Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Duet Series Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
F35 / Suds code, Whirlpool Duet Steam Washing Machine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- WFW9500TW01 - "F35" / "Suds" code 14 months after we purchased washer. Hose / air trap is clear and the hose from the analog pressure switch is connected properly. The appliance tech we had come out to look at the washer determined that the analog pressure switch was defective. He told us that this is a common problem with this washing machine.

Whirlpool supervisor ** (female) stated that they could send tech out - and charge us for the call - to diagnose problem. She refused to transfer me to someone who could help and couldn't comprehend that the "it's out of warranty" excuse isn't a proper defense for a product defect. There are MANY posts about Analog Pressure Switch problems with this washing machine.

The posts about Whirlpool's poor customer service are absolutely accurate. They are horrible - good luck in getting them to work with you. We read the reviews for the Whirlpool Duet Steam washing machine before purchasing one and we disregarded the bad ones as disgruntled customers. PLEASE DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE MADE. After my conversation with their customer service dept today, I will NEVER buy another Whirlpool product again. Defective parts happen. Refusing to fix a known problem is unacceptable.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Manufacturing of Washing Machine
By -

I have been having a nightmare experience with a Whirlpool Duet front-loader washing machine. Here's why. I purchased the washer in August 2010, just after we moved. The washer was installed and worked fine. May 2011: The washer began shaking during the spin cycle. At first we ignored it, but after a while, the machine shook so hard it actually sounded like a jackhammer in our laundry room! We didn't think that was normal, so we contacted the retailer we purchased it from and scheduled a warranty appointment to look at the washer.

When the tech arrived and examined the washer, he determined that the springboard had not been added to the washer during manufacturing. He scheduled another appointment to put in the springboard. We thought everything was fixed, and the washer ran properly for about two months.

July 29, 2011: Today my mother had some clothes in the wash when we heard something that sounded like a jackhammer. When my mom went to investigate, she discovered that the washing machine was in its spin cycle and was shaking violently. NOT AGAIN! We just had this thing fixed TWO MONTHS AGO! So my mom called the retailer again to schedule an appointment. We have one set for tomorrow afternoon.

Overall, I believe that Whirlpool made a very big mistake in the manufacturing of this washer. They left out an important component of the machine. It's a good thing it was still under warranty from Lowe's, or Whirlpool's manufacturing error could have cost us a ton of money!

Replies
Disappointed!!!
By -

I purchased a Duet Washer and Dryer set about 4 years ago because of the reviews. What a mistake!!!! Don't buy this product unless you like to change colors of your machine every few years, cost is not a problem, and not concerned about placing new large appliances in the environment!!! I had my prior set for over 10 years and should have kept them. They were never repaired and I gave them away (they are still working). This duet washer has been repaired 3 times in this short period.

The last repair bill of 65.00 revealed that this duet washer can only be repaired for the price of a new washer. The repair man told me that this is very common for this machine and not to spend the money. I called the company customer service to find out how the company is handling the failure of this machine and concern about our environment because of its short life. She said no customer service recommendation. They are not helping customers with this machines early failures. I told her I would be writing this review and she welcomed me to inform others. I am currently shopping for a new washing machine and welcome all customer experiences.

Replies
Do Not Buy A Whirlpool Duet Washer
By -

There should be a recall on this washer. Since the purchase of it in November 2008, I have had nothing but problems after problems. Cannot run it on high because it is so loud and walks. Even on low it will walk half way across the floor. It has scratched my wall and even tore the flooring. It is the worse piece of crap every made and Whirlpool won't do a thing about it even though there are so many unhappy customers. Yesterday the piece of crap's door opened and water gushed out everywhere. You wouldn't believe it - but the washing was off and we even unplugged it and it was still running.

I called Whirlpool to issue a complaint and they have such a cocky attitude. IT'S A TERRIBLE MACHINE AND I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT TO MY WORSE ENEMY! My friend had the same machine and experienced the same problems and after 4 service calls and still problem after problem, she bought another machine and top loader at that. I plan to do the same. We even bought the pedestals and the machine would always read level, but would always walk across the floor even on the low cycle. We had to use the quick cycle to wash our clothes and couldn't use any of the other features. The machine sucks!

I am now out of $1000 plus $200 for the pedestal. Now I have to buy another machine and get rid of both my pedestals at a cost of $400. Will have to buy a cabinet now for storage. Thanks Whirlpool for causing me to spend more money in this wonderful economy that no one can seem to get ahead of.

Replies
Advertisement
Whirlpool Front loader Washer Duet Sport DEFECTIVE
By -

We purchased the Whirlpool Duet Sport Washer and Dryer in 2006 and spent around $2000. Just one year after the purchase, we experienced a very serious leak out the bottom of the washer. Luckily, we had purchased the extended warranty. We called a repairman and they came out to look at it. The metal basket had actually wore completely through the outer plastic basket. The entire contents of the washer had to be replaced. We had to take our laundry to the laundromat for nearly 2 months while we waited for repairmen and parts.

Today, we are still experiencing problems with the washer, though no leak. Currently, the washer is so loud we have to shut the door to use it and even then, we can still hear it. At what point does a maker recall an appliance with such extensive problems? It's time!

Replies
Duet Washer: Bearings Shot After 14 Months!
By -

My $1,000+ duet washer has crapped out after 14 months of light to moderate home use. The bearings are shot. If you haven't experienced it, the washer sounds like an airliner taking off every time it goes into extract. It extracts about 5 or so times per load. Not good. Soon, the bearings will just seize.

As I do some research, I am realizing it's not an anomaly. It's fairly common. Bearings seize because the metal from which they are constructed is poor and they loose their shape. Absolutely lame for $1,000 washer. What's worse, they don't stand behind their products. I WILL NEVER BY ANOTHER WHIRLPOOL PRODUCT OF ANY SORT! EVER!!

Replies
Whirlpool Mistake
By -

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- We purchased a Whirlpool Duet Washer less than 5 years ago. After the first year of purchase one week after the warranty ran out, we began having trouble with the washer. It would start the wash then stop in the middle of the wash with a beeping sound indicating an F11 or DL. Worst of all, the model and serial numbers are inside the washer door so when there is a problem, you can't even open the door, because it automatically locks itself and can't be open. Not too smart, Whirlpool makers!

Whirlpool customer service told me that they don't place it in the back because then people have to move them. Hello! Better to move them and get the numbers for repair then to be stuck and not be able to open the door. Daaaa. Yes, it's the mother board that's bad! Cost over $350.00 not including labor. What a rip off! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

Maybe one day, Whirlpool will recall them and pay back the consumer for the misleading information on these cheap washers. Better yet, they should be sued for putting out such expensive machinery that doesn't last. I went and bought an old used washer that has lasted a good 5 years and has required NO repair. What does that tell you? PEOPLE, DO NOT BUY THIS. YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Replies
Front Loading Washing Machine Duet - Stopped Working 13 Months Later
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Whirlpool Front Loading Duet Washer - purchased from Lowes 10/6/2012 suddenly stopped working 11/9/2013. Since it was out of warranty by 33 days they would not warranty the new part needed to fix it. Computer Control Panel $320.00. The part isn't available until 11/21/2013.

I contacted Whirlpool, they were not willing to stand behind their product. I am deeply disappointed the product didn't last longer than 13 months. I will not purchase another Whirlpool Product again. I have a Whirlpool Accubake Oven and a Whirlpool Refrigerator. The Whirlpool Refrigerator has seen a service repair man three times as well. It was purchased in 2006 and broke in the first 12 months of ownership. BEWARE OF WHIRLPOOL PRODUCTS. THEY DO NOT LAST!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
$1200 Machine a Total Loss After 5 Years
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- After almost 5 years of satisfactory performance, our $1200 Whirlpool Duet washing machine WFW9400SU1 requires repairs costing over $1100. Similar to another complaint listed, some parts rusted out, leading to extensive damage during use, which we realized only after the spin cycle became incredibly loud. Now the entire guts of the machine (bearing, drum, arm, casing, etc) need to be replaced - $900 parts and $200 labor.

I trust my repair man (who said they'd seen this type of problem before with Whirlpool) especially because he recommended buying a new machine instead. I called Whirlpool, and they said they could do nothing for me which made me very angry. This is a mechanical problem that could have been avoided by using proper materials. Whatever happened to the washing machines that would last 15-20 years?

Replies
The Front Load Washer Is Under Warranty, Whirlpool Denied to Repair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased the Whirlpool front load washer at Best Buy on 11-01-2012 at Westminster, CA 92683. Phone number: (714) 896-9693. Whirlpool Front Load Washer Model: WFW9151YW. Location of the washer: Long Beach, CA 90808. Problems: the washer was making loud noise on the spin cycle and oil leaked to the clothes. Called Whirlpool and they sent repair technician to replace the parts and repaired on April -04-2013.

After 6 weeks the washer was making noise again on spin cycle, leaks oil to the clothes. Called Whirlpool on May-18-2013, the repair technician came to our place, but the technician said that we have to pay for repair. They blamed that we overloaded the clothes, but we did not. The washer is still covered under its one year warranty, why we have to pay?

Called Whirlpool again on May-28-2013. They said the same things that we have to pay for repair the washer. The washer is still covered under its one year warranty; we do not think that we have to pay anything. I think Whirlpool is one of the worst companies for customer service. The Whirlpool front load washer is a bad product, they need to redesign it. They did not try to fix the problems, but they tried to find something to blame on the customers.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Duet Series Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
88 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies