Home Depot Kitchen Cabinets

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
23 reviews & complaints.

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Incredibly Horrible Service and Incompetence
By -

MONROVIA, CALIFORNIA -- In the 1st week in June '03 or so, we went to Home Depot and wanted to know what steps were needed for kitchen remodeling. We were informed that we must schedule for a measurement of kitchen first. Home Depot will call to set up appointment.
Waited one week for phone call no call was received from Home Depot. I called Home Depot and they were surprise no one had called us back. An appointment was made for measuring, for following Saturday
Our appointment was changed to Sunday (June 15th) by Lorien (a Home Depot employee that performs field measurements for cabinet installations) for 1:30p.m. After measurements were done, Lorien informed us that the next step was to schedule an appointment with a Home Depot Designer.
I called Monday (June 16th) and made an appointment for the following Saturday (June 21th) for 12:00 p.m. to meet with one of Home Depot's Designers.
Friday (June 20th) I phoned Home Depot to confirm the next day's appointment, and was informed by Lorien that the Designer that we were scheduled to meet with was no longer in that department, and all of her appointments had been cancelled. I told Lorien I had done not receive any update, or call from anyone to reschedule, and that we were going to keep the appointment for June 21st, and that Home Depot needed to have someone available to meet with us when we got there
On June 21st, we met with Paul the new Designer, and our cabinets were ordered that day. At least that was what we were told... We were asked to sign (initial) all paper work, and told that the process was started
The following week or so, Bruce (another cabinet-measuring-person) came out to our house to verify that the paperwork, completed by Paul, the "Home-Depot-In-House-Cabinet-Designer," was complete, that the measurements were correct, and that the cabinets would fit. We were informed that the measurements (recorded by Paul, recorded by Lorien, the Home Depot Designer) were NOT correct. We were told that we must make another appointment with a "Home-Depot-Cabinet-Designer," and reorder the proper sized cabinets. (the following language was added on today's date of January 29, 2004) Bruce stated that he would turn in the correct measurements.
I then spoke to Shelia (Kitchen Concepts) to confirm with her that the new (and, we thought correct) measurements from Bruce, were being faxed over to Home Depot. She replied in the affirmative, and indicated that she understood.
I arrived at Home Depot (few days later) and was informed by Paul that they (Home Depot) had not received the new changes. I called Shelia (from Kitchen Concepts) while I was at the Home Depot store, regarding the fax. Nellie (another "Kitchen Concepts Employee") informed me Shelia was in a corporate meeting, and could not be disturbed. I said that it was o.k., but could she (Nellie) needed to fax over the new changes. Nellie said, "they (Kitchen Concepts) had faxed over the changes already, and for Home Depot to check all their incoming faxes and paperwork. I told Nellie that Home Depot claimed that they did not receive the fax, and requested Nellie to please fax the paper-work again. Then Nellie said, "she did not know to use the fax machine," and finally, after 30 minutes or so, Nellie said she found my file, and faxed over the changes (all this was witnessed by Paul).
Kraft Maid gave delivery date of August 29th between hours of 10:00am to 2:00 pm.
One August 29th at 8:30 a.m., I phoned "Kraft Maid" to confirm delivery between the hours of 10:00 am and 2:00 p.m., and was told that everything was still on schedule. I left work at 9:30 am and arrived home at 10:00 a.m. At 12:30 p.m., I received phone call from Kraft Maid to find out that there would be no delivery today due to a train wreck somewhere in the Mid-West. I lost approximately 4 hours without pay.
On approximately September 12th (not sure of date), the cabinets finally arrived. During the inspection of cabinets with (someone's employee, at this point I am losing track), I noticed that not all cabinet looked the same (i.e. Finished Skin on areas of the cabinets when not necessary and to be covered up, (and was being charged huge money for) and MISSING "Finished Skins" where absolutely exposed, and going to be necessary. Additionally, there were 5 pieces that were damaged during shipment, and needed to be replaced prior to installation.
I then called Suzanne the following Monday, and she said she was not able to make the changes until she received the correction(s) from Kraft Maid. She would need get back to me and would talk with me in a few days
After a few days, I had to call Home Depot back again to talk with Suzanne, and was told Suzanne was on a day off. I left a message
The next Wednesday, the corrections/updates were made with Suzanne via phone. I asked Suzanne about the skins and she said, "Whoever finalized the order messed it up." I told Suzanne it was she who finalized our order.
On Thursday, Suzanne called and said that "Home Depot would carry the cost to make the necessary corrections." (I continue to believe we were overcharged for the unnecessary skins).
During the next two to three weeks (or so), 3 pieces were delivered via Fed X, and other delivery mechanisms. At this point, I am still waiting for 2 necessary pieces to complete my order, as replacement for the damaged materials via transport to my project...
Monday, October 13th, I received a message from a "Jerry" indicating via voicemail to "Please call Lori or Jerry a call regarding the items that were not used in the construction of my "job". Mind you, not "ONE" cabinet, or piece of material had made it from my garage to my kitchen, at that point.
On Tuesday, October 14th, I spoke with Jerry, and told him I was very confused about his message. I told Jerry that I was still waiting for two more cabinets (to complete my order) and the job HAD NOT EVEN STARTED. He said he would find out what happened.
On Wednesday, Jerry said the remaining 2 units would be in on Friday, and that he personally will make sure that they are not damaged, and that delivery would be scheduled for Sunday (October 19th).
I received the last 2 units on October 19th, delivered by Lorien, the original employee that did the field measuring. Lorien recognized me and my house and said "Didn't I (Lorien) do the measurement on this house a long time ago?" I said, yes, but it was a very long story as to how-come we had not been provided competent service by anyone at, and to that point of time...
October 20th, I called Shelia to request an installation date. She said the earliest available date was November 10th (Monday), 2003.
With all the delays, we missed the special of a free microwave (valued $200.00) by one day, because of Home Depot personnel. We purchased cabinets on July 10th, Home Depot was unwilling (saying "UNABLE") to make an earlier appointment. Free microwave offer ran between May 1st through July 9th.
Home Depot has COMPLETELY miss-managed this project from start to date.
Given the circumstances, I would not recommend Home Depot to anyone, unless they needed to waist more than 5 months of their time, not to mention the dollars missed by poor coordination, miss-management and the likes

11-10-03 Monday: installation of cabinets:
The Installers noticed that the 84 inch valence (that was ordered by Paul, Home Depot designer) was too long for the area above the kitchen sink.
They were unable to trim valence due to the decorator ends (architectural elements).
The area measures 73" in length (from cabinet to cabinet on original blue print).
Also two lower cabinets (Base 21L) opened in the same direction ("hinges on the left").
And the two upper cabinets (W2136R & W2436R) also opened in the same direction (BUT, "hinges on the right").
The Installers were unable to turn the door front(s) upside down due to design on door front on the upper cabinets.
I then spoke with Teresa and asked her why there was a 21" cabinet ordered when a 24" cabinet would fit, and in any terms, should have been obvious, and ordered. She said she did not know. Paul, the Home Depot Designer ordered it
Mind you, the 21 inch cabinet is adjacent to a 24 inch cabinet. There was plenty of room for the 24 inch and showed as an error between the Home Depot Designer and the cabinet measurement people
The 21 inch cabinet stayed, temporarily in place, in preparation for the correct, 24 inch cabinet arriving
Jerry took the 84" valence, tall end panel (1/2R.96) and door to 21x36R back to Home Depot.

11-11-03 Tuesday: Spoke to Jerry and he said he was going to ordered a more appropriate length valence.

11-13-03 Wednesday: Spoke to Teresa, since we needed to order a new cabinet (hinge on the left) why shouldn't it be the correct 24x36L.
12-5-03 Friday: Received valence via Fed X left at front door with no notification. Mind you, we have not checked it for damage yet as of today's date 29-Jan-04.

1-25-04 Monday: I Called Teresa to inquire about the status of the 24x36L cabinet. Teresa said they just received it. I asked about delivery status. Teresa said that she would need to get back to me.

1-29-04: Thursday I called Teresa at 2:00 pm to find out when the delivery date was to be Teresa said that she left messages on my home phone and cell home stating Kitchen Concepts will contact us.

1-29-04 Thursday: Received message from Kitchen Concepts on home machine to please call Nellie. Too late to return call as after work. Will call K/C on 01-30-04. Also received message from Teresa on home machine.
1-30-04 Friday: Spoke to Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) set up delivery date of 2-12-04, 8:00-10:00.

1-31-04 Saturday: Lorien delivered 24" w x 36" L cabinet. Inquired about door front to this cabinet? Lorien had to make a second trip for door front. Delivered front door on second trip.

2-2-04 Monday: Called Kitchen Concepts and spoke with Nellie to set up appointment to complete installation of cabinets. Installation to be done on 2-12-04.

2-9-04 Monday: Confirmed with Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) that 2-12-04 appointments is still on.

2-12-04 Thursday, 9:30am: Installer arrived and stated he only had orders to remove 21x36L and install 24x36L and valence. Installer states I would have to speak to Kitchen Concepts regarding the rest of the job. I called Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) and stated to her that this appointment is to complete the installation. Nellie stated she only had orders to do the above and nothing else. She also stated I had to call Home Depot and have them fax over to her (Nellie) the additional work.

2-12-04 Thursday, 10:00 am: I called Home Depot and was informed that Teresa will not be in until 3:00 pm. I then requested to speak to Suzanne, but was told she was unable too. I left a message for Suzanne to call and stated this was very important, that the installer and I were waiting for further authorization.

2-12-02 Thursday, 10:45 am Installer left after only removing 21x36L and installing 24x36L. No valence installed. WHY? Installer made a list of what needs to be done to complete the job and he Ssaid, "I will turn this list in to Kitchen Concepts".

2-12-04 Thursday, 3:45 pm: Spoke to Teresa and explained today's events. Also, informed Teresa that Suzanne that not returned my phone call today.

2-13-04, Friday, 10:30am: Call Teresa and she said, "Jerry and I will be there with installers to make sure the job will be completed. She will leave a message on my home machine with date of next installation.

2-23-04 Monday, 11:30 am: Call Teresa and inquired about installation date. She stated, "She is having a meeting on Wednesday (2-25-04) and will leave a message on my home machine.

03-01-04 STILL NO COMPLETION ON CABINETS

3-1-04 Monday: Received message from Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) on home machine to call and make appointment for completion of job. Too late to return call as after work.

3-2-04 Tuesday: Spoke with Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) and made an appointment for 3-10-04 between 9:00 and 10:00 am. Nellie wanted to know what else needed to be done. I stated "crown molding, light rails, valence and shelf, skin on cabinet above refrigerator, fastening down toe kicks, etc. basically "completion of the job". I am the consumer and am not sure of everything that needs to be done, that is why I hired professionals.

3-8-04 Monday, 11:30am: Spoke with Teresa and confirmed 3-10-04 date.

3-10-04 Wednesday, 9:00 am: Installers (Jason and Mark) arrived. They said "They were waiting for someone from Home Depot before they could start the job". Call Home Depot around 9:30 and spoke to Teresa. I told Teresa we were waiting for her. She said, "She is sending Kwok (the designer). As I was speaking to Teresa, Kwok arrives.

3-10-04 Wednesday, 9:30 to 9:45 am: Kwok explains to Jason what needs to be done. Jason calls Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) to confirm work order. I overheard Jason telling Nellie that the skin must be installed. At this point everyone is in agreement. Work begins and Kwok leaves.

3-10-04 Wednesday, 12:30pm: I informed installers I was leaving for work and that they should check with my neighbor when they were done to lock the house. I left installers with my and John's phone numbers in case of emergency.

3-10-04 Wednesday, 7:00 pm: I returned home from work and found the kitchen was not completed. Approximately four and one half feet of crown molding installed out of over 30 feet; around 15 feet of backing for crown molding was installed in preparation for crown molding; the valance and shelf was installed, skin installed; however our cabinet doors that were installed were removed and not reinstalled; none of our hardware was installed; toe kick is still loose; none of the trim under the upper cabinets had been installed, which means that the two installers installed approximately 10 percent of the remaining items left to install. I called my neighbor who was kind enough to lock our home up after the installers left, and she said, "The installers left around 3:00 pm and did not say why the job was not completed nor when they would return.
It appears that the installers were not as qualified as they should have been, as most of the joints of the crown molding were not made correctly. A fair amount of light can be seen through the joints. Now, it appears that we need to take photos. Additionally, there appears to be lots of wood left in very small pieces as cut-offs, and it looks like they were the result of more that just of few mistakes in installing the Crown Molding. We expect next for Home Depot to say that they were told that there was not enough molding to complete our project, that is if we ever get to that point

3-11-04 Thursday, 11:00 am: Called Teresa (Home Depot), she said "Lanny, what's up"? I said, "Teresa, "you tell me". Teresa did not understand my comment, so I explained to her that the job was NOT completed again and I wanted to know why. She said, "She did not know why and will find out". She also said "I may have to get Celine (regional manager) involved.

3-11-04 Thursday, 2:30pm: Received message from Teresa on home machine requesting I call her tomorrow morning to resolve this situation. Teresa wants to know what exactly still needs to be done? She needs to write up a new p.o. Too late to return phone call as after work. Again, I am hesitate to describe all work that needs to be done because I am the consumer and am afraid I might leave something out.

Stay tuned

3-12-04 Friday, 8:00am: Call Teresa and she requested I faxed over to Home Depot a list of items that still needs to be completed.

3-12-04 Friday, 8:30am: Faxed over a list of items I think needs to be completed. Install crown molding, filler for crown molding, scribe, fasten toe kicks, light rails and hardware (pulls and knobs).

3-15-04 Monday, 3:00pm: Received message on home machine from Teresa. She is requesting to inspect the kitchen with Jerry tomorrow in the afternoon. Too late to return phone call due to after hours.

3-15-04 Monday, 3:05pm: Received message on home machine from Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) to set up next installation appointment. Too late to return phone call due to after hours.

3-16-04 Tuesday, 6:30am: Call Teresa and set up time for her and Jerry to inspect kitchen today. Informed Teresa, my neighbor would let her and Jerry in the house. Also informed Teresa that Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) left me a message yesterday requesting I call her to set up next installation appointment. Teresa told me to wait until she and Jerry inspected the kitchen

3-16-04 Tuesday: Received message from Nellie on home machine stating "Installers would be here tomorrow between 9:00 & 9:30 am tomorrow morning to complete the job.

3-16-04 Tuesday, am: I called Nellie (Kitchen Concepts) to cancel tomorrow's appointment, stating, "I'm not available tomorrow".

3-16-04 Tuesday, 6:00pm: I returned home from work and I noticed Teresa's had left her Home Depot business card on the front door stating, "No one was home next door" and I should call Jerry's tomorrow morning on his cell phone. I checked with my neighbor regarding visit from Home Depot today. She states, "No one ever showed up".

Disclaimer:

We are sure that some of the above dates listed are erroneous, as we were not specifically tracking each phase of the issues listed above, HOWEVER, in general terms, the overall picture of incompetence is accurate, and not been embellished, in any fashion, whatsoever.

John Felts and Lanny Toy

     
Replies
Home Depot Makes You Suck Up Their Mistakes...and Pay for Them, Too
By -

I’m here to warn you to never purchase large ticket items or services through Home Depot. We spent weeks with the kitchen designer planning our kitchen from pretty much a blank canvas. In good faith, we installed plumbing, flooring, lighting, and gas lines based on the agreed-upon plans. The window, oven vent, light switch, and alarm pad were the only things installed when Home Depot sent their experts to measure the room, for which we were charged $125. From there the story gets ugly. Not only did HD’s experts come to measure once, they came a second time. When the cabinets arrived and were installed, these are a few of the things that happened:

-- one entire wall of cabinets was mis-measured.

-- upper cabinets did not fit where the oven vent was to be placed; we had to pay to have the vent moved

-- the last cabinet covered the light switch and alarm pad that were in place when the room was measured; we had to pay to have the light switch & alarm pad moved
-- the island was not planned correctly to seat two people and changes had to be made to the plan that extended the island far beyond where we wanted it to be (it's now into the family room); we had to suck that up, too

-- now let’s talk about the quality and manufacturing process of the cabinets

-- at least 3 cabinet doors came with scratches, similar to someone who had scraped them with sandpaper

-- at least 4 had gouges, similar to someone using a utility knife to open a box

-- over 30 doors has rails and stiles on the fronts that did not meet (we have since discovered from talking to other furniture makers, that this is due to an error in the manufacturing process)

These are only a few of the problems we had with either measurements taken by HD or the quality of the cabinets received.

We tried to work with the local HD, who sent one batch of doors back, only to get back replacement doors with similar problems. Then they got defensive and claimed we were the problem and that we wouldn’t be happy with anything. These were very obvious problems that people who visited our home would point out to us.

We then sought assistance with HD’s Customer Care Center in Georgia. They offered us $3,000 to keep what we had (we have since found many other complaints where this appears to be HD's standard amount to make you go away). This didn’t even begin to cover the costs we had incurred in preparing the room to meet their design specs, much less to fix their errors, so we asked them to re-think this and identified the amount that was closer to what we were out. We didn’t think we had to eat up every cost. We thought it only fair that we be reimbursed for the costs we were out as well as compensation for the lower quality of cabinets we had received because HD wasn’t willing to honor their warranty by providing good quality cabinets to us. We spoke with a lawyer who suggested we write to them and see if we could get them to talk to us and negotiate for the amount that was closer to what we were out; he also said he expected we’d be back because HD was a company that was too cocky in thinking they could railroad people. He advised us to also get written statements from independent furniture makers regarding the craftsmanship/manufacturing of the pieces we had received (we’ve gotten 3 so far) He also advised us to get estimates from furniture makers for what it would cost us to “make the cabinet doors right”, which we have.

Well, he was right. HD in Georgia never bothered to even respond to our settlement request; they just stopped talking to us. Well, the sad part is that in this economy, a company that isn’t even willing to talk to or to treat their customers with respect isn’t going to make it. They probably don’t think we’ll take them to court, but they’ve misjudged us. We've been without a functional kitchen for nearly a year. We have an autistic child who has been very disrupted by all the upheaval and nothing being finished. We can't afford to eat out because of the additional costs we had incurred because of Home Depot. We're facing an $18K bill due in several months and an unfinished kitchen because HD won't talk with us. We had tried to be "fair" and not identify all the costs to them, thinking that we could take some of the hit, but after their treatment (especially the local HD manager), no way. We have had to spend untold hours and hours of time outside of work in order to take care of this. We had been loyal customers for over 25 years; not anymore.

What a shame; this would have been such a simple thing to work through and they could have left with a somewhat happy customer; they just didn't think very much of their customer....

     
Replies
Kitchen Cabinets Restocking Fee
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MIDDLETOWN, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased over 18K worth of cabinets from Home Depot. I ran into some measuring problems from my first contractor and had to return some cabinets and pay a restocking fee. I paid it because I knew that it wasn't their fault. I hired a new contractor and received new measurements for 6 other cabinets. The design person suggested that I order 2 cabinets with different measurements than what my contractor had requested. She said that it was the same in total and that the doors would look better. He requested a 33' and a 12', she suggested a 30' and a 15'. I signed off on it based on her recommendation. I don't know anything about kitchen design and I am not a contractor.

When the cabinets were delivered and my contractor came back to finish the job he said that there was mistake on the cabinets delivered. I explained that the new measurements were a recommendation from the designer. He said that it would look wrong because the bottom cabinet was a 33' and now I had a 30'. I called Home Depot to speak to the designer but she was on vacation. I spoke to another person in the same dept. and she said that I had to pay a restocking fee if I wanted to return them. I explained that I had signed off on it based on the designer's recommendation but I still was not able to convince her to take them back without a restocking fee. She explained that I should have used their contractors because then they would stand behind their mistakes if any.

I am being penalized for not using their people which in the past I had a problem with. I started this remodeling back in June. I still don't have a kitchen and don't know what is going to happen. I was contacted by someone in Atlanta who was supposed to look into it but I have not heard anything yet.

     
Replies
Strung Along For Over 3 Weeks With Successive Dates On When My Cabinets Would Arrive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLOVIS, CALIFORNIA -- I was told my cabinets would be ready on 3-25-13. I called the Home Depot store on 3-26-18 and was told they would arrive on 3-28-13. I called on 3-28-13 and was told they were scheduled for delivery on 3-30-13. I called to complain to management and was told that they had to string me along because they were at the mercy of their supplier who was stringing them along. I called a few times afterwards and was told that they were listed as delivered, but they didn't have them so maybe they were on a truck somewhere and they were looking into it. Eventually I heard back that they finally did arrive but were missing the kick plates so the front of the cabinet would not have a finished look. They wanted me to pick them up w/o the kick plates, but I chose to wait until I got the plates, to make sure I got the plates (who wants unfinished cabinets?). I was told they would call me with the status on the kick plates. I never heard back and was sick and tired of calling the store and waiting on hold, so I used the Home Depot chat service to complain and they said they would have the store call me back. I did hear back last week on 4-4-13 from a representative at the store and who told me that they had no idea when the kick plates would arrive and would not be able to find out the status until 4-11-13 when they were able to call the supplier (I guess the phones were out of order until then???????).

I was also told I would receive a call soon after the 4-11-13 call to the supplier with an update on the status. It is the end of the day on 4-12-13 and I have not received a call. I'm very very frustrated, unhappy, and angry. If they are really at the mercy of unreliable suppliers, they should tell you that before they let me make an order.

     
Replies
Reverse Discrimination
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFIELD, ALABAMA -- Remodeling 3 rental properties in this area. Went to the local HD to order cabinets, flooring, interior doors and paint. In each department we were treated as if we were interupting their social life. Saw more than 1 shopper overlooked or ignored while customer of a certain race were placed ahead in lines(paint mixing). Witnessed more than 1 customer leave buggies with item and walk out of the store. We drove many miles farther and did our shopping at a Lowes store. By the way we spent over $17,000.00 on supplies to remodel these properties. Maybe HD does not need our money. Guilty of shopping while white.

     
Replies
Don't Get Burned - -Buyer Beware
By -

BRONX, NEW YORK -- We worked with a Home Depot Designer??? (showed us her computer designs, never photos of completed kitchens) for almost a month. Throughout the process we were pressured to sign NOW, lock in the deal!! all of those statements were tied to special store or vendor promotions. When we started the process the cabinet estimate was $10,000, when we finished it was approximately $25,000. Again we were pressured to close the deal based on vendor promotions. However they saved the best for last. The Designer (more of a sales person)after having us come back and forth to work on the design Hit us with two major NO No's that made my attorney feel queasy they are: You MUST PAY IN FULL FOR THE CABINETS THAT YOU HAVE NOT SEEN OR RECEIVED AND YOU MUST PAY IN FULL FOR FOR THE INSTALLATION OF THE CABINETS THAT HAS NOT OCCURRED AND THAT YOU HAVE NOT APPROVED, but wait another deal to sweeten the pot, if you use our installer we will rebate the tax on the whole deal HUM! now since when does IRS rebate tax? and who is paying the tax? This all smells like a dead RAT. We questioned the manager about our rights after the fact, because once they have our money what recourse do we have? The manager proclaimed Jason proclaimed " I have worked for Home Depot for 15 years" that is not what I asked him and I never got a correct reply because there isn't one - he did say he has never heard of any kitchen problems in all the years he has worked for the company- I guess he does not read Consumer Affairs, Better Business Bureau, etc. "BUYER BEWARE- This is not fair and honest dealing. We live in a troubled economy Home Depot is not offering any guarantees and once they have your $20,000 +++try to get some satisfaction when the cabinets do not arrive, arrive damaged, the measurements are wrong, the installation is inferior, the prices go up and they want more money, etc. etc. Home Depot is committing fraud, bait and switch, pressure tactics, invalid promo deals to snag people. I plan to report their Practice of WE WANT FULL PAYMENT FOR GOODS AND SERVICES A CUSTOMER HAS NOT RECEIVED TO THE ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE - They do not have my money HURRAY- USE YOUR GOOD COMMON SENSE- DO NOT PAY FOR GOODS AND SERVICES IN FULL THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE AND APPROVE OF.

     
Replies
Please Read Before You Order Cabinets From HD
By -

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- The house that I purchased approximately 18 months ago was built in the 1920s and in need of a great deal of repair/remodel due to neglect. One of the main remodels has been the kitchen. All of the original cabinetry was removed prior to when I officially moved in due to irreparable damages. Since then, I've been in the process of purchasing $4,000+ in custom-made kitchen cabinets from Home Depot (store # 0119). Since I am not a skilled contractor and have no experience in kitchen remodels, I went to the Home Depot and asked for their assistance. I informed them that I would be purchasing the kitchen cabinetry over a period of time as I only have a limited income to work with. I also knew that my kitchen is rather small and would require specially ordered cabinets to accommodate the layout. The associate on-hand informed me that I would need to have one of their employees measure the dimensions of the kitchen for a fee of $60 (which would be credited towards the purchase of my cabinetry) in order for them to place the custom order. I was clear of the fact that I would be having someone else other than Home Depot performing the installation. This is clearly shown in all quotes I've obtained for cabinet designs/layout over the duration of this transaction.

