Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Appliances Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Use Home Depot Dishwasher Installers. They Are Not Qualified and Give You the Run-Around.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- I spent $74 to have my dishwasher installed by technicians using the proper tools and to have the old one hauled away. 7/4/2016 - the dishwasher was ordered for delivery on 7/26/2016. I paid $74 for installation and haul away and I ordered the side cabinet brackets for $6 to assure the installation would be solid. Believe it or not, the brackets would be delivered sooner and delivery was extra or I could pick them up at my local store. I saved myself the separate delivery charge and picked up the brackets myself, but the installation kit would be delivered with the dishwasher. Neither was a stock item so the split delivery was strange.

7/25/2016 - nobody called to advise the delivery/installation window. I called 7/26/2016 in the morning and the person acted like I should know that my delivery would be sometime in the afternoon between 12:30 and 4:30 pm. My wife had surgery and would not likely be able to answer the door quickly so I requested they not to come before 1:30 pm.

They actually arrived around 3:20 pm. They didn't bother to pilot drill the holes for the screws and split the wood of the cabinet and stripped the screw head too and could not fully seat the one screw. They test ran the dishwasher with the sample soap, rinse aid, and coupons on the top rack. And they left without leveling the unit. The installer actually waved his wrench at the leveling screw and declared he was done.

7/26/2016 - we noticed the racks would slide forward too easily when the door was opened. 7/28/2016 - I verified the installation instructions that the dishwasher was supposed to be plumb. It was an estimated 10 degrees away from plumb.

7/29/2016 - I contacted Home Depot. Recording says they are sorry I am having installation trouble. Hope says she needs to contact the installer and after being on hold for a few minutes she says she sent an email and I would be called within the hour. I asked who would be calling and was told it was Home Delivery. But I need a service technician, I already received the delivery. I was assured I would be contacted within the hour and that person would work out what was needed. Nothing of course happened. I even checked my emails to see if they had responded that way. I could not find any company called Home Delivery and so I waited.

8/8/2016 - I called Home Depot again and explained I had not received a call. I was told they had no record of my previous call and Hope did not work in that department. I insisted I had called the same number and menu options. So Holly put me on hold and then advised I needed to call back during business hours.

I pointed out that it was not even 4:30 local time and she said I had to call when the contracted delivery company would be open to answer their phones. I advised it was not convenient for me to call the next day and asked why she couldn't contact them and get back to me and she said she would but I should also follow up. I assured her I would after my earlier experience.

8/12/2016 - Tiesha answered my follow-up call and after putting me on hold told me to call Home Delivery Link. I questioned why I should be calling them since I was not their customer. Tiesha simply stated I needed to "authorize” them to come fix the installation.

8/12/2016 - I called the phone number Tiesha had given me, which was for a hairdresser, but Dawn confirmed they were the technicians for Home Delivery Link. I explained that the installation was not done per the manufacturer's instructions and requested a qualified technician to come fix the installation. Dawn told me someone would come check it and arrange return. I explained there was nothing wrong with the dishwasher, only the installation. I asked if the person who checked it would have tools and be qualified to do the installation per the manufacturer's instructions.

Dawn put me on hold and after 4 minutes I was connected to a voice mailbox so I hung up. 8/12/2016 - I then received a call from Nicole, who said she was Dawn's supervisor. I explained I hung up because I was transferred to a voicemail box. Nicole advised there was no capacity on the truck to make a delivery for several days and I explained to Nicole that we already have the dishwasher and just need a service technician with tools who is qualified to install my dishwasher. I was advised I would be contacted on 8/15/2016 between 12 and 3 to confirm an appointment for 8/16/2016.

I reiterated the number to use to reach me because my wife needs to rest and recover from her surgery. Nicole assured me she would update my profile. Of course, I never received that call either. But I found out that they called and disturbed my wife.

8/16/2016 - 3 guys showed up and I asked them if they had tools and were qualified to install my brand of dishwasher. One guy responded, “We do a little bit of everything.” He moved the front leveling screw feet some but the dishwasher was still not plumb. I got my small level and saw that it was still about 5 degrees off. They continued to level the dishwasher using my level.

I questioned them if they didn't have the appropriate tools and he said his level was the same size as mine and could not reinstall the mounting screws because he was not the original installer, but had he done the installation he would have pilot drilled the holes and set the dishwasher properly but all he could do now was adjust the leveling screws. He seemed to do a pretty good job eventually getting the dishwasher level even though he did not remove or even loosen the screws into the cabinet or countertop. Hopefully the wood will not split further and everything will remain secure.

I am disgusted that Home Depot charges for expert installation and then uses a fly-by-night company operating from a hairdresser's business. And then that they expect their customers to know what they are scheduling, and to continue to call back when it is convenient for Home Depot and their contractors rather than caring about their customers. I love the new dishwasher but next time, even though I am not young and fit, I will probably install it myself.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONTREAL, QC -- Completely dissatisfied with Home Depot's customer service and relationship with Samsung Appliances. We moved into a new house with no appliances and the best date Home Depot and Samsung could give us was a week and a half after we moved in. I explained that we had a baby and they couldn't care less! Then our delivery got ended up getting delayed another week! Two and a half weeks with no appliances at all. Samsung confirmed all the appliances arrived BUT sitting in a warehouse 5 hours from where we live and still could not be delivered until a week after!

Both companies have no care or sympathy at all for their customers. Do not shop at Home Depot if you're expecting to get fast, efficient, and quality customer service. The valued customer service that they promote is BS!!! I will never shop at Home Depot again! I will be choosing Leon's, Canadian Tire or the Brick. Do yourself the favor.

Replies
Delivery of LG Washing Machine, Did Not Start
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Ordered an LG Top Load Washer on Sept. 5th. Delivery scheduled and installed on Sept. 13th. The machine would not start. The delivery team were good guys. The machine was returned. Advised Home Depot sales person and supervisor on Sept. 13th. Advised that LG may take up to 72 hours to call back and advise when another machine would be scheduled for delivery.

Home Depot advised that "We may have better luck in getting LG to respond." After 24 hours there was no call, I called and spoke to a representative and then supervisor. Advised that a potential delivery may be possible by Sept. 22nd. No apology or regret from LG. We went to Sears and got a Kenmore in two days.

My wife went to Home Depot on Sept. 15th to cancel the order. The sales representative, supervisor nor store manager would meet with my wife nor offer the simplest of apology. The problem with the LG machine became our problem with Home Depot "washing" their hands of the problem and us to deal with LG. The lack of customer service from both LG and Home Depot was alarming and shameful.

Replies
No Returns on Appliances -- No Exceptions!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WATERTOWN, MASSACHUSETTS -- I bought a fridge that looked hideous. Three days after delivery I tried to return it. I called Cody at national customer service who said, "No problem." He forwarded me to Ian at the Watertown, MA store who said that he had the right to refuse any return and that all appliance returns would be refused, NO EXCEPTIONS. He was not at all nice about it.

Replies
Advertisement
Home Depot Killed My Pet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JUAN -- They killed my cat installing a washing machine. I can't get the image out of my head. I've been crying for three days. Sweetest cat you ever will come across. I can't believe it. I'll never use them again. Just in time for Christmas.

Replies
Washer/Dryer Horror Story
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, CO. / MARATHON, FL, FLORIDA -- Bought a new GE washer and dryer from Marathon, Florida store to be delivered to my daughter in Denver, Colorado. The Marathon store set up everything to be delivered to her in Colorado the following Saturday. The delivery company was rough with the appliances jerking them back and forth in the truck. It was snowing at the time and they left the washer out in the snow while they brought in the dryer and hooked it up. They were unfriendly and very unprofessional.

They hurried the installation because they had many deliveries that day but did mention to my daughter to talk to Home Depot to get a new machine because the one they had for them was dented in several places, then they hurried off. When they did the first load of wash, the machine leaked all over the floor on the spin cycle flooding the new tile floor. My son-in-law called the delivery to come and get the machine because it was defective not to mention the possible damage to the tile floor. They said they were not coming back and it was basically their problem because they accepted the delivery.

He said, "You told us it was damaged after it was installed and to talk to Home Depot." The Home Depot in Colorado said they can't do anything and it would have to be taken care of from the Marathon store. Really? I thought all Home Depots were the same and they would stand behind it. Because they "accepted" the delivery Home Depot was willing to send out a repairman and give us 25.00 off the machine because it was dented and damaged. Not acceptable, I didn't buy scratch and dented machines, I bought new ones. I wanted a replacement washer and the issue would be resolved and the customer would be happy.

Of course this turned into a fiasco because Home Depot wanted to just repair the washer, then GE needed to send a technician out to determine the problem then it had to go back to Home Depot to deal with me on what they were going to do so it goes on and on and my daughter can't do laundry because of all the hurdles and red tape dealing with Home Depot and GE. It could have been so simple and easy to resolve making their customer happy and glad they chose Home Depot for their purchase.

Also they gave us a 48-hour hotline to call if anything goes wrong within 48 hours and they would send someone out immediately to take care of any problems but when we called it, they wouldn't come out and do anything. So here we sit with a broken brand new GE washer and no one wants to do the right thing and simply replace it with what I was supposed to get for my money. This is terrible and consumers should beware of these practices. I don't know where this is going to go and if eventually I have to take them to court but I'm standing on principle here and enough is enough. I simply want what I paid for and we're getting the royal runaround.

Replies
Protection Plan Is Worthless - Service Is Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- The service provided by your Protection Plan department is absolutely pathetic. I purchased a dishwasher in June 2013. I called in January to file a claim and request service. I provided several phone numbers - home, work, and the phone number for the tenants where the appliance is housed. I was told that service technician would contact me to schedule an appointment and I never heard from them again.

I called back today and after 40 min on hold I was told they tried to call and were unable to leave a message. THAT IS A LIE - I gave them three phone numbers which all voicemail and they did not leave a single message for us. I asked to speak with a supervisor, and was transferred to a person named "**" who is a horrible representative of the company. She is rude and unhelpful. Her response was that the repair was not their responsibility and to call the manufacturer. The $50 paid for the protection plan is a worthless rip-off.

Replies
Awful Service, Customer Service Even Worse!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MADISON, WISCONSIN -- We bought a dishwasher from Home Depot and decided to have them install it. I called and talked to a representative to ensure we understood what they would and would not do. It would be 3 weeks until they could deliver it, but we decided it would be okay to wait. I asked for documentation on installation and they refused to provide anything. They stated they will not touch wiring and will not remove the old dishwasher.

We had the dishwasher pulled out and had someone there to wire in the new dishwasher. The install service showed up, refused to install because of the location of the shutoff valve. We requested they still mount the new dishwasher, and Home Depot would not allow this - even if we took care of the plumbing. I'm really glad I asked about all of this in advance so they could not tell me about this, and I ended up having to pay for 2 services (removal + plumber to come install) + Home Depot, and wasted a lot of time.

I called Home Depot to complain, and they couldn't care less. Pretty much responded, "too bad" - couldn't care less. I guess I will be shopping at any store but Home Depot from now on. It was more their lack of concern for their customer that really upset me more than the crappy service they provided. I can buy that dishwasher anywhere for the same price, why would I ever choose to buy it from a crappy company like Home Depot?

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST LANSING, MICHIGAN -- My biggest problem is with the appliance delivery. Before Thanksgiving I ordered a new stove. They were supposed to deliver it today (12/17/13). My current stove had broken so I was looking forward to receiving it especially since I have family coming for Christmas to stay with me. I'm told that there are no stoves available (sold more than what they have in stock) and can't deliver it until 12/30/13. They couldn't provide me with a decent alternative that could be delivered before Christmas.

And since they waited until the week before Christmas options at other stores are limited and not deliverable before Christmas either. I've waited 3 weeks already and they couldn't tell me before now so I can find alternatives? Customer service was a nightmare trying to talk to people and jumping through their hoops. I was on hold for nearly an hour twice with Home Depot and Maytag. Home Depot doesn't care. I barely received a sorry and they screwed up my Christmas dinner that I'm supposed to cook. I'll never give another dime to Home Depot. I've shopped with Lowe's before and their delivery was flawless.

Replies
Poor Communication, Customer Service Regarding Appliance Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JANTZEN BEACH, OREGON -- We ordered a dishwasher online and paid to have it installed, etc. with the coordination of the Jantzen Beach, OR, Home Depot. It was delivered today and the very nice delivery men informed us that they could not install it because Home Depot required that dishwasher installations have a "dedicated shut-off valve."

We do have a shut-off valve that is shared with the kitchen sink that works just fine. However, the delivery men said that due to Home Depot policy, it has to be a dedicated shut-off valve. When I eventually got ahold of Jantzen Beach (20 minutes on hold, transferred three times, two callbacks), they said that they had never heard of this requirement and that it was the installation contractor's policy.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Appliances Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 39 ratings and
97 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies