner, I should call and ask A&E to come sooner. This Whirlpool young lady actually wanted to do something to help move the situation along. This was the last Whirlpool person to actually try to do anything to help the customer. After one week and no part arriving at my house, it was time for the A&E tech to arrive.

I called Whirlpool to get a tracking number on the part and to see if we should reschedule and this is when the real fun began. First the customer service representative called A&E and told me the part was never ordered and A&E was going to charge me for a second labor visit to diagnose the problem all over again. Then they'll decide whether or not to order the part!!! I asked to speak to the Whirlpool supervisor and she put me on the phone with A&E and we had a three way. A&E claimed that my only communication with them was on 9/2 and I declined the part estimate so no part was ever ordered.

When I said that was old news and there were communications with A&E recently on 9/7 they claimed there were none. The Whirlpool supervisor then began to close ranks with the A&E person and told me I was probably mistaken about the whole matter; Whirlpool never orders or arranges for parts to be ordered (the second tech told me he thought they did), there were no 9/7 communications, etc. When I asked the A&E person how the 9/13 appointment got set up she said it was from the first visit. I reminded her that her own tech's receipts show I declined further work at that time.

I then asked the Whirlpool supervisor if they were recording this call for training purposes as it was beginning to get interesting. I asked A&E if they thought God had set up the 9/13 return visit on my behalf in their system. After repeating this absurd possibility twice A&E acquiesced and admitted there were communications on 9/7. They could now name the Whirlpool person, the date, etc. They still claimed the part wasn't ordered in spite of what Whirlpool had told me back then. A&E also reiterated that the tech visiting today was still supposed to charge me for a visit and start the whole diagnostic procedure all over again.

It would be at a reduced rate and the tech could decide not to charge (he thankfully did not charge). The tech came and said he also expected to find the part and install it. Now that the part wasn't there and A&E was starting the process all over again, he read the codes buried in the washers memory and found F71 (3-4 times) and a new one for me, F61. He told me he now needed to see for himself the washer not working.

I told him it was incapacitated (we couldn't clear the F71 code from the interface) since my call to Whirlpool on 9/7 but last night we turned the circuit breaker of and then on in the basement and the Washer codes cleared and we were able to do a wash. He tried twice to get the code to appear in the middle of a cycle and it didn't so he called the Whirlpool tech service and they and his office (A&E) refused to give him permission to order the part (they also dispute the part ordered by the first tech and wold start with a more expensive part first).

So to sum it up, I have computer diagnostic codes (F61 and F71), an A&E diagnosis paid by me from 9/2 that is being ignored (part failure; needs interface), I have a part number recommended at that time (based on A&E's interpretation of the tech's report) which Whirlpool has graciously given me permission to buy at their cost.

The part number is different at Whirlpool and A&E, a second tech recommends a totally different part, and the second tech would change the Control motor first but can't order it as he couldn't duplicate the problem which incapacitated my washer three - four times recently and for more than one whole week from 9/6-9/12. Now we are back to square one and will have to wait until the problems occurs for the fifth time and ask for a third visit by A&E and hope that when they get here and see F71 that will be good enough.

Replies
Whirlpool Duet Front Load Washer Woes
By -

CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE -- We bought a Whirlpool duet washer and dryer set in April, 2006. It was replacing our 20 year Kenmore working washer and dryer set. I wanted to be more "green" and use less energy and water. Big mistake at this point. Within the first year the turn knob broke to the washer. I said to my husband, don't worry we can find a replacement knob, they probably sale them at Lowe's. No they didn't carry one and by the time we contacted Whirlpool, of course the manufacturing warranty was no longer available. Next the clean cycle (July - 2008) went out. We tried fixing the problem using the book suggestions and a phone call service with Whirlpool.

It never worked, next the dryer turn knob also broke, and the tumbler spin cycle would only work on certain cycles. After finding a repairman, in our area to come and look at the washer, who was recommended by Whirlpool. He charger $65 for the first visit. The second visit cost us a washer pressure switch and hose, plus labor another $100.00. The replacement knobs cost $60.00 plus shipping and tax. Guess what? The washer still doesn't work. Now, he says it is the mother board user and sensors. He is estimating another $250 - $300 for the part plus labor.

At this point I think the washer is really a lemon and would like to purchase another washer having no confidence in this particular washer at this part. We paid $792 (sales tax no included) for the washer less than 4 years ago. In the last three years we have paid $130 for repair washer estimate visits, $120 for parts and $45 for labor. The next repair if it works will cost between $300-$400. I contacted Whirlpool in hopes they would cover 50% of the repair or offer more for a new washer. They only offer 15% for a new washer and only 50% on the mother board part. It is a shame that a company like Whirlpool can not stand behind their products more.

I can't believe the problems we had the washer after year one. We followed the operating tips like using the HE detergent, letting the door to the front loader and detergent area remain open when not in use, using the clean cycle as recommended as well as taking the detergent door out and cleaning the mold. The rubber band around the front loader is covered with black mold and even with bleach cleaning I couldn't get it clean. Our story is no product or repair satisfaction, no customer service satisfaction.

Buyer beware, and these days I recommend buying the extended warranty because the parts or the installation are probably not made in the U.S. and although technology has advanced, pride and reliability in Craftsman and manufacturing has not with Whirlpool. n It is now 1-2010 and we have been without a working washer for over 8 weeks, and before that only had 2 cycles working. We will not buy Whirlpool again nor will we put any more money into this 4 year old model, which started failing after the first year.

Replies
Washer Is Tearing My Clothes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My clothes are being ruined by my Whirlpool washing machine. We have lost at least 15 pieces of clothing so far. What can I do when the machine is already out of warranty. I have searched the internet to find that this seems to be a common problem and Whirlpool is not standing behind them. What do I suggest I do? This is ridiculous. Help.

Replies
Whirlpool Duet Washer No Parts Available to Repair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I had this washer for 5-1/2 years. I use it about 3 times a month. Warranty ran out this last February. Machine stopped working. Called tech and he came and said I need a new console and power board. Two weeks later I get told they don't make it anymore and sorry about your luck. I used this washer under 200 times in 5 and half years. Whirlpool offered nothing and I will never buy a Whirlpool product again.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool Duet washer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DRIPPING SPRINGS, TEXAS -- We just bought a Whirlpool a couple of months ago and now after reading the other reviews I know why my clothes are coming out with tears and holes! I wasn't sure if it was the washer or dryer causing the damage. I hope to be able to return mine! I had the older Duet and never had this problem. Bummer!

Replies
Whirlpool Duet Ripping Clothes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FARMINGDALE, NEW YORK -- I've been having this issue with clothing being ripped by the washer. Grey sludge collecting in the rubber gasket near the door and at one point had smoke coming out from the washer when the gasket was being burned up by something during a wash. Completely shocked to see so many others having the same issue. Will definitely be filing a complaint with the BBB.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Duet Series Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
88 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies