Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Kitchen Cabinets Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Said They Could Do Job, Collected Payment, Then Could Not Do Job
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROSSFORD, OHIO -- I first went to the Home Depot to inquire about replacing my kitchen countertops. The representative there then suggested we look at refacing the cabinets as well. He set up an appointment for me for 4/19/16. The representative came out, said they could do the whole job, countertops included, as that is what started the process. I asked then for a breakdown of cabinets and countertop, but she said she did not have that info, which made no sense to me and I should have pushed it but I did not. After she was done writing up the project, she then stated that in order to receive the discount I had to pay the entire amount upfront.

I was not comfortable with this, and was very hesitant. The representative then stated that they would the check until the measure tech came out and ensured everything was correct. This was supposed to happen in 3 days. On 4/27 the tech came out, and said he had just been informed of this job. 2 minutes into his measurements, he stated that they could not do the countertop, since it needed to be a "custom" job.

I then stated that I did feel comfortable continuing, since it seemed like a bait and switch. He said, "well let me just do the measurements, but rest assured nothing can go forward until you approve it." He even wrote it onto the measure order, saying customer wants to put hold on job and payment until all issues resolved.

3 days later the original sales representative called me and asked what I wanted to do. I told her that I was comfortable with the process, and did not want to go forward, please send back my check. She assured me that the check would not be processed until I approved. She then against asked what they needed to do to keep my business. I said at the very minimum I needed a breakdown of the costs. She said she did not have that, and would call me back.

The next day she called me back, gave me the breakdown, said she had spoken to the countertop guy at the store and that they could do it for an even lower price. I asked if it included everything and she said yes. I then called the gentleman at the store, and asked him specific questions, and lo and behold, there were add-ons. He said if I came in that day, he could work with me. I told him I could not make it that day, he said he was off the next 2 days but if I wanted the discount I had to come in within the next 2 days.

I then called the sales rep, had to leave her a message. I stated that I did not want to forward with Home Depot, as I kept getting lied to. I again asked for my check to be returned. I never heard back from her. I then went to the bank and put a stop payment on the check. That was a Saturday. On Monday morning, 5/2 I checked my account and saw that Home Depot had deposited the check, against my clear requests.

When I then called Home Depot, they said that it should not have gone through, and they would refund my check. When I asked how soon that would occur, they stated 3-4 weeks. I said that was unacceptable, they should not have processed it, and I would not wait that long. I then spoke to a supervisor, he gave the required "we will look into it" answer. I then repeated my concern of waiting 4 weeks for $13,000 in my money. He said they would get back to me quickly. I have not heard back from him yet

Cabinet And Granite Counter Order Was A Joke
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GALVESTON, TEXAS -- Not sure where to begin but know I will never step foot in a Home Depot at any location. The beginning of May 2015 I went to the local Home Depot to order kitchen cabinets for a remodel. They began by locating someone in the store who can initiate my order. This was an hour wait and should have been a red flag to walk out. I placed the order for my cabinets. The next plan was to have someone come out and take measurements. I paid the 48.00 to schedule the installer. The third party installer came out and was very pleasant to deal with. He told me to wait a week and call the store to speak with the in-store designer.

I called in a few days and asked for the Designer. I was told she was out but could contact me. After a few days I went to the store to meet with the Designer because I hadn't heard back. I was then told she was out on medical leave for 6 weeks. I asked for someone else and was told I would have to wait until she returned… WHAT? I asked to transfer my measurements to another location and I would drive to the location. They said someone would call me. I received a call a few days later from someone with Design Connect in Atlanta telling me they will work with me over the phone and online with my order. This should have been my next Red Flag.

I was told my measurements couldn't be sent to another location but I could go to the location and pay again for another measurement… WHAT? So reluctantly, I agreed to work with this person in Atlanta. After 4 weeks of back and forth with the design being emailed to me, I decided to visit a store and look at the cabinets suggested. I didn't like them and found one I liked and let Design Connect know of the change. She made the changes and sent me yet another drawing. Of course through this entire process I had to wait for a reply each time I emailed a question or wait until she came back to work.

After 7 weeks and finding their prices for my small kitchen was enormously out in left field, I called to cancel the order and went to Lowe's locally to place my order. I worked with an amazing lady there and ordered my cabinets having them installed in 4 weeks. It was a simple 2-hour in-store consultation with Lowe's on the design with her making some good design suggestions. Next, I decided, now it's time to order countertops. Back to Home Depot I went because it's local. I ordered the granite with the Designer who was now back at work from her medical leave. I wasn't told that the process from order to install takes about 10 weeks.

I won't bore you with all the details but my order is cancelled due to measurement appointments not kept and told the granite I selected (3rd party) could possibly have defects and this is why it was on sale. Of course the DESIGNER doesn't tell you all this because they are clueless. In the meantime I ordered custom blinds (the same day I ordered the counter) and have now cancelled my blind and countertop orders.

The Galveston Home Depot is the most unprofessional, rude, incompetent group of individuals I have ever had to deal with. You can't get help in the store and if you do they have no clue how to do their jobs. I've made several complaints with the manager and this was like talking to a wall. It took someone almost 2 hours to cut some temporary shades for me because 3 people had no clue how to operate the cutter. I will never set foot in a Home Depot again even if I have to drive 30 miles to the nearest hardware store. It's not the middle of July and I still don't have a kitchen. I will be visiting Lowe's this week.

Home Depot Cabinet refacing
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CONNECTICUT -- OK - Here's the lowdown on Home Depot cabinet refacing. It's not cheap as you might think coming from a Big Box store — however: They do a great job. Unlike many companies (and contractors) they keep you in the loop, informed and updated. They do things when they SAY they will. In all honesty, it was probably double what I expected, but with that said I really had no idea what it would run! The installer was here for four days and had a LOT of work to do.

As a small business owner myself, I appreciate the time he put in as well as getting PAID for time spent. Everybody wants everything done right, fast and FREE. I'm sure there are cheaper options, but I feel this installation was carefully done and not a hack job. Would painting my existing cabinets have been cheaper? You bet. Did I have the time for that? No way. These really do look and feel like new cabinets — not some cheap cover-up job.

Home Depot Makes You Suck Up Their Mistakes...and Pay for Them, Too
By -

I'm here to warn you to never purchase large ticket items or services through Home Depot. We spent weeks with the kitchen designer planning our kitchen from pretty much a blank canvas. In good faith, we installed plumbing, flooring, lighting, and gas lines based on the agreed-upon plans. The window, oven vent, light switch, and alarm pad were the only things installed when Home Depot sent their experts to measure the room, for which we were charged $125. From there the story gets ugly. Not only did HD's experts come to measure once, they came a second time. When the cabinets arrived and were installed, these are a few of the things that happened:

  1. One entire wall of cabinets was mis-measured.
  2. Upper cabinets did not fit where the oven vent was to be placed; we had to pay to have the vent moved.
  3. The last cabinet covered the light switch and alarm pad that were in place when the room was measured; we had to pay to have the light switch & alarm pad moved.
  4. The island was not planned correctly to seat two people and changes had to be made to the plan that extended the island far beyond where we wanted it to be (it's now into the family room); we had to suck that up, too.

Now let's talk about the quality and manufacturing process of the cabinets. At least 3 cabinet doors came with scratches, similar to someone who had scraped them with sandpaper. At least 4 had gouges, similar to someone using a utility knife to open a box. Over 30 doors has rails and stiles on the fronts that did not meet (we have since discovered from talking to other furniture makers, that this is due to an error in the manufacturing process). These are only a few of the problems we had with either measurements taken by HD or the quality of the cabinets received.

We tried to work with the local HD, who sent one batch of doors back, only to get back replacement doors with similar problems. Then they got defensive and claimed we were the problem and that we wouldn't be happy with anything. These were very obvious problems that people who visited our home would point out to us.

We then sought assistance with HD's Customer Care Center in Georgia. They offered us $3,000 to keep what we had (we have since found many other complaints where this appears to be HD's standard amount to make you go away). This didn't even begin to cover the costs we had incurred in preparing the room to meet their design specs, much less to fix their errors, so we asked them to re-think this and identified the amount that was closer to what we were out. We didn't think we had to eat up every cost.

We thought it only fair that we be reimbursed for the costs we were out as well as compensation for the lower quality of cabinets we had received because HD wasn't willing to honor their warranty by providing good quality cabinets to us.

We spoke with a lawyer who suggested we write to them and see if we could get them to talk to us and negotiate for the amount that was closer to what we were out; he also said he expected we'd be back because HD was a company that was too cocky in thinking they could railroad people. He advised us to also get written statements from independent furniture makers regarding the craftsmanship/manufacturing of the pieces we had received (we've gotten 3 so far) He also advised us to get estimates from furniture makers for what it would cost us to “make the cabinet doors right”, which we have.

Well, he was right. HD in Georgia never bothered to even respond to our settlement request; they just stopped talking to us. Well, the sad part is that in this economy, a company that isn't even willing to talk to or to treat their customers with respect isn't going to make it. They probably don't think we'll take them to court, but they've misjudged us. We've been without a functional kitchen for nearly a year. We have an autistic child who has been very disrupted by all the upheaval and nothing being finished. We can't afford to eat out because of the additional costs we had incurred because of Home Depot.

We're facing an $18K bill due in several months and an unfinished kitchen because HD won't talk with us. We had tried to be "fair" and not identify all the costs to them, thinking that we could take some of the hit, but after their treatment (especially the local HD manager), no way. We have had to spend untold hours and hours of time outside of work in order to take care of this. We had been loyal customers for over 25 years; not anymore. What a shame; this would have been such a simple thing to work through and they could have left with a somewhat happy customer; they just didn't think very much of their customer…

Please Read Before You Order Cabinets From HD
By -

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- The house that I purchased approximately 18 months ago was built in the 1920s and in need of a great deal of repair/remodel due to neglect. One of the main remodels has been the kitchen. All of the original cabinetry was removed prior to when I officially moved in due to irreparable damages. Since then, I've been in the process of purchasing $4,000+ in custom-made kitchen cabinets from Home Depot (store # 0119). Since I am not a skilled contractor and have no experience in kitchen remodels, I went to the Home Depot and asked for their assistance.

I informed them that I would be purchasing the kitchen cabinetry over a period of time as I only have a limited income to work with. I also knew that my kitchen is rather small and would require specially ordered cabinets to accommodate the layout. The associate on-hand informed me that I would need to have one of their employees measure the dimensions of the kitchen for a fee of $60 (which would be credited towards the purchase of my cabinetry) in order for them to place the custom order. I was clear of the fact that I would be having someone else other than Home Depot performing the installation.

This is clearly shown in all quotes I've obtained for cabinet designs/layout over the duration of this transaction. When this entire ordeal began, the Home Depot staff conducted their first on-site measurements and designed a kitchen plan based on those measurements back in August 2006. However, I noticed they did not have my windows in the correct location on the design layout. Because of this, they had to come out a second time in order to re-evaluate their initial measurements, which were incorrect. I can verify these events as I had a witness at the time both measurements were taken.

The transaction was completed yesterday, on 2/27/08, when I picked up the last of my cabinetry. Today, on 2/28/08, when my contractor arrived to install them, he noticed none of the cabinets came close to fitting in my kitchen properly. The drawers on the end cabinets cannot open because it conflicts with the stove (the stove is in the same exact location as it had been in the initial layout of the kitchen which can also been clearly seen in the layout given to me by the Home Depot). The cabinets stretch out past the door frame and there is no room for a countertop to adequately fit without blocking part of the back door.

My contractor measured the kitchen and compared it to the measurements they had on file and none of them matched. Of course, their measurements are what the cabinet purchases were based upon. I've contacted the Home Depot (both locally and corporate headquarters) and they are insisting that none of their measurements are guaranteed unless Home Depot performs the installation and that I am stuck with the cabinets that they have purchased for me. No one is even willing to adjust the cabinets in order to fit my kitchen.

The assistant manager I spoke with on 2/28/08 was both rude and unhelpful. He was not at all concerned with my dilemma and since the store manager is apparently out of town, corporate insists their hands are tied, as well. No one informed me of the non-guarantee less installation. There is no paperwork that I signed which state this. In fact, I have my receipt for the $60 measurement fee I was charged and there is no disclaimer stating this anywhere to be found. I would have never paid $60 for someone to measure my kitchen for cabinets if there were no guarantees on the accuracy of their measurements.

I would've been more than happy to have my contractor take the measurements (for free), but the store employee insisted I pay for the measurements in order to purchase the proper cabinets for my kitchen. However, now none of them fit because the measurements were incorrect and I feel the Home Depot is responsible and should work to remedy the situation.

Don't Get Burned - -Buyer Beware
By -

BRONX, NEW YORK -- We worked with a Home Depot Designer (showed us her computer designs, never photos of completed kitchens) for almost a month. Throughout the process we were pressured to sign NOW, lock in the deal!! All of those statements were tied to special store or vendor promotions. When we started the process the cabinet estimate was $10,000, when we finished it was approximately $25,000. Again we were pressured to close the deal based on vendor promotions. However they saved the best for last.

The Designer (more of a sales person) after having us come back and forth to work on the design Hit us with two major NO No's that made my attorney feel queasy they are: “You MUST PAY IN FULL FOR THE CABINETS THAT YOU HAVE NOT SEEN OR RECEIVED AND YOU MUST PAY IN FULL FOR THE INSTALLATION OF THE CABINETS THAT HAS NOT OCCURRED AND THAT YOU HAVE NOT APPROVED," but wait another deal to sweeten the pot, if you use our installer we will rebate the tax on the whole deal HUM! Now since when does IRS rebate tax? And who is paying the tax? This all smells like a dead RAT.

We questioned the manager about our rights after the fact, because once they have our money what recourse do we have? The manager ** proclaimed " I have worked for Home Depot for 15 years" that is not what I asked him and I never got a correct reply because there isn't one - he did say he has never heard of any kitchen problems in all the years he has worked for the company - I guess he does not read Consumer Affairs, Better Business Bureau, etc. "BUYER BEWARE- This is not fair and honest dealing.

We live in a troubled economy, Home Depot is not offering any guarantees and once they have your $20,000+++ try to get some satisfaction when the cabinets do not arrive, arrive damaged, the measurements are wrong, the installation is inferior, the prices go up and they want more money, etc. etc. Home Depot is committing fraud, bait and switch, pressure tactics, invalid promo deals to snag people.


Kitchen Remodel
By -

PLEASANTON, CALIFORNIA -- We went to Home Depot to purchase Cabinets for our kitchen remodel project. We had a very detailed sketch, right down to the inch of our kitchen layout and what cabinets we wanted, and where they had to go. The salesman made a sketch on his own computer showing our kitchen. He put the cabinets where we wanted them but made some changes we were not told of. We spent over 1 hour going over this project. Not once would he look at our sketch. He would ask me about the placement of a cabinet and I would tell him "if you would look at my sketch it shows all of this" but he just showed a lack of concern for my sketch the whole time.

When we were done with the cabinets he asked about counter tops. He gave us a price that was much lower than the other bids we had, but told us we had to buy now to get that price. We fell for it and bought the counter tops also. $12,788. Total. Four weeks later the cabinets arrived. Half were wrong. The store manager would only take them back after charging us a 15% restocking fee. He said "you signed the sales order". It's all in item code so you can't tell what it is. We took the salesman's word that the order was right. After that we went to Lowes and bought the rest of the cabinets we needed. Got them in 2 weeks.

When the counter people came out to make patterns for our counter tops they said it was going to cost us $1700. More than we had already paid. I went down to the store and tried to talk to the store manager. I did talk to 3 other people that said they were managers but they couldn't do anything for me. They were very rude. They looked like they just got out of rehab. They were clueless. After 2 hours of waiting to talk to the store manager a woman came out and said she could refund me all but $200. I told her that's cheap to get rid of Home Depot. We bought our counter tops from a dealer in Oakland for much less than what Home Depot charged us.

Dealing with Home depot was a very frustrating experience. From management on down to the checkout clerk there is a lack of concern for customer satisfaction. The money we lost at Home depot we made up by going to other stores. We spent almost $6000 elsewhere. This Home Depot in Pleasanton is very dirty, carts all over the parking lot, just a mess.

Kitchen Cabinets Restocking Fee
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MIDDLETOWN, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased over 18K worth of cabinets from Home Depot. I ran into some measuring problems from my first contractor and had to return some cabinets and pay a restocking fee. I paid it because I knew that it wasn't their fault. I hired a new contractor and received new measurements for 6 other cabinets. The design person suggested that I order 2 cabinets with different measurements than what my contractor had requested. She said that it was the same in total and that the doors would look better. He requested a 33' and a 12', she suggested a 30' and a 15'. I signed off on it based on her recommendation.