When this entire ordeal began, the Home Depot staff conducted their first on-site measurements and designed a kitchen plan based on those measurements back in August 2006. However, I noticed they did not have my windows in the correct location on the design layout. Because of this, they had to come out a second time in order to re-evaluate their initial measurements, which were incorrect. I can verify these events as I had a witness at the time both measurements were taken.

The transaction was completed yesterday, on 2/27/08, when I picked up the last of my cabinetry. Today, on 2/28/08, when my contractor arrived to install them, he noticed none of the cabinets came close to fitting in my kitchen properly. The drawers on the end cabinets cannot open because it conflicts with the stove (the stove is in the same exact location as it had been in the initial layout of the kitchen which can also been clearly seen in the layout given to me by the Home Depot). The cabinets stretch out past the door frame and there is no room for a countertop to adequately fit without blocking part of the back door.
My contractor measured the kitchen and compared it to the measurements they had on file and none of them matched. Of course, their measurements are what the cabinet purchases were based upon.

I've contacted the Home Depot (both locally and corporate headquarters) and they are insisting that none of their measurements are guaranteed unless Home Depot performs the installation and that I am stuck with the cabinets that they have purchased for me. No one is even willing to adjust the cabinets in order to fit my kitchen. The assistant manager I spoke with on 2/28/08 was both rude and unhelpful. He was not at all concerned with my dilemma and since the store manager is apparently out of town, corporate insists their hands are tied, as well.

No one informed me of the non-guarantee less installation. There is no paperwork that I signed which state this. In fact, I have my receipt for the $60 measurement fee I was charged and there is no disclaimer stating this anywhere to be found. I would have never paid $60 for someone to measure my kitchen for cabinets if there were no guarantees on the accuracy of their measurements. I would've been more than happy to have my contractor take the measurements (for free), but the store employee insisted I pay for the measurements in order to purchase the proper cabinets for my kitchen. However, now none of them fit because the measurements were incorrect and I feel the Home Depot is responsible and should work to remedy the situation.

     
Replies
Home Depot Cabinet refacing
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CONNECTICUT -- OK-Here’s the lowdown on Home Depot cabinet refacing. It’s not cheap as you might think coming from a Big Box store—however: they do a great job. Unlike many companies (and contractors) they keep you in the loop, informed sand updated. They do things when they SAY they will. In all honesty, it was probably double what I expected, but with that said I really had no idea what it would run! The installer was here for four days and had a LOT of work to do. As a small business owner myself, I appreciate the time he put in as well as getting PAID for time spent. Everybody wants everything done right, fast and FREE. I'm sure there are cheaper options, but I feel this installation was carefully done and not a hack job. Would painting my existing cabinets have been cheaper? You bet. Did I have the time for that…no way. These really do look and feel like new cabinets—not some cheap cover-up job.

     
Replies
Home "Creepo" Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CREEPY ST -- Thought about having HD reface a small kitchen. OMG their estimate was close to $20,000!!! ARE THEY NUTS????? And, to make matters worse, I had to sign up NOW!!!! I couldn't think about it overnight or wait for the wife's input. What creeps HD has working. Over 2 1/2 hours to FINALLY get to a bottom number that I had to agree upon NOW!!!!! or the price would go up 2,000. No more HD for us thanks.

     
Replies
HD doesn't stand behind their product
By -

In September 2007 I paid almost $9,000 to Home Depot to get my cabinets refaced. The price seemed high, for the mid-range cabinet doors and drawer fronts I had chosen, but I wanted the work done right and I thought that by going with a large, reputabel company, I'd get better workmanship and a better finished job overall.
The workman who did the refacing did a great job. They looked amazing, and I was really pleased.
That was 3 years ago, and now the drawers are disintegrating and some of the veneer is starting to peel.
I called their customer service folks only to be told that my warranty was up and they'd charge me by the hour to come out and fix the cabinets. They wanted $75 over the phone before they would even schedule an appointment and couldn't give me any real idea of what it would end up costing me. Not sure how they'd fix them in any case, since they are basically falling apart.
I understand that the warranty is up and I was prepared to pay something, but to be told that I had to pay the $75 UP FRONT was insulting;over the years, I'm sure I've spent well in excess of $20,000 with this company and it's galling that they take no responsibility for their products. For $9,000, cabinets should last more than 3 years, warranty or not.
I'll find someone else to fix them and they have lost a good customer. If you're shopping for cabinet refacing, be warned. After a year, you're on your own.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >