Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Product and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KIRKLAND, WASHINGTON -- Purchased side-by-side built-in refrigerator in 2009 for $8,500. Fridge broke 4 weeks ago, causing $100 in spoiled food. Whirlpool has one authorized company in Seattle region who did not have the required part because Whirlpool stopped making the part. No date on when the new part will be shipped and installed. We have been without a fridge for more than 4 weeks.

Replies
Advertisement
Do not purchase Whirlpool products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

In 2007 I purchased a Magic Chef Refrigerator model: CTB1821ARW. The refrigerator is not six years old yet, and it looks like new. I never had any problems with the refrigerator until recently; the defrost heater stopped working. I called a service professional to fix the problem, and this is when I ran into another problem; defrost heater part is not available anymore.

I cannot find a defrost heater part # 63001387 for my refrigerator which would cost me approximately $30, so I have to dispose of my refrigerator which costs $600 and buy a new one, preferably one of the Whirlpool's family; this is what a Whirlpool customer service representative suggested. Do you think it would be reasonable to throw away five or six years old refrigerator? I don't think so, but Whirlpool corporation's customer service representatives think it's a great idea.

Whirlpool Corporation acquired a company which was producing Magic Chef Products, but it is obvious they forgot to acquire their liabilities. Searching for defrost heater online I discovered that I am not alone in this frustration. Many other consumers who purchased Magic Chef Refrigerator five or six years are having the same problem. When consumers purchase costly products they do not expect the assembly parts for their products to be discontinued in the next five years or even sooner. I have to question, “Is this how Whirlpool Corporation makes their profits?”

Because I couldn't accept the fact that I have to buy a new refrigerator just because of a small part which is discontinued, I sent a letter to CEO Mr. Fetting asking him for help. Two weeks later I received a phone call supposedly from the executive office, and ** was trying to explain me that Whirlpool corporation is not responsible for not having parts for Magic Chef refrigerators; instead, she offered a 30 percent discount of suggested retail price on my choice of the Whirlpool brand refrigerator.

Anyone who did a research before purchasing a costly appliance knows that Whirlpool products are more expensive and lower rated compared to Frigidaire or Kenmore products. 30 percent discount on a Whirlpool refrigerator still doesn't match a regular price of Frigidaire or Kenmore.

Later, I got another offer in the mail which said that I can purchase an extended four year warranty which will cost me $356. The agreement states that if a refrigerator cannot be fixed it will be replaced with a new one (sounds great), but there is a little trick. For refrigerators such as mine which are 5 years old only 40 percent of its cost will be replaced. Any reasonable person who can calculate will see how foolish this offer is.

I already know that my refrigerator cannot be fixed due to discontinued part. Whirlpool Corporation wants me to pay $356 for extended warranty which will make me eligible for a refund of 40 percent - approximately $240. Where is the logic? Do they really want to help their customers? I feel as if they slapped me on my face.

Replies
Refrigerator Fails and No Warranty Appointment for 11 Days
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased a French door Whirlpool Gold with bottom freezer on 10/05/2013 for $2,142. The refrigerator failed on 08/20/2014 and we lost at least $100 in food from spoilage. I called Whirlpool service on 08/22/2014 requesting a service appointment and after being on hold for over 26 minutes, I was told that the soonest available appointment was seven days away on 08/29/2014. I told the representative that this was not acceptable and that my family could not be without a refrigerator for 7 days. He informed me that whirlpools resource team would contact me if there was a sooner opening for service.

On 08/26/2014 I received a call that my appointment for service was now scheduled on 09/02/2014. I called to ask why they had extended the appointment rather than finding a sooner opening. I asked to speak to a manager and was told that they had the same information. They (representative ** in Michigan and her manager) told me that because I did not take the first appointment that they now only had 09/02/2014 available. I let them know that I did take the first appointment and that I was told the resource team would call if they had a sooner appointment.