I don't know anything about kitchen design and I am not a contractor. When the cabinets were delivered and my contractor came back to finish the job he said that there was mistake on the cabinets delivered. I explained that the new measurements were a recommendation from the designer. He said that it would look wrong because the bottom cabinet was a 33' and now I had a 30'. I called Home Depot to speak to the designer but she was on vacation. I spoke to another person in the same dept. And she said that I had to pay a restocking fee if I wanted to return them.

I explained that I had signed off on it based on the designer's recommendation but I still was not able to convince her to take them back without a restocking fee. She explained that I should have used their contractors because then they would stand behind their mistakes if any. I am being penalized for not using their people which in the past I had a problem with. I started this remodeling back in June. I still don't have a kitchen and don't know what is going to happen. I was contacted by someone in Atlanta who was supposed to look into it but I have not heard anything yet.

Strung Along For Over 3 Weeks With Successive Dates On When My Cabinets Would Arrive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLOVIS, CALIFORNIA -- I was told my cabinets would be ready on 3-25-13. I called the Home Depot store on 3-26-18 and was told they would arrive on 3-28-13. I called on 3-28-13 and was told they were scheduled for delivery on 3-30-13. I called to complain to management and was told that they had to string me along because they were at the mercy of their supplier who was stringing them along. I called a few times afterwards and was told that they were listed as delivered, but they didn't have them so maybe they were on a truck somewhere and they were looking into it.

Eventually I heard back that they finally did arrive but were missing the kick plates so the front of the cabinet would not have a finished look. They wanted me to pick them up w/o the kick plates, but I chose to wait until I got the plates, to make sure I got the plates (who wants unfinished cabinets?). I was told they would call me with the status on the kick plates. I never heard back and was sick and tired of calling the store and waiting on hold, so I used the Home Depot chat service to complain and they said they would have the store call me back.

I did hear back last week on 4-4-13 from a representative at the store and who told me that they had no idea when the kick plates would arrive and would not be able to find out the status until 4-11-13 when they were able to call the supplier (I guess the phones were out of order until then???). I was also told I would receive a call soon after the 4-11-13 call to the supplier with an update on the status. It is the end of the day on 4-12-13 and I have not received a call. I'm very very frustrated, unhappy, and angry. If they are really at the mercy of unreliable suppliers, they should tell you that before they let me make an order.

Never Use Home Depot
By -

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- My husband and I contracted Home Depot for installation of cabinets and countertops. Dealing with this store has been absolutely horrible!!! From start to finish everything has gone wrong! We finally got our cabinets in two months later than the salesperson told us it would take. That was only after constantly calling them to get things scheduled such as measurements. The salesperson assured us after we paid way more money than we expected to, that there would be no hidden costs or any extra money expected.

My husband asked him at least ten times if there would be anything else we would have to pay after the $8,000.00 that we spent and he swore that we were done. So, with that said, I am now being told that we have to pay an extra $800.00 because there was a "glitch" in the computer at Home Depot which made the measurements wrong.

Finally after multiple phone calls I speak to the store manager and she tells me that she is willing to cut the amount in half so that we only have to pay $370.00, I of course start laughing hysterically and couldn't believe what she was saying! She also said "If I wasn't as nice of a person, I could make the $800.00 stick because you signed a document stating that there could be changes. This of course is after she said the computer had a "glitch".

She also said that it is our word against ** that he told us there would be no further cost! We thought by going with a big company we would be safe! Ha! I will never so much as buy a light bulb from Home Depot again and I will let everyone I know to never use Home Depot for anything. I work in customer service and If I ever acted like these people I would have already lost my job!

What happened to making the customer happy? Oh wait, that is before you pay $8,000 and sign on the dotted line because after that they've got you and you're screwed! The only bright spot in all this has been talking to a very nice person by the name of "**" who works for the customer service 800 line. She is the only one that actually wanted to help and seemed to care. People like her should be working on the sales floor not the people who are currently there!

Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Kitchen Cabinets Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
Compare Home Improvement Companies