Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Carpet Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Carpet Replacement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- My husband and I went by Home Depot last weekend and spoke with Dan **, flooring specialist about replacing the carpet. While Dan assist us, I asked if Home Depot would replace the carpet only since the pad is still in good condition. Dan stated whatever we need. So, of course I picked out the carpet, scheduled measurement, and paid the $50.00.

After the measurement, I called the Home Depot flooring department to get the quote price and was told the pad must be included. When I try to explain that I have never agreed to the pad, but the carpet. I was turned down due to their policy. I was pissed! How can Dan tell me it was okay and now the store manager confirmed that it must be done with pad and carpet for the installation to take place.

This was one of the reason why I did not select the flooring pad thickness (and only the carpet) because I honestly thought carpet was the only thing I will replace. Yes, it was very disappointed! Dan stated he worked for numinous of years in the flooring department at E. Hammer Lane... Only to give me incorrect information! I even got the chance to speak with Dan when he called and I make sure he got my two cents for not accepting the fact that he was at wrong. I hope he learned his lesson.

Wish I could of recorded the conversation as proof during the visit with Dan. Unfortunately, I did not so it was he said and she said. Due to our deadline, we must go with Home Depot. I hope this is the end of our bad experience with Home Depot. I wish Home Depot would improve on their investigation and give customer a chance to be right, too. In this case, we believed he was covering it up to protect his job. "You can do it. We can help" part of their mission, will I have to say this is not true. After everything, I did apologized to the store manager for being frustrated and I hope to receive a better experience the next time around.

Replies
Advertisement
Home Depot Carpet written warranty does not mean anything to them
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SAN LUIS OBISPO, CALIFORNIA -- After 18 months of having my carpet installed by Home Depot it looks like it's 20 years old. I supposedly purchased the higher end quality with a written warranty. After filling a warranty claim after multiple phone calls, e-mails, they simply will not honor the warranty. From the get go they started looking for excuses. Why not to honor my warranty: First they suggested the installer was to blame. Secondly they suggested that maybe a carpet cleaner, pets (which I do not own) and so on..... I felt insult to injury by the protocol they have in place on how not to honor their written warranty. Save yourself time and money. Avoid the Home Depot,

Replies
Job Not Completed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- I was very excited to have my carpet installed by Home Depot today. Waiting for this day for a long time. I asked in the $30.00 pre-installation measuring that was done weeks before that I had bought cork board. I wanted to go down first before the padding and carpet as it is just a concrete slab for a foundation. Being as I am disabled with Multiple Sclerosis I physically can't do it myself. I WAS ASSURED BY THE PERSON DOING THE ESTIMATE THAT "IT WOULD BE DONE NO PROBLEM".

Well when the installers finally came they inspected the area they were going to put down carpet in and I told them where the cork board was to put down. They had no idea what I was talking about and told me it wasn't on the work order they had. They got their manager on the phone and he told me that they will not install the cork board. It will void the warranty. They dropped off the carpet and padding into my garage and told me to call and schedule another installation date when the cork board is down. I have no idea who to call to put down the cork board. I would like suggestions please.

Replies
Carpet Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINGTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am a contractor whose customer purchased carpet through Home Depot. The workmanship was terrible. Every seam on the job can be seen along with many other mistakes. They used Mexicans to install who couldn't speak English.

They arrived in a van that was out of inspection for over a year. They used the bathroom every time they were in the house without asking. The first time the water wasn't turned on in the house yet. We have been lied to and pushed to one person to the other with no help in fixing the problems. I have had a expert look at the job and he said "these seams cannot be fixed." Don't buy carpet from Home Depot.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Buy Carpet Here! Ever!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AVON, COLORADO -- I went to Home Depot early in July to order some carpet (because it is the only supplier in the area). After waiting nearly 45 minutes for a representative to assist me at the carpet counter, I got my quote scheduled for someone to come out and measure. You would think that something as simple as coming on the right day for the measurement would be an easy task, but they showed up on the wrong day when I was at work, so therefore they were unable to get in the house. Delaying the measurement until another day when we could reschedule.

We finally settled on a day when I could get them in the house (that we were not yet living in at the time) to measure, and I told them to call me when they got there so I could be sure that they got the correct rooms measured. Of course they did not, and I received a quote for $500 dollars over what they had initially estimated. I reviewed the measure, and found that they had added on an additional room DOWNSTAIRS, when I specifically told them that it was only the upstairs that I wanted carpeted. Normally, I would be shocked by the quote, but after seeing how shady Home Depot is with the quotes and estimates, I kind of expected it.

After straightening things out, we finally ordered the carpet and they told me it would be a few weeks until the carpet arrived. They then send you off to some company called Home Solutions that takes care of the install. You have a better chance of getting hit with lightning than you do getting a hold of these people on the phone. 6 WEEKS LATER, they call and tell me that the carpet had arrived and we were ready to set up an install date. We decide on a date and then they told me they would call the day before to specify an exact time.

After calling them and leaving several voice mails the day before to try to figure out when these yahoos were coming, it climaxed with 0 success... leaving me to wonder if they were actually going to come or not. The next day, which I had requested off from work (day of supposed install), I call several more times in the morning to try to figure out when these mystery men were coming to lay my carpet. NO ANSWER ALL DAY LONG. They finally called the next day to apologize on their techs calling in, and we proceed to set up another install date.

At this point, I would've gladly taken my service elsewhere, but we live in a remote mountain area with good ole' Home Depot being our only option. Anyways, we set up another install day, which I can't make, but my dear wife who had just had a baby was able to get off work in order to be there. Two days of missed work out of our budget to try to accommodate these people to lay our darn carpet that we paid plenty of money for. Well, wouldn't you know it, the same issue of not being able to get a hold of anybody to figure out when the hell they were coming to our house.

The day of rescheduled install, we've finally got a call from one of the techs saying they wouldn't be there until the afternoon now. Perfect. Wife has an appointment for our infant son to get to, so I leave work early to get to the house to let them in. More money gone. The installers work until late that night, and you think at this point, with the steam coming out of my ears from this whole ordeal that they would be sure to clean up well. They left all of their scraps and the giant leftover pad that I now have to take to the dump and spend more money on.

WOW Home Depot, I hope you're proud of your customer service and glad to know that I will never be coming back to you stores anywhere in the country as for the rest of my friends and family. I will deliberately drive 50 miles out of my way just to make it to another store where they will actually appreciate us as customers. For anybody out there trying to decide if Home Depot is the right place for you for your install, say NO, just like you'd say no to drugs. Run away as fast as you can. I am not the only one with this same heartbreak. I have had friends and family from other store locations with the same problems. Hope this helps!!!

Replies
Worst Carpet Installation Service, Don't Buy From Home Depot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- We moved into our new house and was looking around to replace our second floor carpet. We noticed several squeaky areas, which is something very common with older houses built in the 70s. When inquiring about carpet installation with a few of the local independent small flooring stores, they all said they would put screws in and try eliminate the squeaks the best they can. So when a Home Depot measurement guy came to my house, I asked him if they would try to fix the squeaks as part of the carpet installation also, he said "no problem, we can do that too."

Nightmare began after I purchased carpet from Home Depot and the job was handed over to JW Floor Covering, who is contractor for Home Depot. On the first appointment, they failed to show and stood me up for the day. Also failed to call me and let me know. I had to call them and ask why installers hadn't arrived to find out that they couldn't come on that day. JW Flooring then called and sent someone to install my carpet on Sunday. Not sure if the guy was told by management to do the job on Sunday, he clearly was not happy and from the moment he stepped into my house, he simply wanted to rush everything through.

Installer did not go through pre-installation checklist items with me, nor did he go through post installation checklist items with me. To make things worse, the squeaks where I pointed before the installation were still there and even worse than before. I called JW Flooring and complained about it, JW Flooring sent a quality manager out and concluded that they're a floor covering company only, anything has to do with floor squeak noise isn't their problem. You see, I was told by my Home Depot measurement guy they would take off the squeaks.

With carpet replacement, the only time you have access to under the carpet is after old carpet being removed, before new carpet installed, and normally only take a few screws to address the issue. The problem buying carpet from Home Depot is that whenever there is an issue, it is being kicked back and force between the store and installation contractor, none of whom wants to take responsibility. I would strongly urge anyone not to buy flooring from Home Depot, buy from small local stores where you have a single point of contact so you have someone to hold responsible if something ever happens.

Replies
Poor Carpet Quality And Worse Customer Service
By -

LOUISVILLE, COLORADO -- Tip: Before you decide to purchase a new carpet, just pinch a few strands of the carpet sample between your thumb and forefinger and pull. If you pull out some fuzz, you may want to keep on looking. This little test would have saved us a lot of headache...

We purchased 124 square yards of Mohawk carpet from the Home Depot store (Louisville, CO). Our problem is that it fuzzed terribly. We later found out that it was made with polyester or PET fibers, and not the normal nylon fiber construction. It was from their "special purchase" display. The sales person indicated that it was just as good as their other carpet on display, but it was discounted due to the large volume that Home Depot purchases. They failed to mention the shedding problem. We nearly trashed our new Oreck vacuum trying to remove the fuzz. Then we bought a Dyson vacuum cleaner and vacuumed another dozen times.

I understand that some fuzz is perfectly normal, but this carpet just keeps shedding massive amounts! The customer service at Home Depot has been dismal. First there was a week of delays while they had to talk with different store managers, who seemed to always be away in training class. Next, they told us that we had to keep the carpet installed for three months before the carpet manufacturer would come out to look at it. What a bunch of run around. They have yet to respond in any way to indicate that that customer satisfaction matters to them.

Even after constant vacuuming, if I kneel or sit on the floor while wearing dress clothes, they get covered with hundreds of tiny micro fibers. This sure seems like a potential serious health hazard. We certainly do not want our children inhaling these fibers while playing on the carpet. The quality of this carpet is awful! It looks like we will probably have to go to a real flooring or carpet store to purchase a carpet that does not shed constantly. Unfortunately, we learned an expensive lesson.

Don't expect to go to a big box store like Home Depot to be educated on anything. Their flooring specialists are not properly trained - even on their own products see updates. Update #1: After submitting our frustrating experience on my3cents, we promptly received an email from Home Depot consumer affairs stating that they would look into the issue. Later my wife received a phone call asking for more information. She was informed that they would contact the local store to see what they could do to deal with this problem. We were very impressed with the fast response from Home Depot corporate!

But, since then, over a week has passed by and still no response from the Louisville CO store. The breakdown in communication seems to be with the Home Depot local store manager. He has failed to return any of our calls as well. Update #2: Since our local Louisville, CO Home Depot Store manager seems to have decided not to respond to us at all. (No reply to phone messages, no "sorry we can't help you letter", nothing.) We went ahead and purchased 124 square yards of new carpet and had it installed. To add insult to our already sad Home Depot carpet experience, we had to pay someone to have Home Depot's lousy carpet removed!

We purchased our new carpet at The Carpet Exchange. The Carpet Exchange sales person was very helpful and very well trained. The new carpet was only slightly more expensive than Home Depot's "special run" carpet. And instead of having to wait several weeks for delivery, they installed it three days later! The real test was when we vacuumed the new carpet from Carpet Exchange. Once over cleaned up all of the cuttings from the carpet installation. The second pass was basically clean, no fuzz, no clogged vacuum cleaner. Now this is how a new carpet should be! We now feel that it is safe to let our kids play on this carpet.

Needless to say, we are very disappointed with our Home Depot's lack of concern for customer satisfaction regarding this issue. We like the selection of materials at Home Depot. We have purchased nearly all of our remodeling and basement finishing materials through them. The Home Depot used to be our first stop for all of our project materials. Until now, we have never had to test their customer service. Sadly, now that we have experienced first hand that Home Depot will not stand behind their product, we will look elsewhere for any future major purchases.

Update #3: We recently received a settlement letter from Home Depot Corporate. They basically offered a 50% refund on the carpet only portion of the invoice. We feel that this is reasonable and we will be accepting this settlement. To be perfectly honest, we would have been satisfied with less monetary compensation, if our Local Home Depot store management would have demonstrated any concern at all about customer satisfaction with regard to this issue. Even with this settlement agreement, it will take a long time before we feel the same enjoyment as we used to when walking into a Home Depot store.

Update #4: Well it's been a month since we faxed in the signed agreement. We have not heard a word from Home Depot corporate. We are starting to wonder if they are going to follow through at all. Update #5: We tried to call the Home Depot "Resolution Specialist" who signed the Release Agreement that was sent to us. He does not answer the phone or return any of our calls. All we are asking in our phone message is for an update on the status of this Agreement. It doesn't seem like this is an unreasonable request.

We did our part and signed the agreement, faxed it and mailed it, but have had no response from Home Depot's Resolution Specialist for over 2 months! It seems that Home Depot is truly not serious about customer satisfaction. It sure makes me wonder what their motive was for sending us this agreement in the first place.

Final Update: Well, Home Depot did finally come through and honor their settlement agreement. We have taken the check to the bank and are waiting for it to clear. As soon as their check clears, we will consider this issue resolved and closed. Home Depot customer relations sent us a gift card today. I consider this a very smart move on their part to get us to start going back into their store! Thanks!

Resolution Update 07/16/2008:

Settlement agreement offered and refund received by customer.

Replies
Carpet That Never Came
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST.AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA -- We bought carpet from Home Depot. Rooms were measured and carpet was ordered. First it was due in about two weeks. Then it was another week or so. After almost a month the carpet had arrived but the installers said H.D. did not order enough so we waited another week or so for the rest of our carpet to arrive. We were instructed to schedule installers which was another week. My husband moved one room of furniture to save $50.00.

We were Emailed a picture of our installer who was black but two very disgruntled white guys showed up and informed us they did not have enough carpet so H.D. told them to just piece it. When the carpet they had was unrolled it was dirty! So we are back to square 1. We are looking at wood floors now. And not at H.D.

Replies
Advertisement
Home Depot Does Not Honor Warranty!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORT CHESTER, NEW YORK -- DO NOT BUY HOME DEPOT CARPET!!! I purchased 2 years ago Martha Stewart Living Mount Vernon Carpet (for $6,000). After 6 months it looked like it had been in the house for 20 years (note we do not allow shoes in the house, or eating outside the kitchen). We have spent the last 2 years trying to get Home Depot to make it right. They sent 2 inspectors from the manufacturer to look at it (a little self serving, don't you think?). They also sent the assistant manager of the store who agreed with us and told us "we buy a lot of carpet from Shaw, we will make this right". It looked old, stained, and worn. They did not make it right.

The "warranty" is useless. They do not honor it. All I can do is warn you to buy carpet from a reputable place who will stand behind their sales. Do not use HOME DEPOT. They do not care about its customer. From Home Depot's website, the carpet " guarantees long lasting performance with 20 year abrasive wear and texture warranties as well as a lifetime stain and soil warranty". This is a joke! Good luck collecting on this warranty.

Replies
Defective Carpet
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA -- We bought 20 year carpet 2 years ago from Home Depot and I have never seen a worse piece of carpet in my life, it should have been labeled 2 year carpet instead. The carpet had fuzzing problems where we have our chairs within 6 months of installation. We sit at these chairs either barefoot or stocking footed so it is not like we were wearing shoes that would have caused this problem.

Anyway after 2 years there is fuzzing problems in traffic areas and the carpet is puckering. Home Depot did offer to replace this carpet, but it was with the same carpet type, color, and manufacturer that we are having the trouble with. I refused and said "Why would I want another piece of crap that would just do the same thing?" I will probably replace this carpet within the next year and just count the $1800 dollars I spent on this junk an expensive lesson.

After refusing the replacement carpet Home Depot would not offer any money back or any other alternate resolution for selling me such junk. If you are considering carpeting do yourselves a favor and go with the local small flooring store. You will get a better product and better customer service. Home Depot has lost this customer for life. I will shop at Menards, Lowe's, or the local lumberyard before I will ever give them business again after this fiasco. From now on my carpet will come from the local flooring store. No more big box BS.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
76 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies