Home Depot Carpet

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
70 reviews & complaints.
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Defective Carpet
By -

ATLANTA, GA -- Dear Mr. Blake, I have an issue with my $6000 carpet that I purchased from the Bellevue, WA Home Depot March 24th, 2005. The carpet was on back-order at that time, but then came in early, and was installed in April 2005. After a few months, the carpet started turning black, not in a particular area or spot, but everywhere especially where the carpet was next to the hardwood flooring, so from the hardwood floor to the living room, the dining room, the family room, and the hallway to the bedrooms. The area in front of the couch in front of the TV was also turning black.

I had the carpets cleaned, and initially took out the black, which was spreading across the carpet. But then the black streaking reoccurred, and kept spreading. I had the carpets cleaned again, but the after a couple months, the black returned. My gut instinct was there was no "œstainmaster" in my Stainmaster carpet. It seemed odd to me that the carpet was on backorder, then came early, and then started staining and turning black. I called the Bellevue Home Depot for two months before someone (**) actually came out and looked at my carpet and took samples.

I told ** what my gut instinct of no "stainmaster" so he took samples from my home and also the roll I had leftover from the installation that was in my garage. Eventually I received a letter (November 8th, 2007) from InVista from **, Stainmaster Consumer Care, which stated that I had no Stainmaster in my carpet. She ordered new carpet in December 2007, and I had the new replacement carpet for the entire house installed on February 16th, 2008. Which means I had to take two days off from work to hire movers and have all the furniture moved out of my home for the installation to take place.

I was happy that Home Depot had stepped up and taken responsibility for the defective carpet, and I told my friends and everyone I worked with at Qwest and Microsoft about my good experience. The new replacement carpet started turning black again within 3 months. I was either in denial or didn'™t think that Home Depot would replace $6000 worth of carpet with defective carpet. I had the carpets cleaned, but the carpet just started turning black in the same places it did before, usually from the hardwood flooring to the carpet, or if I dropped anything, it would start to turn black.

I had the carpets cleaned again in May 2009 but the carpets just started turning black again. I called **, InVista, to tell her that my carpet was turning black again. ** asked if it was the same as before, the hardwood flooring to the carpet and in front of where people sat (TV). I said "yes" and at first she said that could not be possible, that the Stainmaster had been reformulated in April 2008. She looked at my file and then said she had ordered the new replacement carpet in December 2007, and I had the new replacement carpet installed in February 2008. Two months before the carpet/Stainmaster was reformulated.

I called the Bellevue Home Depot after I talked to **, and a ** (expeditor) came out and took samples of the carpet from the leftover replacement carpet I had in the garage. He was supposed to send this sample to Stainmaster for a test to see if there was any Stainmaster in the new replacement carpet. He also hired a 3rd party "œexpert" to see what was wrong with my carpet. As soon as Kurt said that, I knew I was going to get the "œrunaround" with Home Depot. I am sure they didn'™t want to have the expense of replacing my carpet again! I have worked at large companies, and I know.

As soon as the 3rd party expert arrived, and when the first thing he asked is if I had cats, I knew he was going to say it was the cat'™s fault. And of course, the results came back that the stains (all over in the exact places as the first carpet?) were cat urine. What your "expert" didn'™t ask me is when I got the cats. My other cat had passed away in November 2007, before I got the new replacement carpets. I didn'™t get new cats until September-October of 2008. The new replacement carpet, installed February 16th, 2008, was already turning black, and had already been cleaned once. There is no "œcat" smell in my home, and people who visit don'™t even know that I have cats.

I am sure if I would have told your 3rd party "œexpert" that I had no cats and/or pets, he would have come up with another reason. He is the "œexpert" for Home Depot, and obviously wants to be hired again which isn'™t going to happen if he allows a claim against Home Depot. I have dealt with 3 wood flooring "œexperts" and each one had a different story. Home Depot's customer service (if you would call it that???) closed my claim. Stainmaster doesn'™t cover cat urine - never mind that I had no cats when the new replacement carpet was installed and there probably is no Stainmaster in this new replacement carpet.

I would not know, because Home Depot and/or InVista has never gotten back to me with the Stainmaster results. I have called HD customer service, and also talked to a manager, **, December 23rd, who said she would call me back, but never has. I have left her 3 messages this week (Mon, Wed, Thursday) with no response. All I received was a letter in the mail, dated December 23rd, 2009, telling me that because of the cat urine (?) my warranty was void. I am giving Home Depot the opportunity to replace my carpet.

Obviously I would never have the exact same carpet because it probably still has no Stainmaster, but something comparable to what I purchased in the first place. I understand now that there is a test Home Depot can do to make sure the carpet has Stainmaster before the carpet leaves the warehouse. If I don't hear from anyone, or my claim is not reopened, and I receive the Stainmaster test results, then I am going to contact my local media. Maybe they can assist me, or at least bring public attention to this matter, so other consumers don'™t have to go through this.

I am sure there is no Stainmaster in the new replacement carpet, the black spreading stains are the same as before in the original new Home Depot carpet. I have my original receipt, the letter dated November 8, 2007 from InVista, and the letter from Home Depot dated December 23rd, 2009 rejecting my claim if you need copies. I would appreciate a response to this letter, and the Stainmaster test results. Thank you for your time.

Replies
Foreman Is Disgusted
By -

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- Let me first say that I am the foreman on a house which my father and I am flipping, and before now we recommended The Home Depot in full faith. On two previous flipped houses, there were zero hangups. However, the method of approach for installing floors has changed, and by far for the worse. The store I am referring to is on the East side of Ft Worth, in the Meadowbrook area. This is the same store which we worked with for the previous two houses. The best way I can write this review is to compare past experience with this recent experience.

Previously: Walked into Home Depot, dealt with the flooring department only, and arranged a flooring estimate. The flooring sales person was the person who arrived at the jobsite to conduct the estimate. He made measurements, inspected the existing floors, knew the potential problems, and did a 10 minute overview, including pointing out what he was concerned with, before leaving. This happened over lunch-time and by late evening he called back with prices. At this point, who wouldn't be thoroughly impressed? Went in-store paid what needed to be paid to start.

The installation took a little over a week to start, which I expect residential customers to complain about, but coming from a foreman's perspective, I don't hire someone who proclaims they can be there the next day. Reading between the lines, this means that they don't have any work lined up, and there is always good reason for it.

Everything went smoothly on both houses - there were two crews that showed up, one for vinyl, one for carpet. The vinyl installers floated the floors (necessary prep work) and the carpet guys did what they needed to. Everything was finished in a timely fashion, and this is why we went to Home Depot for work on our current house flip without a second thought.

Presently: The flooring salesman couldn't be nicer in assisting in our flooring choice. We take a few days to decide what will look best in the house and go back to pay for the materials. We scheduled the estimate for a Saturday. 7:30 Saturday morning, the estimator calls to give us a 3 hour window, and shows up on the early side of that window. No problems yet. The estimator pulls up in a little white sedan (NO ONE in construction should be driving anything other than a truck), shakes my hand, walks in, and pulls out his computer (by computer, I mean an instrument shaped like the computers that UPS has which you sign for packages, but with a large touch screen).

It's now that I find out that Home Depot will no longer be involved in the installation. Home Depot is basically a broker for installations and nothing more. The estimator doesn't say a word to me, and goes right to work. However, he doesn't quite seem to understand how to navigate through his computer. I spy on him a bit, more out of curiosity of his "toy" than to actually check up on his work, and sure enough, he's inputting data and erasing it over and over. It probably takes around 90 minutes to estimate every room in a 1700 sq ft house. He doesn't say much more than "bye" and walks out the door.

I don't know what the next step is, so I call Home Depot. From here on out, I deal with both the Pro desk and the flooring department, their managers, the various employees in both departments, and the estimator's secretary. Rarely do I ever get to speak with the same person twice in a row (except the secretary). They tell me they will have an estimate by the next day and will call. 3 days go by, and nothing. I call back, and they say they have been trying to get a hold of me (this infuriates me when someone says this, as my phone is by my side 24/7. This was a flat out LIE!).

Re-read my correct phone numbers to me, apologized for the inconvenience, then said that she didn't have my information in front of her and put me on hold. I hang up after holding for 15 minutes and call back. I call the same number and the phone rings and rings, and someone from the garden department answers?!? He says that the lady I was talking to went home for the day! I'm ticked. I go in-store the next morning to figure out what's going on.

Now that I'm there, the gentleman pulls my information right out. He shows me my estimate, and the vinyl information was created using the wrong pattern. (This is important in how much waste material will be produced matching up patterns, which ultimately effects my final price.) This set me back another 2 days. I'm so frustrated typing this out, I'm going to abbreviate the rest.

Today, 16 days after I have been putting up with 15 minute holds, non returned calls, lies, mis-entered information into computers, trying to change the cost of the materials I'VE ALREADY PAID FOR, and dealing with incompetent and/or shady representatives.... I get a call today saying that The Home Depot regrets to inform me that they cannot perform the installation due to crowning in my sub-floors. The only representative who has been to the jobsite was the estimator, who didn't mention this, which means that everyone who has seen this estimate has had the chance to catch this.

I have had this estimate passed through a ridiculous number of hands on Home Depot's side of things, and NOBODY including the estimator EVER mentioned that there was even a slight chance that prep work would be an issue. The lady who called me today to tell me that Home Depot is refusing my job recommended I hire a flooring contractor in the area to fix the crowning in the floor because Home Depot no longer will prep the area in which they work. This is the shadiest thing I have EVER heard. READ BETWEEN THE LINES! Talk about a scapegoat!

Anything the Home Depot installs, and ends up failing, will then be blamed on how the area was prepped before they got there, and will try to push all blame elsewhere and of course will NOT fix their work! I'M TICKED. From someone who has been a loyal customer since I was 16 years old (LOL a long time), I HATE HOME DEPOT. Once again, coming from a foreman's perspective - why in the world would I ever use someone to install something, if they refuse to prepare their own worksite?!? Crowning in the subfloors translates to a day of prep work using a self leveling compound.

So, 16 days later.... I am about to leave my house and get a $4000 refund for the materials I've already paid for and raise a storm at the pro desk. All are invited to come watch! From a foreman's perspective - DO NOT USE HOME DEPOT for your flooring needs...

Replies
Poor Carpet Quality And Worse Customer Service
By -

LOUISVILLE, COLORADO -- Tip: Before you decide to purchase a new carpet, just pinch a few strands of the carpet sample between your thumb and forefinger and pull. If you pull out some fuzz, you may want to keep on looking. This little test would have saved us a lot of headache...

We purchased 124 square yards of Mohawk carpet from the Home Depot store (Louisville, CO). Our problem is that it fuzzed terribly. We later found out that it was made with polyester or PET fibers, and not the normal nylon fiber construction. It was from their "special purchase" display. The sales person indicated that it was just as good as their other carpet on display, but it was discounted due to the large volume that Home Depot purchases. They failed to mention the shedding problem. We nearly trashed our new Oreck vacuum trying to remove the fuzz. Then we bought a Dyson vacuum cleaner and vacuumed another dozen times.

I understand that some fuzz is perfectly normal, but this carpet just keeps shedding massive amounts! The customer service at Home Depot has been dismal. First there was a week of delays while they had to talk with different store managers, who seemed to always be away in training class. Next, they told us that we had to keep the carpet installed for three months before the carpet manufacturer would come out to look at it. What a bunch of run around. They have yet to respond in any way to indicate that that customer satisfaction matters to them.

Even after constant vacuuming, if I kneel or sit on the floor while wearing dress clothes, they get covered with hundreds of tiny micro fibers. This sure seems like a potential serious health hazard. We certainly do not want our children inhaling these fibers while playing on the carpet. The quality of this carpet is awful! It looks like we will probably have to go to a real flooring or carpet store to purchase a carpet that does not shed constantly. Unfortunately, we learned an expensive lesson.

Don't expect to go to a big box store like Home Depot to be educated on anything. Their flooring specialists are not properly trained - even on their own products see updates. Update #1: After submitting our frustrating experience on my3cents, we promptly received an email from Home Depot consumer affairs stating that they would look into the issue. Later my wife received a phone call asking for more information. She was informed that they would contact the local store to see what they could do to deal with this problem. We were very impressed with the fast response from Home Depot corporate!

But, since then, over a week has passed by and still no response from the Louisville CO store. The breakdown in communication seems to be with the Home Depot local store manager. He has failed to return any of our calls as well. Update #2: Since our local Louisville, CO Home Depot Store manager seems to have decided not to respond to us at all. (No reply to phone messages, no "sorry we can't help you letter", nothing.) We went ahead and purchased 124 square yards of new carpet and had it installed. To add insult to our already sad Home Depot carpet experience, we had to pay someone to have Home Depot's lousy carpet removed!

We purchased our new carpet at The Carpet Exchange. The Carpet Exchange sales person was very helpful and very well trained. The new carpet was only slightly more expensive than Home Depot's "special run" carpet. And instead of having to wait several weeks for delivery, they installed it three days later! The real test was when we vacuumed the new carpet from Carpet Exchange. Once over cleaned up all of the cuttings from the carpet installation. The second pass was basically clean, no fuzz, no clogged vacuum cleaner. Now this is how a new carpet should be! We now feel that it is safe to let our kids play on this carpet.

Needless to say, we are very disappointed with our Home Depot's lack of concern for customer satisfaction regarding this issue. We like the selection of materials at Home Depot. We have purchased nearly all of our remodeling and basement finishing materials through them. The Home Depot used to be our first stop for all of our project materials. Until now, we have never had to test their customer service. Sadly, now that we have experienced first hand that Home Depot will not stand behind their product, we will look elsewhere for any future major purchases.

Update #3: We recently received a settlement letter from Home Depot Corporate. They basically offered a 50% refund on the carpet only portion of the invoice. We feel that this is reasonable and we will be accepting this settlement. To be perfectly honest, we would have been satisfied with less monetary compensation, if our Local Home Depot store management would have demonstrated any concern at all about customer satisfaction with regard to this issue. Even with this settlement agreement, it will take a long time before we feel the same enjoyment as we used to when walking into a Home Depot store.

Update #4: Well it's been a month since we faxed in the signed agreement. We have not heard a word from Home Depot corporate. We are starting to wonder if they are going to follow through at all. Update #5: We tried to call the Home Depot "Resolution Specialist" who signed the Release Agreement that was sent to us. He does not answer the phone or return any of our calls. All we are asking in our phone message is for an update on the status of this Agreement. It doesn't seem like this is an unreasonable request.

We did our part and signed the agreement, faxed it and mailed it, but have had no response from Home Depot's Resolution Specialist for over 2 months! It seems that Home Depot is truly not serious about customer satisfaction. It sure makes me wonder what their motive was for sending us this agreement in the first place.

Final Update: Well, Home Depot did finally come through and honor their settlement agreement. We have taken the check to the bank and are waiting for it to clear. As soon as their check clears, we will consider this issue resolved and closed. Home Depot customer relations sent us a gift card today. I consider this a very smart move on their part to get us to start going back into their store! Thanks!

Resolution Update 07/16/2008:

Settlement agreement offered and refund received by customer.

Replies
Do Not Buy Carpet Here! Ever!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AVON, COLORADO -- I went to Home Depot early in July to order some carpet (because it is the only supplier in the area). After waiting nearly 45 minutes for a representative to assist me at the carpet counter, I got my quote scheduled for someone to come out and measure. You would think that something as simple as coming on the right day for the measurement would be an easy task, but they showed up on the wrong day when I was at work, so therefore they were unable to get in the house. Delaying the measurement until another day when we could reschedule.

We finally settled on a day when I could get them in the house (that we were not yet living in at the time) to measure, and I told them to call me when they got there so I could be sure that they got the correct rooms measured. Of course they did not, and I received a quote for $500 dollars over what they had initially estimated. I reviewed the measure, and found that they had added on an additional room DOWNSTAIRS, when I specifically told them that it was only the upstairs that I wanted carpeted. Normally, I would be shocked by the quote, but after seeing how shady Home Depot is with the quotes and estimates, I kind of expected it.

After straightening things out, we finally ordered the carpet and they told me it would be a few weeks until the carpet arrived. They then send you off to some company called Home Solutions that takes care of the install. You have a better chance of getting hit with lightning than you do getting a hold of these people on the phone. 6 WEEKS LATER, they call and tell me that the carpet had arrived and we were ready to set up an install date. We decide on a date and then they told me they would call the day before to specify an exact time.

After calling them and leaving several voice mails the day before to try to figure out when these yahoos were coming, it climaxed with 0 success... leaving me to wonder if they were actually going to come or not. The next day, which I had requested off from work (day of supposed install), I call several more times in the morning to try to figure out when these mystery men were coming to lay my carpet. NO ANSWER ALL DAY LONG. They finally called the next day to apologize on their techs calling in, and we proceed to set up another install date.

At this point, I would've gladly taken my service elsewhere, but we live in a remote mountain area with good ole' Home Depot being our only option. Anyways, we set up another install day, which I can't make, but my dear wife who had just had a baby was able to get off work in order to be there. Two days of missed work out of our budget to try to accommodate these people to lay our darn carpet that we paid plenty of money for. Well, wouldn't you know it, the same issue of not being able to get a hold of anybody to figure out when the hell they were coming to our house.

The day of rescheduled install, we've finally got a call from one of the techs saying they wouldn't be there until the afternoon now. Perfect. Wife has an appointment for our infant son to get to, so I leave work early to get to the house to let them in. More money gone. The installers work until late that night, and you think at this point, with the steam coming out of my ears from this whole ordeal that they would be sure to clean up well. They left all of their scraps and the giant leftover pad that I now have to take to the dump and spend more money on.

WOW Home Depot, I hope you're proud of your customer service and glad to know that I will never be coming back to you stores anywhere in the country as for the rest of my friends and family. I will deliberately drive 50 miles out of my way just to make it to another store where they will actually appreciate us as customers. For anybody out there trying to decide if Home Depot is the right place for you for your install, say NO, just like you'd say no to drugs. Run away as fast as you can. I am not the only one with this same heartbreak. I have had friends and family from other store locations with the same problems. Hope this helps!!!

Replies
Home Depot; 20% Satisfaction Guaranteed
By -

NATICK, MASSACHUSETTS -- On September 21, 2001 I purchased and had installed a carpet by Home Depot in my family room. The carpet we chose with the advice of the carpet representative at that time (**) was a Berber. When we inquired about the warranty of the carpet, the sales representative flipped over the sample of the carpet and we noted that it was a 10-year warranty. We subsequently went along and had the carpet installed. Two years after the carpet was installed we noticed that the fibers were coming out. We called Home Depot and alert them of the problem.

At that time they sent someone to take measurements and subsequently replaced the portion of the carpet that was problematic. Because the portion of the carpet replaced was not cut from the same batch of carpet installed originally, we can clearly note a difference in the tone between the original carpet and the portion replaced. In June of 2006, we noticed the same problem on other parts of the carpet; i.e., the fibers were coming out in several places. I subsequently went to the Home Depot Store and talked to ** (the expeditor) about the problem.

She looked into the computer database and could not find any record of Home Depot having installed a carpet at my home. I told her that the installation was done in 2001. She replied that all recorded from that time were deleted from their computer because they had a new computer system. I then gave her the folder provided to me by Home Depot at the time of purchase of the carpet. She made a copy of the record and stated that she would "œlook into in."€ A week later, because I did not hear from her I went back to the store to speak to her. She then stated that I need to contact the manufacturer and provided me with their phone number.