I expressed that being without a refrigerator and waiting 11 days was not acceptable for my family. They responded that it is not their fault that the factory approved service facilities were booked and did not have appointments. I stated that Whirlpool should have resources in place to take care of their customers and to repair and replace failed appliance is a timely manner. I let them know that the way Whirlpool handled this situation is unacceptable. If Whirlpool cannot handle the failure rate of their products and provide proper service and warranty support then they will lose my business for life.

Replies
Whirlpool Gold Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Bought Whirlpool Refrigerator in end of Nov 2013. Had problems with the door sweating when I turned air conditioner off. They replaced the door. The seal still sweats a little bit, but now there was a solenoid that leaked under the refrigerator, whenever you called for ice or water in the door it sprayed water under the frig. It wet the whole underside of the refrigerator, my carpeting in the other room and one of my kitchen cabinets is ruined.

I am worried about the underside of the frig rusting. Called Whirlpool asked about an extended warranty or a replacement, they will do nothing but replace the bad parts. This $2000 refrigerator is a real piece of junk. Am so worried about it rusting out after the one year warranty. Will never buy a Whirlpool appliance again.

Replies
Advertisement
Unfortunately You Will Have to Wait!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESLEY CHAPEL, FLORIDA -- We purchased a Whirlpool refrigerator, stove, and dish washer. Even though we have never had appliance issues, we went ahead and bought the extended 5 year warranty. We purchased all 3 appliances due to a rebate Whirlpool offered. We filled out the forms mailed them in and nothing. Called Whirlpool about rebate, got runaround and eventually just forgot about it only to have our 7 month 1800.00 refrigerator to stop working.

Called Whirlpool and yet not to my surprise, we treated extremely poorly. The woman said we had our fridge for 2 years. I replied impossible I have the receipt. Then I added we also purchased the extended coverage. She quickly let me know I would need to fax her a copy or we would have to pay out of pocket.

Livid with that response, I then phoned Famous Tate where I actually made my purchase. ** the manager was extremely concerned and made every effort to get a repair tech out that same day. Diagnosis unrepairable. Again, I called Famous Tate, he said he is waiting to hear from Whirlpool. He said he would replace our fridge but sometimes Whirlpool does it directly.

I then called Whirlpool and I was told someone would call me in 24-72 hours and they are closed on weekends. Sooooo that means my family of 5 is without a fridge for several days. I felt that was unacceptable! I was passed through many Whirlpool associates voicing my thoughts on their policy of thinking it was OK to dismiss our family needs of a refrigerator. Who can possible be without a fridge for that many days.

The most upsetting part is they actually believed it was good customer service. The final representative ** said "unfortunately you will have to wait" Throughout this entire process ** with Famous Tate did everything he could to stand behind the product he sold only to have Whirlpool not carry their responsibility for the product they made. Would never purchase another Whirlpool product or recommend them.

Replies
Whirlpool Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a KitchenAid (made by Whirlpool) refrigerator in July 2013 for $2600, French door, freezer on the bottom; water and ice in the door. Began having water leak out of the ice maker and frost on the back of the fridge in September. Called Whirlpool. They told me they know it's a problem but couldn't do anything until Oct. Wiped up water everyday!! Called back on October 9th, sent a service repairman out. Replaced a gasket. Next day, water leaking again. Called for service - left me a note they ordered a part. Called back to service twice, part on order.

On 11/2, the refrigerator and stopped cooling and motor ran constantly with a loud hum. Called Whirlpool on 11/4 was told part was on back order until December 15th!!! They would get me a part within two days or I would get a new fridge. Called them back on 11/7 and lady out of office; left a voicemail. She sent me an email on 11/9 saying the part was being FedEx'd to me and I should have it 11/10 or 11/11. No part. Called back to Whirlpool - new service person. She referred my file to another department and they would call 24-48 hours with a delivery for my new fridge. Asked that they call my cell.

Indeed, they called this morning (9/12) while I was at work, left a message to call. Called back, yet another service person. She ordered my frdige which would be delivered in 10-12 business days!!! Day 12 is Thanksgiving so they cannot guarantee I will get it before Thanksgiving???? WHAT?? I've been going around and around with them since September and now I may not even have a refrigerator by Thanksgiving?? Worst customer service I have had in my life. I will never, ever buy any product made by Whirlpool.

Replies
Don't purchase products made by Whirlpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a Kitchenaid (made by Whirlpool), French Door, bottom freezer, stainless steel refrigerator in June, 2012. Seven months after purchase, the freezer stopped working. I am now without a freezer, waiting for a part that is on "back order" until Mar. 5. Whirlpool's compensation was to extend my warranty by 4 months. Meanwhile, the unit runs continuously trying to cool a freezer that will not freeze. I dread seeing my next electric bill. Of course, all of the food in the freezer had to be thrown out. What I wouldn't give for an ice cube... or two.

I wish I had read the reviews prior to purchasing. Afraid I am now "stuck" with this defective $2000 refrigerator. I have purchased Whirlpool products in the past (washers and dryers) and have always been happy. Obviously the quality of the products, along with the quality of the company have deteriorated since the "early days". I would never purchase another Whirlpool product.

I guess I should be grateful that in updating my kitchen, only the refrigerator was a Whirlpool product. The rest of the appliances are GE. Should have stuck with GE for the fridge, but wanted an inside water dispenser. I am paying the price...

Replies
Rust on Doors of 2 Year Old Stainless Steel Fridge!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH CAROLINA -- Our less than 2-year-old French door Whirlpool refrigerator has rust marks on all 3 doors. I called their call center and spoke to a supervisor and they consider the rust to be cosmetic and it is not covered under warranty. They also said that there are many qualities of stainless steel. If that is true, they should put a special coating on their fake stainless to prevent the rusting. My daughter has 20-year-old stainless steel countertops and they do not rust! This is my first Whirlpool appliance and I will not be buying another one. I have always been happy with GE appliances.

Replies
Advertisement
Companies Like This Are What Wrong With This World
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a $900 refrigerator and it broke 1 yr & 1 week later. I fought to have this fixed since it's out of the warranty period. After having to take time off work for repair people to come, the repair guy made a disaster. Finally after much arguing I received a new refrig same model. Well that last about a year & 1 1/2 then it started leaking underneath. I CAN'T use the ice maker or the water feature which I paid extra to have. What a piece of Junk. The people at Whirlpool l will just say did you purchase a warranty? You shouldn't have to have it fix when it's only 2 yrs old!!!!!!

They are so greedy, they make junk so that you spend more money on repairs or extended warranties. Whirlpool owners & mgrs see how you feel when it happens to you. KARMA. I will tell as many people as I can to stay away from Whirlpool, I will never purchase their products again.

Replies
Refrigerator less than 6 months old leaking water- Whirlpool Mfg warranty NOT consumer friendly!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Whirlpool 29 cu. ft. French door refrigerator model WRF989SDAH02 - leaking water - Whirlpool Customer Service over-the-top rude. Repair shop 200 miles from here. A week before they came out, needed to order part - another week + for part to arrive and schedule visit. Oops, wrong part, still leaking. Ordered another part meaning another week + for part to arrive and another week before visit could be scheduled. At this time awaiting that part (will be 30 days). If we have another problem while under MFG warranty, we'll just call a local authorized repair person (20 minutes away) and pay for it ourselves.

Purchased extended warranty from HH Gregg. They were absolutely no help although they have a corporate office that is supposed to intercede. Extended warranty will not go thru Whirlpool or I would have cancelled that for a refund. Extremely dissatisfied with Whirlpool warranty arrangements. Live in metro Atlanta and can't believe there is no one closer than 200 miles that could handle this repair!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 50 ratings and
151 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Appliance Companies