Preview Review

Next Review

Whirlpool Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Whirlpool Worthless! Customer Service Useless!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Since May 3, 2016, five servicemen have failed to repair my defective refrigerator, which is less than 2 yrs old. (One trainee had the nerve to reinstall broken parts.) I am completely without refrigeration for the past 48 hrs & now find out that the repairman scheduled for tomorrow has been cancelled because AIG warranty has not approved his visit. Further investigation reveals that the parts haven't even been ordered yet, pending AIG approval. Whirlpool can't help because AIG has not declared it "unfixable." hhgregg will do nothing.

I have spent countless hours on the phone on hold & wasted hundreds of dollars' worth of spoiled food. DO NOT TRUST WHIRLPOOL. They are not the reputable company they once were. Their warranties aren't worth the paper they're printed on. Buyer beware!

Replies
Advertisement
Unreliable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRIZZLY FLATS, CALIFORNIA -- I bought a new Whirlpool refrigerator (model GX5SHDXV01) about 5 years ago. This company used to have a great reputation, but times have changed. At 2 years, the defroster went out and needed to be replaced. I thought at the time it was just one of those flukes, since Whirlpool makes such good products. But, here I am again with the defroster out at just over 5 years old. I contacted customer support and was told that they would not stand behind their product. Twice in 5 years is ridiculous! Poor marks for reliability. I won't be buying another Whirlpool product, ever.

Replies
Horrible Product and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KIRKLAND, WASHINGTON -- Purchased side-by-side built-in refrigerator in 2009 for $8,500. Fridge broke 4 weeks ago, causing $100 in spoiled food. Whirlpool has one authorized company in Seattle region who did not have the required part because Whirlpool stopped making the part. No date on when the new part will be shipped and installed. We have been without a fridge for more than 4 weeks.

Replies
Refrigerator Fails and No Warranty Appointment for 11 Days
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased a French door Whirlpool Gold with bottom freezer on 10/05/2013 for $2,142. The refrigerator failed on 08/20/2014 and we lost at least $100 in food from spoilage. I called Whirlpool service on 08/22/2014 requesting a service appointment and after being on hold for over 26 minutes, I was told that the soonest available appointment was seven days away on 08/29/2014. I told the representative that this was not acceptable and that my family could not be without a refrigerator for 7 days. He informed me that whirlpools resource team would contact me if there was a sooner opening for service.

On 08/26/2014 I received a call that my appointment for service was now scheduled on 09/02/2014. I called to ask why they had extended the appointment rather than finding a sooner opening. I asked to speak to a manager and was told that they had the same information. They (representative ** in Michigan and her manager) told me that because I did not take the first appointment that they now only had 09/02/2014 available. I let them know that I did take the first appointment and that I was told the resource team would call if they had a sooner appointment.

I expressed that being without a refrigerator and waiting 11 days was not acceptable for my family. They responded that it is not their fault that the factory approved service facilities were booked and did not have appointments. I stated that Whirlpool should have resources in place to take care of their customers and to repair and replace failed appliance is a timely manner. I let them know that the way Whirlpool handled this situation is unacceptable. If Whirlpool cannot handle the failure rate of their products and provide proper service and warranty support then they will lose my business for life.

Replies
Advertisement
Unfortunately You Will Have to Wait!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESLEY CHAPEL, FLORIDA -- We purchased a Whirlpool refrigerator, stove, and dish washer. Even though we have never had appliance issues, we went ahead and bought the extended 5 year warranty. We purchased all 3 appliances due to a rebate Whirlpool offered. We filled out the forms mailed them in and nothing. Called Whirlpool about rebate, got runaround and eventually just forgot about it only to have our 7 month 1800.00 refrigerator to stop working.

Called Whirlpool and yet not to my surprise, we treated extremely poorly. The woman said we had our fridge for 2 years. I replied impossible I have the receipt. Then I added we also purchased the extended coverage. She quickly let me know I would need to fax her a copy or we would have to pay out of pocket.

Livid with that response, I then phoned Famous Tate where I actually made my purchase. ** the manager was extremely concerned and made every effort to get a repair tech out that same day. Diagnosis unrepairable. Again, I called Famous Tate, he said he is waiting to hear from Whirlpool. He said he would replace our fridge but sometimes Whirlpool does it directly.

I then called Whirlpool and I was told someone would call me in 24-72 hours and they are closed on weekends. Sooooo that means my family of 5 is without a fridge for several days. I felt that was unacceptable! I was passed through many Whirlpool associates voicing my thoughts on their policy of thinking it was OK to dismiss our family needs of a refrigerator. Who can possible be without a fridge for that many days.

The most upsetting part is they actually believed it was good customer service. The final representative ** said "unfortunately you will have to wait" Throughout this entire process ** with Famous Tate did everything he could to stand behind the product he sold only to have Whirlpool not carry their responsibility for the product they made. Would never purchase another Whirlpool product or recommend them.

Replies
Whirlpool Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a KitchenAid (made by Whirlpool) refrigerator in July 2013 for $2600, French door, freezer on the bottom; water and ice in the door. Began having water leak out of the ice maker and frost on the back of the fridge in September. Called Whirlpool. They told me they know it's a problem but couldn't do anything until Oct. Wiped up water everyday!! Called back on October 9th, sent a service repairman out. Replaced a gasket. Next day, water leaking again. Called for service - left me a note they ordered a part. Called back to service twice, part on order.

On 11/2, the refrigerator and stopped cooling and motor ran constantly with a loud hum. Called Whirlpool on 11/4 was told part was on back order until December 15th!!! They would get me a part within two days or I would get a new fridge. Called them back on 11/7 and lady out of office; left a voicemail. She sent me an email on 11/9 saying the part was being FedEx'd to me and I should have it 11/10 or 11/11. No part. Called back to Whirlpool - new service person. She referred my file to another department and they would call 24-48 hours with a delivery for my new fridge. Asked that they call my cell.

Indeed, they called this morning (9/12) while I was at work, left a message to call. Called back, yet another service person. She ordered my frdige which would be delivered in 10-12 business days!!! Day 12 is Thanksgiving so they cannot guarantee I will get it before Thanksgiving???? WHAT?? I've been going around and around with them since September and now I may not even have a refrigerator by Thanksgiving?? Worst customer service I have had in my life. I will never, ever buy any product made by Whirlpool.

Replies
Rust on Doors of 2 Year Old Stainless Steel Fridge!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH CAROLINA -- Our less than 2-year-old French door Whirlpool refrigerator has rust marks on all 3 doors. I called their call center and spoke to a supervisor and they consider the rust to be cosmetic and it is not covered under warranty. They also said that there are many qualities of stainless steel. If that is true, they should put a special coating on their fake stainless to prevent the rusting. My daughter has 20-year-old stainless steel countertops and they do not rust! This is my first Whirlpool appliance and I will not be buying another one. I have always been happy with GE appliances.

Replies
Companies Like This Are What Wrong With This World
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a $900 refrigerator and it broke 1 yr & 1 week later. I fought to have this fixed since it's out of the warranty period. After having to take time off work for repair people to come, the repair guy made a disaster. Finally after much arguing I received a new refrig same model. Well that last about a year & 1 1/2 then it started leaking underneath. I CAN'T use the ice maker or the water feature which I paid extra to have. What a piece of Junk. The people at Whirlpool l will just say did you purchase a warranty? You shouldn't have to have it fix when it's only 2 yrs old!!!!!!

They are so greedy, they make junk so that you spend more money on repairs or extended warranties. Whirlpool owners & mgrs see how you feel when it happens to you. KARMA. I will tell as many people as I can to stay away from Whirlpool, I will never purchase their products again.

Replies
Advertisement
Refrigerator less than 6 months old leaking water- Whirlpool Mfg warranty NOT consumer friendly!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Whirlpool 29 cu. ft. French door refrigerator model WRF989SDAH02 - leaking water - Whirlpool Customer Service over-the-top rude. Repair shop 200 miles from here. A week before they came out, needed to order part - another week + for part to arrive and schedule visit. Oops, wrong part, still leaking. Ordered another part meaning another week + for part to arrive and another week before visit could be scheduled. At this time awaiting that part (will be 30 days). If we have another problem while under MFG warranty, we'll just call a local authorized repair person (20 minutes away) and pay for it ourselves.

Purchased extended warranty from HH Gregg. They were absolutely no help although they have a corporate office that is supposed to intercede. Extended warranty will not go thru Whirlpool or I would have cancelled that for a refund. Extremely dissatisfied with Whirlpool warranty arrangements. Live in metro Atlanta and can't believe there is no one closer than 200 miles that could handle this repair!

Replies
Rust & Pitting on Stainless Steel Door of 1 Year Old Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Purchased this bottom freezer Whirlpool refrigerator in Mar. 2013. I noticed that the top refrigerator door and bottom freezer door are pitting and look as though they are rust spots. I contacted Whirlpool, as it is still under the one year manufacturer warranty, they told me that in item #5 on the warranty page, states thatthis does not affect the performance of the refrigerator. I spent $1,200 on this appliance!

I asked Whirlpool about the stainless steel having a defect, and they said that if it was, this was not covered. I will not be purchasing Whirlpool again!! A respectable company would want to keep a customer coming back! Oh, and I will be sure to mention it to anyone I see looking at a Whirlpool product in any appliance store!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Whirlpool Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 55 ratings and
156 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Whirlpool
2000 North M63
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
616-923-5000 (ph)
616-923-5038 (fax)
www.whirlpool.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Appliance Companies