I immediately called the manufacturer from the parking lot with my cell phone and they told me that it was Home Depot'€™s responsibility to call then. I returned to the store and related the information to **. She mentioned that she would talk to them and make a claim on my behalf. On July 14, 2006, I returned to the store to inquire about the status of my case because once again I had not heard from Home Depot. Allison apologized from not having contacted me and asked me if I had the carpet cleaned professionally. Surprised, I asked her "œWhy did I need to?" She then replied that the warranty was void because the carpet was not professionally cleaned.

I was shocked! I asked her, "œWhere in the paperwork provided to me it states this?" I also added, "œDoes Home Depot have a copy of these guidelines to be given to customers?" She then said she would call the manufacturer and get a copy of the warranty. She called and received a faxed copy of the warranty which she handed to me. At that point I said to her, "€œHow do you expect me to know about the terms of this warranty if Home Depot does not even have it to give to customers at time of purchase?" ** then said that she would see what she could do to solve the problem.

In September 2006, I went back to Home Depot because once again I have not heard from them. At this point ** informed me that given that the carpet was not professionally cleaned, the manufacturer would not send anybody to my home and inspect the damage. I said to her that this was not good enough because from my prospective, Home Depot failed to clearly disclose the term of the warranty by providing the paperwork at the time of purchase. I again reiterate that if Home Depot itself does not have the paperwork to be given to customer, how could they expect the customers to know it.

The only thing they showed at the time of purchase beside the information in the folder was the 10-year warranty sticker on the sample. So ** said she would speak to her manager (**) to see how they would resolve the problem. In November, I returned to the store and ** informed me that Home Depot would contact an independent contractor to repair the carpet. She said that the contractor would contact me. She also said that the only stipulation is I would have to pay for the repair and Home Depot would reimburse me. I added that I would have no problem with this arrangement if Home Depot puts it in writing.

In January 2007, I went back to Home Depot because I had yet to hear from the contractor. I spoke to ** who informed me that Home Depot was changing contractors and that they would not be available until February. He also added that if I wanted, I could give me a 20% discount if I wanted the carpet replaced. I then said that I did not think it was appropriate for me to pay anything and that I would accept the repairs. In February 2007 I was contacted by the new contractor. They sent an inspector to my home and pictures of the carpet were taken. Later on, a representative from the contractor came to my home in attempt to repair the carpet.

He deemed that the carpet could not be repaired and needed to be replaced. He said that he would send a report to Home Depot. In March I went to the store again because I hadn'™t heard anything since the report of the contractor. ** said she would arrange for the measurements of the room to be taken. On March 17, measurements of the room were taken. On April 3, 2007 I went back to Home Depot because once again I did not hear from anybody. I asked ** about what I needed to do given that measurements of the room were taken.

I was convinced that given that Home Depot initiated the measurements of the room because the contractor stated that the carpet need to be replaced, they would just replace the carpet. I was shocked to learn from ** that Home Depot would only give a 20% discount if the carpet needed to be replaced. I was furious. I said that it was unacceptable and that Home Depot used every delay tactic possible to avoid replacing the carpet. And I left. On April 4, I returned to the store to speak to ** because I was dealing with her during the 10 months ordeal.

She said that ** had spoken to ** (the zone installation manager) and that the only thing Home Depot would do is to apply a 20% discount toward the replacement of the carpet. I then let her know that I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau about this unfair business practice, i.e., failure to make full disclosure to customers regarding the term a warranty and using a n unfair delay tactic to stonewall an issue. ** advised me to call the corporate office before doing so.

On April 5, 2007, I called the corporate office and talked to **, a level 2 agent. She informed me that the corporate office will back the store decision. She also said that she would refer the case to a zone manager. Again, I questioned this delay tactic. I inquired as to the ability of the zone manager to do anything given that she stated earlier that the corporate office will back the store decision. Nevertheless, I agree that she could refer the case to a zone manager.

On April 9, 2007, exacerbated about all this, I decided to speak to the store manager himself (**) to bring about a resolution to the case. Once again I explained the case to the store manager who assured me that he would look into it. Later in the same week I received a call from ** (the zone installation manager) who stated that he would send an inspector to my home. Again I voice my frustration to **. I told him that I believed that this is yet another delay tactic given he and ** have already decided that Home Depot would only give a 20% discount toward the replacement of the carpet. ** replied that he never made such decision.

I then said that he needed to check with the staff at the Natick store, because ** related that information to me April 4. I also said to him that the Home Depot already sent and received a report from a contractor. So I was questioning the necessity of yet another report. Nevertheless, I agree to have an inspector come to my home. On April 20, the inspector aforementioned came to my home. Before leaving he sated that Home Depot would contact me. He would send the report within 3 days to Home Depot.

On May 16, 2007, because I haven't heard from Home Depot I went to the store and was determined to speak top the store manager to bring a closure to this case; the case was lasting for almost a year. Unfortunately, I was told that the store manager was in a meeting and was not able to talk to me. The customer service representative suggested I speak to one of the assistant manager. I at first I was reluctant to do so because I knew that he would not be able to bring any resolution to the case given that he was never involved in the issue. The assistant manager came up. After I explained the problem he went back and returned with **.

** then reported that Home Depot's offer of 20% discount would stand because the warranty was void. I then told him that he was not giving me ant new information. I added that the warranty was void because of Home Depot'€™s failure to properly inform their customers. I told him that I was very patient however they have abused the process by using any possible delay tactic to stonewall and avoid their responsibility of failing to provide appropriate information to customers.

In the end it appears that Home Depot'€™s quote "€œ100% Satisfaction Guaranteed" written on my folder at the time that I purchased the carpet is meaningless. Home Depot is only interested in providing a 20% satisfactory service to their customers.

Replies
Carpet Nightmare From Home Depot!
By -

In February 2010, I went to purchase a carpet with Home Depot. I had so many problems with the purchase that, I should've realized right then and there that this was a bad sign. At first they wouldn't do it because, they said, "you might have asbestos tiles" and told me I would have to rip them all out before they could come in and, do the carpet. I called EPA and the guy said, "NO DO NOT RIP THEM UP!!!" EPA said, "if the tiles are good don't rip them up, if you do that's when the get in the air." There was only one that was broke and I went to Home Depot and purchased another identical tile!!! Hhhmmmmmm!!!

They had to order the carpet from out of state and, have it shipped from either, N. or S. Carolina. Unfortunately, it took 2 1/2 weeks to ship. Once I finally received the carpet, I was happy and they did a wonderful job putting it in. Then a few months later, I started having problems itching. I had blood work done with my UC Davis doctor and my doctor found out that I was highly allergic to something. Come to find out, the beautiful carpet came with a price I didn't expect. I had carpet beetles and they have been eating up my clothes and shoes and furniture. And I didn't just have the varied carpet beetles but the black one to.

Thank you Home Depot!!! (I am exaggerating!!) I had purchased the carpet on my Home Depot card because, of the no interest for one year deal. That seemed like a good deal and, with the recession I didn't pay it off in one year. I thought my payments might go up possibly about $20 - $30 dollars more a month. I had tried to use my card to purchase a home spray to kill these carpet beetles from Home Depot and was denied with my card. I had to pay cash to purchase the bug spray for the carpet beetles that their carpet gave me! Without my permission, they had re-run my credit without me asking and, lowered the maximum amount on my card in February 2011.

They lowered it to the amount I owed! The next month because I didn't get to completely pay of the amount on the credit card within 1 year, they added all the interest of $800 onto the amount of the loan and made it look like I was over the limit! My payments went from $28 a month to $135 a month. Almost a car payment!!! The interest on the card is 26.99%. It just doesn't seem legal to me. I called the Home Depot card and let them know about the carpet beetles but they didn't care and said they only deal with the amount owed. I told them that I was not expecting the payment to increase so much and they said there was nothing they could do about it.

They said that is the amount due. I asked if I paid off the $800 interest amount would my payment go down. They said only to $99.00. Now, I'm paying more than I should monthly for a carpet full of carpet beetles. They said the only way they could help me is if I don't make my payments for a few months then they can try to put me in one of their programs. So I would have to let my credit go down the drain! No, no, no!!! Please, I'm trying to save anyone else a headache!

My plan is to try to go through my own bank to get a lower interest rate. This was carpet hell!!! I will never purchase anything with them on any of their cards and I'm scared of their products that they have to order out of state!

Replies
Home Depot Does Not Stand Behind the Products It Sells
By -

In August of 2009 my husband and I visited our local Home Depot store, #1302, in Anchorage, Alaska looking for new carpet for our entire home. We stressed the fact that we needed a carpet that was tough enough to handle a family of four with dogs. A Home Depot flooring expert helped us choose a carpet she felt was perfect for us.
September 2009 the carpet was installed. By December 2009 the "tough" carpet was beginning to look slightly worn in spots. In January 2010 I contacted my local Home Depot to file a formal complaint.

A couple of weeks later a representative from the Home Depot flooring department visited our home and agreed that the carpet did look worn but they couldn't judge it properly until the carpet had been professionally cleaned because it was his opinion the carpet was just dirty. We not only arranged to have the carpet professionally cleaned but we also visited Home Depot again and spoke to the EXACT SAME flooring expert who helped us choose the carpet. We explained the problems we were having and asked for help choosing a new vacuum thinking that would help.

We had a Dyson Animal that was a few years old and liked the brand. She suggested we purchase the Dyson DC14... which we did. The carpet cleaners finished our carpet and noted on their form that the carpet showed excessive wearing. Once again we contacted Home Depot to please come inspect our carpet because the cleaning had not helped. We were informed that they couldn't come out for a few weeks.

Almost a month later a representative from Home Depot visited our home and agreed that the cleaning had not helped and the next step was to have a professional unbiased carpet inspector take a look at our carpet and our vacuum. The carpet inspector visited our home in April and, after crawling all over my home and inspecting my vacuum, spoke to me about how the vacuum we were using was very aggressive and was tearing and tangling the carpet fibers which was making it possible for ourselves and our pets to damage the carpet just by walking on it.

Several weeks later I received a phone call from the Home Depot flooring manager informing me that the carpet inspector had sent them his report and because it was not a carpet defect Home Depot was not responsible. He then told me that the report indicated that the cause of the problem was my pets. I challenged this by reminding him that I had spoken to the carpet inspector and that was, in fact, NOT what he had said. At this point I requested that he either send me a copy of the report or I would contact the carpet inspector and request one from him.

The flooring manager faxed me a copy of the report which said exactly what the carpet inspector had verbally told me. The Dyson Vacuum was very aggressive which had allowed the damage to be caused. At this point the flooring manager reiterated that because it was not a carpet defect Home Depot was not responsible and that may be I should contact Dyson. It was, and is, my belief that Home Depot should have stopped at this point, apologized for the problem and offered a store credit to replace the carpet. Instead, after repeatedly asking for help, the flooring manager gave me the 1-800 number for Dyson.

When I informed him that this was unacceptable and that I expected more help, he became obviously irritated and said he would see what he could do and return my call. Several days passed with no contact from Home Depot so I called the flooring manager again. He said that he had gotten some names and numbers for me and they should have called me by now. Because they had not I took his list and started making calls. The employees at Dyson were very professional and arranged to have my vacuum shipped to them for inspection.

Today I received a phone call from a Dyson representative informing me that their claims department has ruled that my vacuum is functioning in the manner in which it was intended, my claim is denied and I should contact Home Depot and the carpet manufacturer. It is my belief that it never should have come to this point. Home Depot should stand behind the products its employees suggest. My next step is to contact the Public Affairs office on Fort Richardson and report Home Depot for its maltreatment of this country's Veterans.

My belief remains the same. We gave Home Depot $3700 for beautiful new carpet. They have their money and we're still waiting for the new carpet.

Resolution Update 10/23/2010:

RESOLVED! My husband and I received a refund check from Home Depot last week. This entire ordeal has taken 10 months from first complaint to a refund check but it was well worth it considering we had paid almost $4000 for a worthless product. It hasn't been easy but with perseverance we've come out on top. I cannot stress enough the importance of truly believing that you are in the right and then backing that up with documentation. Everyone thinks they're right.....you must SHOW WHY.

Replies
Inmates Running The Prison At Store 0551 (No Management)
By -

PLANO, TEXAS -- If I could rate lower than a one I would. My husband and I went to purchase carpet at this Home Depot for our new house. I had called first and asked to speak to a manager because we joined the movers club and got a 10% coupon off of our first purchase. I spoke to a man named ** and he said it would be honored at this location and just to come in. (Come to find out later that he was just an employee pretending to be a manager over the phone!) We then visited the location and placed the carpet order. The third party company came out to measure our area and then the problems started.

We were told it would take 24 hours to get a call back to finalize our order. We had to call the location after 72 hours had passed to see what was going on. They has the measurements and just weren't calling us. Then when they gave us the total amount to pay it was extremely higher than what we expected. Come to find out our order was not taken down correctly and they were charging us for carpet removal and new tack strips which we did not need. On top of that they did not apply the 10% off to our purchase. Once they removed the costs for the carpet removal and tack strips the employee was then unwilling to take the 10% off the purchase.

Of course we asked to speak to a manager to get this resolved. Manager ** got brought into the situation. He was not helpful at all. I spent almost THREE hours talking to him trying to just get the 10% off the purchase. He kept asking if he could call me back to get some more information about what was going on with our order. Finally he said we would get the 10% off of the purchase and everything was going to be taken care of. 4 days past and we did not hear anything regarding to the installment of our carpet. Plus I checked our account and they charged us the full amount!!!! I called back to speak to ** and he asked me to hold.

He covered up the phone not knowing I could still hear the conversation and the employee said he did not give us the 10% and that he did not turn our order in to the installment team even though they already charged us! I was promised again by ** that he would take care of the 10% and put a rush on the carpet installment. (I should tell you at this point that we did order carpet that was in stock so we would not have to wait.) I finally thought everything was taken care of and the next day my husband got a call that the carpet was now out of stock and we were going to have to wait until the location ordered it again.

Furious at this point I called ** back and told him I wanted to just cancel the order which he acted surprised about. Just to see I asked if the 10% had been applied yesterday as he promised and he did not even follow through to make sure that got credited back to our account and sure enough it didn't. Before he let me get off the phone he spent 5 minutes telling me what great team he had and that he had the best employees (I should have hung up at this point). Then they called my husband to get our CC card again to refund us. (Why did he not ask for that when I was just on the phone with him??)

Finally, after all of this at least I thought I was done dealing with these morons and horrible store.... but they still have not refunded my money.

Replies
Home Depot Nightmare
By -

ORANGE CITY, FLORIDA -- We are currently 4 months into a carpet installation gone awry with Home Depot. The unprofessional manner in which we have been treated is appalling. ATTENTION PROSPECTIVE BUYERS: If you are considering ordering carpet from Home Depot, and are counting on them abiding by their "100% Satisfaction Guarantee" DON'T!!!!! This is only a marketing ploy to dupe already wary and weary customers.

On Memorial Day weekend, we were lured into the store with the 6 months same as cash deal many others have fallen prey to. (P.S. I understand there is a class-action suit about shady interest dealings on this issue too.) Carpet was ordered, and finally delivered and scheduled for install on July 2nd. U.S. Installation was the installer that Home Depot scheduled. Their outfit is another story for another day....

3 of 4 of them spoke no English, which is pretty convenient for avoiding the customer's questions about the install process. After the job was finished, we were shocked to find carpet of two different colors, seamed right down the middle of our living room. This is visible from the front foyer, the dining room and our master bedroom. After months of finger pointing between Home Depot, the carpet manufacturer, and U.S. Installation, and after two "professional inspections", and even an inspection by the local store department manager it was determined that the carpet had a "side match" defect. DUH.

Carpet was re-ordered, and re-scheduled for installation on September 18th. (Mind you, in this span of time, we have weathered 2 major hurricanes in our area of Florida. Some of the hurricane victims have already had their houses repaired in this time frame.) On the 18th, we moved the furniture out AGAIN, and half our house was carpeted. But, wonder of wonders, the installer did not have a floor plan with layout drawing for the living room, master bedroom, dining room half of the house. The installer headed back to the warehouse with that roll, since he was prohibited from installing without said layout.

Meanwhile, back at Confusion Central, the layout was located and faxed to us. But guess what? The carpet wasn't here at the house, and the only person on planet earth who could re-open the warehouse with what is evidently the only key, had gone to her son's soccer game, and could not be located. So..... install was re-scheduled for the following Tuesday, Sept. 21 with the promise of 3 burly men to help move furniture the THIRD time, since my husband actually has a life and a job to do most Monday through Fridays! So Tuesday morning ONE, count them, 1, installer shows up with the carpet in the back of his Nissan pickup.

But guess what? He has just dragged the carpet on the streets between the warehouse and our home, so now there is a lovely hole in several layers of the rolled up carpet. Just peachy. We still have no "100% Satisfaction", only 100% disgust. The current offer on their negotiation table is a half refund, with half the carpet installed, and the original problem still on the floor in the living room.

RUN...... DON'T WALK AWAY.... RUN TO ANY OTHER COMPANY IN YOUR AREA WHO HAS A GOOD REPUTATION FOR CARPET INSTALLATION. We learned the hard way that any company which relies on outside contractors to finish a job has absolutely NO incentive for actually seeing the job through to completion. "Burned" in Florida, alias: "Will no longer step foot in a Home Depot Store Again". :-{

Replies
Worst Carpet Installation Service, Don't Buy From Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- We moved into our new house and was looking around to replace our second floor carpet. We noticed several squeaky areas, which is something very common with older houses built in the 70s. When inquiring about carpet installation with a few of the local independent small flooring stores, they all said they would put screws in and try eliminate the squeaks the best they can. So when a Home Depot measurement guy came to my house, I asked him if they would try to fix the squeaks as part of the carpet installation also, he said "no problem, we can do that too."

Nightmare began after I purchased carpet from Home Depot and the job was handed over to JW Floor Covering, who is contractor for Home Depot. On the first appointment, they failed to show and stood me up for the day. Also failed to call me and let me know. I had to call them and ask why installers hadn't arrived to find out that they couldn't come on that day. JW Flooring then called and sent someone to install my carpet on Sunday. Not sure if the guy was told by management to do the job on Sunday, he clearly was not happy and from the moment he stepped into my house, he simply wanted to rush everything through.

Installer did not go through pre-installation check list items with me, nor did he go through post installation check list items with me. To make things worse, the squeaks where I pointed before the installation were still there and even worse than before. I called JW Flooring and complained about it, JW Flooring sent a quality manager out and concluded that they're a floor covering company only, anything has to do with floor squeak noise isn't their problem. You see, I was told by my Home Depot measurement guy they would take of the squeaks.

With carpet replacement, the only time you have access to under the carpet is after old carpet being removed, before new carpet installed, and normally only take a few screws to address the issue. The problem buying carpet from Home Depot is that whenever there is an issue, it is being kicked back and force between the store and installation contractor, none of whom wants to take responsibility. I would strongly urge anyone not to buy flooring from Home Depot, buy from small local stores where you have a single point of contact so you have someone to hold responsible if something ever happens.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >